post Feb 21 2006, 03:29 PM, updated 20y ago

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

Anyone own any flying squirrel? Come in and share your experience
Just in case someone don't get how they look like, here :
Flying Squirrel Gliding
Flying Squirrel
They are cute drool.gif

Further more, I went to petsmore. I saw they are selling it for RM280. Anyone interested can pay a visit to petsmore smile.gif

Details about Flying Squirrel :

Physical Characteristics:
Adults weigh approximately 4 to 5 ounces and are approximately 1 foot in length. The Southern flying squirrel has large dark eyes and a bushy tail which it curls behind its back. Although nocturnal in nature, flying squirrels will interact during daylight hours. They can live up to 15 years in captivity.

Feeding:
A good diet consists of a combination of fresh nuts and fruits. Nuts may include peanuts, pecans or walnuts. At least 40% of their diet should be fresh fruit to keep their digestive system working smoothly. Fresh fruits may include apples, grapes, oranges, peaches, pears or plums. Other foods that may be included in their diet are carrots, mealworms and sunflower seeds. A commercial flying squirrel food made by Brisky should also be used. Try to offer a variety of these items since all squirrels don't have the same preferences. Provide water in an open container, not a water bottle. A spool of rabbit salt should be kept available at all times.

Housing:
Flying squirrels should be housed in a wire cage and not an aquarium. A wire cage allows them to climb and provides better air circulation. A flying squirrel needs a small cage during its first few months to restrict their activity level. When the flying squirrel reaches 5 to 6 months of age, a larger cage is appropriate. A nestbox should be mounted near the top of the cage to create a suitable environment for an adult squirrel. Wood shavings provide a suitable bedding material and all types of wood are acceptable. The squirrel will chose one corner of the cage for its bathroom and that area should be cleaned every few days. The squirrels can exercise inside the cage and branches and bird perches can be spread around so they can jump from perch to perch.

Bonding:
A bonding pouch is a great idea during the bonding process. It should be made of a material that is easy to breath through. This pouch should be placed near your body preferably over the heart. By carrying a squirrel around on your body so that they feel the heartbeat, body warmth and body odor, the bond takes place. The bonding process should be swapped around so the squirrels will be interactive with everyone and not just one individual.

Calcium Deficiency:
Flying squirrels are prone to developing a calcium deficiency. This is due to the fact that they are nocturnal and don't get sufficient sunlight. You should use a calcium supplement and add liquid vitamins to their water.

Diseases:
The flying squirrel's body secretes an oil that totally repels any lice, fleas, mites, ticks, etc. There has never been a known case of rabies in flying squirrels.
Taken from this source
Some FAQ about Flying Squirrel
Another nice FAQ

============================

My comment about Flying Squirrel :

1.) They can be a wonderful pet when takes in during young age. Adult Flying Squirrels are known to be quite hard to handle.
2.) They are rodent family = They bite! They need to chew on things to trim their teeth. If they are not tame, it is recommend to use glove to handle them rather than bare hands.
3.) They are rodent family = They can share the food of hamster but from time to time, additional food like nuts should give to them. Nuts are their favorite food and it can be use as treat to tame them.
4.) They are not the same family as Sugar Glider. Meaning they don't share the same gentleness as Sugar Glider.
5.) They are nocturnal animal which highly active in the night. They are quite noisy compare to Sugar Glider. They chips and grims their teeth a lot to make the sound quite noisy. As the result, they are not suitable to keep in the bed room.

The difference between Flying Squirrel and Sugar Glider

This post has been edited by InfiniteVoid: Mar 13 2006, 09:13 AM
ndextreme
post Feb 21 2006, 03:32 PM

Retired From Doing Trading !! But Will Shop !!
1,249 posts

Amboi HandSome Lah !
jaswwp
post Feb 21 2006, 03:38 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

Reminds me of the SG flying picture, hehe... wonder if these make good pets.
ys_2k
post Feb 21 2006, 03:40 PM

369 posts

dunno they will bite or not..
shinchan^^
post Feb 21 2006, 03:43 PM

K66
21,256 posts

wow pet?
how do they fly in in the cage sweat.gif
TSInfiniteVoid
post Feb 21 2006, 03:44 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Feb 21 2006, 03:38 PM)
Reminds me of the SG flying picture, hehe... wonder if these make good pets.
QUOTE(ys_2k @ Feb 21 2006, 03:40 PM)
dunno they will bite or not..
I will do some research and update some care sheet about this cutie laugh.gif
Stay tune smile.gif
jaswwp
post Feb 21 2006, 03:47 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

You interested to keep more gliding animal ar? hehe...later quarrel with ur SGs
usws
post Feb 21 2006, 03:52 PM

171 posts

Fly fly fly then tiba tiba bite!!!
usws
post Feb 21 2006, 03:53 PM

171 posts

In Malaysia got or not... Maybe catch two, breed and sell!! Quite expensive one!!
wufei
post Feb 21 2006, 03:57 PM

3,039 posts

Singapore night safari got a lot...All just flying above ur head only.
TSInfiniteVoid
post Feb 21 2006, 04:07 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Feb 21 2006, 03:47 PM)
You interested to keep more gliding animal ar? hehe...later quarrel with ur SGs
Erm... I just interested in them only. Still don't have any plan of getting it. I more interested in your baby brows.gif I'm waiting for them to breed brows.gif

I may keep flying squirrel in the future if I shift to a better place. Currently the place is not mine so it is kind of troublesome .....sigh....
RaFaLe
post Feb 21 2006, 04:12 PM

177 posts

3 yrs ago i managed to catch one in my kampung..in Malacca
baby flying squirrel..
the poor lil guy..R.I.P already sweat.gif
look almost the same as the pic..
TSInfiniteVoid
post Feb 21 2006, 04:16 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(RaFaLe @ Feb 21 2006, 04:12 PM)
3 yrs ago i managed to catch one in my kampung..in Malacca
baby flying squirrel..
the poor lil guy..R.I.P already sweat.gif
look almost the same as the pic..
How did you catch it? How did it die? huh.gif
shinchan^^
post Feb 21 2006, 04:17 PM

K66
21,256 posts

of course
it used to fly here and there
big habitat
u go prison it in a small cage
cannot fly also

sure died of boredom
Tainted
post Feb 21 2006, 04:22 PM

Bored!!!
4,503 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Feb 21 2006, 04:29 PM)
Anyone own any flying squirrel? Come in and share your experience

Just in case someone don't get how they look like, here :

They are cute  drool.gif

Further more, I went to petsmore. I saw they are selling it for RM280. Anyone interested can pay a visit to petsmore  smile.gif
QUOTE(usws @ Feb 21 2006, 04:53 PM)
In Malaysia got or not... Maybe catch two, breed and sell!! Quite expensive one!!
U can also get them in Pet Safari in Ikano.
akira de aimbuster
post Feb 21 2006, 04:29 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

SG knwo how to fly? sweat.gif
FunGuSaMoNgstUs
post Feb 21 2006, 04:34 PM

445 posts

SG can glide thru the air !
RaFaLe
post Feb 21 2006, 04:38 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Feb 21 2006, 04:16 PM)
How did you catch it? How did it die?  huh.gif
that squirrel was sitting on top of a durian tree about 6 feet..hidden between 2 split tree trunks..then i slowly climb..gotcha la..
just grab it with gloves.. laugh.gif
put him in a cage..but the next day, it died..
i dunno why.. blink.gif
myb he was sick ur injured..coz it didnt fight to release frm me..
i think so..
akira de aimbuster
post Feb 21 2006, 04:41 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

scare until die... cry.gif

Anyone have cool pic of sugar glider flying? Google didnt give me any good pic ><
TSInfiniteVoid
post Feb 21 2006, 05:47 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Feb 21 2006, 04:41 PM)
scare until die... cry.gif

Anyone have cool pic of sugar glider flying? Google didnt give me any good pic ><
ehem ehem... this topic is regarding flying squirrel, not sugar glider hehehe...
MonsterChew posted a quite nice gliding picture in the sugar glider topic. Take a look wink.gif

0.1267sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:07 AM