4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Pebble E-Ink Smartwatch Thread - V1, Version 1.14 is out now. AWESOME update!

leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 12:48 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2015, 12:46 PM)
You thought wrong.
Shipment should be US$15, right?
leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 12:53 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2015, 12:50 PM)
Show me where did you see $15 for shipping. I'm curious.
Sorry, the $15 applies to set of 2.

This post has been edited by leecwai: Feb 25 2015, 12:54 PM
leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 12:56 PM

233 posts

By the way, I am contemplating to buy this new Pebble Time but in dilemma whether Apple Watch will be better. Pebble really strike it at the right time, grab the market first before Apple Watch is out.
leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 02:12 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2015, 02:02 PM)
I'm iPhone user too but iWatch battery life is ridiculously low (1 day if i'm not mistaken). And the price is easily 2-3 fold of Pebble Time price. I will skip it no matter how good it is.
Battery life is the biggest factor in the comparison. 7 days (Pebble) vs 1 day (Apple).
Though Apple Watch will be packed with a lot of functions, a watch that last for a day will be a big concern.
Price is another driving factor.
leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 02:37 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 25 2015, 02:33 PM)
Come on... grab it already tongue.gif

You don't have much time until all $179 pledge is gone!
What color you guys pledged? Black?
leecwai
post Feb 25 2015, 04:44 PM

233 posts

Just pledge one for myself...

Apparently there is a port on the watch where it connects to the strap of Pebble Time.
So, meaning, there is flexibility of adding functions into the watch.

Let's see what the company will continue to share about this watch in this month.

This post has been edited by leecwai: Feb 25 2015, 04:45 PM
leecwai
post Feb 26 2015, 11:22 AM

233 posts

Some information about Pebble time found from their Reddit page:

Which sensors are there on Pebble Time?
3 axis accelerometer, 3D compass, ambient light sensor, microphone.

Q: What is the Bluetooth range?
A: We work hard on our antennas to make sure all our products have great Bluetooth range! Pebble Time has better range than the original Pebble - it depends on your specific environment and whether you are indoors or outdoors, but in testing we've seen a range of 50 meters or more in good conditions.

Q: Can you clarify the water resistance of the Time, specifically how it compares to the previous models?
A: We've designed Pebble Time specifically to be used in and around the water, especially for swimming because we love the swimming apps that are available on the Pebble app store! We're still finishing up our testing and certification so we're not ready to share the official water resistance rating yet. We have done additional testing, above and beyond what watches typically receive, that simulates swimming constantly for days on end - Pebble Time passed this rigorous test with flying colors.
Similar to the original Pebble and Pebble Steel we don't recommend diving with Pebble Time.

Q: Will there be a flip screen option for left-handeds who wear it on the right wrist?
A: It's a great idea. We will consider it.

Pebble Time color palette:

Q: I read somewhere that the Accessory Port can be used for hooking up additional Sensors and stuff, to make the Pebble more fitness friendly.
A: This is correct!

Q: Will there be anytime soon a support for Siri on the Pebble Time? As Siri can be used by regular earpiece, there should be no software limitation to support it.
A: There's no speaker on Pebble Time, so it wouldn't work that well. We're exploring how we can work with services like these. Agreed it would be pretty awesome on PT!

Q: Can you tell us more about the microphone "system?" My understanding is that it won't directly pipe data to Google Now/Siri like we are all used to using, so what kind of capabilities will we have?
Can't wait to get my Time, but part of me will really miss my OG Pebble I'm currently wearing.
A: We're building voice replies into the core notification system and we'll also provide an API so Pebble Time app developers can use speech recognition in their apps. I'm looking forward to possibilities like remote-controlling things by voice from my watch!
You'll need to have your smartphone connected by Bluetooth to Pebble Time in order to use speech recognition.

Q: Can you guys reveal the technical specs for the Pebble Time? Like the cpu,ram and such details. I have already backed the project and would love to know more about it. Also just wanted to add that the new color display looks really nice.
A: The CPU is a ARM Cortex M4 running at 100Mhz and apps will have access to 64kB of RAM. We will be releasing much more technical details as developer tools become available during the campaign.

Q: What can you do without having bluetooth connected?
Is there any screen tearing in this new model?
Can you store apps on watch or is everything loaded on phone?
A: The timeline syncs to your Pebble approximately 48 hours (24h past and 24h future) of events. If you disconnect all those events will still be there. Apps are cached on the watch so all the apps that you have used recently will be available even if you are disconnected. Of course if they need an Internet connection that will not work.
No screen tearing.
Apps are cached on the watch. We have space for a lot of them (much more than the current 8 app limits). So any apps that you have used recently, your selected watchface and apps that run in the background will all always be available.

Q: Will Pebble Time contain an NFC chip? If not, why not? (I seriously love my Pebble but I wish I could be futuristic and use it to pay my stuff)
A: No NFC in PT. But that sounds like a great option for a strap that uses our new accessory port. More info on this later!
leecwai
post Feb 27 2015, 01:57 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(cha.968 @ Feb 27 2015, 12:02 PM)
No tax at this moment. But after April 2015, there will be GST imposed for all imported goods more than 400 MYR, if I am not wrong.
Actually I am also looking for the answer to this question... Can you provide the link to read about this RM400 threshold?
leecwai
post Feb 27 2015, 02:46 PM

233 posts

Just found the GST relief on imported goods, looks like those imported goods with value above RM500 will not enjoy the GST relief.

Read from this link GST relief explanation (page 31 and 32)

This post has been edited by leecwai: Feb 27 2015, 02:48 PM
leecwai
post Feb 27 2015, 08:30 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Feb 27 2015, 04:43 PM)
You're wrong. There are a lot of items which is tax free in Malaysia. Watch is one of them. I have imported many items, some exceeding RM4k each but there are no tax and duty. So besides the amount, one have to know which item is tax free and which is not.
I think you have mixed up the import duty with GST.
For watch, there is no import duty. However, GST is applicable to all items imported from oversea starting April 2015 (if value > RM500). Thus, the 6% is unavoidable.

Not sure if we can prepay the GST/VAT so that the shipment will not stuck at custom when reached Malaysia.

Those people that set their pebble time shipment address in Singapore will be able to avoid the GST because SG government allows SG$400 of GST relief (No tax if the shipped item value below SG$400)
leecwai
post Mar 3 2015, 09:30 PM

233 posts

Anyone here that want to get the US$159 early bird deal, do watch out at their kickstarter page NOW because lots of people dropped their early bird deal to pledge for pebble time steel.

I just changed mine from $179 to $159 smile.gif

This post has been edited by leecwai: Mar 3 2015, 09:30 PM
leecwai
post Mar 3 2015, 10:02 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(nas @ Mar 3 2015, 09:57 PM)
No one going the opposite way?
Pebble Steel time will only ship in July smile.gif
Well, if anyone that can wait few more months and have extra $ to spend, why not?
leecwai
post Mar 5 2015, 03:26 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Mar 5 2015, 12:04 PM)
hmm a few days for apple watch liao... after that still got time to cancel the pledge if want...
Definitely the screen of apple watch will be excellent but whether people will switch to Apple Watch would really depend on how long the battery on the watch can last. That probably is what everyone is waiting to hear from Tim Cook on coming Monday.

If the battery can last for 3 days, we will see a swing to Apple from Pebble.
Anything less than a day, I believe Pebble Time will have a good market.

The price of the Apple watch also will play a big part.
leecwai
post Mar 15 2015, 02:32 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Helldiver @ Mar 15 2015, 01:41 PM)
Guys if only above RM500 is the item taxable... then wouldn't the Pebble Time be taxable under GST already?
Yes. That's right.
leecwai
post Mar 31 2015, 10:19 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Mar 30 2015, 02:34 PM)
Hopefully tax is not too expensive for pebble time steel. Kickbacked for 2 units. Hmmm.
Just pay GST 6% to your total price you paid for both watches smile.gif
leecwai
post Mar 31 2015, 01:27 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Mar 31 2015, 01:12 PM)
It is like 30 USD for GST. OMG. More than hundred right?
Yes, around RM112 based on current conversion rate.

If your total cost is less than SGD400, ship to Singapore will be better because they don't tax anything below SGD400.
If you have any friend staying in HK which does not have GST, you can send to them, then later on send back to you as a gift?? smile.gif
leecwai
post Apr 3 2015, 09:32 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(chewlf @ Apr 3 2015, 08:43 AM)
Will the pebble get tax if send to Malaysia? I pledged for Pebble Time Steel. Not sure should I refund or continue.  hmm.gif
Most likely YES under GST 6%

You can try to refund it but if you plan to buy in future and ship into Msia, it will be Tax too...

This post has been edited by leecwai: Apr 3 2015, 09:32 AM
leecwai
post Apr 10 2015, 10:43 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(acaptake @ Apr 10 2015, 10:37 PM)
Sooooo Standard Shipping or Expedited?  brows.gif
The expedited shipment will be sent from Ireland, while standard shipment will be shipped from Hong Kong.

The GST they have calculated in the expedited shipment is more than 6% and have to add additional ~US$35 in total.

Think I will rather wait than paying that extra money.
leecwai
post May 6 2015, 12:56 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(acrylic_26 @ May 6 2015, 12:42 PM)
6% include shipment fee or not?
In exact, you have to pay US$36.85 which inclusive of GST for the expedited shipment.
leecwai
post May 7 2015, 12:30 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(acrylic_26 @ May 7 2015, 11:18 AM)
Pebble (179) + normal shipping (10). what the different between expedited and normal shipping because both estimated arrival on May.
Both will be shipped in May, but expedited shipment will go directly to your house to you, while normal shipment will be stuck at customs, you will be called to pay GST at custom before you can collect it. So, we have to expect some delay in normal shipment, probably will take 2 weeks to arrive. Expedited shipment may reach you in 5 days.

Expedited shipment is more costly with additional US$36 to be paid.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0491sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:59 AM