Travel Currency exchange

ChocolateChipCookies
post Oct 2 2006, 08:17 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(jooku1 @ Aug 28 2006, 10:27 PM)
For best exchange rates go to the money changer in KL Sentral next to Nile Bookstore. Lowest in town believe me!! About 2 weeks ago, changed USD for RM3.695 whereas other places only offer RM3.72. Also same time when GBP was at RM7.02, this guy offerign at RM6.99.
Try Mid Valley, 3.68 for USD before bargain =P
ChocolateChipCookies
post Nov 2 2006, 11:58 PM

98 posts

Changed USD at MV again today. Its 3.6595. Cheap for now =)
sheeta
post Nov 14 2006, 07:13 PM

564 posts

how much cash do you guys usually bring along with you
when traveling to North America?
Myth
post Nov 27 2006, 03:03 PM

558 posts

I'm going to Bangkok soon. What's the best rates around so far? Please advise.

minde
post Nov 27 2006, 07:36 PM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

hey , 2.88 for 1 aussie dollar ok ar?
morgan
post Nov 28 2006, 11:51 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Nov 27 2006, 07:36 PM)
hey , 2.88 for 1 aussie dollar ok ar?
that's the standard conversion rate now, as i stay on the currency conversion rate flow everyday..good rate tho smile.gif whatever it is USD is dropping..good chance for some opportunities smile.gif
morgan
post Nov 28 2006, 11:52 PM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(Myth @ Nov 27 2006, 03:03 PM)
I'm going to Bangkok soon. What's the best rates around so far? Please advise.

RM 1 = Baht 10? hehe
jenatic
post Dec 5 2006, 03:39 AM

341 posts

going to SG next week. anyone knows a good place to exchange MYR to some SGD ? i'm thinkin of a rm1500 exchange. will that amount be good enough to ask for a bargain anyway?

morgan
post Dec 6 2006, 02:11 AM

Perfumeries
520 posts

QUOTE(jenatic @ Dec 5 2006, 03:39 AM)
going to SG next week. anyone knows a good place to exchange MYR to some SGD ? i'm thinkin of a rm1500 exchange. will that amount be good enough to ask for a bargain anyway?

do change your currency before depart from checkpoint which is at JB downtown..you will lose out the rate if you get to change in SG...
feynman
post Dec 7 2006, 07:59 AM

4,774 posts

Buy currency at the beginning of the week. Mondays and Tuesdays usually have the best quote.
Waachaaa
post Dec 7 2006, 01:46 PM

495 posts

Hi im going to Singapore this month too. Where can i get the best rate at PJ? Its just RM1k to 2k
will feel any different if go all the way to midvalley just to save the rate difference?
ngeseng
post Dec 12 2006, 10:22 PM

мŗ. ŝęήġ(tm)
1,021 posts

yes im going to singapore too this coming weekend,
Midvalley there is most worth to change one?
adiputra786
post Dec 15 2006, 02:09 AM

hello friends...is USD still dropping right now? Where can we get the best rate in KL area as i found out that money changers put high quotes for their profit. Thank you..
adiputra786
post Dec 15 2006, 02:12 AM

How can we get the main supplier of these money changers maybe? We can get good rate by dealing with this first supplier instead of other downline money changers..Please advise. thank u.
clarencetan
post Dec 16 2006, 04:58 PM

90 posts

the money changers are usually kawan kawan, maybe LYN should identified some money changer and all go change at the same place, may be able to get better rates...
worm3
post Dec 18 2006, 04:53 AM

25 posts

Am going to AUS to further studies, which currency exchange is good in town?
ampangchai
post Dec 28 2006, 06:57 PM

171 posts

My past experience in HK:

1) Exchange a reasonable amount of HKD & NT and bring some USD just in case?
get some HK$ for emergencies and bring USD. the current exchange rate RM->USD is rather favorable.
3 days ago, i got 3600baht for USD100 in phuket while my friend get less than 10baht for RM1 in KL.
HK dun accept RM, even if they take, the rate is doh.gif

2) Exchange all to USD and change your money in the foreign country?
not a bad idea but bring large note. go to the indian money-changer in HK. not only they giv better rates than the chinese money-changer, u'll also get better rate for large note. check the USD note u get in malaysia, try to get the newest notes possible. some money-changer dun accept note printed in the 80's

3) Bring less cash and use credit card most of the time for shopping?
i always use c/card at reputable merchant. rates usually more favorable than money-changer... with a bit of luck

4)What's the conversion rate for using credit card in foreign country?
u only know when u get ur statement. it'll be the current rate of c/card transaction

5)Any good money changer in KL to recommend?
sorry dunno

This post has been edited by ampangchai: Dec 28 2006, 06:59 PM
Singh_Kalan
post Jan 8 2007, 09:31 PM

1,905 posts

For me it doesn't really worth the effort to search for the best ex-rate around town. How much do u exchange for your 1-2 week oversea trip?? 1k, 3k, 5k?? Even for 5k, and a ex-rate difference of say 1USD=RM3.55 and 1USD=RM3.50 the difference is only RM20 bucks. What's the big deal?? doh.gif Unless u r exchanging for 100k, then that may save u a few hundreds bucks.

Just go to any mamak money exchange inside the shopping complex and change ler and avoid banks and airport. wink.gif
Mclaren
post Feb 13 2007, 05:23 PM

206 posts

i'm planning to go to Thailand and Singapore soon. but due to our currency exchange rate for USD is getting stronger and stronger.
So should i buy in USD then go to Thailand or Singapore to change back their country note??although i knew tat if u change the note from another country to another country,u will get lesser.
But seem these 2 country not welcome RM. and the rate for RM to Thai Bath and Sin Dollar is about the same.
which way do u think is more profitable??
1.Get USD
or
2.Direct Change that Country note

Currently the Exchange Rate:(from Maybank)
1 USD = 3.5280 (last time is 3.8 right?)
100 bath = 11.6200 (unchanged)
1 Sing Dollar = 2.2935 (unchanged)

This post has been edited by Mclaren: Feb 13 2007, 05:23 PM
stormchaser
post Feb 13 2007, 05:31 PM

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

I'm not sure, but i guess, u might loose what u gained to the money changer, because u changed twice.

For bath, i think now they accepting RM also, i'm not sure whether all MC accept or not lar, but my father managed to change it at a better rate than here in haadyai. For bangkok, i also saw the money changer showing the exchange rate for RM near one of the famous buddha in Chinatown in bangkok, rate is better too....

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Feb 13 2007, 05:32 PM

133 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:41 PM