Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TechnoG
post Oct 21 2012, 08:27 PM

9,337 posts

1. Preferred Brand - any one will do.
2. Budget - around RM3k, but preferablly around the 2.6k range.
3. Usage - anything other than gaming, must be reliable
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15"

it is for mah old man, he wants to get a macbook air for I dont know what reason. sweat.gif the laptop need to be as light as possible, cos he is always going round places and something like a macbook air lah. tongue.gif
TechnoG
post Oct 21 2012, 09:46 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 21 2012, 09:08 PM)
Get him the MBA if he really likes it la haha  laugh.gif
There are no lightweight 15.6" notebooks unfortunately...
he is like those kind of nuthead that is yknow..apple everything apple the best. laugh.gif
I've just did some research and found Asus K43 suits him pretty well, any comments on it?

what's your take on a MBA? I think worst to worst I might just get that for him.
TechnoG
post Oct 22 2012, 02:52 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 22 2012, 11:06 AM)
Apple do provide pretty good user experience for the premium they charge  whistling.gif
But is your old man a business man? Or is this for his leisure usage?
My personal experience is that for business, it's better to get windows based laptop, or he may run into situation whereby certain file types not handled well in OSX.
And why the 15" screen if he travel around much? May be you could show him some of the 13" ultrabook? There are some very good looking / specs models  thumbup.gif
umm, he is actually a..heart surgeon. tongue.gif basically it is used mainly for doing some light documents, listening to songs and stuff.
I might bring him to an Apple store to check out the macbook pro. What 13" ultrabook are there in the market?

something sleek and sexy will be good cos he loves to hang out at those coffee joints with his buddies and talk for hours.
TechnoG
post Oct 22 2012, 04:58 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 22 2012, 03:26 PM)
I am not a pro here, but I think sleek and sexy ultrabook are:

13"
Asus
[Ultrabook] UX31A-R4005V, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM3499[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP, 4-cell (6840mAh) battery, 2 years international warranty
[Ultrabook] UX31A-R4003V, i7-3517U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD + (1920 x 1080)@RM4499[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP, 4-cell (6840mAh) battery, 2 years international warranty

Dell
[Ultrabook] XPS13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3299[1.36kg], 4GB, W8, backlit, spill resistant keyboard, build-in battery, no ODD
[Ultrabook] XPS13, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 256GB SSD@RM3999[1.36kg], 8GB, W8, backlit, spill resistant keyboard, build-in battery, no ODD

HP
[Ultrabook] Envy SpectreXT 13-2018TU, i7-3517U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD@RM3399[1.39kg], 4GB, 4 cell 45WHR, no ODD, backlit keyboard

All these use Intel built-in graphic and SSD, can last hours.
If your father just sit in the coffee joints, then maybe you can look at some of the 14" as well  laugh.gif
damn, the Asus one is gooding. flex.gif but only have 2 models that come with SSD? prefer a SSD one, he stores like crapload of data. Or is it due the ultrabook design that limits the space for a HDD to be squeezed in? I have Asus K43 in mind already. I'll KIV SpectreXT. smile.gif Dell no lah, very fugley.

thanks for the recommendation btw! biggrin.gif
TechnoG
post Oct 23 2012, 03:30 PM

9,337 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Oct 22 2012, 09:54 PM)
Asus do have a 13" ultrabook with HDD
[Ultrabook] UX32VD-R3001V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + 24GB mSATA SSD + 500GB HDD@RM2999[1.3kg], 4GB, W7HP, 6-cell battery (6570mAH), 2 years international warranty

SSD is very much part of the "sexy" appeal (as in "whoaa, so fast"). HDD is the bottleneck of performance. Unless your father is into movies, uncompressed image format, uncompressed music format, 256G SSD is pretty good. If he like, upgrade to 512G SSD, which cost around RM1300.

Asus K43 is 14", around 2kg. You may also want to look at the following 14"
HP
[Ultrabook] Envy4-1043TX/1053TX, i5-3317U + AMD HD7670M + [32GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)]@RM2599[Beats][1.75kg], 4GB, W7HP
Lenovo
[Ultrabook]S400, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 24GB mSATA + 500GB(5400rpm)@RM2099[1.8kg], 4GB, W7HB

Did you look at the old XPS or the new one on Dell site? I find the new one has a understated elegance about it.

The Asus Zen, Dell XPS, HP Envy & Spectre all have pretty decent speakers for their size. But if your father really like to listen to music from laptop, other than a headset or portable speakers, your best bet is those laptop with built-in 2.1 sounds. But those models normally is not very "sleek & sexy"  brows.gif

If you are not in a hurry, wait for those new fancy W8 models. Lots of sexy, not sure if they will be practical  tongue.gif
not a big fan of W8 tbh, I tried their Beta and it just doesn't feel Windows. laugh.gif S400 was in my list, but removed cos there is no ODD.
UX32VD, K43 and Envy, alright mate. thanks for the recommendation, will go and have a look at them this week.

0.0672sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 07:18 PM