QUOTE(MaxSteR88 @ Oct 23 2012, 07:44 PM)
oo okay for example i know killing Lilipup or Patrat raises attack EV by 1 correct.
but at what level should i concerntrate doing this?
do they get the same amount of EV if i switch them out of battle?
sorry for noobish questions. just recently found out about these stuff.
If I'm not mistaken, as long as they get EXP they get the EV, so even if you EXP share they will get the EV. Have to be careful or else you might accidentally get the wrong EVs or miscount..
Focus on beating them game before you start to think about working on your competitive team. You also want to figure out the team you're running, the metagame tier you're going to play in (http://www.smogon.com/bw/metagames/) and so forth. From there, you should learn how to RNG (if you're using a real 3DS and real cart and not jacksparrowed one

) for IVs before working on EVs. This is especially important for those one of a kind pokemon like Genesect and Latios :/
IVs are very important, arguably more important than EVs (because EVs can be adjusted using berries

). The difference in my Espeon attacking a sub-optimal Latios versus a near perfect Latios is almost 20% off its HP when I Shadow Ball. If its a critical on a lousy Latios, confirm OHKO whereas the perfect Latios would survive the critical hit.
IVs also affect the Hidden Power type you get, so for sweepers like Latios, you want HP:Fire and would need a combination of 31/6/31/30/30/31 IV to get HP:Fire..so yeah haha.
Don't worry about it

I used to be a newbie until I fought some Japanese guy's dragonite on DPp and got OHKO'ed LOL. After that I went and tried to figure out why and learned about stuff like IV/EV

Anyway to stress it, do NOT catch any one-of-a-kind Pokemon until you can RNG for perfect stats or the combination you need to make it competitive. I screwed up my Latios when I forgot about the Hidden Power type and now I need to make adjustments to my team to account for Scizor counters.

tl;dr: Perfecting Pokemon is just for competitive use lah. If you're a casual player, don't waste time unless you're super masochistic and want to spam chatot cries all day long..
This post has been edited by ZeratoS: Oct 23 2012, 07:59 PM