University Multimedia University Thread V5, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

Jijikill
post Mar 24 2013, 11:53 PM

31 posts

I'm a spm leaver and considering where to study for IT and i found MMU is great.......these is my questions

1)I have an 9A's for my spm and MMU is giving me 50% scholarship for foundation,which means it's unable to cover all the fees but i heard that ptptn do provide loans for MMU foundation,is it true?

2)I prefer to go cyberjaya campus,may i know roughly how much is the monthly expenses excluding rental

3)I heard that most of the MMU students speak english,i may speak english fluently but as never stay in a english community,can i getting well with other students?

4)Some of my friends say most of the MMU students are rich,is that true?Will I be difficult to get along with them?

5)At last,something stupid a,i feel that most of the students in IT course will be male,so will it be hard for me to find a girlfriend?

So every senior,brotha and sista here pls give me some advice and idea,xD
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 08:55 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 25 2013, 12:33 AM)
let me try to answer some of them and other may chip in later:
1) PTPTN do provide loans for foundation but I am not sure whether they allow a holder to have 2 source of sponsorship. Maybe come and visit us during open day and get clarification from the admission people. Or you may send them an email too.

3) You will just get along well. If you are from a mandarin/cantonese speaking family, you will have no problem too as many chinese students tend to converse in that language when they are among themselves.

4) This is not true at all. Most of the students here are from middle-income families and the rich ones form a small minority.

5) Haha, i understand your concern. Dont worry, you can always lurk around the campus and make friends with the gals from management  tongue.gif
Thanks senior, what about the monthly expenses?
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 11:38 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 25 2013, 09:52 AM)
Hmm, no idea on current monthly expenses. Others will chip in  smile.gif
Err, may I know what is the till date for applying merit scholarship? I tried to call mmu for many times but there's no one answer the phone
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 12:19 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 25 2013, 11:44 AM)
Thanks alot, finally I get to call them, the 25th march till date is for march intake, it shocked me, I thought its for june intake rclxms.gif
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 02:06 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Mar 25 2013, 12:20 PM)
Hehe so confirm joining us?
According to my plenty researches ,MMU is kinda good in evverything except the intake date, hell!!! Why do the intake is so late? I'm bored of working....after knowing all the pros, is time for the cons, so senior,recently do MMU have any cons?
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 06:01 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(hyunterx @ Mar 25 2013, 02:27 PM)
mind sharing your research? I'm interested.
It will be very long long story, , I'm lazy to write it here, haha, if you dont mind just call me, message me for num tongue.gif
Jijikill
post Mar 25 2013, 06:04 PM

31 posts

Anyone here is going to the sunday open day at cyberjaya campus?
Jijikill
post Mar 31 2013, 12:08 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(angel.in.E @ Mar 26 2013, 01:12 AM)
1) Yes, all your fees will be covered. Just make sure you maintain the 50% tuition fees waiver

2) Monthly expenses... of course it varies from person to person. For me, it's around 300-500 (depends if I go out often or not). Oh, and I go home almost every weekend!

3) I speak English, but almost all my Chinese classmates speak Mandarin. So yeah... good chance to improve my Mandarin I guess

4) What I can say is that I know people of all background and we're still able to mix around smile.gif

5) Lol? Sometimes I wonder if yall are here to study or... Anyway, I saw quite a number of girls in IT biggrin.gif

Oh I went to the Open Day a year ago too. How time flies. Don't trust the person who guides you around the campus. Gave me so much wrong info sad.gif But their staff are not bad lah, quite friendly.
Thanks alot senior!!!!!! tongue.gif , I think my father gonna give me rm 500 per month, I hope its enough since I'm going back every weekend too.....what course are you studying right now?
Jijikill
post Mar 31 2013, 12:14 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(eClIpSe_R3tr0 @ Mar 31 2013, 02:27 AM)
This is FALSE , I repeat FALSE unless you go into Creative Multimedia or Management .  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
You dont need to get a girlfriend in MMU dude . Hahha .
Graduate from MMU , go out find a job , get experience , earn loads of $$ from working and guess what ? Girls will come flying to you.
Haha bro, I didn't mean to get a girlfriend in uni but if the class is all boys without any girl, , I'm gonna die....I used to catch girls attention in secondary school, , that's my hobby and they inspires me to study, if there aren't any girls, for sure I'm gonna like a salted fish in class
Jijikill
post Apr 1 2013, 12:18 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Botz @ Mar 31 2013, 11:16 PM)
Yeah, I was there to showcase SEGD student projects (including my own) to potential students to come and join the games development course smile.gif . Well.. it is my last contribution i guess, this is my last semester upon finishing my student life.

2013 Open Day Badge

And the posters I designed for FCI Open Day  tongue.gif

Video demonstration of Games Development student projects as part of its promotion.

There is another kinect project by my friend but the video is not included in as they were demonstrating it on site.

Apparently this year has caught more interest for potential students to come for the course  nod.gif some parents were excited too (compared to last year's reaction)
Cool !!! i watched it this afternoon when i went to the open day,great job man
Jijikill
post Apr 19 2013, 03:11 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ Apr 19 2013, 02:42 AM)
anyone going for bachelor of computer science in cyber for june intake 2013
I'm one of it biggrin.gif
Jijikill
post May 13 2013, 05:45 AM

31 posts

Is there anyone here joining this June Intake in Cyber?Hope to know some friends so may discuss about things to bring etc
Jijikill
post May 14 2013, 06:00 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ May 13 2013, 10:12 PM)
Me bro
Nice to meet you....What's the your course you gonna study? biggrin.gif
Jijikill
post May 14 2013, 06:01 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Promusician @ May 13 2013, 09:01 PM)
Hope to meet some new friends in cyber for June intake...Any rooms below RM350 for rent?
Hi,i'm also going to this june intake,i don't think there's any room rent may be under rm350,unless you share with others
Jijikill
post May 14 2013, 09:19 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Promusician @ May 14 2013, 06:09 PM)
U staying in hostel or outside, I'm afraid that I can't tahan the heat coz no aircond in hostel room...
Hostel,coz don't have any secondary schoolmates gonna study thr......My senior advice me to stay in hostel for the first semester first,after that only move to outside,air cond isn't a big deal to me,i am more worry about the 'public toilet',hopes its not too dirty hmm.gif
Jijikill
post May 14 2013, 09:20 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Raymond7693 @ May 14 2013, 06:26 PM)
Bachelor in Computer Science,
Weeee!!!!Same course,haha rclxms.gif
Jijikill
post May 16 2013, 07:24 PM

31 posts

I just got my offer letter today,It offer me to study in Melaka Campus,but i wanna study in Cyber,so what should i do to transfer it?
Besides,they want me to hand in everything on 20th,but i just receive the offer letter today,i don't think it's enough time for me to process every documents since it just left one day for me which is tomorrow,SAT and SUN bank will not working........
Hope that Human Nature may give me some advice upon these problems
Thanks alot

This post has been edited by Jijikill: May 16 2013, 07:25 PM
Jijikill
post May 16 2013, 08:57 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 16 2013, 07:44 PM)
my advice is to complete the process first, and then try to appeal/request for transfer. Or, if you are worried that your request may not succeed, call up admission and ask what can they do to help.

tomorrow, make photocopies of all documents and bring to your school to be certified. Then head over to pos malaysia for courier or submit by hand (if you are staying nearby)

why do you need the bank for?
For those registration fees and accomodation fees requires bank slip,so i need to go to bank ma

0.0481sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:02 PM