129 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2012, 03:28 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Butters90 @ Nov 22 2012, 03:14 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Any
2. Budget: <1.2k
3. Usage: for student, ie. MS office, internet, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13 and above

Does not mind have OS or not. Prefers Intel system, but does not mind AMD.

Can consider these~ Both are suitable for your usage although the 14 inchers are relatively more powerful
13"
Lenovo [Ultrabook]S300, Pentium 997 + Intel HD3000 @RM1199[1.8kg], 2GB,500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS; W7HB/W8@RM1399, no ODD, 1 yr warranty

14"
Dell Inspiron 14, B980 + Intel HD@RM1199[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB/W8@RM1359

Lenovo
G480, B980 + Intel HD@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i3-2328M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 22 2012, 03:29 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2012, 03:31 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 22 2012, 03:25 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: DELL,ASUS,LENOVO or any brand will do
2. Budget: about 2-2.5k
3. Usage: Learning programming as well as photoshop. STRICTLY NO GAMING
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:13,14 or above

will upgrade to SSD intel 330/520

Well, photoshop will benefit from a dedicated GPU also nod.gif
Can consider these:
14"
Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8 *use remaining money for warranty extension to 3 years

Lenovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty

15"
Lenovo
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), freeDOS, white
Ideapad Z580, i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

Try to upgrade the RAM to 8GB as well, it'll help in Photoshop performance too~
kailord
post Nov 22 2012, 03:42 PM

Hello, I'm looking to buy a new laptop soon. Probably next week. it's for work purposes.

1. Preferred Brand - Any
2. Budget - RM 2500 - 3000.
3. Usage - Work. Will do a lot of CAE/CAD, simulations & iterations.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 17-19"

Note: Windows 7 only please.

Any offers and packages will do. The last time I bought a laptop is 6 years ago. Now don't know what's the standard for a 3k laptop.

Thanks!
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2012, 04:36 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(kailord @ Nov 22 2012, 03:42 PM)
Hello, I'm looking to buy a new laptop soon. Probably next week. it's for work purposes.

1. Preferred Brand - Any

Any offers and packages will do. The last time I bought a laptop is 6 years ago. Now don't know what's the standard for a 3k laptop.

Thanks!
There is only one option for such a large desktop replacement under RM3k hmm.gif
17.3"
Lenovo Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2399[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP/750GB@RM2499
You can use the remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years, and upgrade the RAM to 8GB.

But if you are willing to go for a 15.6" notebook, you'll be able to get so much more:
15.6"
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Nov 22 2012, 04:37 PM
Frostlord
post Nov 22 2012, 06:14 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 09:49 AM)
I will disregard your brand preference smile.gif
With your budget, the best bang for buck gaming laptop right now is:
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Use the spare to upgrade to on site warranty, (swap the HDD to ODD, put in an 128G SSD) (this part solve some of the heat issue), get a cooler master U3 cooling pad (this part address the heat issue), increase the RAM (if you want). Still have money left over.

And no, you don't need to spend money to downgrade from Win8 to Win7, if you really insistĀ  whistling.gif . Microsoft allow you to do so at no extra cost.
really? where to downgrade? then later when W8 SP1 release, can i use back W8?

and on the laptop, any other recommendation besides Y580?

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Nov 22 2012, 06:44 PM
ajul
post Nov 22 2012, 06:38 PM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 22 2012, 03:25 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: DELL,ASUS,LENOVO or any brand will do
2. Budget: about 2-2.5k
3. Usage: Learning programming as well as photoshop. STRICTLY NO GAMING
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:13,14 or above

will upgrade to SSD intel 330/520

Lenovo Y580, i7 2.4ghz, 8gb, 500gb hardisk, Nvidia 660m...Rm2499 only..
nexus2238
post Nov 22 2012, 06:56 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(kailord @ Nov 22 2012, 03:42 PM)

1. Preferred Brand - Any

Thanks!
QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2012, 04:36 PM)
There is only one option for such a large desktop replacement under RM3k hmm.gif
17.3"
Lenovo Ideapad G780, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M + (1600x900)@RM2399[3.0kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm); W7HP/750GB@RM2499
You can use the remaining money to extend warranty to 3 years, and upgrade the RAM to 8GB.

But if you are willing to go for a 15.6" notebook, you'll be able to get so much more:
15.6"
Lenovo Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Another 17" laptop that is below RM3k is MSI CX70, but not very popular. It is somehow target to gamers but the spec is not powerful enough for gaming, but should be good for your requirement. Main advantage over G780 is the matte screen in CX70.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 22 2012, 06:59 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2012, 08:06 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 06:56 PM)
Another 17" laptop that is below RM3k is MSI CX70, but not very popular. It is somehow target to gamers but the spec is not powerful enough for gaming, but should be good for your requirement. Main advantage over G780 is the matte screen in CX70.
Mind sharing the specs and the price? notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
GDextrimst
post Nov 22 2012, 09:11 PM

45 posts

Asus vs lenovo
Asus vs dell
Lenovo vs dell

Which is the most reliable and more durable between this 3 brands?
Frostlord
post Nov 22 2012, 09:12 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 09:49 AM)
I will disregard your brand preference smile.gif
With your budget, the best bang for buck gaming laptop right now is:
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Use the spare to upgrade to on site warranty, (swap the HDD to ODD, put in an 128G SSD) (this part solve some of the heat issue), get a cooler master U3 cooling pad (this part address the heat issue), increase the RAM (if you want). Still have money left over.

And no, you don't need to spend money to downgrade from Win8 to Win7, if you really insist  whistling.gif . Microsoft allow you to do so at no extra cost.
btw, i just checked out Y580. IMHO its too big for me. i prefer 14" more
any comment on Y480?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 22 2012, 10:54 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GDextrimst @ Nov 22 2012, 09:11 PM)
Asus vs lenovo
Asus vs dell
Lenovo vs dell

Which is the most reliable and more durable between this 3 brands?
Well, it depends on which class or notebooks are you comparing.
Business notebooks e.g. Lenovo ThinkPad and Dell Latitude notebooks are definitely the most durable. Unfortunately Asus doesn't sell their business class B series notebooks here.
Premium line notebooks (XPS series for Dell, Y series for Lenovo and N series for Asus) are definitely more durable than budget ones (Inspiron for Dell, A/K series for Asus, G series for Lenovo).

Warranty-wise, Dell offers the best on-site warranty support, followed by Lenovo, and lastly Asus.

nexus2238
post Nov 22 2012, 11:42 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2012, 08:06 PM)
Mind sharing the specs and the price?Ā  notworthy.gifĀ  notworthy.gif
Need to dig out an old brochure I came across in LYP smile.gif

17.3"
MSI CX70 0ND-030MY i7-3610QM GT640M 4GB 750GB (5400rpm) (1600x900) (anti-glare) DVD 2.7kg RM2999 W7HP

Added on November 22, 2012, 11:52 pm
QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 22 2012, 09:12 PM)
btw, i just checked out Y580. IMHO its too big for me. i prefer 14" more
any comment on Y480?
Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty

Best bang for buck 14" gaming laptop (for your budget). The edge that Y480 has over the rest of 14" in terms of price / perfomance, is less than what Y580 has over all the other gaming laptop.
A saving of RM300, but you get smaller screen, only HD resolution, only GT650M. Not a fair trade off in my book smile.gif

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 22 2012, 11:56 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 12:14 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 11:42 PM)

17.3"
MSI CX70 0ND-030MY i7-3610QM GT640M 4GB 750GB (5400rpm) (1600x900) (anti-glare) DVD 2.7kg RM2999 W7HP

Many thanks man notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
Frostlord
post Nov 23 2012, 12:31 AM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 11:42 PM)

17.3"

Y480(5934-7549), i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5) @RM2599 [JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, freeDOS
Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650M (GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB, 2 years international warranty

Best bang for buck 14" gaming laptop (for your budget). The edge that Y480 has over the rest of 14" in terms of price / perfomance, is less than what Y580 has over all the other gaming laptop.
A saving of RM300, but you get smaller screen, only HD resolution, only GT650M. Not a fair trade off in my book smile.gif
thanks bro

btw, do you know any Fujitsu AH532 users in LYN? there is some confusion with the specs and i need their help to check
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2599990
nexus2238
post Nov 23 2012, 12:41 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 22 2012, 06:14 PM)
really? where to downgrade? then later when W8 SP1 release, can i use back W8?

The full steps can be found in this link:
http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/...bid=AQGmLT-eAuW

I will attempt to make it easier to understand:
1. Prerequisite - Your W8 must be "OEM Win8Pro". Only this version give you the legal downgrade right in the license.
2. You can downgrade your OEM Win8Pro to Win7Pro.
3. Steps:
a. You buy a laptop that come pre-installed with OEM Win8Pro. This Win8Pro has an activation key.
b. If your purchase come with an OS OD media, skip to c. Otherwise, you better create a recovery media, so that you could re-install Win8Pro next time if you want to.
c. Get a copy of Win7Pro with valid activation key. (get it from your friends, your own copy lying around). You need a valid key to do installation. The key could not be used for activation (so tell your friends not to worry, you are not pirating his Win7Pro smile.gif )
d. Check your laptop BIOS. Win8Pro use secureboot. Your laptop could be setup in UEFI. You need to change that to AHCI, otherwise Win7Pro would not install.
e. Back up your data if any.
f. Wipe your Win8Pro installation (reformat).
g. Install Win7Pro. Use the Win7Pro key to finish installation.
h. When you boot into Win7Pro, it will inform you that the Win7Pro key could not be activated (since it has already been activated in your friend / your other machine). It will give you a number to call (giving you a chance to buy a Win7Pro key since you are using a pirate software smile.gif ). Write down and call that number.
i. When you get through, explain to Microsoft you are downgrading. They will ask for your OEM Win8Pro activation key as proof.
j. Once Microsoft confirm your OEM Win8Pro key is valid, they will provide you with a "temp" key. Use this temp key to activate your Win7Pro. You are done downgrading.
k. If you later realise your "mistake" and want to use back the Win8Pro, just install it using the OS media or the recovery disk you created. Use your existing OEM Win8Pro key to activate it.
g. Yes, once you reinstall your Win8Pro, of course you are eligible for any Win8Pro SP upgrade.

Good luck smile.gif Seriously, give Win8 a chance. Use it, look past the tiles. You will appreciate it is a much better OS than Win7. To speed up your learning process, look at some of the videoz Microsoft create to tell you how to get around the OS. Skip those touch screen related stuff if you don't have touch screen. Personally I found myself using keyboard and keyboard shortcut a lot more, and using touchpad / mouse a lot less smile.gif Start menu is overrated. Why do you want to click click click to get to a program, when you can just type the name of the program and press Enter to launch it?

Added on November 23, 2012, 12:51 am
QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 12:31 AM)
thanks bro

btw, do you know any Fujitsu AH532 users in LYN? there is some confusion with the specs and i need their help to check
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2599990
AH532-MYEVK20029, i5-3210M + nVidia GT620M@RM2750, 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, color: Black
http://www.fujitsu.com/my/services/computi...h532/specs.html

Brands do bring different specs to different markets. That's why you must pay attention to the specs reviewed by foreign review sites tongue.gif

But that is still 15". At that price point, you might as well consider:
Dell 15"
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 23 2012, 11:02 AM
GDextrimst
post Nov 23 2012, 12:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 22 2012, 11:54 PM)
Well, it depends on which class or notebooks are you comparing.
Business notebooks e.g. Lenovo ThinkPad and Dell Latitude notebooks are definitely the most durable. Unfortunately Asus doesn't sell their business class B series notebooks here.
Premium line notebooks (XPS series for Dell, Y series for Lenovo and N series for Asus) are definitely more durable than budget ones (Inspiron for Dell, A/K series for Asus, G series for Lenovo).

Warranty-wise, Dell offers the best on-site warranty support, followed by Lenovo, and lastly Asus.
thank you for your info sifu.
can sifu recommend me laptop nice for gaming?(dell,lenovo & asus)
So i can compare it and make a good decision which one should I buy.
Budget is rm2k.
usage is HoN,DotA 2.
devour
post Nov 23 2012, 03:00 PM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(GDextrimst @ Nov 23 2012, 12:47 PM)
Budget is rm2k.
usage is HoN,DotA 2.
lenovo g480
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 23 2012, 03:39 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(GDextrimst @ Nov 23 2012, 12:47 PM)
Budget is rm2k.
usage is HoN,DotA 2.
Can consider these:
14"
Asus A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Lenovo G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty

The Lenovo is weaker in terms of GPU performance, but still capable of handling the games you've mentioned laugh.gif
Frostlord
post Nov 23 2012, 04:03 PM

1,723 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 23 2012, 12:41 AM)
The full steps can be found in this link:
http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/...bid=AQGmLT-eAuW

I will attempt to make it easier to understand:
1. Prerequisite - Your W8 must be "OEM Win8Pro". Only this version give you the legal downgrade right in the license.
2. You can downgrade your OEM Win8Pro to Win7Pro.
3. Steps:
a. You buy a laptop that come pre-installed with OEM Win8Pro. This Win8Pro has an activation key.
b. If your purchase come with an OS OD media, skip to c. Otherwise, you better create a recovery media, so that you could re-install Win8Pro next time if you want to.
c. Get a copy of Win7Pro with valid activation key. (get it from your friends, your own copy lying around). You need a valid key to do installation. The key could not be used for activation (so tell your friends not to worry, you are not pirating his Win7Pro smile.gif )
d. Check your laptop BIOS. Win8Pro use secureboot. Your laptop could be setup in UEFI. You need to change that to AHCI, otherwise Win7Pro would not install.
e. Back up your data if any.
f. Wipe your Win8Pro installation (reformat).
g. Install Win7Pro. Use the Win7Pro key to finish installation.
h. When you boot into Win7Pro, it will inform you that the Win7Pro key could not be activated (since it has already been activated in your friend / your other machine). It will give you a number to call (giving you a chance to buy a Win7Pro key since you are using a pirate software smile.gif ). Write down and call that number.
i. When you get through, explain to Microsoft you are downgrading. They will ask for your OEM Win8Pro activation key as proof.
j. Once Microsoft confirm your OEM Win8Pro key is valid, they will provide you with a "temp" key. Use this temp key to activate your Win7Pro. You are done downgrading.
k. If you later realise your "mistake" and want to use back the Win8Pro, just install it using the OS media or the recovery disk you created. Use your existing OEM Win8Pro key to activate it.
g. Yes, once you reinstall your Win8Pro, of course you are eligible for any Win8Pro SP upgrade.

Good luck smile.gif Seriously, give Win8 a chance. Use it, look past the tiles. You will appreciate it is a much better OS than Win7. To speed up your learning process, look at some of the videoz Microsoft create to tell you how to get around the OS. Skip those touch screen related stuff if you don't have touch screen. Personally I found myself using keyboard and keyboard shortcut a lot more, and using touchpad / mouse a lot less smile.gif Start menu is overrated. Why do you want to click click click to get to a program, when you can just type the name of the program and press Enter to launch it?

Added on November 23, 2012, 12:51 am
AH532-MYEVK20029, i5-3210M + nVidia GT620M@RM2750, 4GB, 750GB, W7HP, color: Black
http://www.fujitsu.com/my/services/computi...h532/specs.html

Brands do bring different specs to different markets. That's why you must pay attention to the specs reviewed by foreign review sitesĀ  tongue.gif

But that is still 15". At that price point, you might as well consider:
Dell 15"
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + AMD HD7730M@RM2199, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M@RM2799, 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
thanks for the replies

actually my main concern with W8 is more with compatibility issue than user experience. some of the game im playing reported problem with W8. there is workaround but some still face the problem

regarding the fujitsu laptop, im confuse with the GPU specs. Fujitsu websites say its GT620 with 2GB dedicated memory. but from all the website i check, GT620 dedicated memory is only 1GB. and some websites (ie : notebookcheck) shows that the GPU is GT640 which is indeed 2GB dedicated memory rclxub.gif

oh btw, the main reason im interested in AH532 is because of the GT640 (hopefully) GPU. according to notebookcheck its one of the higher end 2nd class GPU tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Frostlord: Nov 23 2012, 04:09 PM
tiewgine8039
post Nov 23 2012, 04:12 PM

203 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 23 2012, 04:03 PM)
thanks for the replies

actually my main concern with W8 is more with compatibility issue than user experience. some of the game im playing reported problem with W8. there is workaround but some still face the problem

regarding the fujitsu laptop, im confuse with the GPU specs. Fujitsu websites say its GT620 with 2GB dedicated memory. but from all the website i check, GT620 dedicated memory is only 1GB. and some websites (ie : notebookcheck) shows that the GPU is GT640 which is indeed 2GB dedicated memory rclxub.gif

oh btw, the main reason im interested in AH532 is because of the GT640 (hopefully) GPU. according to notebookcheck its one of the higher end 2nd class GPU tongue.gif
Agree, my gta4 cannot be play on W8. Looking for the way to fix that

129 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:44 PM