Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v20, JB Poland only, Malaysia Tiada yet

kuntakinte
post Oct 5 2012, 11:14 AM

607 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Oct 5 2012, 11:01 AM)
but s3 drop soo quick.  doh.gif
Live with it! Samsung (and all other android phone manufacturers) have been known to aggressively flood the market with models and variations with price aggression to match. Their ultimate aim is market share and profit. Can't blame them when android market is so fragmented. Unlike apple which monopolizes and controls both software and hardware, and due to their popularity, they can control pricing. Apple products has the best resale value. Steve jobs once said, we cannot drop prices in the hope of gaining market share, we need to also think about our earlier buyers and how much they can be affected. From a marketing perspective, this is an excellent strategy, as the high price makes their product more exclusive and desirable.

Anyway, don't fret too much over resale value. I bought my S3 when it was launched, migrated from iOS and nary a regret whatsoever. I love the S3, and android so much in particular, that I got myself a nexus 7 as well although I am still holding on to my iPad 3 which does have its advantage for reading e newspaper. And that retina display is a different category altogether.

There, no right or wrong, as long it meets your needs, it's a good device.
kuntakinte
post Oct 8 2012, 04:51 PM

607 posts

Honestly, the s3 will be a more formidable machine if it had 2gb ram. Sometimes, there is a lag when switching over from phone call to home screen. I think the darn touch wiz is the cause. Changed my launcher to nova prime and performance has improved by leaps

Added on October 8, 2012, 4:55 pm
QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Oct 8 2012, 04:49 PM)
1gb ram is okay. even when got 4, 5 apps running in the background still no lag. one thing is, you need to be a bit hardworking in killing apps and free-ing ram whenever possible.  tongue.gif i'm used to this since i got tab 8.9 running on Honeycomb. Lags damn lot when having 3,4 apps running.  sweat.gif
I don't recommend constantly killing apps as the regular switching on and off is a real battery drain, as I later found out. Let android manage the memory. If memory resource is low, There is may a slight lag when android closes an older idle app for a newly opened one but once done, it's smooth.
Android's philosophy with regards to memory is that un-used memory is wasted resource which is why it does active management on its own

This post has been edited by kuntakinte: Oct 8 2012, 04:56 PM
kuntakinte
post Oct 8 2012, 04:59 PM

607 posts

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Oct 8 2012, 04:56 PM)
but drink batt juice more than TW does. batt dropped 1% after 8-9 hours idling when using TW but after i started using nova, drops 2-3% for same period. i did kill TW ady when switching to nova that day.  unsure.gif

but still tolerable.  laugh.gif

Added on October 8, 2012, 4:58 pm
ah i see. thanks bro. will cut that habit off on my s3.  notworthy.gif but on my tab, kenot help liao. very lags when open too many apps.  sweat.gif
Hmm, didn't notice the extra battery juice on nova. Maybe you had more widgets on nova than tw? As you say, an extra 2-3% of juice is tolerable for a significantly smoother and vibrant launcher

0.0541sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:10 PM