Here are my primitive fish.
Sturgeons, probably Amurs or a hybrid of some sorts.

Young Arowanas, about 8-9 inches. 3 Chilli Reds, one Blue base.

Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums
May 13 2013, 04:25 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
Hi guys, anyone seen any Ornate's or Paradise Threadfin's in the Klang Valley area?
Here are my primitive fish. Sturgeons, probably Amurs or a hybrid of some sorts. ![]() ![]() ![]() Young Arowanas, about 8-9 inches. 3 Chilli Reds, one Blue base. ![]() ![]() |
May 13 2013, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(aimank_88 @ May 13 2013, 05:51 PM) They are fed frozen mysis shrimp and bloodworms 4 times a day, half a cube per serving. For the moment, i've put them in the corner to ensure they get enough food. Sturgeons are slow eaters and cannot compete with faster fish for food. So they'll remain at the corner until i move the others into my pond. |
May 18 2013, 11:45 PM
May 19 2013, 11:55 PM
I keep seeing Arare being brought up. Are they an LFS? Could someone direct me to them, thanks!
May 20 2013, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(ayonymous @ May 20 2013, 08:04 PM) i bought it for RM200..this is the common species..the super rare is gymnotus tigre,gymnotus carapo,gymnotus arapaima..hard to find here.. Common or not, its still damn nice. Are they docile? Can mix arowanas etc? Whats their behaviour like? Very curious about this fish.next target, Electric Eel.. |
Jul 11 2013, 11:17 PM
QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Jul 11 2013, 05:32 PM) Anyone know how to rear a black arowana (Osteoglossum ferreirai ) A simple species to rear, as hardy as any other arowana. Smaller than silvers, they're pretty rare and generally do not get drop eye like silvers do. A great pick.![]() Is the the fiercer type?? ( which I can't resist Anything i should be aware if am to keep one? |
Nov 3 2013, 09:51 PM
Nov 8 2013, 07:48 PM
Any sturgeon lovers in the house? Some pics of Titan, my blind Amur. Been with me about 10-11 months now, from 4 inches to a foot long thus far.
![]() ![]() 4 inch Titan, on the left. Same tank minus the hideous background. The other sturgeon didn't make it. :- ![]() |
Nov 8 2013, 09:38 PM
Nov 15 2013, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(beer8bottles @ Nov 15 2013, 11:15 PM) This pond.. OMG! A killer UV unit will do the trick. If you're looking for natural methods, you need to find a way to out-compete phytoplankton. Algae turf scrubbers are supposed to be effective, but the algae growth trays must be sufficiently sized to accomodate your pond volume. Hooking your pond up to veggie filters also work. Water plants like lilies, duckweed (difficult to control) and a balanced ratio of plants to fish is also a good method. Even hair algae is effective at stripping the water of nutrients, as unsightly as they may be to some hobbyists.Is there any way to keep the water in these kind of ponds crystal clear The simplest is still the UV. Just pay extra to TNB every month and change bulb 1-2 times a year. |
Dec 7 2013, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Untitled2 @ Dec 7 2013, 01:11 AM) Wah kao, Sturgeon sia! Who knows where to get one of these, n around how much? Tricky fish to keep, temperatures must be low, oxygen high, must feed many times a day with animal protein, they can't really digest vegetable protein. If you got chiller then no problem. Kalau tarak chiller, buy a few and hope that one or two can take our temps, the rest will die in 2-3 months. This I really feel like getting, but from what I know, they like dark and deep places. What is the water depth required for this monster? temperature? They have very bad eyesight and are very clumsy. Should keep them in their own tank, they won't be able to compete for food with other fishes. Must also think of space, they grow very fast, bigger than us at maximum. Amur max 10 feet, hybrids are bigger, they mix with huso huso (beluga sturgeon, biggest in the world) i think. You need a pond in the end. |
Dec 7 2013, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Untitled2) Are you using any temperature control for it? My pond only 3 ft depth. Not sure if they can tahan. Maybe I shld check my water temperature first. Lol Gonna reply to this on this thread for the benefit of any Sturgeon enthusiasts (Of which you are the first one i've encountered lol). I'm not using chiller, i bought total about 7-8, only 3 could take it. The rest bungkus. As for the Arowana shops, there are two dedicated aro breeders along jalan sungai buloh, Yek Fong and Oriental Aquatics, the shop i'm talking about is near oriental aquatics. Google persiaran sungai buloh, it connects to jalan sungai buloh, make a left at the T junction and its the 3rd or 4th shop on your left, got koi sign outside. Its a small shop, if you went to the shop that is very wide with many concrete koi ponds, you went to far, make U turn. Oh and don't pay more than $40 per sturgeon.Last week i been to Irene, didnt see one, maybe i will try ask them. Jalan Sungai Buloh is it that one that has a area just for Arowana? coz so many nursery there. As for depth, i think 3 feet is ok, i'm eventually transferring mine to a 2ft deep 1000g pond. My advice - don't keep small sturgeons in ponds, they will have difficulty finding food, if you have koi or other fish then they will whack all the food before sturgeon can find it. Keep them in tanks until they get bigger then transfer. |
Dec 8 2013, 11:24 AM
| Change to: | 0.0521sec