1. Preferred brand - Anything will do as long as it is good
2. Budget - Around Rm10k-Rm12k
3. Usage - HEAVY GAMING FTW!!!
4. Preferred laptop screen - hopefully 17.3" but 15.6" can do also.
Thanks a bunch!! Sifus, please help me(noob apprentice)
Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!
Dec 19 2012, 07:06 AM
639 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: Nowhere; Anywhere; Somewhere |
Help me please..
1. Preferred brand - Anything will do as long as it is good 2. Budget - Around Rm10k-Rm12k 3. Usage - HEAVY GAMING FTW!!! 4. Preferred laptop screen - hopefully 17.3" but 15.6" can do also. Thanks a bunch!! Sifus, please help me(noob apprentice) |
Dec 19 2012, 07:57 PM
Thanks, sifu. I need more reviews for illegear.. Could someone tell me their experience with them please? Thanks !! ^^
Dec 22 2012, 02:19 AM
Budget: <15k
Screen size: prefably 17inch. 15 inch will do too. For gaming use. About the brand, um.. Not customizable companies like Illegear or OriginPC(mum seems to be not trusting them and bazooka-ed me just now about warranty) she would prefer those like Dell or Asus. Thanks. Sorry for repeating again. |
Dec 22 2012, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 22 2012, 02:49 AM) From Malaysia? About the 2x512GB SSD Illegear has good warranty support. Asus? Sorry, tell your mum she must be kidding Anyway, if mommy only allow Dell or Asus, stick with Dell. Alienware M17x R4, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM5999[Starting 5.3kg][Klipsch], 6GB, 500GB (7200rpm), W7HP/W8, backlit keyboard [GPU options: GTX660M/HD7970M/GTX675M/GTX680M) Alienware M17x R4, i7-3840QM + Nvidia GTX660M + (1920x1080)@RM7549[Starting 5.3kg][Klipsch], 8GB, 2x1TB (5400rpm), W8, backlit keyboard GPU options: GTX660M/HD7970M/GTX675M/GTX680M); 3D/W7HP@RM7749 With your budget, get GTX680M SLI, 2x512G SSD (don't do RAID with SSD), extend warranty to 3 years, 32G RAM .... Just don't waste money on the 3D, stick with TV |
Dec 23 2012, 02:11 AM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 23 2012, 12:55 AM) Asus though where can I find GTX680M SLI for M17X? o.O Now waiting for confirmation from a computer shop as they will help me ask illegear to get more info, so that they would help me buy if they think it is good (that is what my freaking mum wants)A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8 K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD Added on December 23, 2012, 12:59 am With your budget, come on Of course, of course, need to think about mommy purse Added on December 23, 2012, 1:02 am Could you tell us what you are going to use the laptop for? Other preference? Each has its strength |
Dec 23 2012, 05:37 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 23 2012, 05:12 PM) You can get Alienware M18x with GTX680M SLI at (guess what) illegear Now I will wait for the computer shop to call me(like a camper) Errr ... why don't you ask Prince J at LYN forum here. He is from illegear http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2613184 Basically, illegear is using the Clevo barebone, and give you the best for bucks components. Count our lucky stars that they are actually doing this in Malaysia for gamers If cannot, most probably order AW M17X from Dell. Praying that the computer shop can settle.. T-T I have one crazy mum... >< |
Dec 23 2012, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(Prince J @ Dec 23 2012, 05:41 PM) Dear eugenelimys Hm... I think they would call and ask about the company and the warranty and etc. etc. etc... Then they will help me order. I don't think it is reselling gua...If the computer shop hasn't signed up for our reseller program, he might not be able to resell our products to you. Please pm me your email and phone number and I will ask our Penang reseller to get back to you. Or, please pm me the computer shop's phone number and we will liaise with them directly. Added on December 23, 2012, 6:10 pm QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 23 2012, 05:42 PM) Hey, I bet your mum love you very much I am 17 this year. Entering international school next year. If you are from Penang, I think you should know about a school called uplands. I am going to study IB there. I could only wish I had a mum who bought me RM15k laptop when I was young Make sure you give her a big kiss and hug for Christmas and New Year She is good sometimes. When she is pissed off, I am pretty much a dead meat. >< This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Dec 23 2012, 06:10 PM |
Dec 24 2012, 12:13 AM
Btw, with both Alienware M18X and Illegear RX17, which one would you guys pick?(though I was planning to compare M17X) I was "addicted" to Alienware's chasis.. T-T
Dec 24 2012, 12:59 AM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 24 2012, 12:33 AM) If you are more concerned about better warranty support (on-site and complete cover), then pick the AW M17x (not the M18x since its not covered here in Malaysia). I hate it when superb laptops don't have cool chassis like AW. Argh.. It made me so hard to choose between super specs or cool chassis. T-THowever, if you are looking to fully maximize the specifications for your budget, then its definitely the Illegear RX17 Summore there's a X'mas promotion on Illegear products too Added on December 24, 2012, 1:04 am QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 23 2012, 11:22 PM) Good luck in your study Thanks ><Aren't we all scare of our parents some time in our life? As you grow older (and especially after you have your own kids), you will appreciate your parents more In the mean time, enjoy the free lodging, free laundry, free food ... Yup. Got a crush but she seems doesn't like me. T-T Haha.. And free MONEY!! This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Dec 24 2012, 01:04 AM |
Dec 24 2012, 03:34 PM
Haiz.. Will be buyin m17x due to the battery power.
Dec 24 2012, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 24 2012, 04:30 PM) all gaming laptops are like that bro. worry about battery? bring a power bank or 2nd battery along with you if you dont want to bring the power brick. Haiz.. I wonder can GTX680M 2GB handle crysis3 I don't think second battery enough la.. Might be using for a couple of hours.. Around 3-4 hours.. |
Dec 24 2012, 06:31 PM
Dec 24 2012, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 24 2012, 06:34 PM) AW has enduro or optimus, so please not to worry. Though I wonder why RX17 don't have.. Haiz...If I am to choose Illegear and AW, RS17 and M17x, I would choose M17x as I prefer cooler chassis+powerful laptop. Illegear, I would pretty much take RX17 once I got enough funds. Sorry Prince J. |
Dec 24 2012, 07:57 PM
Can M17x's screen glare in a room full of lights?
Dec 24 2012, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 24 2012, 08:05 PM) Depends on how bright those lights are... but it should be alright if you set the screen brightness to max. Ya lorh. Stupid dell.. Alrighty.. AW M17x here I come! (I still miss RX17 T-T)The screen though, is no match for the power of the sun- a very big problem in all AW models Not sure why AW don't want to at least offer anti-glare screens |
Dec 24 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 24 2012, 09:10 PM) I want to get something more powerful than M17X which is the RX17. If you are calling me to get RS17, why don't I just get M17x as it comes with a cool chassis. |
Dec 24 2012, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 24 2012, 10:00 PM) Haha.. |
Dec 24 2012, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 24 2012, 10:37 PM) add some accessories as well. What accessories should I get? EDIT : im will be the same as you to go for the same AW laptop. look at my siggy and you will know why. Added on December 25, 2012, 12:02 amMERRY CHRISTMAS! Added on December 25, 2012, 2:43 amIt was never worth it to upgrade to 32GB 1600Mhz through Dell, huh? Damn!! Rm2.6k for upgrading from 8GB to 32GB.. How much does it cost to get a 8Gb Ram?? EDIT: it's 2.8k!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! EDIT2: or do you think I should buy from Dell??? This post has been edited by eugenelimys: Dec 25 2012, 04:26 AM |
Dec 25 2012, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Dec 25 2012, 07:55 AM) add accessories like mouse, keyboard and the laptop bag upon purchase. They gave free Orion bag upon purchase. Lmao. Is it good? MERRY CHRISTMAS! no. never upgrade more than 8GB from dell if you dont want to waste money. the RAM can be added later to save money, just remember to choose the same spec as the RAM offered by dell. also, its not recommended for you to upgrade more than 16GB if you just want to play games, do homework stuffs and simple multitasking. 32GB is for professional users like AutoCad those. The price for dell to upgrade is too godly for SSD and ram. So, I guess I buy outside ba.. Single 240 GB Hyper X and 32 GB Ram. |
Dec 25 2012, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 25 2012, 08:02 AM) Steady though i think after you manage to get discount, it is still quite expensive. The price they charge for RAM and SSD is definitely god-like. With the price you pay for Dell, I think better buy some RAM and SSD outside beter. You pretty much set on AW since you like the bling bling and mummy like the warranty support? If yes, then priorities (geezz, with your budget, still have to do this? What is generally most important for gaming? GPU (so you max this out first) CPU (standard should do, don't need to overkill) DD (this usually is the BOTTLENECK. You don't want your HDD crawling to catch up. Get the biggest SSD you can. Get 2 if Dell allow (I have not check their DD configuration). Then, left over, just max out on the RAM. Now, do NOT just click buy and fork over the money. Negotiate. Online chat with Dell sales agent. Chat with as many sales agent as you like, since each one could give you different deal. What you want to achieve is: 10 - 15% reduction in list price. That mean you rake up until somewhere like RM17k, then you online chat to bring it down towards your RM15k budget. It can be done. And some sales agents will start throwing free gifts at you (like external mouse, keyboard, bag ... ), if you don't want them, counter and get more discount. Once you pull it off, show it to mummy, and get more browny points Added on December 25, 2012, 8:24 am You ignore the suffix 3110M is the Mobile processor. More powerful than 3217U. 3217U is the ULV (ultra low voltage) processor. Run at lower wattage (17W vs 35W for 3110M). Save power, run cooler, more suitable for ultrabook. According to Intel, not all chips off the oven can be made to run in low wattage, so ULV processor is more expensive than M processor, even though M processor (for the same class) is more powerful. If you ignore ultrabook, with your budget, you can get way better than HD 4000 & i3 Acer Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8 Dell Inspiron 14R, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HP/W8 HP Pavilion G4-2132/2133TX, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899[2.19kg], 2GB ,500GB(7200rpm), W7HB, colors: white/black Pavilion G4-2107AX, A10-4600M + AMD HD7670M@RM1899, 2GB, 500GB Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty I am planning to get Razer Manticor, Razer Ouroboros or RAT9 or RAT 7. |
| Change to: | 0.0612sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:58 AM |