129 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

syakirizzat
post Nov 21 2012, 07:15 PM

79 posts

1. Preferred Brand : any
2. Budget : <1.6k
3. Usage : MS Office, Internet, some movies,play FIFA or PES
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15"
can i ask between AMD+ATI Radeon processor and Intel+NVIDIA which one is better
quintesson
post Nov 21 2012, 07:25 PM

566 posts

guys,

may i know what is the current best, lightweight, durable and sleek touchscreen windows 8 out there now preferably 11-12 inches?

TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 21 2012, 07:26 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Nov 21 2012, 07:25 PM)
guys,

may i know what is the current best, lightweight, durable and sleek touchscreen windows 8 out there now preferably 11-12 inches?

Either this:
11.6"
Samsung [Ultrabook] ATIV Smart Pro, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + 128GB SSD + (1920x1080; touch)@RM3599[884g w/o keyboard], 4GB, stylus, W8; color: black

or this:
Sony Vaio 11 Duo, i5-3317U + Intel HD4000 + (1920x1080; touch) + 128GB SSD@RM3999[1.31kg], 4GB, W8, stylus

dia0x
post Nov 21 2012, 07:42 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 20 2012, 10:46 PM)
No 14-15.6" ultrabook with FullHD at this time; closest-
If you want ultrabook:
14"
Asus [Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Dell [Ultrabook]XPS 14, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA+ 500GB(5400rpm) HDD + (1600x900)@RM3749[2.1kg], 4GB, backlit, spill resistant keyboard, W8

Toshiba [Ultrabook] Satellite U940-1001X, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT630M + 32GB mSATA + 640GB HDD@RM2899[1.7kg], 4GB, W8, backlit keyboard, upcoming
15"
Asus [Ultrabook] S56CM-XX090H i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB@RM2199[2.3kg], 2GB, W8; color: black

If you want FullHD but not-too-heavy notebook:
15.6"
Asus N56VZ-S4284H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M + (1920x1080) + Bluray@RM3699[2.7kg][B&O], 4GB, 1TB, W8; color: black
Dell Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB,backlit keyboard optional, W7HP/W8
I seen a few post about lenovo Y580 with full HD. How is it when compared with the asus N56VZ?
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 21 2012, 08:03 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(dia0x @ Nov 21 2012, 07:42 PM)
I seen a few post about lenovo Y580 with full HD. How is it when compared with the asus N56VZ?
The Lenovo Y580 is relatively heavier compared to the N56, which is why I din't recommend it to you.
The Y580 has more GPU power compared to the N56Vz
barcelonays
post Nov 21 2012, 08:24 PM

62 posts

preferred brands: asus or toshiba
budget: around 2.5k or less
usage: surf internet, watch movies, assignments....
screen size: unnecessary to be big..
hope it can be window 8:-)
TS[PF] T.J.
post Nov 21 2012, 08:48 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(barcelonays @ Nov 21 2012, 08:24 PM)
Can consider these~
14"
Asus
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
[Ultrabook]S46CM-WX023V, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2399[2kg], 4GB, W7HP

Toshiba
HDD@RM2499[1.59kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, color: silver
[Ultrabook] Satellite U840-1000U, i5-2467M + Intel HD3000M + 16GB mSATA + 500GB HDD@RM2549[1.59kg], 4GB, backlit keyboard, color: silver
maxxreez
post Nov 22 2012, 12:44 AM

24 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Asus
2. Budget: <1.2k
3. Usage: for student-MS office, internet, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 14
devour
post Nov 22 2012, 12:57 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(barcelonays @ Nov 21 2012, 08:24 PM)
Asus S400

Added on November 22, 2012, 1:01 am
QUOTE(maxxreez @ Nov 22 2012, 12:44 AM)
Asus X401A

This post has been edited by devour: Nov 22 2012, 01:01 AM
Frostlord
post Nov 22 2012, 03:42 AM

1,723 posts

hi all

need some recommendation

1. Preferred Brand : Sony, Toshiba, Fujitsu, HP (no asus, acer, compaq pls)
2. Budget : 3.5k for W7, 3.0-3.2 for W8 (using the 300 for W7 HP)
3. Usage : gaming, mainly SC2 and SWTOR
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : more than 14inch

below are some of the model that i had surveyed and my comment on them

toshiba
AH532
- for some reason the laptop is hot even when idle. the display laptop in lowyat shop is hot. the MSI laptop next to it is cool, so couldnt be aircond issue. also there's no laptop vent pointing to the toshiba

Sony
EA1127
- limited stocks due to old model. new model is W8
- i couldnt find the place to open up the laptop to do cleaning (future issue. might need to clean fan to avoid laptop overheating issue)

Lenovo
Y580/480
- a lot of negative remarks on Lenovo forum. also the laptop graphic card is not suitable for gaming. from the nvidia forum, some user mentioned that it can be used for gaming but not for long. means i can play 1-2 hours then need to let it cool down or it will overheat even on brand new Y580

G480
- surprisingly couldnt find much about this laptop online eventhough its everywhere in MY

nexus2238
post Nov 22 2012, 09:49 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Nov 22 2012, 03:42 AM)
hi all

need some recommendation

1. Preferred Brand : Sony, Toshiba, Fujitsu, HP (no asus, acer, compaq pls)
2. Budget : 3.5k for W7, 3.0-3.2 for W8 (using the 300 for W7 HP)
3. Usage : gaming, mainly SC2 and SWTOR
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : more than 14inch

below are some of the model that i had surveyed and my comment on them

toshiba
AH532
- for some reason the laptop is hot even when idle. the display laptop in lowyat shop is hot. the MSI laptop next to it is cool, so couldnt be aircond issue. also there's no laptop vent pointing to the toshiba

Sony
EA1127
- limited stocks due to old model. new model is W8
- i couldnt find the place to open up the laptop to do cleaning (future issue. might need to clean fan to avoid laptop overheating issue)

Lenovo
Y580/480
- a lot of negative remarks on Lenovo forum. also the laptop graphic card is not suitable for gaming. from the nvidia forum, some user mentioned that it can be used for gaming but not for long. means i can play 1-2 hours then need to let it cool down or it will overheat even on brand new Y580

G480
- surprisingly couldnt find much about this laptop online eventhough its everywhere in MY
I will disregard your brand preference smile.gif
With your budget, the best bang for buck gaming laptop right now is:
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
Use the spare to upgrade to on site warranty, (swap the HDD to ODD, put in an 128G SSD) (this part solve some of the heat issue), get a cooler master U3 cooling pad (this part address the heat issue), increase the RAM (if you want). Still have money left over.

And no, you don't need to spend money to downgrade from Win8 to Win7, if you really insist whistling.gif . Microsoft allow you to do so at no extra cost.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 22 2012, 09:51 AM
astalaverse
post Nov 22 2012, 11:05 AM

sifus,

any recommendation?

1. Preferred Brand : any, reliable
2. Budget : 1900, the cheaper the better biggrin.gif
3. Usage : student taking art and design (graphic design and digital media) course, surfing, PES
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14
GDextrimst
post Nov 22 2012, 11:23 AM

45 posts

Preferred brands : Asus
Budget : 1.8k max
Usage : HoN , DoTa2.
Screen : 14" +
tenable
post Nov 22 2012, 11:38 AM

211 posts

Hi....
Sorry if my question is out of topic...
Is it good to buy notebook from Singapore?
In terms of warranty can claim from Malaysia company(eg Acer,HP etc.?)...
How much is the GST by the way?
nexus2238
post Nov 22 2012, 12:07 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(tenable @ Nov 22 2012, 11:38 AM)
Hi....
Sorry if my question is out of topic...
Is it good to buy notebook from Singapore?
In terms of warranty can claim from Malaysia company(eg Acer,HP etc.?)...
How much is the GST by the way?
Singapore GST is 7%.
Some brand offer International warranty, e.g. Lenovo, Acer, Asus sweat.gif ... Make sure it specifically state "international warranty" when you make the purchase.
Warranty without explicitly stating it cover internationally means it only apply in the market that it is supposed to be sold. That's why we should be aware of grey import laptops in Malaysia ourselves.
If you need a laptop and use it mainly in Malaysia, buy in Malaysia. As long as the brand sell in Malaysia, Malaysia and Singapore offer almost (not all) the same lines. You save on GST.

In fact, I know Singaporean who came to Malaysia to buy the Asus G55. They are not worry because Asus Singapore warranty service is much better than Asus Malaysia doh.gif

Added on November 22, 2012, 12:21 pm
QUOTE(GDextrimst @ Nov 22 2012, 11:23 AM)
Preferred brands : Asus
Budget : 1.8k max
Usage : HoN , DoTa2.
Screen : 14" +
14"
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 1TB, W8
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD
[Ultrabook]K46CM-WX059V, i3-3217U + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, 4-cell battery, W7HP, OD

15"
[Ultrabook] S56CM-XX090H i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB@RM2199[2.3kg], 2GB, W8; color: black

Ultrabook has less powerful built in cooling, heat up faster when gaming. Also check on S56 personally and make sure you are ok with build quality.

If you are willing to consider other brand:
Dell
14"
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8
Compared with A45, cheaper, more RAM, faster but smaller cap HDD, better warranty (on site).

Lenovo
14"
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), FreeDOS
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
15"
G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty

Added on November 22, 2012, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(astalaverse @ Nov 22 2012, 11:05 AM)
sifus,

any recommendation?

1. Preferred Brand : any, reliable
2. Budget : 1900, the cheaper the better biggrin.gif
3. Usage : student taking art and design (graphic design and digital media) course, surfing, PES
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14
You need good GPU for 3D rendering, and good screen for accurate colour reproduction.
Closest:
Dell
Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2049[2.38kg], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), W7HP/W8

Sorry, no 14" laptop with high gamut screen at your price range.

Added on November 22, 2012, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(maxxreez @ Nov 22 2012, 12:44 AM)
QUOTE(devour @ Nov 22 2012, 12:57 AM)

Added on November 22, 2012, 1:01 am

Asus X401A
Other brand you may want to consider:
Acer:
V5-431-887B2G50, B887 + Intel HD@RM1299[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
Aspire E1-421-11202G50, E1-1200 + AMD HD7310M@RM1249, 2GB, 500GB, W7HB
Dell:
Inspiron 14, B820 + Intel HD@RM999[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB/W8@RM1159
Inspiron 14, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299[2.1kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu Linux 11.10; W7HB/W8@RM1459
Lenovo:
G480, B980 + Intel HD@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB, W8
G480, i3-2328M + Intel HD3000@RM1299, 2GB, 500GB (5400rpm), FreeDOS

Indicated price are RSP, can negotiate for better deal. FreeOS means you have to get OS yourself. Those with win OS normally only come with MS Office trial, you need to top up around RM200 to get Office Home and Student. If your school do not specifically ask for MS Office (eg. you MUST use Excel or Powerpoint) and you want to stay legit, consider open source alternative like LibreOffice.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Nov 22 2012, 12:54 PM
debbierowe
post Nov 22 2012, 01:50 PM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

how would you rate Toshiba Vs Dell? on warranty and reliability.
nexus2238
post Nov 22 2012, 03:06 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(debbierowe @ Nov 22 2012, 01:50 PM)
how would you rate Toshiba Vs Dell? on warranty and reliability.
In Malaysia, Dell warranty support service is much better than Toshiba.

Reliability: You need to specify on product line. Business line (Dell Latitude, Dell Precision, Toshiba Tecra) is normally more solidly built (water resistant keyboard, stronger hinge to hold the screen with the base, stronger case where it won't bend even if user press hard ...), use components that is less heat generating (eg. lower power GPU) to prolong the life of all components, more heavy (due to the built material) etc.
Consumer line (Dell Inspiron, Toshiba Satellite) is more trendy, pushing the design in exchange of solidness, give more powerful GPU (but hotter), better speakers (skullcandy for Dell, Harmon Kardon for Toshiba), lighter but more fragile.

Generally, no matter how good is QA, no brand can guarantee 100% fault free, and some buyers will get the lemon. That's why warranty support is important.
Butters90
post Nov 22 2012, 03:14 PM

18 posts

1. Preferred Brand: Any
3. Usage: for student, ie. MS office, internet, movies
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13 and above

Does not mind have OS or not. Prefers Intel system, but does not mind AMD.

PowerGadget
post Nov 22 2012, 03:25 PM

821 posts

1. Preferred Brand: DELL,ASUS,LENOVO or any brand will do
2. Budget: about 2-2.5k
3. Usage: Learning programming as well as photoshop. STRICTLY NO GAMING
4. Preferred laptop/screen size:13,14 or above

will upgrade to SSD intel 330/520

debbierowe
post Nov 22 2012, 03:28 PM

so fast 6 stars di...
1,107 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 22 2012, 03:06 PM)
In Malaysia, Dell warranty support service is much better than Toshiba.

Reliability: You need to specify on product line. Business line (Dell Latitude, Dell Precision, Toshiba Tecra) is normally more solidly built (water resistant keyboard, stronger hinge to hold the screen with the base, stronger case where it won't bend even if user press hard ...), use components that is less heat generating (eg. lower power GPU) to prolong the life of all components, more heavy (due to the built material) etc.
Consumer line (Dell Inspiron, Toshiba Satellite) is more trendy, pushing the design in exchange of solidness, give more powerful GPU (but hotter), better speakers (skullcandy for Dell, Harmon Kardon for Toshiba), lighter but more fragile.

Generally, no matter how good is QA, no brand can guarantee 100% fault free, and some buyers will get the lemon. That's why warranty support is important.
i am going to buy 1 laptop and use it mostly overseas, going to be based on a 1yr+ project in UK next yr February.

i work using my company's laptop Dell Latitude. I am looking for an Ultrabook for my entertainment purposes, and also do my side work, helping a uni professor to do research.

One more thing about the warranty, for international... if i buy in malaysia, and when in uk say March I find faulty it can be service by the Dell over there? I think for Dell (so premium) maybe can. but Asus don't hope?

that also will make me make different decision, to buy here or buy in UK, for laptop not much different and especially its UK not US.. wont be lots cheaper or so...

129 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0320sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:18 PM