XBOX360 on Plasma or LCD TV, which is better ?

TSevilpuppy
post Feb 21 2006, 12:41 AM, updated 20y ago

4,092 posts

guys.. i've read over this topic but i couldnt recall where.... can help here?
need some advices from ya all.... How bout Haier 32LCD TV? it is good while on 360?
benQue
post Feb 21 2006, 12:42 AM

i hate nasi lemak
1,324 posts

yea..

im also looking for a good tv for 360.

any other recomendations?
terranova
post Feb 27 2006, 04:53 PM

1,161 posts

edit - duplicate post - sorry.

This post has been edited by terranova: Feb 27 2006, 05:13 PM
terranova
post Feb 27 2006, 04:57 PM

1,161 posts

Good topic. Interested to know the answer to this as well. Novice here.

And some buyer's guide pointers would be helpful too to maximise use with xbox360 e.g. input options (components, hdmi), panel resolution, etc.

Thanks in advance.

http://www.plasma-vs-lcd.com/plasma-lcd-start.htm
psp _BOY
post Feb 27 2006, 05:30 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

ive played on hdtv plasma's and hdtv lacd's
and i have to say lcd's are better looking smile.gif
they have a big advantage over plasma
but for serious gamers get a computer crt it gives faster light and sharpness too
and lcd might look thin and cool
but with a 4k comp,19" CRT,and an XBOX 360
it will be the BOMB laugh.gif
SUSMatrix
post Mar 8 2006, 09:11 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Nah.. Monitor will suck coz consoles is not designed to output to monitor. All those 3rd party VGA converter only gives sub-standard quality compared to a CRT HDTV. Furthermore, all monitors are 4:3...lagi not suitable for XBOX360.

If got budget, go for a good quality LCD/PLASMA with decent resolution. Most LCD is around 13xx x 7xx resolution max, but i guess it's good enough.

hikaru_x
post Mar 8 2006, 09:30 AM

161 posts

the 360 wont suck on a PC monitor coz it was designed with the capability to output to a monitor. the cable (be it original microsoft vga cable or 3rd party ones) is a direct cable from console to monitor, the console can generate vga signals internally, no monkey business of converting component/composite/etc to vga.
PrivateJohn
post Mar 8 2006, 09:53 AM

ODST m cry.
7,071 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 8 2006, 09:11 AM)
Nah.. Monitor will suck coz consoles is not designed to output to monitor. All those 3rd party VGA converter only gives sub-standard quality compared to a CRT HDTV. Furthermore, all monitors are 4:3...lagi not suitable for XBOX360.

If got budget, go for a good quality LCD/PLASMA with decent resolution. Most LCD is around 13xx x 7xx resolution max, but i guess it's good enough.
You mean xbox or xbox360?? Xbox360 is showing just fine on monitor...
kaneshiro21
post Mar 8 2006, 10:03 AM

40 posts

speaking of widescreen... does a sony 29" tv db29m61 supports 16:9 ???

how we know if computer's LCD are 4:3 or 16:9 ???

redbull_y2k
post Mar 8 2006, 10:20 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

That statement only applies to PS2 and Xbox, not the Xbox360. Of coz there's a trade-off when u're using a 4:3 monitor to play Xbox360 games as most will be in 16:9 so there's black borders on the top n bottom. The image quality won't suck! Wait a minute, even most CRT HDTVs are 4:3 too, n u said they're better than PC monitors? doh.gif Have u even had any hands-on experience with the Xbox360? laugh.gif
terranova
post Mar 8 2006, 11:06 AM

1,161 posts

Got myself this lcd tv in preparation for my xbox360 next week:

http://www.samsung.com/he/products/tvplasm...tv/la40r51b.asp

Cnet review here:

http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/home_av/tvs/0...9094528p,00.htm

Comments anyone?

Zerg1008
post Mar 8 2006, 12:18 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 8 2006, 11:06 AM)

Cnet review here:

Comments anyone?
Hehe same model range i'm using now but in 32 inch for my bedroom biggrin.gif
terranova
post Mar 8 2006, 12:50 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Zerg1008 @ Mar 8 2006, 12:18 PM)
Hehe same model range i'm using now but in 32 inch for my bedroom biggrin.gif
Cool! Actually I kinda regretted getting the 40-inch one. Too big for my small-ish living room. Need to sit a bit further back for better view, but I can't move back any further. Should have just went for the 32-inch. But it seemed small in the showroom (I guess must be the effects of showrooms with screens plastered all over the wall and numbing your senses).

kaneshiro21
post Mar 8 2006, 02:16 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 8 2006, 11:06 AM)

Cnet review here:

Comments anyone?
wondering.... if the lcd tv resolution is 1366x768 , can it support 1080i or 1080p ?

PS3 is coming out with 1080p....
Zerg1008
post Mar 8 2006, 05:41 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 8 2006, 12:50 PM)
Cool! Actually I kinda regretted getting the 40-inch one. Too big for my small-ish living room. Need to sit a bit further back for better view, but I can't move back any further. Should have just went for the 32-inch. But it seemed small in the showroom (I guess must be the effects of showrooms with screens plastered all over the wall and numbing your senses).
No need to regret, at least the screen is big right brows.gif but big 40-inch still running 1366 x 768... still better than plasma resolution biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kaneshiro21 @ Mar 8 2006, 02:16 PM)
wondering.... if the lcd tv resolution is 1366x768 , can it support 1080i or 1080p ?

PS3 is coming out with 1080p....
brows.gif

Can for 1080i... most of the LCD TV available in Malaysia can support up to 1080i. For 1080p you may have to wait a bit longer or you can spend RM 32k+ now for Sony 1080p LCD projector smile.gif

This post has been edited by Zerg1008: Mar 8 2006, 05:42 PM
psp _BOY
post Mar 8 2006, 06:41 PM

1,978 posts

hahaha lcd looks damn neat with 360 or ps2,plasma can have burn in,but plasma black parts are darker,anyway lcd live ;longer

damn i envvy u guys lcd tv hahaha mines this one

My Samsung TV
terranova
post Mar 8 2006, 07:09 PM

1,161 posts

I believe the newer lcd tvs are just as black to the ordinary untrained eyes, and not greyish like the older lcd tvs.

Purist will say it can never be as black as plasma's - granted. But it's black enough for me.
psp _BOY
post Mar 8 2006, 07:16 PM

1,978 posts

yups exactly
but the new hitach ALis8 is gorgeous
i envy my dad and mom mellow.gif

they couldve put it in my room
360 on it is heaven
i always shift my 360 to thier room when thier not around ahhaha same goes to the pioneer plasma's

This post has been edited by psp _BOY: Mar 8 2006, 07:19 PM
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 11:20 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Anyone take a look at this? http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=254446

The 4203TW model is selling for RM5k, supports 1366 (H) x 768 (V).
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 11:26 AM

The LOWEST ranked Halo 3 player in the WORLD!!!
1,545 posts

hmmmmm... interesting... MK84 have you dealth with the seller before?
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 11:32 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

No, I just inquired about the 4203TW model. Haven't decided which to get yet. It's either that, the Panny PT-AE900 or Sony KF-E50A10 projection TV. Have to go around and test them first.
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 11:38 AM

1,545 posts

i'm skewed towards the projector... went to see it two weeks ago... placed a deposit liow... just waiting for the dude to confirm that he's got all the stuff i asked for (screen, soundproofing materials) blah blah blah and waiting for them to start work on the spare room and i'm set
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 11:44 AM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

How much did u get it all for? With Draper screen?
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 11:57 AM

1,545 posts

i was quoted rm 13,888 inclusive of labour charges.... no free gifts though
arj
post Mar 9 2006, 12:02 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(yoroi @ Mar 9 2006, 11:57 AM)
i was quoted rm 13,888 inclusive of labour charges.... no free gifts though
What else did you get? I was quoted just over RM10k for the projector, 92" Luma gray screen, a Pioneer high-end DVD player and all the cables, installation and mountings.
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 12:07 PM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Mar 9 2006, 12:02 PM)
What else did you get? I was quoted just over RM10k for the projector, 92" Luma gray screen, a Pioneer high-end DVD player and all the cables, installation and mountings.
some honeycomb funky looking padding like thing for the walls (some soundproof thingie...i was told), cables, installation and calibration, pionner amp, dv-S969avi player and screen
arj
post Mar 9 2006, 12:13 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(yoroi @ Mar 9 2006, 12:07 PM)
some honeycomb funky looking padding like thing for the walls (some soundproof thingie...i was told), cables, installation and calibration, pionner amp, dv-S969avi player and screen
oooooo.... cool. So that means the insulation stuff is around RM1000+ only. Post pics ya when it's ready or invite us all over would be better cool.gif
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 12:17 PM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Mar 9 2006, 12:13 PM)
oooooo.... cool. So that means the insulation stuff is around RM1000+ only. Post pics ya when it's ready or invite us all over would be better  cool.gif
actually gonna do a house warming soon... bcos imassively renovated my current apartment... last time bachelor pad now urm family friendly...after i get back from sg on the 24th
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 12:29 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Hmm.. decisions decisions.... haih....
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 12:32 PM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 9 2006, 12:29 PM)
if you're looking for a dlp... i think i saw a couple samsung ones on sale at hsl
arj
post Mar 9 2006, 01:18 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 9 2006, 12:29 PM)
Bring your 360 to Musical Image, I'm sure they'll let you test it out for a few minutes thumbup.gif
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 01:24 PM

1,545 posts

best to bring your favourite dvd's as well... then you can compare better
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 02:16 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Just came back from KLCC, went to check out the KF-E50A10 and this other 50" DLP from Samsung. Both somewhat grainy for my liking.
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 03:04 PM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Mar 9 2006, 02:16 PM)
Just came back from KLCC, went to check out the KF-E50A10 and this other 50" DLP from Samsung. Both somewhat grainy for my liking.
hehehehehe so you getting the projector as well?
MK84
post Mar 9 2006, 04:08 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Gonna check out Musical Image tomorrow. Then only decide.
yoroi
post Mar 9 2006, 04:15 PM

1,545 posts

do let us know if you see any good deals there
terranova
post Mar 9 2006, 07:28 PM

1,161 posts

Sorry ... but what is this Musical Image thingy ? Name of a shop ?
arj
post Mar 9 2006, 07:44 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Mar 9 2006, 07:28 PM)
Sorry ... but what is this Musical Image thingy ? Name of a shop ?
Yup, is a name of a shop.

http://www.musicalimage.com.my/

And here's a projector discussion thread in the Audiophiles section.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=255153
terranova
post Mar 10 2006, 10:30 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Mar 9 2006, 07:44 PM)

Mucho gracias.

yoroi
post Mar 10 2006, 01:50 PM

1,545 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Mar 9 2006, 07:44 PM)

work started this morning... very professional lah... so complicated...lots of measurements and all that... will invite you guys over when its done...
MK84
post Mar 10 2006, 02:14 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Once all done, post some pics... maybe with GRAW. thumbup.gif
yoroi
post Mar 10 2006, 03:10 PM

1,545 posts

GRAW??? nah i'll post a screen shot of "You have been sniped by MKA84" hahahahahahahaha
MK84
post Mar 10 2006, 03:43 PM

Walking Plague
1,477 posts

Ahahaha... my sniping skills cannot make it. About the only time I get sniper kills is when the target is either not moving or going in a straight line. laugh.gif

0.0255sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:54 PM