Any new VW Passat owners here?, Thinking of buying one

mys_terious
post Feb 14 2014, 08:52 AM

882 posts

My friends and i bought a total of 6 vw in december 2012, of the 6vw ,
1)1 jetta was warded for gearbox problem ( spent 2 months in service center)
2) 1passat had the clutch pack changed bcoz of jerky ride ( 30,000km millage), clutch is only 2 years warranty , he was lucky his was still under warranty, normal price is in thousands of ringgit.
3)another passat refused to start yesterday n had to be towed away from the road side, battery problem (normal price over rm1k), this same passat had warning light on the month b4, changed some censors, still had warning lights on, at the end after 5 more trips to the service center they change 4 parts for him all under warranty.
4)another jetta is jerky although he hasnt sent for repair yet
5) out of the 6 11month old vw, my passat and my friend's toureg are the only ones problem free until now but my passat has the lowest millage among them (only 13000km) so i dont know if i will face the problems they face when i hit higher millage

I am lucky that my hometown vw service center is not too busy so we can drive in for repairs without appointment. I love my passat but I will nvr buy another vw for sure unless they improve their reliability.

0.0174sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:11 PM