Hi. May I know if Proton and Perodua are considered CKD? Are the also subject to excise and sales tax?
Is Proton and Perodua considered CKD?
Oct 9 2012, 11:06 PM, updated 14y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
Hi. May I know if Proton and Perodua are considered CKD? Are the also subject to excise and sales tax?
Oct 9 2012, 11:11 PM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
Yes for all. Because in BM, CKD means pemasangan tempatan.
Excise tax, depending on the percentage of imported content in the vehicle. The more local content, the lower the excise tax imposed. All vehicles are subjected to sales tax, just like when you dine in in a restaurant with annual revenue of RM 3mil above, you'll be charged with 6% government tax. |
Oct 9 2012, 11:14 PM
186 posts Joined: May 2011 From: Ipoh |
I won't say they are CKD. They are locally made cars.
Oct 9 2012, 11:18 PM
3,345 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Proton is CBU... in australia, thailand and indonesia.
Added on October 9, 2012, 11:20 pm QUOTE(rlky @ Oct 9 2012, 11:14 PM) To put into perspective, yes it is CKD. Only few early batches of those rebadge might be CBU. This post has been edited by ruffstuff: Oct 9 2012, 11:20 PM |
Oct 9 2012, 11:55 PM
741 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 9 2012, 11:18 PM) IMO those rebadge is considered CKD, since the power window problem already exist since the re-badge era. I don't think JDM Mitsubishi got this kind of problem. Back to topic CKD = Complete Knock Down Means the parts are imported from overseas and assembled locally. Perodua might be considered CKD also, since using toyota engine and gearbox. Proton, most of the part are local, but some part (CVT gearbox) is supplied by overseas supplier, not sure its CKD or not. |
Oct 9 2012, 11:59 PM
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 9 2012, 11:55 PM) IMO those rebadge is considered CKD, since the power window problem already exist since the re-badge era. I don't think JDM Mitsubishi got this kind of problem. How you knows non-proton/perodua using non-local parts? Only imported? Back to topic CKD = Complete Knock Down Means the parts are imported from overseas and assembled locally. Perodua might be considered CKD also, since using toyota engine and gearbox. Proton, most of the part are local, but some part (CVT gearbox) is supplied by overseas supplier, not sure its CKD or not. Local vendors who supplied parts to CKD cars, same supplier to proton as well. |
Oct 10 2012, 12:08 AM
741 posts Joined: Jul 2012 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Oct 9 2012, 11:59 PM) How you knows non-proton/perodua using non-local parts? Only imported? What i mean CKD was a whole set of parts import from other country. But in Malaysia the CKD is confusing, as most of them had to use localized parts to lower the tax charged by Malaysia Government. IMO they should be called as Semi Knock Down SKDLocal vendors who supplied parts to CKD cars, same supplier to proton as well. Knockdown kit Ya, some CKD car really share the same local supplier with Proton. I see my non P1/P2 brand car tempered glass is using the same brand as the one found on P1 & P2. Proton i think should be considered as local made. |
Oct 10 2012, 12:11 AM
2,141 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Muddy Banks |
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 10 2012, 12:08 AM) What i mean CKD was a whole set of parts import from other country. But in Malaysia the CKD is confusing, as most of them had to use localized parts to lower the tax charged by Malaysia Government. IMO they should be called as Semi Knock Down SKD yes, my windows on my proton junk shares the same brand as the glass used in BMW; Saint-Gobaint Knockdown kit Ya, some CKD car really share the same local supplier with Proton. I see my non P1/P2 brand car tempered glass is using the same brand as the one found on P1 & P2. Proton i think should be considered as local made. |
Oct 10 2012, 12:14 AM
3,581 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
Oct 10 2012, 01:10 AM
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Oct 10 2012, 12:08 AM) What i mean CKD was a whole set of parts import from other country. But in Malaysia the CKD is confusing, as most of them had to use localized parts to lower the tax charged by Malaysia Government. IMO they should be called as Semi Knock Down SKD Once car been declared as CKD, overtime it will use local vendors. That is how our NAP works. More local vendors involve, meaning more incentive. How many percent, we wouldnt know. This is to maximize profit, to reduce the excise tax. But of course, consumer keep paying on same price. Knockdown kit Ya, some CKD car really share the same local supplier with Proton. I see my non P1/P2 brand car tempered glass is using the same brand as the one found on P1 & P2. Proton i think should be considered as local made. |
Oct 10 2012, 04:05 PM
71 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Bukit Jelutong |
As far as I know, Proton uses local and foreign supplier as their vendor, I think the local one is more like cost-saving since these are vendors that caused a lot of problem for Proton in terms of quality such as EPMB (for IAFM module), Sapura (Saga drumbrake), other foreign vendors (Bosch, Punch, Saint-Gobain, DK-Schweizer, Sanden) are doing ok for Proton. When there's a problem, Proton always kena even though the vendor caused it in the first place...
Oct 10 2012, 04:07 PM
1,040 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(revived_irfan @ Oct 10 2012, 04:05 PM) As far as I know, Proton uses local and foreign supplier as their vendor, I think the local one is more like cost-saving since these are vendors that caused a lot of problem for Proton in terms of quality such as EPMB (for IAFM module), Sapura (Saga drumbrake), other foreign vendors (Bosch, Punch, Saint-Gobain, DK-Schweizer, Sanden) are doing ok for Proton. When there's a problem, Proton always kena even though the vendor caused it in the first place... Coz local vendors are all cronies. Main purpose is to make obscene profits |
Oct 10 2012, 04:11 PM
415 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
I called Proton Edar this afternoon. And spoke with customer service inquiring if the car is CKD. After a while on hold, the agent came back saying it isn't However, she does not sound very convincing.
Oct 10 2012, 04:20 PM
830 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
| Change to: | 0.0158sec
5 queries
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:28 PM |