if anyone know tell me the cost of the Guitar Templates
like this:
and anyone know where to buy Strat Pickguards?

This post has been edited by Ex_03: Feb 18 2006, 11:20 PM
Q:Guitar Templates
Feb 18 2006, 10:05 PM, updated 20y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
64 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Feb 18 2006, 10:52 PM
348 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Kepong |
can buy strat pickups at bentley's.. think i saw them there..
Feb 18 2006, 10:56 PM
1,449 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
are you thinking of making your own guitar?
Feb 18 2006, 11:21 PM
Feb 19 2006, 12:10 AM
1,449 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Feb 19 2006, 08:10 AM
2,234 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
http://www.guitarbuildingtemplates.com/
good luck man.... just pm me if you need any help ive been wanting to build my own strat but under my financial circumstances its just not possible.... especially when the tube amp is on top of my priority list |
Feb 19 2006, 08:58 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
a famous one, and an excellent site : www.warmoth.com
but it's quite expensive. |
Feb 19 2006, 09:06 AM
2,918 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Deliciously Pointless To: Jaw-Dropping Absurd |
hey...evo.com, your site is just providing the "shape" of the guitar... but not the actual wood chunk... so you have to get the wood, and then cut it so it looks like a guitar. loads of work ahead...
Feb 19 2006, 09:52 AM
2,234 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
he wants a guitar template, not the body as mentioned in the 1st post
ex_03, do you have the tools to make a guitar? like the router bits... drills.... and stuff if youre planning to just build 1 guitar... i would recommend you to just get the body and neck... that way all you need is a drill... + fnishing supplies you can get your finishing supplies from reranch.com ... there are kit sets for fender style bursts for the other stuff you can go to projectguitar.com and browse through their links |
Feb 19 2006, 01:11 PM
QUOTE(evo.com @ Feb 19 2006, 09:52 AM) he wants a guitar template, not the body as mentioned in the 1st post i dont have this toolex_03, do you have the tools to make a guitar? like the router bits... drills.... and stuff if youre planning to just build 1 guitar... i would recommend you to just get the body and neck... that way all you need is a drill... + fnishing supplies you can get your finishing supplies from reranch.com ... there are kit sets for fender style bursts for the other stuff you can go to projectguitar.com and browse through their links ![]() i dont know where to buy it and how much is it.. i want to but template at http://www.guitarbuildingtemplates.com but i dont have creadit card still young to use it.. where to find wood?hardware shop? This post has been edited by Ex_03: Feb 19 2006, 01:18 PM |
Feb 19 2006, 01:41 PM
evo.com, woops
ex03... renting the tools, finding the wood... that's gonna be hell. (no, you can't buy the wood from hardware shop, you need special aged wood (alder, mahogany...) ). i don't want to stop you, but if you're young and not into those wood works, i can't see how you're gonna make it. You can't improvise yourself as a luthier... you'd better off with warmoth kits. |
Feb 19 2006, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(Pix @ Feb 19 2006, 01:41 PM) evo.com, woops do you know where to buy guitar wood ex03... renting the tools, finding the wood... that's gonna be hell. (no, you can't buy the wood from hardware shop, you need special aged wood (alder, mahogany...) ). i don't want to stop you, but if you're young and not into those wood works, i can't see how you're gonna make it. You can't improvise yourself as a luthier... you'd better off with warmoth kits. This post has been edited by Ex_03: Feb 19 2006, 03:11 PM |
Feb 19 2006, 03:48 PM
no i don't, sorry...
Feb 19 2006, 04:00 PM
Feb 19 2006, 04:52 PM
3,914 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(Ex_03 @ Feb 19 2006, 04:00 PM) Most electric guitar bodies are made of wood. This wood is rarely one solid piece, as laminating hardwoods in the proper way can produce a body of exceptional strength and superior tone. The most common woods used for electric guitar body construction include maple, basswood, ash, poplar, alder, and mahogany. Many bodies will consist of good sounding but inexpensive woods, like ash, with a "top", or thin layer of another, more attractive wood (such as maple with a natural "flame" pattern) glued to the top of the basic wood. Guitars constructed like this are often called "flame tops". The body is usually carved or routed to accept the other elements, such as the bridge, pickup, neck, and other electronic components. Many higher-end electrics have a nitro-cellulose laquer finish on the top, which promotes resonance. |
Feb 19 2006, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Feb 19 2006, 04:52 PM) Most electric guitar bodies are made of wood. This wood is rarely one solid piece, as laminating hardwoods in the proper way can produce a body of exceptional strength and superior tone. The most common woods used for electric guitar body construction include maple, basswood, ash, poplar, alder, and mahogany. Many bodies will consist of good sounding but inexpensive woods, like ash, with a "top", or thin layer of another, more attractive wood (such as maple with a natural "flame" pattern) glued to the top of the basic wood. Guitars constructed like this are often called "flame tops". The body is usually carved or routed to accept the other elements, such as the bridge, pickup, neck, and other electronic components. Many higher-end electrics have a nitro-cellulose laquer finish on the top, which promotes resonance. ![]() can i use this wood?or Custom made belian wood column, truss or purlins |
Feb 19 2006, 07:00 PM
323 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Kota Damansara |
What's that plywood? lol
If you're makin electric guitar (don't even start on acoustics lolx) alder, mahogany, ash, rosewood, maple, are the common ones. These are mostly imported aged wood from overseas which are specially prepared to make guitars. I know of a luthier who actually imports wood to make his custom acoustics. I think you can purchase wood from overseas - huge risk tho - better still, follow the guys' advice, buy custom bodies already cut and drilled for pups, buy ur own pups and start soldering |
Feb 19 2006, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(gizmoduck @ Feb 19 2006, 07:00 PM) What's that plywood? lol do you know what website that sell all kind of wood that you tell? If you're makin electric guitar (don't even start on acoustics lolx) alder, mahogany, ash, rosewood, maple, are the common ones. These are mostly imported aged wood from overseas which are specially prepared to make guitars. I know of a luthier who actually imports wood to make his custom acoustics. I think you can purchase wood from overseas - huge risk tho - better still, follow the guys' advice, buy custom bodies already cut and drilled for pups, buy ur own pups and start soldering if i dont use alder, mahogany, ash, rosewood, maple, what gonna to happen to the guitar? This post has been edited by Ex_03: Feb 19 2006, 11:16 PM |
Feb 19 2006, 11:28 PM
13,063 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Toronto |
Sounds like crap...... easy.....
But apparently.... if you put EMG's on any piece of wood (even a baseball bat), it will STILL sound good!!!! |
Feb 20 2006, 01:57 AM
ex03,
do you know you have to buy a neck also ? you cannot design a neck, it's very complicated, so you have to buy it... but ok lah, you can always try. it'll cost you a bomb to bring wood from oversea, so you'd better off with cheap local plywood (or even palmtree wood ? it just as to be dry and old) -- this way you can still TRY to build your guitar, and at least it won't be too much pain if it happens you can't manage to finish it, or if you do a mistake. Then for your 2nd guitar, you can import wood ? I don't know where to buy wood in Msia either, but beware the width and length of the planks must be greater than the size of the guitar body. |
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:15 AM |