129 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 04:17 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 04:03 PM)
thanks for the replies

actually my main concern with W8 is more with compatibility issue than user experience. some of the game im playing reported problem with W8. there is workaround but some still face the problem

regarding the fujitsu laptop, im confuse with the GPU specs. Fujitsu websites say its GT620 with 2GB dedicated memory. but from all the website i check, GT620 dedicated memory is only 1GB. and some websites (ie : notebookcheck) shows that the GPU is GT640 which is indeed 2GB dedicated memory rclxub.gif

oh btw, the main reason im interested in AH532 is because of the GT640 (hopefully) GPU. according to notebookcheck its one of the higher end 2nd class GPU tongue.gif
Fujitsu models rarely comes with high end GPUs, so its probably a GT620M only.
And VRAM (1GB or 2GB) doesn't matter nod.gif

tiewgine8039
post Nov 23 2012, 04:18 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 03:39 PM)
Can consider these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

The Lenovo is weaker in terms of GPU performance, but still capable of handling the games you've mentioned  laugh.gif
Hi T.J., i bought the a45vs as above, but i had asked a few shops, it does not come with 1TB. I feel strange on this. Even though the latest catalog print the same detail as above. the pc i got has the GT645M instead. strange rclxub.gif
mine come with 500gb

This post has been edited by tiewgine8039: Nov 23 2012, 04:19 PM
Pyjamas999
post Nov 23 2012, 04:29 PM

159 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 04:17 PM)
Fujitsu models rarely comes with high end GPUs, so its probably a GT620M only.
And VRAM (1GB or 2GB) doesn't matter nod.gif
Heyy can u explain why in actual performance vram doesnt matter? sweat.gif
Frostlord
post Nov 23 2012, 04:54 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(Pyjamas999 @ Nov 23 2012, 04:29 PM)
Heyy can u explain why in actual performance vram doesnt matter?  sweat.gif
btw, just made a call to fujitsu directly. the staff confirm with me is GT620 with 2GB VRAM. does this even make sense? sweat.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 05:02 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(tiewgine8039 @ Nov 23 2012, 04:18 PM)
Hi T.J., i bought the a45vs as above, but i had asked a few shops, it does not come with 1TB. I feel strange on this. Even though the latest catalog print the same detail as above. the pc i got has the GT645M instead. strange rclxub.gif
mine come with 500gb
I think you just got yourself an even newer model laugh.gif

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 04:54 PM)
btw, just made a call to fujitsu directly. the staff confirm with me is GT620 with 2GB VRAM. does this even make sense? sweat.gif
Why doesn't it make sense? hmm.gif
Never expected a GT640M in the 1st place haha..

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 23 2012, 05:03 PM
Frostlord
post Nov 23 2012, 05:05 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 05:02 PM)
I think you just got yourself an even newer model laugh.gif

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:03 pm

Why doesn't it make sense?  hmm.gif
Never expected a GT640M in the 1st place haha..
well, from Nvidia site and other GPU site, there's no GT620M with 2GB VRAM. it only have 1GB VRAM

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:15 pmgonna ask a noob question here. the laptop size 13"/14"/15" if referring to laptop size or screen size?

REMOVED

deciding between Y480 and Y580 now. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Nov 23 2012, 05:49 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 05:49 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 05:05 PM)
well, from Nvidia site and other GPU site, there's no GT620M with 2GB VRAM. it only have 1GB VRAM

Added on November 23, 2012, 5:15 pmgonna ask a noob question here. the laptop size 13"/14"/15" if referring to laptop size or screen size?

does
13.3 inch wide (WXGA: 1366 x 768) TFT colour display (VAIO Display Plus, LED backlight)

and

15.5 inch wide (WXGA: 1366 x 768) TFT colour display (VAIO Display, LED backlight)

have the same screen size?

was wondering why sony give a small laptop (13" GT640M graphic card doh.gif doh.gif)
Like mentioned before, 1GB or 2GB VRAM, the performance is the same nod.gif
the 13" refers to the screen (excluding the bezel) size.

Some people prefer smaller and more powerful laptops nod.gif
Frostlord
post Nov 23 2012, 06:05 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 05:49 PM)
Like mentioned before, 1GB or 2GB VRAM, the performance is the same  nod.gif
the 13" refers to the screen (excluding the bezel) size.

Some people prefer smaller and more powerful laptops  nod.gif
any comment on Y480 vs Y580?

doesnt seem to have huge impact on sc2 (GPU)
http://www.notebookcheck.net/StarCraft-2.35167.0.html

GDextrimst
post Nov 23 2012, 08:57 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 04:39 PM)
Can consider these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

The Lenovo is weaker in terms of GPU performance, but still capable of handling the games you've mentioned  laugh.gif
Thanks again sifu.
I think I'll go for asus or lenovo.
Thank you!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 10:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 06:05 PM)
any comment on Y480 vs Y580?

doesnt seem to have huge impact on sc2 (GPU)
http://www.notebookcheck.net/StarCraft-2.35167.0.html
The GTX660m is better than the GT650M, but not alot.
Well, you still get much better FPS on the GTX660m, even in ultra mode with FullHD hmm.gif
snowcandy
post Nov 23 2012, 10:59 PM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

Can you recommend me a model that comes with Windows 8 Pro with decent battery life (3 hours+) and is powerful enough to run Photoshop smoothly? I don't have any specific brand preference and my budget's probably around RM4k. Thanks. smile.gif
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 11:29 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(snowcandy @ Nov 23 2012, 10:59 PM)
Can you recommend me a model that comes with Windows 8 Pro with decent battery life (3 hours+) and is powerful enough to run Photoshop smoothly? I don't have any specific brand preference and my budget's probably around RM4k. Thanks. smile.gif
Hmmm, you need to choose between a portable 14" or a powerful 15" hmm.gif
Which one do you prefer? laugh.gif
pandera999
post Nov 23 2012, 11:39 PM

모든 것​에는 정해진 때​가 있으니
6,214 posts

aw...
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 24 2012, 12:32 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(pandera999 @ Nov 23 2012, 11:39 PM)
aw...
Long time no see man, welcome back rclxms.gif
ahmada
post Nov 24 2012, 12:43 AM

134 posts

1 Any brand (prefer hp or asus)
2 3k-4k
3 Gaming
4 15-16 inch

(HP Dv6 still giving the beats solo headphone?)
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 24 2012, 12:48 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(ahmada @ Nov 24 2012, 12:43 AM)
1 Any brand (prefer hp or asus)
2 3k-4k
3 Gaming
4 15-16 inch

(HP Dv6 still giving the beats solo headphone?)
The Dv6 is very outdated alraedy man laugh.gif

Can consider this powerful gaming machine from Asus brows.gif
15.6"
Asus G55VW-S1216H, i7-3610QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8

ahmada
post Nov 24 2012, 12:52 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 24 2012, 12:48 AM)
The Dv6 is very outdated alraedy man laugh.gif

Can consider this powerful gaming machine from Asus brows.gif
15.6"
Asus G55VW-S1216H, i7-3610QM +Nvidia GTX660M (2GB) + (1920x1080)@3999[3.78kg], 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm), W8
But i heard the warranty for asus is quite sucks... cry.gif
nexus2238
post Nov 24 2012, 01:33 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 05:05 PM)
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 05:49 PM)
Like mentioned before, 1GB or 2GB VRAM, the performance is the same  nod.gif
Just to elaborate a bit more on why TJ said the performance is the same.
The GPU process, the VRAM store.
The higher the resolution, AA, texture, the more the GPU has to process, and the more the VRAM has to store.
If the GPU is not powerful enough to process a large amount of data, the VRAM won't have much to store.
The GT620M is not powerful enough to tax the 1G VRAM smile.gif
Even GT640M, displaying HD resolution, turn AA up, playing most games (I can't say all because I don't play Crysis or GTA IV) will not tax 1G VRAM.
On the other hand, on Y580, if I play Skyrim, at FHD, turn AA up, applying lots of mod (I know I am nuts sweat.gif ), I could push until CTD due to VRAM limits laugh.gif (btw, I did this just to see how far I can go)

Added on November 24, 2012, 2:19 am
QUOTE(ahmada @ Nov 24 2012, 12:52 AM)
But i heard the warranty for asus is quite sucks...  cry.gif
If you are concern with warranty support (actually all of us should laugh.gif ), then the gaming laptop you should consider in Malaysia is Dell Alienware and Lenovo Y series.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 24 2012, 02:19 AM
Frostlord
post Nov 24 2012, 03:06 AM

1,723 posts

thanks all

i will prolly go for Y480. still finds Y580 too bulky for me tongue.gif

snowcandy
post Nov 24 2012, 06:11 AM

Peek-a-ish-boo! :D
828 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 23 2012, 11:29 PM)