University Multimedia University Thread V5, ....Inquire, Inspire and Innovate

TSHuman Nature
post Mar 22 2013, 08:13 PM

- student of human nature -
26,529 posts

QUOTE(kancil1970 @ Mar 22 2013, 06:40 PM)
Anyone know how to find out if the Engineering course in MMU good or not?

http://www.topuniversities.com/node/9251/r...y-rankings/2012

I was told that UTAR also offering good engineering course with a cheaper fees

http://www.topuniversities.com/node/4076/r...y-rankings/2012
Anyone can tell which is better?
Hi, obviously I will be very bias as this is MMU thread flex.gif tongue.gif

The engineering courses here are accredited and are recognized under Washington Accord.

Do visit the open day if you wish to learn more about the courses, or shoot your question here smile.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 22 2013, 08:14 PM
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 12:11 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Gmruleme @ Mar 23 2013, 12:00 AM)
One day passed.
So far no replies yet..

Sigh  hmm.gif TARC and UTAR replied my enquiries on the merit scholarship issue today morning.. I'm still eagerly waiting for replies from the MMU staffs..  cry.gif
I probably shouldnt give you the faculty admin contact number. Here is the contact person for scholarship matters:
http://www.mmu.edu.my/index.php?req=d56&id=940
http://www.mmu.edu.my/index.php?req=d56&id=545 (Hotline)

MELAKA CAMPUS
Admissions, Bursary & Local Promotion (ABLP)
06-231 1072 (Melaka)
EMAIL:srpp@mmu.edu.my

CYBERJAYA CAMPUS
Admissions, Bursary & Local Promotion (ABLP)
03-8312 5088 (Cyberjaya)
EMAIL:srpp@mmu.edu.my
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 10:59 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(HazardXZ @ Mar 23 2013, 02:23 AM)
hey guys,
i just finish my diploma,just asking,
which one do i apply for the completion studies form?
is it the online one? or do it manually where i have to submit the form given at the
cdp website?

just on the safe side , i did it both  rclxub.gif
Hi, no idea but since you already did both, then should be no problem.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 11:22 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(KyleC @ Mar 23 2013, 11:15 AM)
I'm eyeing mmu since I'm interested in IT. I'm planning to study foundation in IT. What's the difference between computer science and IT course in mmu? Besides mmu, I'm considering apu at bukit jalil as well. Which is better?
I will let the IT pros answer on the difference thingy. Better in what aspect?
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 05:49 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(aBcD-| @ Mar 23 2013, 05:37 PM)
Hi there,I want to know more info about computer science in MMU.

Well,I'm a SPM leaver and I looking for a foundation which could forward me to degree in computer science.I'm targeting computer science in degree level.

Any advice which foundation should I take ?
You will start in Foundation in Information Technology and branch out in degree to:

INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY PROGRAMMES
 BIT (Hons) (Data Communications and Networking) (Melaka)
 BIT (Hons) (Information Technology Management ) (Melaka)
 BIT (Hons) (Security Technology) (Melaka)
 BIT (Hons) (Artificial Intelligence) (Melaka)
 Bachelor of Science (Hons) Bioinformatics (Melaka)
 Bachelor of Science (Hons) Medical Information Technology (Melaka)
 Bachelor of Computer Science (Cyberjaya)
o Information Systems Engineering
o Software Engineering
o Game Development
(Student can only specialize in one of the above areas in year 2)
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 10:59 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(aBcD-| @ Mar 23 2013, 06:34 PM)
Got it

How much I need to pay during study period after I applied PTPTN loan.Does PTPTN loan cover whole semester fees so I no need to worry about finance issue during I study ?
I do know that PTPTN does not cover the whole fees who the foundation year, but i cant recall how much. Other peeps here should be able to clarify. If you are free, visit us during the open day. You can pose all these finance related matter to the relevant department.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 11:30 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(angel.in.E @ Mar 23 2013, 11:27 PM)
Not sure if you've gotten your reply already, but have a look at this. Merit Scholarship
hehe, probably someone made some phone calls
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 11:47 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(OFTS05 @ Mar 23 2013, 11:43 PM)
hey people, 3E's in Alevels able to join MMU degree ?
I dont think it is possible, but do call up the admission dept to confirm.

For more information, please email:
srpp@mmu.edu.my or wwwadmis@mmu.edu.my (local students)
cisr@mmu.edu.my (International students)

You can also call us at 03-8312 5134, 03-8312 5327, 03-8312 5461

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 23 2013, 11:49 PM
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 23 2013, 11:53 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(OFTS05 @ Mar 23 2013, 11:51 PM)
The brochure they sent me stated pass in A-levels.
FYI, Grade E is pass in A-levels.
Why do you think it's not possible ?
in that case, i could well be wrong. Better call up to confirm.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 24 2013, 03:03 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(aBcD-| @ Mar 24 2013, 02:26 AM)
About MMU's foundation,can it be use to apply for public university's degree ?

If it does,I'm thinking to take a foundation course only then apply my degree study in public university

http://www.usm.my/index.php/en/academic-a-...rst-degree.html
looking at the page, it is not listed as one of the channel. better to contact USM directly.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 12:33 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Jijikill @ Mar 24 2013, 11:53 PM)
I'm a spm leaver and considering where to study for IT and i found MMU is great.......these is my questions

1)I have an 9A's for my spm and MMU is giving me 50% scholarship for foundation,which means it's unable to cover all the fees but i heard that ptptn do provide loans for MMU foundation,is it true?

2)I prefer to go cyberjaya campus,may i know roughly how much is the monthly expenses excluding rental

3)I heard that most of the MMU students speak english,i may speak english fluently but as never stay in a english community,can i getting well with other students?

4)Some of my friends say most of the MMU students are rich,is that true?Will I be difficult to get along with them?

5)At last,something stupid a,i feel that most of the students in IT course will be male,so will it be hard for me to find a girlfriend?

So every senior,brotha and sista here pls give me some advice and idea,xD
let me try to answer some of them and other may chip in later:
1) PTPTN do provide loans for foundation but I am not sure whether they allow a holder to have 2 source of sponsorship. Maybe come and visit us during open day and get clarification from the admission people. Or you may send them an email too.

3) You will just get along well. If you are from a mandarin/cantonese speaking family, you will have no problem too as many chinese students tend to converse in that language when they are among themselves.

4) This is not true at all. Most of the students here are from middle-income families and the rich ones form a small minority.

5) Haha, i understand your concern. Dont worry, you can always lurk around the campus and make friends with the gals from management tongue.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 09:52 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Jijikill @ Mar 25 2013, 08:55 AM)
Thanks senior, what about the monthly expenses?
Hmm, no idea on current monthly expenses. Others will chip in smile.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 11:44 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Jijikill @ Mar 25 2013, 11:38 AM)
Err, may I know what is the till date for applying merit scholarship? I tried to call mmu for many times but there's no one answer the phone
Today!!

Last date for application is 25th March 2013.

http://bulletin.mmu.edu.my/v3/view/bulleti...y=today&pg=main

Hotline here:
http://www.mmu.edu.my/index.php?req=d56&id=545

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 25 2013, 11:45 AM
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 12:20 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(Jijikill @ Mar 25 2013, 12:19 PM)
Thanks alot, finally I get to call them, the 25th march till date is for march intake, it shocked me, I thought its for june intake rclxms.gif
Hehe so confirm joining us?
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 01:12 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(hyunterx @ Mar 25 2013, 12:53 PM)
Hi. Can any engineering students explain how is the course there? Good, bad, lecturer ok or stuffs? Planning to pursue foundation in engineering there then further myself to mechanical.
The ME program is fully accredited by EAC. Quite a number of the grads are working in MNCs across the globe.

I will let others comment on the lecturers.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 03:12 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 25 2013, 01:32 PM)
Went to the Edu Fair. Asked the person in MMU booth about law and scholarship. He just showed us the booklet about the requirement to do Foundation. he said MMU does not offer scholarship. Asked about Qualifiying Board, he not sure about this and that. So sad. Went home empty handed.
You might notice that MMU is very poor is marketing and advertising compared to other private Uni/institutions. Please pass the name of the staff if you have that info. What I would advice you is to pose questions to the academics themselves who know more about the courses. Do come and visit us during the open day.

QUOTE(aBcD-| @ Mar 25 2013, 01:32 PM)
About degree course,does PTPTN cover all ? I heard maximum loan for degree is 16k per year

About computer science,what is the difference between information system engineering and software engineering
Someone please help to answer this

TSHuman Nature
post Mar 25 2013, 03:25 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(BravoZeroTwo @ Mar 25 2013, 03:22 PM)
Thanks for the reply. we will make a trip to the open day. Will take the opportunity to tour the U that day.  blush.gif
Please do. There will be several academicians from the law faculty too.
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 26 2013, 09:01 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(angel.in.E @ Mar 26 2013, 01:12 AM)
Oh I went to the Open Day a year ago too. How time flies. Don't trust the person who guides you around the campus. Gave me so much wrong info sad.gif But their staff are not bad lah, quite friendly.
Those guides are OC/volunteers and most of them are basically just freshies themselves doh.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 26 2013, 10:55 AM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(angel.in.E @ Mar 26 2013, 10:51 AM)
I doubt he's a student here, I mean the one who brought me for campus tour.
First, he said that there's no class on Fridays  doh.gif
Then, he told me off-campus accommodation is rather far when it's actually just 5-10 mins walk dry.gif
You sure you join the official guided tour? tongue.gif
TSHuman Nature
post Mar 30 2013, 05:29 PM

26,529 posts

QUOTE(laladude @ Mar 28 2013, 07:41 PM)
Just a question, If im about to graduate this coming august and I failed my subject out of a sudden. Im aware that I will delay my graduation until next year.. Correct? But during that duration, if I retake and complete the subject in 1sem, I'll be free for 2sems. And basically im graduated waiting for the ceremony only. Can I take my degree cert from MMU to apply for jobs or must I wait till the ceremony which is 1 year away..?

Question : WHEN CAN I ACQUIRE MY DEGREE CERTIFICATE?
Once you completed everything, you will get the senate letter and letter of completion of studies. You may also request the full transcript from ERU. You can use all these docs.

QUOTE(Jackwei94 @ Mar 29 2013, 01:00 PM)
Hey guys, imma apply for june 2013 intake and i'm gonna apply ptptn... Do I need to apply ptptn now? or wait til around May/June only apply?
Wait until your turn.

QUOTE(XxxNightSkyxxX @ Mar 30 2013, 12:40 AM)
why industrial training also have to pay a lot? 2k  vmad.gif
accounting two sem industrial training only 800  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Obviously you cannot compare your course with other course.

37 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:42 AM