HU or Speaker First

TSfongwan
post Oct 16 2012, 11:23 AM, updated 14y ago

139 posts

Hi All the sifu, need to ask you all some advice. I understand that (national car less then 40k) stock HU and speaker need to be replace if you want to have an improvement. The question now is that if i only have budget less than 1k. Should i change the HU first or the speaker first. I went to a few shop and 2 shop advice me to change the speaker first and one shop advice me to change the HU first.

Change speaker reason was because the original / come together speaker only are (low amp/watts, not sure what they said) speaker. So once you change speaker you will see a different.

Change HU reason was coz the stock HU is in output so even you change the speaker you would not really see the big improvement . Is best you change he HU first, you can see the different that way.

I am currently using the FM radio transmitters thing for USB song. Don't really have CD in my car. Either radio or MP3 using the FM transmitter.

Please advise. notworthy.gif
TSfongwan
post Oct 16 2012, 12:30 PM

139 posts

Thanks man for your advice.
TSfongwan
post Oct 16 2012, 02:54 PM

139 posts

hmm..can i say any basic/entry HU now a days should have no problem driving the stock speaker right?
TSfongwan
post Oct 18 2012, 09:34 AM

139 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Oct 18 2012, 12:28 AM)
To TS, I think I can share some experience.

Not driving a FLX but Preve.
Not happy with stock speakers, went for a combination of 2ways component speakers + amp.
Crossover din install though as recommended by the installer where my amp is good enough to handle all the 4 channels. Rear speaker? Disconnect the wire.

So far, I'm pretty satisfied with it. The sound not really till dashboard yet but not far from it. At least not on the floor anymore.

If u into music listening, dun use the FM modulator.....

Happy hunting.
Understand what you mean coz by using Radio frequency thing the level drop but what to do , can't keep buying cd / burning CD. So that is why i need to ask advise from all the sifu here. Coz money is the main source of the issue here. Of coz if is possible i would like to do one time of thing but don't have money. So have to stick to the ground and think which i can see the difference straight without killing my wallet to much. biggrin.gif

0.0149sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:57 AM