Travel Currency exchange

MeToo
post Sep 17 2014, 06:41 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(kando @ Feb 23 2006, 11:36 AM)
but i heard changing in KLIA the interest is very high.
KLIA is not very high.

Its absolutely CUTTHROAT!

YOu are better off using your credit card if you want to change at KLIA.
MeToo
post Sep 17 2014, 06:45 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(shohoku_14 @ Sep 17 2014, 12:56 PM)
just wanna ask 1 more question.
based on your opinion, which place offer more rate?? compare with midvalley, times square, pavilion, sg wang... and is there any change limit?
If you are going to line up 30 minutes at MV .....

Try this... look at the MAYBANK forex counter about 30 feet away....

I have been changing those popular currency with them.... and their rate is exactly the same as the two 30 minutes wait....
MeToo
post Sep 17 2014, 07:21 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(shohoku_14 @ Sep 17 2014, 07:07 PM)
izzit??? i tot maybank forex rate shud be nationwide same??? correct me if im wrong...
Ahh.... that's the trick. Thats not the actual Maybank bank rate. I think actually a forex trading house using maybank flag. THey have these in KL Sentral, KLCC, MV etc etc.... and all offering different rates.

GO ask them, their are not following maybank rates and their rates are independent of each other.

As far as I know (from changing in the last 6 months), their SGD rates are exactly the same as the 2 popular MV money changer. Just you dont need to wait 30 minutes
MeToo
post Sep 18 2014, 02:41 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(shohoku_14 @ Sep 17 2014, 07:32 PM)
ahhh.... means i kena tipu d lorh... hahaha... i tot whole nationwide maybank bureau de change shud be in same rate... but now you proved that they r same... means i no need waste time queue 30min to change it.. hahaha... btw, what is quota per person per day to change money? 5k MYR??
I'm unaware of such limit. Tried about 40k before... no one blink an eye.
MeToo
post Sep 18 2014, 02:42 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Sep 18 2014, 10:30 AM)
This forex by MBB, is it offered by all MBB branches or it is a special outlet on its own?
Its not exactly a special outlet. THey have them in KL Sentral, in KLCC etc... I bet lots of place have then. THey EACH have their own rates, in the same day the rates between KLCC and MV can be different.
MeToo
post Sep 18 2014, 02:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 18 2014, 09:19 AM)
The MBB booth seem to match MoneyMaster rate when they started... now we need to compare smile.gif
But at least much shorter queue or no queue.

There's another Forex counter inside a news stand on the same floor... offering rate below MoneyMaster also smile.gif
Exactly.

However, one must also be crafty, such as today... the rate they offer for buying SGD was 2.535, same as MoneyMaster.

BUT! If you actualyl go to the Maybank branch at MV (the one outside), you can get 2.547! Better rate at the actual Maybank branch! This is cause early this morning RInggit fell by ALOT and the money changers have not caught up to the new rates yet.
MeToo
post Feb 26 2016, 06:33 PM

9,333 posts

I find the money changer in KL Sentral to be quite decent rate. SOmeitmes better the MV.

oh, and dont go bank.

0.0194sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:23 PM