Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

GDextrimst
post Nov 8 2012, 01:05 PM

45 posts

Hi.
I planing to buy a new laptop this christmas.

1.preferred brand - Asus
2.budget - 1.5k to 2k. Cheapest will be great.
3.usage - gaming. Heaviest game is dota 2.
4.screen size - any.

This post has been edited by GDextrimst: Nov 8 2012, 01:06 PM
GDextrimst
post Nov 8 2012, 04:55 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 8 2012, 05:04 PM)
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

or

Asus [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
Thanks..i think i'll go for Asus [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX060V.. As long it can run dota2 smoothly..unlike hp with overheating problem..

GDextrimst
post Nov 10 2012, 11:04 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 8 2012, 05:04 PM)
14"

or

Asus [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX060V, B987 + Nvidia GT630M@RM1799[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
K46CM- i3 ,i5 ,i7 is it a sme price?
GDextrimst
post Nov 10 2012, 12:57 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 10 2012, 12:56 PM)
How can they be same price? Lol XD
The specs on asustek arranging merely general specs... We don't have i7 variants here in Malaysia

Added on November 10, 2012, 11:57 am

How can they be same price? Lol XD
The specs on asustek arranging merely general specs... We don't have i7 variants here in Malaysia
What is the price for i3 and i5?
Sorry i don't know anything about it.
So which one can run dota 2 smooth?

Added on November 10, 2012, 1:34 pmMost durable laptop brands?

This post has been edited by GDextrimst: Nov 10 2012, 01:34 PM
GDextrimst
post Nov 22 2012, 11:23 AM

45 posts

Preferred brands : Asus
Budget : 1.8k max
Usage : HoN , DoTa2.
Screen : 14" +
GDextrimst
post Nov 22 2012, 09:11 PM

45 posts

Asus vs lenovo
Asus vs dell
Lenovo vs dell

Which is the most reliable and more durable between this 3 brands?
GDextrimst
post Nov 23 2012, 12:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2012, 11:54 PM)
Well, it depends on which class or notebooks are you comparing.
Business notebooks e.g. Lenovo ThinkPad and Dell Latitude notebooks are definitely the most durable. Unfortunately Asus doesn't sell their business class B series notebooks here.
Premium line notebooks (XPS series for Dell, Y series for Lenovo and N series for Asus) are definitely more durable than budget ones (Inspiron for Dell, A/K series for Asus, G series for Lenovo).

Warranty-wise, Dell offers the best on-site warranty support, followed by Lenovo, and lastly Asus.
thank you for your info sifu.
can sifu recommend me laptop nice for gaming?(dell,lenovo & asus)
So i can compare it and make a good decision which one should I buy.
Budget is rm2k.
usage is HoN,DotA 2.
GDextrimst
post Nov 23 2012, 08:57 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 04:39 PM)
Can consider these:
14"

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

The Lenovo is weaker in terms of GPU performance, but still capable of handling the games you've mentioned  laugh.gif
Thanks again sifu.
I think I'll go for asus or lenovo.
Thank you!
GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 10:26 AM

45 posts

Sifu T.J. , what is the different between k46cm normal & k46cm gamers notebook.?
Is k46cm gamers notebook made for playing games? I found this in http://www.lelong.com.my/kx/asus+k46cm.htm . Is it safe to buy things from this site?
GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 10:33 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:28 AM)
Both referring to the same notebook.
The site is legit site, but the seller depends.
so both notebook same also?
When it said gamers noteebook, i tot it built especially for gaming.

GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 10:53 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 26 2012, 11:35 AM)
Both notebook is same.
Asus built for gaming is minimal RM4K laugh.gif
I see.. Thanks sifu.

GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 12:31 PM

45 posts

Is there any possible this year product price drop nextyear?
GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 02:14 PM

45 posts

So its not possible to find n43 series.. Thanks sifu nexus
GDextrimst
post Nov 26 2012, 03:17 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 26 2012, 03:20 PM)
Don't give up smile.gif Keep searching (if you really want it badly). As I said, if you finally found 1, show it to the seller that you know what you are talking about, tell the seller it's old stock / old model, tell the seller that the latest N series with better specs is only selling at xxxx, give discount lah  laugh.gif
haha..i'll do my best.
Thank you very much smile.gif
GDextrimst
post Nov 30 2012, 04:25 PM

45 posts

I was wondering, is there anyone know the price list for asus g series?

GDextrimst
post Dec 1 2012, 11:18 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 1 2012, 09:19 AM)
Check with devour (PM him).
Disclaimer: I am not related to the seller and this is not an endorsement of the seller services.  laugh.gif

Please refer to latest Asus pricelist here:
http://event.asus.com/my/2012/productguide...er_December.pdf

Added on December 1, 2012, 8:24 am
Utter nonsense. Do you realise the i5 ULV is more expensive than the i5 M processor (one of the reason why ultrabook is more expensive than normal laptop). More expensive not because it run faster, but because it could be run at much lower voltage, and not all the chips coming off oven can pull it off.
3210M is running at 35W at 2.5GHz normal. When Turbo kick in (CPU under load), it go up to 3.1GHz.
3317U on the other hand, is running at 17W at 1.7GHz normal. When Turbo kick in, it go up to 2.6GHz.
So if you looking at top speed, 3210M win. But 3317U is running off 50% the power requirement (not so directly translated to real world performance since CPU only represent part of laptop total power consumption)
More over, 3317U can go down to 14W when idle.

I will take the best 2nd gen i3, i3-2370M as comparison. It run at 35W at 2.4GHz, and no Turbo available.

And the IGPU HD4000 in i5-3317U is so much better than the HD 3000 in i3-2370M.

Yes, BF3 at HD resolution is playable in K46CM. But being skinny, it don't dissipate heat that well, you better get good external cooling solution to prolong the life of laptop smile.gif
Wow..your explanation very useful to me..
So there is no problem to playing games in aircond room + cooling pad using k46cm no matter if you play for 24hrs?
GDextrimst
post Dec 8 2012, 06:34 PM

45 posts

Sifu, I try to find the price for k46cm i3 & i5..but I still can't find the price for this two.. Can sifu help me? Ty
GDextrimst
post Dec 10 2012, 02:13 PM

45 posts

Sifu, im confused between this 2 processor:
-i5 2450m
-i5 3317u
What is the different between this 2?
GDextrimst
post Dec 10 2012, 03:35 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 10 2012, 04:21 PM)
Intel core i5 processors are decided into two categories, namely the mobile version (where u will see a "M" suffix at the back of the code), and the ultra low voltage version (with a suffix "U" instead).. Ultra low voltage processors, as the same suggests... Saves more battery life at the expense of performance... Whereas mobile processors are normal processors with normal processing power...

The i5-2450m that you have mentioned is an older generation processor (sandy bridge)... The new ivy bridge one is i5-3210 nod.gif

In short, i5-2450m/i5-3210m is more powerful, whereas the i5-3317u is more power saving icon_rolleyes.gif
now i know.. Thank you again sifu
sifu is there any recommendations Asus like k46cm with mobile processor?

This post has been edited by GDextrimst: Dec 10 2012, 03:56 PM
GDextrimst
post Dec 10 2012, 05:46 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Dec 10 2012, 05:41 PM)
Well, the thing about Mobile processors is that they generate more heat, so they are not found in slim and light ultrabooks laugh.gif
You will have to sacrifice size, weight or price if you want a Mobile processor sad.gif

Anyway, mind sharing your budget, preferred laptop size and usage? It'll be much easier for the sifus here to recommend you the "right" 9notebooks  laugh.gif
1. Asus
2. Rm 2k maximum
3. Dota2,hon. My bro said at least graphics NVIDIA GT540 2GB, 1.7ghz.(I don't know anything about this laugh.gif)
4. Normal screen size or wider.

I don't mind about waranty but I prepare durable and reliable. So im count on you sifu.

0.0567sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:05 PM