HU or Speaker First

hcgui
post Oct 17 2012, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(masao343 @ Oct 17 2012, 10:46 AM)
can i ask... if i upgrade speakers first (and i hope it ends there) but not satisfied, instead of changing HU, will adding an amplifier helps? coz someone mentioned the risk of the standard HU not powerful enough to drive the new speakers.
tat's called ICE poison. i already kena. haha. i bought a light-pwred 50W RMS compt speakers, seriously hoping no need to pasang amp. but sadly found out d HU (also bought brand new for d features) cant drive them properly on mid-low volume. sounded a bit flat, esp d tweeters.

then add an ecomonic budget amp (i'm poor) from Howie, then found d compt speakers came so much more alive. haha. happy icing and get poisoned!

recommendation? of cos go to Howie.... he got lots of 'drugs' to sell from low to mid to high end depending on ur budget n d amount of poison u already kena. his installation charges of cos not the cheapest in town (wad to do, doktor pakar mah) but u can be assured of excellent workmanship n materials used. rclxms.gif
hcgui
post Oct 17 2012, 06:40 PM

QUOTE(masao343 @ Oct 17 2012, 05:53 PM)
this is what i'm afraid of!
but i'm a person of simple requirements. i just need something that sounds nicer.
coz the one in the FLX seems to sounds insufficient, even compared to my other national cars. weird as i thought they should be similar
tat's ICE journey. I'm a beginner too! btw, i'm driving BLM. like u, i dont hv high requirements and on limited budget. but once started, hard to stop le... hehe.

do soundproof 1st, then save $$ for comp spkrs. then u'll feel d spkrs cant play well in certain range cos not enuf pwr. then u will consider pasang amp. but to add amp u'll need aftermarket HU cos stock HU dun hv RCA pre-out. then aft tat u'll start to think about sub to get more bass. haha. tat's y very hard to stop one....

0.0156sec    1.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:28 PM