Travel Currency exchange

eye
post Oct 10 2011, 03:35 PM

1,166 posts

Going to Seoul/Jeju end November for a week. Is it better to :

1) change wons here in malaysia
2) change some wons for petty cash, exchange rest to USD and only change to wons when in south korea

Thank you.
eye
post Oct 17 2011, 10:42 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 14 2011, 02:15 AM)
The rate offered by banks in Korea is better. The KRW exchange rate offered by money changers in Malaysia is around KRW1,000 = RM2.86-RM2.88. However, banks in Korea can offer you around KRW1,000 = RM2.76-RM2.83. Getting KRW1,000 at just RM2.76 is possible at all Hana Bank branches in Seoul (their money exchange booths at the airport quote slightly higher rate) provided you have an Asiana Airlines boarding pass. Otherwise, the rate is KRW1,000 = RM2.83 and this is still better than the rate offered by local money changers. And yes, Hana Bank accepts MYR in all of their money exchange booths as well as in all their 650 branches in South Korea.
Thank you Miles&More. Good to know that MYR is tradeable over in Seoul. Guess I dun need to change to usd then.

0.5190sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:11 AM