5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Samsung Galaxy Note II LYN's Official Thread V2, RM2299 ETA 19/10. 1 more week!

thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:06 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

have any1 tried this?

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...ootkeeper&hl=en
thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:09 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(zombieaa @ Oct 11 2012, 11:06 PM)
another noob questions..hehe
can the shop root the phone for us..latest firmware..??
can. but why pay for something free? Plus even if shop root for you, warranty void
thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:18 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Oct 11 2012, 11:13 PM)
i think developer already mentioned useless with samsung devices flashed with kies or odin
after root and try it. It useless after reflash using kies or odin. U just want use the temporary hide your root feature and try accessing reader hub again

just the bonus feature sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 11 2012, 11:21 PM
thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:33 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 11 2012, 11:15 PM)
I haven't got Note2 to try it tongue.gif
succumb to the temptation and get the ap set

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Oct 11 2012, 11:25 PM)
thanks for the info..
instead downloading ota rootkeeper..i donwloaded root uninstaller tongue.gif ..going to remove all the sammy bloatware..just lazy to freeze it
tat app uninstall system apps right? not temporary disable your roots. So u intend to uninstall your reader hub?

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 11 2012, 11:33 PM
thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:47 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(upmost systems @ Oct 11 2012, 11:44 PM)
sammy becoming more protective..
hope in the future they wont implementing lock bootloader
tat the only reason they are succeeding is because their phone can easily flash and good to developer etc etc
see htc with their locked bootloader, developer lost interest and end user are no longer interested in locked bootloader phone

Added on October 11, 2012, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 11 2012, 11:47 PM)
I don't often use Samsung apps except SMemo and SPlanner~ if root, will it affect these?
no, custom rom may dont have those apps

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 11 2012, 11:48 PM
thpace
post Oct 11 2012, 11:52 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 11 2012, 11:50 PM)
they don't have those apps BUT they provide an option whether to install those app or not. SPlanner and SMemo is a must for my daily use.
download the apk for Splanner and Smemo and reinstal it after flashing custom rom?
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 10:47 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(gouken @ Oct 12 2012, 10:17 AM)
I usually will sign up a 12 month plan with maxis to get a cheaper phone and I ll be paying monthly data anyway. And I'm the lazy type who never bother survey and compare other telcos and jump ship every six months when got better offer and mess up all the billing again.

I've finally encrypted my SD card with a slightly more cumbersome 6 letters password. The reason I did that is because I would like my wife to enjoy browsing my 1-year old photos from when he is born to now all on the big screen whenever she want...so thousands of photos and videos. If I lost the phone, an unencrypted sd card will allow all those private photos be accessed on the PC. The phone I didn't encrypt because not much sensitive info and all tied to google account which I can reset password remotely. Camera will save first direct to internal memory in case the encrypted card is slower. But so far browsing the thousand over photos are as smooth as without encryption.
what apps u use? or by default android have setting to do it?
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 11:55 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Oct 12 2012, 11:01 AM)
telco plans are always out of my reach. for a minimal usage user like me (spending less than RM30 inclusive of voice+msg+data) i can oni buy the naked phone and pair with umobile prepaid 28. but i'm getting more and more frustrated thanks to the genius speed in melaka.
Umobile in melaka run on gprs. In melaka, your only option is Maxis or Celcom. If want 3G coverage, Celcom is best. If u want stable speed and in town area. Maxis is the best option. I using maxis, can get HSPA+ sometime

Digi run on EDGE, and as you know theirs speed is quite bad especially out of klang valley

QUOTE(gouken @ Oct 12 2012, 11:31 AM)
ya, built-in in Jelly Bean under Security settings, but you must use 6 letters unlock. 3rd part apps oso got but ugly like hell i cannot stand, like Windows 95 apps, ewwwww

QUOTE(shockk @ Oct 12 2012, 11:52 AM)
Off topic a bit. How does one get into Maxis One Club?
In Note 2, under Power Saving Option - there is an option to limit CPU speed. Have not activated the Power Saving features since the Note 2's battery life is already very impressive.  drool.gif
Have you tried it? brows.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 12 2012, 11:56 AM
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 12:03 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2012, 11:16 AM)
No effect on hardware
Just google benefits of rooting in android many sites explaining this
Basically make your phone more capable in its usage, performance improvement,  battery saving, etc
uncle, currently you on WanamLite rim rite? Any comment on it?
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 12:17 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 12 2012, 12:12 PM)
Basically i dont see any significant difference with stock rom
the stock rom is already very good - it is tough to improve it unlike previous Samsung ICS stock roms on the Note
I install it mainly because it is deodexed and i need deodex rom to change the homescreen grid from 4x4 to 5x6

Added on October 12, 2012, 12:15 pm
I read somewhere in this thread  here they give only 1 year warranty for AP sets while its competitor Brandstar ( through sellers directd, satugadget)  gives 2 year warranty at about similar prices
all bloatware are removed? i am considereing after get sme set. Straight flash to wamanlite coz i also want the 5X6 grid biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Since stock rom is already good, might want to stick to as stock as possible sweat.gif sweat.gif
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 01:56 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Ivancck @ Oct 12 2012, 01:39 PM)
Thanks both you, master. What make Malaysia rom better than the European rom? Meaning, why one wanna flash to Malaysia official rom if their ap set is from uk, for instance.? Any particular reason or advantages if one wanna Malaysia rom rather than uk rom?
nothng in particular, even with uk rom u stil can use your phone. Unles u want bm support then only u flash malaysia rom.
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 04:45 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Oct 12 2012, 04:42 PM)
REVOMED ?!? what the...
mayb they will update firmware later like mutli window feature ?@@ must b !!  thumbup.gif
funny samsung, it look like they ship out with things haven fully ready sad.gif
Mayb the rush to counter ip5 introduction and they ship out unfinished product
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 05:06 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 12 2012, 05:02 PM)
I'm pretty sure many would want to know how that is done. drool.gif  cool2.gif
1. titaium backup your file into your sd card
2. take out the sd card and put into your new phone
3. download titaium backuip from play store or just reinstall it
4. Open titiuman bakcup and chose restore apps+data
5. Do have a look at S3, S2 and Note thread. It widely available if u willing to so some reading and search
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 05:08 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(crazyissac @ Oct 12 2012, 05:05 PM)
must b~early bird catch me this little tiny worm..;D
hope they will update that feature ><
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...ighlight=record

Seem it copyright issue, so it removed for now
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 10:07 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

Chainfire have released his famous CF-root laugh.gif laugh.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1933542

But i wondering why, he not including CWM and his CWM Manager in it??? Sad news, chainfire finaly decided not to include permanent recovery in his cf-root

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 12 2012, 10:10 PM
thpace
post Oct 12 2012, 11:36 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 12 2012, 11:25 PM)
Hmm..so we root Note2 using CF-root. Gain SuperSu with it then we flash CWM recovery by Chenglu..?
Look like going tat method, 1st root using cf-root and then flash CWM recovery by chenglu

but easier way is just to flash CWM + root by chenglu. But according to dr.ketan, once u use this method, the next time you boot into recovery, flash counter will increase. I not sure if we can use triangleaway to reset counter after we boot into custom rom after recovery

Other method is to use mobile odin to flash without raising counter. No phone, no way to test sad.gif

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 12 2012, 11:37 PM
thpace
post Oct 13 2012, 12:12 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 12 2012, 11:53 PM)
Yeah..no phone..hard to test which one is safest way. I was thinking if we use Chenglu CWM + root then if we flash new firmware using MobileOdin...does the root stick/preserve..?
We do know if using CF-root..flash new firmware via MobileOdin..the root stick. 
Hmm..had to wait the phone first cry.gif
If we flash new firmware using MobileOdin, I think we can still maintain root but lose CWM and i not sure if it will raise counter. Mayb can use triangaleway to reset counter after flash new firmware

I prefer using cwm recovery to install custom rom like wanamlite because i want mod to 5X6 grid laugh.gif Now, it seem tat if i were to reboot into CWM recovery, the flash counter will increase according to drketan.

But MobileOdin 3.4 can flash zip file already and will not reaise flash counter. Must have some1 test it out. No phone canot test sad sad.gif
thpace
post Oct 13 2012, 12:51 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2012, 12:20 AM)
CWM can be maintain if flash via MobileOdin when flash new firmware. Just clear at recovery section so new firmware stock recovery won't overwritten the CWM recovery.
Root is different story coz not built by Chainfire. Dont know whether root can be maintain as MobileOdin oso built by Chainfire. That's why i presume if we use CF-root then that root guaranteed preserve when flash firmware via MobileOdin.
then the safest way, is to root using cf-root. Flash chenglu CWM recovery using mobileodin if insist want cwm recovery. Can we flash cwm recovery via mobileodin instead of pc odin?

After that any new firmware, we just flash using mobileodin. This should maintain root right?

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2012, 12:44 AM)
Up to you. If you prefer custom rom (deodexed) then you can flash Wanamlite.
Btw..you gonna root using CR-root or Chenglu one..?
Or does Wanamlite comes pre-root..?
wanamlite is already pre-rooted

This post has been edited by thpace: Oct 13 2012, 12:53 AM
thpace
post Oct 13 2012, 12:58 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2012, 12:51 AM)
Try this
1) Root with CF-root via PC Odin
2) Flash CWM recovery (Chenglu) via PC Odin.
3) Use TriangleAway to reset binary counter.

Then use MobileOdin to flash new firmware.
Good luck
let him be guinea pig brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
Tell us your result later

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2012, 12:54 AM)
Of course la need CWM recovery. Otherwise how to make backup..!?? rclxub.gif
whenever we go custom recovery, the counter will increase. This is due to the new bootloader which have auto checksum, whenever you reboot to custom recovery, it will detect and counter will be 1. Based on the reply by dr.ketan

But dont care lah, if want sent warranty, just flash to fully stock firmware, triangleaway and send to service center sweat.gif
thpace
post Oct 13 2012, 01:10 AM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Oct 13 2012, 01:02 AM)
No Note2 in hand to test anything. Probably will just root it for TiBackup and some monitoring tools, since according to our master Benny TW is now a joy to use.
Just ask anyone who haven root, go into recovery mode and see if it have.
I also not sure laugh.gif

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Oct 13 2012, 01:04 AM)
Bhwahaha..what a bummer..!! laugh.gif
Flash custom rom via MobileOdin is the way then shakehead.gif
yup.. even after flashing custom rom. Once you go into recovery, straight counter increase laugh.gif
Why la chainfire inluded cwm+cwm manager into his cf root cry.gif cry.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0420sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:32 PM