81 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Bottom

Nokia 808 - V03 - [The King of Camera Phones], the legendary 41mp phone cam hidden gem

alvin aka gHostoNg
post Apr 15 2013, 06:31 PM

128 posts

Wonder if you guys hard to look for casing. Can check my signature for more info. smile.gif I am one of the proud user too!!!
davidletterboyz
post Apr 15 2013, 06:54 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(eidda @ Apr 15 2013, 12:49 PM)
somebody from Nokia Malaysia group fb say lowyat got sell original case rm69 or u can try search in https://forum.lowyat.net/MobilePhonesandRelatedAccessories
my 808 still live today  flex.gif

upload foto

windows 7 screen shot

upload foto
Wooh..nice. rclxms.gif What theme is this? notworthy.gif
eidda
post Apr 15 2013, 07:57 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(haki @ Apr 15 2013, 01:44 PM)
Thanks bro.....i dun wan my phone naked without case biggrin.gif
sori bro, he just mention price only, the price confirm rm69 for ori..which lowyat shop dont know.

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Apr 15 2013, 04:04 PM)
Yo bro! more extreme lalat bokeh pls! thumbup.gif

Nice theme! (with Beats sumore.. waseh!)
QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Apr 15 2013, 06:54 PM)
Wooh..nice.  rclxms.gif  What theme is this?  notworthy.gif
sure will more bokeh pic come with other things.
take small object pic easy to look nice than wide object..

theme from jelly bean hybrid blade
ulwan25
post Apr 16 2013, 02:24 AM

2,054 posts

Nokia will provide Smart Lens (which allows us to play manual settings) for Windows Phone

btw, I was about thinking to get this beast again but I do realized that until now Nokia didn't bother to fix the high ISO/banding issue as I wanted since I bought this phone.. its high ISO is highly unusable during the night and I don't like it!!
Andy214
post Apr 16 2013, 10:05 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Apr 15 2013, 04:01 PM)
I do know actually that it just a marketing gimmick of rebranding PV with "phase 2" (too early...), like what you have said. It should be consist of both phases. That is why i referred as separated path...

There are many reasons they cant work the phase 1 to Lumia, one of the main reason is their phone "profile". If they are going stick with N9 style for the rest of their life, they wont fit the large sensor nor the xenon capacitor to it, at least for now....

Hm.. cant think of any phone with shutter speed control (correct if im wrong sifu). What we can do for this is to evaluate the speed by relying on the ISO given on the different scenario...(althought abit inconvenient, lucky FP2 now are flexible to view photo and the details right after we take the shot!) Hopefully we all able to witness the true successor of Pureview in the next Lumia. We do miss Guru Damian, but Pureview initial project was under Juha's & his boss, so is up to him and the rest of the team now smile.gif
808 PureView or Phase 1 has dedicated imaging processor, for this Windows Phone might not be able to support it yet during Lumia 920, besides Windows Phone still has no support for higher end processor, there's quite a lot of limitation of Windows Phone which they're slowly improving now. Moreover, I think it doesn't support the high megapixel of 808 PureView and other features that are available on the 808 PureView or Symbian OS itself. Due to the OS belongs to MS, Nokia can't make any modifications, so they have to rely on MS and it's up to MS whether they want to incorporate it into their OS and if they do, most likely it will not be specially for Nokia, which means others can have this features as well.

For camera phone with shutter speed control, I'm not sure about those "stock" camera software, but for 3rd party, yes. One of is the Nokia N900 with FCam mod. We can control the shutter speed and set to 1 second to play with slow shutter effects, we can even force the ISO to 6400.

808 PureView tends to use slower shutter speed so the result is usually blur due to shake or movement. Depends on what you shoot often, for me, I prefer to get the shot than get many blurry images. It makes the camera much more usable for most people, most of the time, we take the camera phone out we wanna take the shot immediately/quickly to capture the moment, not spending time to mess with the settings.
A good example would be my S3 vs 808, it's easier to take photo with the S3 even with no dedicated shutter button and taking the photo with one hand in lowlight, it gives higher hit rate with less blurred photo without messing with the settings at all. This is also why iPhone camera is preferred by many.
Lumia 920 have optical stabilizer, but the auto mode seems to favor slower shutter speed because it have this optical stabilizer, so... taking moving subjects is a no-no, e.g. taking your kids. Just look at test results or comparison reviews of L920 compared with competition, when it comes to moving subject, it fails terribly, but for those who loves to capture foods, toys, will love it.
Nokia needs to realize that it's more important to capture the moment than keep getting fail images; when taking foods, toys, usually these are not "action" moments, means the user can take their time to adjust the settings before shoot, or change the mode to "Food" (or some creative mode which utilizes the slow shutter speed, e.g. Night Mode in common camera modes). For "action" moments, usually you want to quickly capture the moment, you take the camera out and you want to capture immediately. (e.g. your kids doing something cute, your pet doing something cute, etc).

realjazzcoke
post Apr 16 2013, 10:42 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 16 2013, 10:05 AM)
808 PureView or Phase 1 has dedicated imaging processor, for this Windows Phone might not be able to support it yet during Lumia 920, besides Windows Phone still has no support for higher end processor, there's quite a lot of limitation of Windows Phone which they're slowly improving now. Moreover, I think it doesn't support the high megapixel of 808 PureView and other features that are available on the 808 PureView or Symbian OS itself. Due to the OS belongs to MS, Nokia can't make any modifications, so they have to rely on MS and it's up to MS whether they want to incorporate it into their OS and if they do, most likely it will not be specially for Nokia, which means others can have this features as well.
This oso 1 of the factor that limits the proper PV to be ported to WP. Well said smile.gif But what to do, they signed up with MS... fated d.. cry.gif

For camera phone with shutter speed control, I'm not sure about those "stock" camera software, but for 3rd party, yes. One of is the Nokia N900 with FCam mod. We can control the shutter speed and set to 1 second to play with slow shutter effects, we can even force the ISO to 6400.
I see, at least now im certain that we dont get this priority setting with stock camera software most often. 2.7 sec is stil alot to play for those who knows about photography cool2.gif But i do understand the flexibility of adjusting the shutter speed directly, rather than getting approx figures by relying on ISO. Such a pity, but like Guru Damain has mentioned b4 on this topic... u cant pleased everyone and limitations are there.

808 PureView tends to use slower shutter speed so the result is usually blur due to shake or movement. Depends on what you shoot often, for me, I prefer to get the shot than get many blurry images. It makes the camera much more usable for most people, most of the time, we take the camera phone out we wanna take the shot immediately/quickly to capture the moment, not spending time to mess with the settings.
A good example would be my S3 vs 808, it's easier to take photo with the S3 even with no dedicated shutter button and taking the photo with one hand in lowlight, it gives higher hit rate with less blurred photo without messing with the settings at all. This is also why iPhone camera is preferred by many.
Lumia 920 have optical stabilizer, but the auto mode seems to favor slower shutter speed because it have this optical stabilizer, so... taking moving subjects is a no-no, e.g. taking your kids. Just look at test results or comparison reviews of L920 compared with competition, when it comes to moving subject, it fails terribly, but for those who loves to capture foods, toys, will love it.
Nokia needs to realize that it's more important to capture the moment than keep getting fail images; when taking foods, toys, usually these are not "action" moments, means the user can take their time to adjust the settings before shoot, or change the mode to "Food" (or some creative mode which utilizes the slow shutter speed, e.g. Night Mode in common camera modes). For "action" moments, usually you want to quickly capture the moment, you take the camera out and you want to capture immediately. (e.g. your kids doing something cute, your pet doing something cute, etc).
Loud and clear bro! Indeed this will ruin the photos in most of the fast moving & low light scene (That is why, myself 99% use pureview, 1% auto for others use my phone to taking shots for me laugh.gif ). and the success rate for 808 is low (for single shot pass). 808 nid patience and time in order to get the best image out of the it. To overcome slow shutter, Im now learning to get steady on 1/30, sometimes in 1/8-10 on food shots, stil some slight blur, but at least better now. Practice practice sweat.gif

Side note: Im actually quite OK with some low light shots up to ISO 800 sometimes, if for facebook, printouts, but DEFINITELY not for ZOOMING (ala attention to detail purposes laugh.gif )

Andy214
post Apr 16 2013, 12:53 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Apr 16 2013, 10:42 AM)
This oso 1 of the factor that limits the proper PV to be ported to WP. Well said smile.gif But what to do, they signed up with MS... fated d.. cry.gif
I see, at least now im certain that we dont get this priority setting with stock camera software most often. 2.7 sec is stil alot to play for those who knows about photography cool2.gif  But i do understand the flexibility of adjusting the shutter speed directly, rather than getting approx figures by relying on ISO. Such a pity, but like Guru Damain has mentioned b4 on this topic... u cant pleased everyone and limitations are there.
Loud and clear bro! Indeed this will ruin the photos in most of the fast moving & low light scene (That is why, myself 99% use pureview, 1% auto for others use my phone to taking shots for me laugh.gif ). and the success rate for 808 is low (for single shot pass). 808 nid patience and time in order to get the best image out of the it. To overcome slow shutter, Im now learning to get steady on 1/30, sometimes in 1/8-10 on food shots, stil some slight blur, but at least better now. Practice practice sweat.gif

Side note: Im actually quite OK with some low light shots up to ISO 800 sometimes, if for facebook, printouts, but DEFINITELY not for ZOOMING (ala attention to detail purposes laugh.gif )
For ISO and Noise; depends on each user, those that capture human moving subject or moments, it's more important to capture the moment than blur shot. Beside, when resize to smaller resolution, it will not be so bad, usually people post to Facebook under mobile uploads, it's already resize to small resolution, moreover most people view it in their phones, it will usually look OK or good, not to mention photos do look better on those modern phone display... and viewing in small size/screen.

Anyway, 808 PureView is in a totally different league, if one appreciate it's 38MP it offers, and the PureView mode which offers true lossess zoom which gives equally good feature like an optical zoom with constant aperture. When I use 3MP PureView Mode and zoom to the fullest, it can maintain somewhat similar shutter speed, and with true lossess zoom, you get great amazing details even zoom to the fullest. On other phone cameras, you will see BIG difference when compared....

Below is a simple comparison I done previously, just look at how great is 808PV even when using it's MAXIMUM 3MP PureView Mode zoom and somemore at 100% CROP.... with S3, it looks like poor CCTV footage screen capture.

realjazzcoke
post Apr 16 2013, 01:51 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 16 2013, 12:53 PM)
For ISO and Noise; depends on each user, those that capture human moving subject or moments, it's more important to capture the moment than blur shot. Beside, when resize to smaller resolution, it will not be so bad, usually people post to Facebook under mobile uploads, it's already resize to small resolution, moreover most people view it in their phones, it will usually look OK or good, not to mention photos do look better on those modern phone display... and viewing in small size/screen.

Anyway, 808 PureView is in a totally different league, if one appreciate it's 38MP it offers, and the PureView mode which offers true lossess zoom which gives equally good feature like an optical zoom with constant aperture. When I use 3MP PureView Mode and zoom to the fullest, it can maintain somewhat similar shutter speed, and with true lossess zoom, you get great amazing details even zoom to the fullest. On other phone cameras, you will see BIG difference when compared....

Below is a simple comparison I done previously, just look at how great is 808PV even when using it's MAXIMUM 3MP PureView Mode zoom and somemore at 100% CROP.... with S3, it looks like poor CCTV footage screen capture.

That is the true intention on the Pureview tech. Easy sharing great photos with compact file size! We leave 38Mp to the professional to deal with laugh.gif . haha

I still remember this original post from you... totally no comparison bro! the lossless zoom already take a huge lead on detail, not yet compare pureview pixel sampling tech yet.

Nowadays less seeing you post pic! Hope to see some soon thumbup.gif
Andy214
post Apr 16 2013, 02:18 PM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Apr 16 2013, 01:51 PM)
That is the true intention on the Pureview tech. Easy sharing great photos with compact file size! We leave 38Mp to the professional to deal with laugh.gif . haha

I still remember this original post from you... totally no comparison bro!  the lossless zoom already take a huge lead on detail, not yet compare pureview pixel sampling tech yet.

Nowadays less seeing you post pic! Hope to see some soon thumbup.gif
My pics mostly private family/kids photo ma, hehe tongue.gif

Previously was testing or trying out the 38MP and PureView Lossless Zoom, so got take more. There's always shifu aspire with all his amazing photos~

realjazzcoke
post Apr 16 2013, 02:37 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 16 2013, 02:18 PM)
My pics mostly private family/kids photo ma, hehe  tongue.gif

Previously was testing or trying out the 38MP and PureView Lossless Zoom, so got take more. There's always shifu aspire with all his amazing photos~
Ic ic brows.gif . but stil hopefully can have more 808 users to join sharing ma~some ordinary stuff or food (got member complain on food pics coz got puasa...betahan d temptations...lolz) Sifu aspire 38mp gallery will crash browser...haha

At least glad to know u trigger happy with 808 thumbup.gif
stephen2282
post Apr 16 2013, 03:20 PM

112 posts

The quality of the photos are so good!! yawn.gif my dad gonna love this.

How is the PV808 holding up as everyday smartphone? Like browsing or wechat, whatsapp those.

What is the price of AP set now? o.O
davidletterboyz
post Apr 16 2013, 04:30 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

Pics I took recently using 808PV hehe:

All uploaded directly to Flickr without any editing. BTW, I noticed it's not easy to focus on small stuff without zooming. That flower pic, I had to zoomed a bit....so it's not using the full sensor size. doh.gif

This post has been edited by davidletterboyz: Apr 16 2013, 04:31 PM
realjazzcoke
post Apr 16 2013, 04:38 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(stephen2282 @ Apr 16 2013, 03:20 PM)

How is the PV808 holding up as everyday smartphone? Like browsing or wechat, whatsapp those.

Camera is the best to date, but it is not easy to use compared to compact P & S, and also refer my earlier discussion with andy214, by default 808 is on lower side on shutter speed, meaning shaky & blury shots is going to happen, that you might nid some skill to overcome at first...

Minus some random crash, hang, 2days not a problem. But still depends on individual usage. sweat.gif

Browsing not reli that recommended, nid to do alot of scrolling and zooming due to low res screen. Recommend Opera mobile for better browsing experience.

Wechat 4.2.0. is usable, but not that great, especially on typing, it will revert to fp1 keyboard...also for Chinese user, u have to set your keyboard to chinese input before starting Wechat, or else it will crash when you start to type.

Whatsapp no frills though smile.gif

Erm.. i duno about the pricing though, mayb u can look into garage sales~
realjazzcoke
post Apr 16 2013, 04:41 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Apr 16 2013, 04:30 PM)
Pics I took recently using 808PV hehe:

All uploaded directly to Flickr without any editing. BTW, I noticed it's not easy to focus on small stuff without zooming. That flower pic, I had to zoomed a bit....so it's not using the full sensor size.  doh.gif
Dont worry, it is normal, because the default distance is 15cm compared to 10cm on N8, dont be afriad to use the lossless zoom when you nid to do serious macro shots!

Keep up! thumbup.gif
stephen2282
post Apr 16 2013, 08:32 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(realjazzcoke @ Apr 16 2013, 04:38 PM)
Camera is the best to date, but it is not easy to use compared to compact P & S, and also refer my earlier discussion with andy214, by default 808 is on lower side on shutter speed, meaning shaky & blury shots is going to happen, that you might nid some skill to overcome at first...

Minus some random crash, hang, 2days not a problem. But still depends on individual usage. sweat.gif

Browsing not reli that recommended, nid to do alot of scrolling and zooming due to low res screen. Recommend Opera mobile for better browsing experience.

Wechat 4.2.0. is usable, but not that great, especially on typing, it will revert to fp1 keyboard...also for Chinese user, u have to set your keyboard to chinese input before starting Wechat, or else it will crash when you start to type.

Whatsapp no frills though smile.gif

Erm.. i duno about the pricing though, mayb u can look into garage sales~
Sounds nice! My dad isn't much of a texter but he is a camera fanatic lol. So I think I should ask him to look into this phone.

Thanks for the info. smile.gif
alvin aka gHostoNg
post Apr 17 2013, 01:09 AM

128 posts

DO not have to get AP set. I got mine for RM1040 smile.gif Just ard 1 month ago.
Becazo once offered RM999, but with postage, it will be around RM1020++.

Seller from lelong.
Opps. I free promote his shop here. Got commision? haha . jkg.

So far I very satisfy.Never has auto restart.

I use it for whatsapp. we chat, sms, call, WAZE (Very nice. I tot it will be buggy and LAGGY at first, but it is ok for me, just that it doesn't has the EPIC graphic as you can find in abv avg android and apple), and of course photography.

Note that symbian gaming experience is kinda .... Incomparable with android and apple ya.

Once i got it, i upgraded to belle sp2 i guess. The latest punya. Till now i am satisfactory customer. smile.gif
haki
post Apr 17 2013, 07:04 AM

546 posts

Go for ori set...i bought mine at shah alam rm1100..at garage sale go find seller name aaronac.he sell 999 avaxx set...im not promote him but he sell cheapest pv808 as far as i know..this phone hard to find..
aspire2oo6
post Apr 17 2013, 08:35 AM

Banned
35,468 posts

Make it short its the best is the camera, clearblack display and fm transmitter. The rest is average.
ulwan25
post Apr 17 2013, 02:37 PM

2,054 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Apr 17 2013, 09:35 AM)
Make it short its the best is the camera, clearblack display and fm transmitter. The rest is average.
and their designs are smart too! Nokia never disappoints me in terms of design (but my friends hated it, owh well brows.gif )

and I prefer to hold this phone than my L920, its pretty bold and sturdy, classy finishing by them Finnish! thumbup.gif
stephen2282
post Apr 17 2013, 02:57 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(alvin aka gHostoNg @ Apr 17 2013, 01:09 AM)
DO not have to get AP set. I got mine for RM1040 smile.gif Just ard 1 month ago.
Becazo once offered RM999, but with postage, it will be around RM1020++.

Seller from lelong.
Opps. I free promote his shop here. Got commision? haha . jkg.

So far I very satisfy.Never has auto restart.

I use it for whatsapp. we chat, sms, call, WAZE (Very nice. I tot it will be buggy and LAGGY at first, but it is ok for me, just that it doesn't has the EPIC graphic as you can find in abv avg android and apple), and of course photography.

Note that symbian gaming experience is kinda .... Incomparable with android and apple ya.

Once i got it, i upgraded to belle sp2 i guess. The latest punya. Till now i am satisfactory customer. smile.gif
QUOTE(haki @ Apr 17 2013, 07:04 AM)
Go for ori set...i bought mine at shah alam rm1100..at garage sale go find seller name aaronac.he sell 999 avaxx set...im not promote him but he sell cheapest pv808 as far as i know..this phone hard to find..
Seems like a solid device to use. Will look into it in my nearest phone stores. Thanks for info. biggrin.gif And the price is cheap too! I'm expecting something like RM1700-1800. lol

81 Pages « < 50 51 52 53 54 > » Top

0.0324sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:56 AM