Silent Casing, What choices do I have?
KidsCode
Feb 21 2006, 02:57 AM
-----NoLimits!-----
QUOTE(evilnickwong @ Feb 21 2006, 12:00 AM) I remember clearly as it was not too long ago. Too loud to be considered for even a quiet system, and I was testing them in free air, so there was no turbulence noise from grills or anything. Perhaps yours came with different spec fans. I can't recall the model number except I remember they were rated for about 80CFM. I think S12025M or something like that. okie was a lower spec fan S1202512L about 67 CFm... QUOTE(biatche @ Feb 21 2006, 01:36 AM) still very few choices right now, most of which is rather expensive.. :< Sonata 2 was same internal as HEC 6A series, abit more expensive and front bezel looks diff... how do i put it, you gain some, you lose some, you want silent, you will lose good air flow, or vice versa... This post has been edited by KidsCode: Feb 21 2006, 02:59 AM
Vervain
Feb 22 2006, 06:33 PM
how would you guys rate the gigabyte casing? looks cool with 2 120mm exhaust fan behind
tongyam
Feb 22 2006, 07:09 PM
if u free, mod some sponge in the casing, but beware of the heat issue too
This post has been edited by tongyam: Feb 22 2006, 07:09 PM
pizzaboy
Feb 22 2006, 07:51 PM
For me, to achieve a silent while not too bad on cooling case on the crappy centurion 1 airflow design, this is what I did.
Fans.
- 120MM intake, 120MM exhaust fans. Panaflo at 7V. I oiled all the bearings of my fans. - 80MM chimmney (exhaust fan lar) on the top at 5V - 120MM fan, sucking air from the bottom of the case. I cut a hole at the bottom. 7V. - Removed all grilles, except for the back and top exhaust. Nobody stupid enough to put their fingers through, but precaution anyway.
Sponges.
- One relatively thick layer behind motherboard tray. - One layer on the right side of my case, excluding the window.
Grommets.
- Grommets for all the fans, to reduce the vibration. I ran outta gromets for my top exhaust, so I used those rubber type double-sided tape and just screwe through.
So far, so nice. Doesn't make more than a hum thanks to the 7 and 5V fan mods.
TSbiatche
Feb 22 2006, 09:12 PM
pizzaboy: photos please.
ikan_semilang
Feb 22 2006, 11:35 PM
Maybe u can try this guide : Silentmaster Guide
sniper on the roof
Feb 22 2006, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Feb 22 2006, 11:35 PM) Maybe u can try this guide : Silentmaster GuideThe HDD box in that "guide" is expensive...it's ok if there's only 1 HDD but if have more....then it'll cost a bomb. Plus on the other hand, suspending the HDD works just as well while being cheaper. Also..Akasa Paxmate does not work. I've used it ....it doesn't work..the SPCR guys also says the same.
evilnickwong
Feb 22 2006, 11:57 PM
Guide to silencing your rig: 1. Go to SPCR. 2. Read as much as you can there, they have tons of great articles. 3. Move to the forum and read the user articles/reviews/guides there. 4. Do it to your own rig. 5. Ask for comments/feedback on the forum and revise. 6. Repeat as necassary. This post has been edited by evilnickwong: Feb 22 2006, 11:57 PM
SUSAllnGap
Feb 23 2006, 10:50 AM
why nobody tried passive cooling ? btw, i'm running caseless now and the loudest thing is my HDD........
This post has been edited by AllnGap: Feb 23 2006, 10:51 AM
Torniquet
Feb 23 2006, 11:04 AM
i think this zalman case is the passively cooling case ur talking about??? all using heatpipe adn 20++kg HERE
xeratos_85
Feb 23 2006, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(Torniquet @ Feb 23 2006, 11:04 AM) i think this zalman case is the passively cooling case ur talking about??? all using heatpipe adn 20++kg HEREthis case cute 1 la..i wonder how much it price..must be rm1k ++
Torniquet
Feb 23 2006, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Feb 23 2006, 02:01 PM) this case cute 1 la..i wonder how much it price..must be rm1k ++ that case is fully alu and cooper leh.... sure more then RM1k....
xeratos_85
Feb 23 2006, 03:43 PM
but dunno how it perform here because temp so hot in this country.if in aircond maybe ok la but in normal room?
Torniquet
Feb 23 2006, 03:55 PM
normal room also....we got a thing called fan...hehe i think is ok lar....of course air-con room is better lar...
xeratos_85
Feb 23 2006, 04:42 PM
at my bedroom got "thing called fan" also hot2 1 la..but at night cool like..like..like dunno la.ice maybe
Torniquet
Feb 23 2006, 05:45 PM
hehe....ur room is safara desert ah...... we better stick to the topic...if mod sure belasah....
so...where is the thread starter...wat do u think about the zalman... super silent case...
TSbiatche
Feb 23 2006, 09:15 PM
I think the Zalman is too heavy, would cost me a forture to have it shipped to Sarawak. I also think it's not good for my hard disks. It isn't for me for sure.
Passive cooling is nice, but I also have to think about 'safety'. I don't want anything to die cuz of heat. I know processor won't. But I need to worry about the rest.
I like the P180 a lot, but jeez, the price..... seriously difficult to work out a suitable case for me, can't browse reviews like before also since Streamyx is bloody slow right now.
Seriously though, they making a lot selling these metal parts at such high price.. You can buy an airconditioner for RM700 now, that's using a lot more material than a casing. Plus the thing actually cools. Yah, bloody expensive.
sidewinderz
Feb 23 2006, 09:31 PM
hey...how bout lian-li pc-60 plus?
evilnickwong
Feb 24 2006, 12:21 AM
I have a PC60 Plus, and while it's quiet now, it did take abit of effort to get it here.  Just to run through, most of it had to start with quiet components and coolers/fans. Afterwhich, some touch up with sound dampening, HDD suspension and removing as much airflow impedence as possible. As it is, the only things I hear are my PSU fan and my HDD. But be warned, without sound dampening, the side panels tend to rattle whenever your HDD/DVD drives spin up. But honestly, for a silent case, the P180 is only RM100 more than the PC60-Plus and would be the better choice. This post has been edited by evilnickwong: Feb 24 2006, 12:22 AM
Torniquet
Feb 24 2006, 01:58 AM
QUOTE(biatche @ Feb 23 2006, 09:15 PM) I think the Zalman is too heavy, would cost me a forture to have it shipped to Sarawak. I also think it's not good for my hard disks. It isn't for me for sure. Passive cooling is nice, but I also have to think about 'safety'. I don't want anything to die cuz of heat. I know processor won't. But I need to worry about the rest. I like the P180 a lot, but jeez, the price..... seriously difficult to work out a suitable case for me, can't browse reviews like before also since Streamyx is bloody slow right now. Seriously though, they making a lot selling these metal parts at such high price.. You can buy an airconditioner for RM700 now, that's using a lot more material than a casing. Plus the thing actually cools. Yah, bloody expensive. the zalman is more like a concept mah.... safety??? wat safety r u talking about???? They are just making this kind of case to suit the exhaustist.. and air conditioning u have pay every month leh....where else the case is 1 time thing