Alternator & Starter Overhaul Shop, 40 years of experience

digilife
post Nov 1 2016, 04:20 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(Alphawolf @ Oct 29 2016, 11:26 AM)
Guys,

My car had suffered a horrible "alternator death" yesterday and, after reading about Kwong Weng here, went to them for repairs. My alternator is too busted to be repaired and luckily, they have a "new" (I believe these are refurbished parts, made new) alternator in stock, so I had saved a bunch of money. Earlier on I went to another shop who had quoted RM 950+ for refurbished alternator, and RM 1400+ for a new, albeit not original part. Kwong Weng quoted me RM 400++ all in. rclxms.gif

It is true that these guys are experienced people, and so far seems honest to me. A big thanks to the TS who started this thread, otherwise we would not have known of these fellas.

After speaking to the nice aunty, she mentioned that they are also doing air con compressor repairs and power windows mechanism repairs.

Also, by next year they would be shifting to Kepong, due to the MRT taking over their current site. Their new address is as follows:

KWONG WENG ELECTRICAL TRADING CO.
65, JALAN METRO PERDANA TIMUR 7
KEPONG ENTREPRENEURS PARK
7th MILE, JALAN KEPONG
52100 KL

HP 012 2913346.

icon_rolleyes.gif
Is your car a BMW ?

My story, but not done in this Kwong Weng.

My alternator is Valeo brand, new original Valeo is quoted rm1250 & workmanship to fix it is rm50, just a 30min job. Not Auto Bavaria obviously.

I was given an alternative , fix a Recond Valeo [ same model with mine & the Wireman have stock on hand ] , paid rm650 which includes a 2 mth warranty . This Recond unit was refurbished by Shiling Enterprise , local company.

I was told that my "old" alternator Voltage Regulator behaved strangely & that if I am able to source for that part he will help me to replace/repair my "old" Valeo for rm60 , need grinding of the soldering.

My question is does KW stock the Voltage Regulator for this Valeo brand [ layman terms Alternator's Electronic ] I want to redo this alternator as a spare.

BMW supply Bosch & Valeo brand alternator to all their vehicles.

I read earlier post that a Vios ori alternator cost rm2800 whereas a BMW Valeo cost only rm1250, [ Bosch about rm2000 ] , is it not Japs parts are much cheaper ?

digilife
post Nov 2 2016, 03:24 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Alphawolf @ Nov 1 2016, 09:55 PM)
Nope, am driving a Chevrolet instead. The original alternator is made by Delphi. But some GM marques uses Valeo too..especially Vauxhall and Opel.

I would suggest you to visit them and ask them whether they could accommodate your request. Or just call them up beforehand.

What I heard from hearsay is that the local distributors of jap cars had jacked up the prices of the original prices. Had never owned a jap car before so don't have any personal experiences.
thumbsup.gif thumbsup.gif
digilife
post Nov 7 2016, 05:41 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ Nov 7 2016, 04:50 PM)
Repaired it last time, a lot better then recond alternator and cheaper..
New ori at rm3k, recond rm300, repair rm160.. so suite urself
Between a new ori , recond & repair.

My case was the Wireman does not have the Voltage Regulator for my kind of alternator, Valeo Brand 100A , so my next best option was either to replace a recond [ rm650 inclusive of installation ] or a new same brand alternator [ rm1300 ] The recond one come with 60days warranty.

One day I should bring my alternator to this KWONG WENG ELECTRICAL to see if he can repair it without changing the Voltage Regulator.

see how much the damn part cost in the US in USD

digilife
post Nov 15 2016, 07:33 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(marcin.lad @ Nov 15 2016, 01:28 AM)
Good day guys.
I wanted to share with you a new website for ordering replacements parts and repair kits for your cars alternators or starter motors. You can buy all replacement parts for alternators and starter motor i.e regulators, rectifiers, brushes, brush holders, bearings, solenoids, gears, bendix, tools and many more all in one place at saverepair
You can easily find any part you looking for by entering your parts serial number in search box, this will bring up all the suitable parts for the part.
Good link and they ship to MY too,

Standard Delivery 2 to 10 Business Days

Price is good too [ atleast for my make & model ]

digilife
post Dec 31 2016, 08:11 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(airtawarian @ Dec 31 2016, 02:25 AM)
i get myself repair at kwong weng shop for alternator at RM 260 only.
wat model is your car ?
digilife
post Apr 21 2017, 05:58 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Apr 21 2017, 05:48 PM)
i just went this old shop and get my ori vios alternator repaired but didn't change the bearing because still in good condition with total damage RM170. The husband and wife very friendly and there will shift to new shop for the attached photo. Thanks
An original Vios alternator replacement from Toyota SC will cost > rm2000

brows.gif
digilife
post Jul 15 2017, 07:47 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jul 15 2017, 06:15 PM)
Just kaotim less than 200 for recond

Almost the entire alternator needs fixing:
Rotor
IC
regulator
Coil
What carbon brush? (Totally gone lol)
Its cheap, other places charges abt rm230.00 with GST included

Re-cond with 3 mths warranty.
digilife
post Jul 15 2017, 07:49 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(szecheng @ Jul 3 2017, 10:05 AM)
Still at jalan ipoh old place 3rd July 2017. Will move in 2-3 months time to kepong.
Repairing my alternator now.

updated: my car battery & alternator was totally drain before my car towed to the shop. after repairing the alternator, i was driving with the 'check engine' lights on. after a day drive. the 'check engine' light go off. pheww scare the shit out of me.

i'm[attachmentid=8937102] happy for the professional workmanship.
In future, you can eliminate the Check Engine Light faster with an OBD2 scanner & clear the fault code with it , if the hardware supports.

digilife
post Jul 19 2017, 05:25 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 19 2017, 04:12 PM)
theres an even easier way..... the old school way.

get the car started, then cabut the battery (take the -ve terminal off)..... if the car dies, your alternator aint working or is supplying insufficient power. If it keeps running, its usually alright (do check with a voltmeter to double check, you should be pushing somewhere 13 and up volts)
why not cabut the +ve terminal off ?
digilife
post Jul 19 2017, 05:35 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 19 2017, 05:29 PM)
just incase if u cabut and ter-touch some other body part of the car... remember the entire car is basically a negative terminal
so its safer to cabut the -ve then

btw, what if both terminals cabuted & the car still working, means double konfirm the alternator is working fine ?

[ just pray dun touch or connect both terminals together, else sure kabooooooooom ]

I did that when I swap my spare batteries for my car to charge them once in a while.
digilife
post Jul 20 2017, 08:27 AM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 19 2017, 08:07 PM)
k there are some 'interesting' things that can happen if wiring is an issue, just something i experienced

Start car, cold, 14.1v flat, no issues. Drive around for 10 mins voltage suddenly starts to fluctuate to around 10-12.... it goes utterly nuts 'sometimes' so i assumed my alternator died... i lived with this for like a whole month (i had an electric charger so i was relying on that while figuring it out)
As a last and final test resort i pulled the battery when it started to mess with me, i mean nothing to lose right? cabut battery, car remained on, head lights didnt waiver at all... this was very peculiar. Voltage bouncing anywhere from 7 one min then rising back to 14v after... So yeah probably regulator?
So the last test i did was to pull the voltages directly from the alternator itself, a direct source line, once with both ends, once positive once then negative, in the end, it turns out, one bolt was abit greasy and kept getting loose (its got to be suuuper tight)
loose contact ?
digilife
post Sep 1 2017, 05:47 PM

8,025 posts

Anyone of you guys replace a Recond Starter b4 ?

I guess Recond is better than half-cut or just service it cause you get many new parts in the Recond starter.

digilife
post Feb 7 2018, 06:28 PM

8,025 posts

Remember this is your good Wireman shop , pay him a visit if the electrical system in your car have gremlins
digilife
post Apr 18 2018, 05:44 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(semut ungu @ Mar 10 2018, 01:00 PM)
went there few days ago... good service...

but my advise is better go to your mechanic first, take out the alternator then bring it to the shop...

in my case... repair alternator just take less than 15min... the process to take it out takes almost 2hrs ( depend how complicated the placement of alternator in your car )
ps : sorry dunno how to rotate the photo 😅
digilife
post Apr 26 2018, 06:19 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(heng84 @ Apr 26 2018, 02:45 PM)
Drop by this place because not sure which part of my car is making random aeroplane  noise, they removed alternator from my car spin it,  told me bearing is good therefore its not the culprit probably Ac compressor, then they removed the back plastic cap, show me carbon is worn, OK change it then air blow the whole alternator, pasang back then start car, done, I asked for bill my expectation is more than 50 less than 100 cos carbon only cost a few bucks to my surprise the uncle charged me 120, 10min job, don't require dismantle whole alternator+ few dollar parts for 120 🤔
IMHO, there is a specific cost of repairfor each job which includes servicing [ blowing the unit & testing]

My guess the breakdown for this job is rm100 for dismantle & fix back & diagnostic + rm20 for replacement part inclusive of GST if its applcable.

Do you knoe what are the consequences of a fail alternator due to worn out carbon & that you got stalled in the early hours of the morning somewhere along the way & raining heavily rushing to send your family members to KLIA to catch a flight ????

It could just happen like this at random ? no ?

So rm120 to make your alternator back to like almost new is not worth the value ?

Btw, what car do you drive ?

FYI, a Vios new alternator from Toyota SC will be quoted at >rm2000 & newbies car owner would have no choice but to get it replaced there, final bill, rm2xxx.00 inclusive of GST.

digilife
post Apr 26 2018, 06:42 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(Marcus95 @ Apr 26 2018, 06:40 PM)
If you are not willing enough to pay people to do it, why not do it yourself
You need the necessary TOOLS & expertise , you think so easy one meh !!!!

To become the Finance Minster much more easy................
digilife
post Apr 26 2018, 06:51 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Apr 26 2018, 06:46 PM)
But ppl complain too expensive wor for a 10 minute job.
Cant blame them la, what to do !!!

QUOTE(Marcus95 @ Apr 26 2018, 06:46 PM)
So are you one of those people who pay nuts for good labour?
No, I understand how hard they come to this stage & would not shortchange them.

To me even rm130 is worth the value.

To replace a re-cond alternator, it would cost that guy double the amount. It still works the same, maybe the repaired one last longer than a recond one.

digilife
post Jun 11 2018, 03:57 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jun 11 2018, 01:22 PM)
Where to get this tester? can buy from any hardware shop?
I too looking for a tester & this seems okay,

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/t16594-v...49fbW208qG&mp=3

It can even test the battery CCA, very important info on the battery state of health to prevent fuckups when in the middle of nowhere !!!
digilife
post Jun 11 2018, 06:42 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(suadrif @ Jun 11 2018, 04:13 PM)
this one only for battery or can be use for alternator as well?
There is a simpler way to test the alternator, plug in a cigarette light Voltmeter , start your car, disconnect the battery connector without touching the positive & negative , ask someone to chk the reading of the Voltmeter to see if it stays between 11 to 15 , if it does , meaning the alternator is fine. the Voltage will fluctuate , meaning the alternator is working fine, once you connect the + & - of the terminals to the battery, it should be in the range of 10.5 to 14.3 , depending on how many gadgets in your car is consuming your battery power

digilife
post Jun 11 2018, 07:58 PM

8,025 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Jun 11 2018, 05:49 PM)

The voltage depends on what car because some cars have higher usage like sensors & other gadgets, if the car is in running condition 12.6 ~ 14.4 is consider normal because the voltage regulator in the alternator will help in regulating the output, what worries us is if when the car is running it goes below 10. or above 15

0.0366sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:05 PM