Technical Help! How to use Xbox VGA Cable?, newbie for Xbox and dumb in pc stuff...

TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 2 2012, 07:07 AM, updated 14y ago

Hi, need senior senior for help.. have just bought xbox 360 kinect bundle last sunday. plan to play it on pc monitor (samsung wide screen, no hdmi). so after do some research from oldest thread, i can do so by getting XBOX VGA cable. i thought is just simply plug and play between xbox and monitor but then it doesnt work. the screen display blank, however got sound. is it need any else setup? please advice..

this is the cable that i bought..

appreciate if any sifu can help me to solve my proble... thanks in advance..

edited:
if my monitor have dvi port means i need to buy VGA to DVI adapter is it? or i need to buy hdmi to dvi cable?

This post has been edited by xanderleonidas: Oct 3 2012, 07:20 AM
SUStat3179
post Oct 2 2012, 09:44 AM

1,331 posts

QUOTE(xanderleonidas @ Oct 2 2012, 07:07 AM)
Hi, need senior senior for help.. have just bought xbox 360 kinect bundle last sunday. plan to play it on pc monitor (samsung wide screen, no hdmi). so after do some research from oldest thread, i can do so by getting XBOX VGA cable. i thought is just simply plug and play between xbox and monitor but then it doesnt work. the screen display blank, however got sound. is it need any else setup? please advice..
Buy a VGA cable adapter. I got one for sale if you are interested...

Otherwise, get a computer monitor that supports HDMI
TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 2 2012, 10:04 AM

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Oct 2 2012, 09:44 AM)
Buy a VGA cable adapter. I got one for sale if you are interested...

Otherwise, get a computer monitor that supports HDMI
i hv already bought vga cable. i still need buy another one?
SUStat3179
post Oct 2 2012, 10:32 AM

1,331 posts

QUOTE(xanderleonidas @ Oct 2 2012, 10:04 AM)
i hv already bought vga cable. i still need buy another one?
Then there is no problem is it? Connect the xbox vga cable to the xbox and your monitor and you are good to go.
TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 2 2012, 06:29 PM

QUOTE(tat3179 @ Oct 2 2012, 10:32 AM)
Then there is no problem is it? Connect the xbox vga cable to the xbox and your monitor and you are good to go.
as i mention, it doesnt appear anything on my monitor.. just have sound. is it any setting i need to do before plug to monitor?
IccyAsd
post Oct 2 2012, 11:03 PM

846 posts

What VGA cable are you using? official cable or 3rd party?

How many connections do you have on the monitor? only for Xbox? or PC+Xbox to 1 monitor?

This is how the official VGA cable looks like.

If you have only 1 connection to the monitor (Xbox360>Monitor) it should just work as plug & play.
Edison83
post Oct 3 2012, 12:07 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

On the other related advice. Kinect need stand at 6foot to use properly. with that range, you think u can still see your monitor properly????

TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 3 2012, 05:05 AM

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Oct 2 2012, 11:03 PM)
What VGA cable are you using? official cable or 3rd party?

How many connections do you have on the monitor? only for Xbox? or PC+Xbox to 1 monitor?

This is how the official VGA cable looks like.

If you have only 1 connection to the monitor (Xbox360>Monitor) it should just work as plug & play.
is this the one you mention? or i bought wrongly? i tried to google and youtube that is cable to connect between monitor and xbox i guess..

Added on October 3, 2012, 5:06 am
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 3 2012, 12:07 AM)
On the other related advice. Kinect need stand at 6foot to use properly. with that range, you think u can still see your monitor properly????
no worries bro, im going to sell my kinect to my friend.

Added on October 3, 2012, 7:18 amedited:
if my monitor have dvi port means i need to buy VGA to DVI adapter is it? or i need to buy hdmi to dvi cable?

This post has been edited by xanderleonidas: Oct 3 2012, 07:18 AM
y3ivan
post Oct 3 2012, 10:36 AM

502 posts

QUOTE(xanderleonidas @ Oct 3 2012, 05:05 AM)

VGA to DVI adapter will do the work. I m guessing its that your cable is broken, recommend to do an exchange
TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 3 2012, 05:15 PM

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Oct 3 2012, 10:36 AM)
VGA to DVI adapter will do the work. I m guessing its that your cable is broken, recommend to do an exchange
any idea where to to buy vga to dvi adapter. went to some shop they only selling dvi to vga adapter...
Edison83
post Oct 5 2012, 02:55 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(xanderleonidas @ Oct 2 2012, 07:07 AM)

this is the cable that i bought..

appreciate if any sifu can help me to solve my proble... thanks in advance..

edited:
the picture of the product I C is weird leh, apasal onli white and red, those are audio left and right, mana itu yellow RCA??? memang la ada audio no picture, that yellow RCA is for visual. Buy the cable that Iccy show, that the 1 u need. You kena con sama itu kedai ke??

u c the cable Iccy show, ada itu white and red RCA right, if you wan connect to speaker its easy depending on the speaker design, some speaker use 3.5" to 2 RCA (in this case just plug in that red and white to speaker, cabut the original cable out), if use 3.5" to 3.5" cable (then you need a female RCA to 3.5" female) to covert the jack.

This post has been edited by Edison83: Oct 5 2012, 02:59 PM
TSxanderleonidas
post Oct 6 2012, 06:00 AM

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Oct 5 2012, 02:55 PM)
the picture of the product I C is weird leh, apasal onli white and red, those are audio left and right, mana itu yellow RCA??? memang la ada audio no picture, that yellow RCA is for visual. Buy the cable that Iccy show, that the 1 u need. You kena con sama itu kedai ke??

u c the cable Iccy show, ada itu white and red RCA right, if you wan connect to speaker its easy depending on the speaker design, some speaker use 3.5" to 2 RCA (in this case just plug in that red and white to speaker, cabut the original cable out), if use 3.5" to 3.5" cable (then you need a female RCA to 3.5" female) to covert the jack.
bro, im connecting it to monitor not tv. where ever you search xbox vga is only with white and red. i have no idea why no visual. maybe i should get vga-dvi converter or xbox dvi cable instead.
Edison83
post Oct 8 2012, 01:35 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

yala, the 1 Iccy shown. VGA terus cucuk monitor, the red and white RCA need a convert (maybe not) for your PC speaker.
y3ivan
post Oct 8 2012, 02:34 PM

502 posts

I m guessing, its the cable is faulty. By the way it a 3rd party cable. With the recent firmware updates, some of this unofficial product might be banned, happen to controllers

gundamalpha
post Oct 8 2012, 09:40 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Is there any way to reset the XBox like the PS3? May be that would help
tolaktakjatuh
post Aug 13 2013, 03:47 PM

Huehuehue
653 posts

it should be no problem. maybe your newly bought cable is problematic.

if nothing solved, i think it's better if you buy a hdmi to dvi cable. Only rm40-rm50 for a piece. Solve all the problem.

0.0237sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:04 AM