Streamyx Streamyx 4Mbps Club V5

nymerine
post Jan 12 2013, 02:02 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(jay @ Jan 11 2013, 10:29 PM)
got wifi can already, i see asus one like not bad but duno ngam anot with streamyx~
Anything expensive is always nice.
My personal recommendation is TPLINK - WR1043ND
nymerine
post Jan 15 2013, 07:50 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(hsunl @ Jan 15 2013, 05:49 PM)
Appreciate those who answer and assist me here sad.gif

Juz called 100 n they mentioned my Tel Number is available for 4Mbps only. 8Mbps ta dak sad.gif
My landed house already 13 yrs and at the moment using 0.384Mbps sad.gif Streamyx. Pls dun laugh at me.
1.) Is my Old copper line support 4Mbps?
2.) Will i get a stable 3.3~4Mbps without frequent DC sad.gif
3.) Will i get support from any TM technician to assist me getting a Stable 3.3~4Mbps speed if i subscibe this package? Or risk bare by me sad.gif.

Here is my Riger datas. Thanks

Downstream  Upstream
SNR Margin (dB):  33.0 29.0
Attenuation (dB):  14.0 5.0
Output Power (dBm): 11.9 16.6
Attainable Rate (Kbps):11840 1248
Rate (Kbps):  1024 384
If your line can't support 4Mbps they don't suggest you to upgrade, if they said it's supported then it should be. biggrin.gif
nymerine
post Jan 15 2013, 08:27 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 15 2013, 08:20 PM)
funny thing if line good enough for 4mbps, why 8mbps can? since it their requirement to be 1.5km form nearest dlsam
Probably DSLAM issue. IINM our area is already fibre ready, just waiting for the unifi to come here.
Even now my 4Mbps is running ADSL_G.dmt, not ADSL2+. Attainable rate is around 10Mbps, that's really stretching the capabilities of non ADSL2+ mode. So far, I can assume that its hardware limitation.

edit : I was wrongly capped before, 5Mbps/1Mbps (attainable 10Mbps/1Mbps), I used my upload bandwidth up 70kB/s and my connection went haywire, ping shoot up to 2k MS to local sites, could not load anything.

This post has been edited by nymerine: Jan 15 2013, 08:30 PM
nymerine
post Jan 15 2013, 08:46 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 15 2013, 08:39 PM)
Fiber? at where oo?

i at taman kerjasama didnt see any fiber cable hanging at TM pole? hmm.gif
Can check here : http://sams.tm.net.my/MarketingCenter/search.asp
Put your streamyx login @ customer login.
Look at "J" column, if the result is F, means its fibre infrastructure, if result is "ticked" means its copper infrastructure.
Source : A guy working with TM posted this in this thread lots of pages ago.
nymerine
post Jan 15 2013, 10:53 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Jan 15 2013, 08:54 PM)
meaning fiber coming to our area?  smile.gif

but my 4mbps is since 2009, and the status have a "F" sign.. 2009 got fiber ad meh? or just some bull crap hahaha tongue.gif
Yes we do, just not for us. Our campus perhaps. We tumpang their fibre I'm guessing.
nymerine
post Jan 15 2013, 10:56 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(laidback @ Jan 15 2013, 09:57 PM)
mine almost the same as yours

DSL Line Status: ADSL2 AnnexL SHOWTIME L0
ADSL Modulation: T1_413

Down Up
SNR Margin 16.3 dB
Line Attenuation 17.5 dB

Data Rate 1024 383 kbps
Latency FAST FAST

Before my data rate was 2045 538kbps.After TM do some upgrading work somewhere and my line got problem then it became 1021 383kbps rclxub.gif
Called TM CS,was told my line cannot support 4MB  sad.gif
IINM if modem using T1_413 modulation, it means your line is barely alive due to poor connection or long distance from TM cabinet.
nymerine
post Jan 23 2013, 05:47 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(ame904 @ Jan 22 2013, 08:33 PM)
i see..so we can say that TM connection having issues atm is it?..so this also effect the safelinking sites also?..hopefully this prob is temporary..tq very much bro
This issue has been rectified earlier this morning. EU to MY is all good now laugh.gif

https://twitter.com/TMCorp/status/293912391882768385 sad.gif

#TMAlerts 1/2 The international data link to Europe is currently undergoing planned preventive maintenance from Jan 21 to Jan 25, 2013

This post has been edited by nymerine: Jan 23 2013, 10:56 AM
nymerine
post Jan 26 2013, 08:52 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(kalisair @ Jan 26 2013, 06:48 PM)
How to get TM to open 5Mbps port? Is it random? Any tips? Should I PM somebody for details? wink.gif
Try kopi the contractor. Calling 100 doesnt help since 3.47 is above their promised minimum speed which is 90% out of 4Mbps
nymerine
post Feb 1 2013, 10:47 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(budingyun @ Jan 28 2013, 09:20 PM)
I can't do tracert/traceroute using streamyx? Is it normal?
Yes, you cant use tracert. Try use ftrace instead
http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/ftrace/

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Feb 1 2013, 10:25 AM)
I was happily torrenting with my 4mbps line until last month December i think. suddenly cannot connect to any tracker. torrents stuck. Is this throttling kah? i suspect it is cos i tried VPN can connect.

Want to comfirm la. i not like very savvy with my PC.

QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Feb 1 2013, 10:33 AM)
TM probably blocked some of the tracker through their DNS or proxy?
Had you tried changed your DNS in your network settings to use Google DNS?
It was always blocked if you're using their DNS, use google dns instead of theirs.
nymerine
post Feb 1 2013, 11:42 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Feb 1 2013, 11:40 AM)
Just wondering, what is the default/reset password for streamyx? What are they normally?
They're randomly generated, mixed between a number and alphabet.
nymerine
post Feb 2 2013, 01:36 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Feb 2 2013, 07:41 AM)
If copper wire then max can get 1Mpbs only?
No, theoretical speed possible is 24Mbps, currently available streamyx package is 1,2,4,8 Mbps.

QUOTE(TSEyeCare @ Feb 2 2013, 01:13 PM)
I tried the upgrade on tm website, they show me this "There is currently no Facility to support this Streamyx Upgrade.". So mean no hope to upgrade at all? currently on 1Mbps trying on 2Mbps or 4Mbps.
Call 100 for confirmation.

QUOTE(happyshirt @ Feb 2 2013, 01:22 PM)
Garrgh confirmed kena throttled. when I first upgraded to 4Mpbs i got pretty decent speeds torrenting last mth onwards nah tercekik!!!! totall doesn't connect worse then i was on 1 Mpbs. they do even better job throttling on the 4Mpbs line
confirmed cos i tried VPN and woooo speeded up real quick
Streamyx is throttled no matter what, unless you manage to triggered the bug which momentarily unthrottle your connection biggrin.gif
nymerine
post Feb 22 2013, 10:51 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(chanka99 @ Feb 22 2013, 08:54 AM)
After upgrade the port. it test a feel time still show 1mbps speed and he ask me try in 24 to 48 hour to let system

update the account speed and it said the port signal is upgraded and is no problem for the speed.

but now is nearly 72~96 hour already. will contact the technician when home. sad.gif

btw my signal SNR info and the speed cap is correct for 4mbps speed right?
Have you rebooted your modem yet?
nymerine
post Feb 22 2013, 04:12 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(chanka99 @ Feb 22 2013, 11:00 AM)
Ic i also think of that, just need other to confirm on it. thank you.
from here is no idea is set fast or interleave mode...
ya mostly i off modem when not in use when going work or during midnight if no download task.
call 100, ask them

QUOTE(kskoay @ Feb 22 2013, 03:29 PM)
today, TM technician called me and told me upgrade request (1Mbps to 4Mbps) has been completed. but he didnt come to my house , then he ask me to test it tomorrow (he said need to wait 24 hours?? got such thing?). by the way, i didnt test it now because im currently working.

and i check with TM 100, according to them still in process (not complete yet), who should i listen? =.=lll
such thing is possible, you can go try speedtest, if you still havent got the speed then call 100
nymerine
post Feb 26 2013, 06:04 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(menghao @ Feb 26 2013, 02:54 PM)
anyone face the same problem as me?
Unable to download p2p stuff.. tried to download p2p , but max speed at 1kbps.. hmm...
Streamyx throttled speed for P2P
nymerine
post Mar 1 2013, 11:01 AM

920 posts

QUOTE(menghao @ Feb 28 2013, 02:18 AM)
is there anyway to bypass that ?
what about unifi?
Yes, try VPN or seedbox (can refer to my sig for cheap/good seedboxes)

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Feb 28 2013, 11:43 PM)
is this normal?

[attachmentid=3326076]
Perfectly fine

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 1 2013, 02:36 AM)
Just wanted to note ,
do you guys upgrade from 1mb to 4mb feel slower when accessing website due to ping issue ?
from 1mb 18ms ping suddenly to 70ms ping.Feel the lag speed when loading a website ?
No?
nymerine
post Mar 1 2013, 08:21 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Mar 1 2013, 11:12 AM)
yes i feel it. last time 1mb keep 30 ping but now 4mb keep 80 ping. last time 1mb play game only 30 ping to 60 but now become 100 ping to 200 ping. play game also no fun so delay. so regret upgrade to 4mb tmnut screamyx f***!
That's absurd, there's no difference of latency between 1Mbps and 4Mbps.
nymerine
post Mar 1 2013, 11:28 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(cylaipro @ Mar 1 2013, 09:16 PM)
if no diffrence y last time i play game so smooth 30 ping to 60 but now become 100 to 200 ping so f***ing delay!!!!!
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 1 2013, 10:37 PM)
Not sure about online games since I didn't play it , but loading website seems aceess slower compare to 1mb.

but everyone ping is higher then 1mb.Actually what causes it ? port changing ?

Maybe , but i can't view your speed test now , speed test having problem ?
As I said, speedtest.net's ping is not reliable, open up command prompt and do simple ping to lowyat.net or google.com as example, and do use LAN cable, not wifi because it's unreliable.

For local connection, as in, only in Malaysia connection, there should be no difference between these packages using all kinds of IP address.

For international however, really depends on your IP ranges and the route it passes through. AFAIK, different IP ranges will go through different international gateway, as in the local's one, from the local's it will go through to the same international routes.
Right now I'm using 175.144.* IP to do this tracert, as you can see, latency to destination is 235ms on average

Now, if you ping to nimetsu.asia, you might get different latency if you're on different IP range such as 60.54.* and such.
CODE

Tracing route to trap.nimetsu.asia [192.210.209.101] with TTL of 32:

1  0ms    0ms    0ms    192.168.1.1
2  14ms   14ms   13ms   219.93.218.177 <-- local gateway
3  13ms   14ms   14ms   175.144.88.221 <-- local gateway
4  217ms  244ms  220ms  10.55.192.32
5  228ms  219ms  228ms  paix.99.xe-0-1-0.cr1.pao1.us.nlayer.net [198.32.176.13]

6  221ms  254ms  241ms  ae1-70g.cr1.sjc1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.143.165]
7  222ms  222ms  231ms  xe-5-1-0.cr1.lax1.us.nlayer.net [69.22.142.126]
8  228ms  227ms  228ms  ae1-50g.ar1.lax2.us.nlayer.net [69.31.127.130]
9  255ms  245ms  245ms  as29761.xe-5-0-1.ar1.lax2.us.nlayer.net [69.31.127.42]
10  240ms  230ms  241ms  96.44.180.34.internal.quadranet.com [96.44.180.34]
11  225ms  234ms  224ms  67.215.251.214.static.quadranet.com [67.215.251.214]
12  229ms  229ms  239ms  host.colocrossing.com [192.210.148.254]
13  238ms  227ms  227ms  192.210.208.4
14  240ms  234ms  234ms  trap.nimetsu.asia [192.210.209.101]

Secondly, if your DSLAM is not using fibre infrastructure, you might have this kind of problem, I have no exact idea why but I used to have the same problem,
previously when I was on 1.5Mbps line, when I'm using 100% downstream bandwidth, my latency will shoot up to 500-600ms, and then I upgraded to 4Mbps, after I upgraded, I did the same thing, using 100% downstream bandwidth, my latency goes almost 1500ms, tripled. Recently TM upgraded DSLAM at my place, my latency no longer shoot up that high whenever I'm downloading.

QUOTE(MonfereBlogspot @ Mar 1 2013, 10:57 PM)
Is Streamyx 4MBPS really that bad?  blink.gif  I was planning to upgrade to 4MBPS this month.
I've really been enjoying my 4Mbps, things you should know before upgrading, torrent activities are heavy throttled, the rest are fine.

This post has been edited by nymerine: Mar 1 2013, 11:30 PM
nymerine
post Mar 1 2013, 11:37 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(MonfereBlogspot @ Mar 1 2013, 11:35 PM)
Do they throttle PPS or downloading apps from iTunes?
PPS is using peer-2-peer right? If so, yes.
I have no idea about iTunes, should be no problem as long they're direct download.
nymerine
post Mar 17 2013, 10:50 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(alip_11 @ Mar 17 2013, 10:42 PM)
my area no streamyx for 2 days already.  vmad.gif
waste my money to buy mobile data..  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
Dah report 100? Usually they'll contact you back in 24hours time, if in 24hours they havent contact you yet, contact them back, make sure keep your report number for them to refer.
nymerine
post Apr 2 2013, 07:39 PM

920 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Apr 1 2013, 10:09 AM)
guys they said that areas have a certain amount of quota?

that means like there a limit to the amount of people able to subscribe to 4mbps streamyx?
Yes, there's limited amount of jack available inside the distribution cabinet, if it's full then it is until new one is installed (only if there's HIGH demand)

QUOTE(glamour @ Apr 1 2013, 01:12 PM)
mt problem
tmnet still cannot solve
sigh !!
my area no unifi
wanna cancel also cannot...
damn !!
this few days..evening keep raining..my line either will very slow or dc...
Report 100

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 2 2013, 07:12 PM)
what about ddl ? throttled too ?
Nope, just P2P

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0435sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:00 AM