Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Please provide proper description when you report a post. Report button abuse will earn you an automatic warn + suspension.
 
RSS feedBump TopicReply to this topicStart new topicStart Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Unifi contractor and charges, Need recommendation on unifi contractor

adrian_lmk
post Oct 1 2012, 05:55 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
I'm currently renovating my house and plan to conceal my fiber optic cable. Anyone can provide the contact for the unifi contractor? How much it going to charge for laying conceal work to second floor
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sabahboyz
post Oct 1 2012, 06:26 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 19

Joined: Mar 2010
QUOTE(adrian_lmk @ Oct 1 2012, 06:55 PM)
I'm currently renovating my house and plan to conceal my fiber optic cable. Anyone can provide the contact for the unifi contractor? How much it going to charge for laying conceal work to second floor
*
PM to you, he is my maxis fibre supplier...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrian_lmk
post Oct 1 2012, 07:02 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
Thanks bro, any problem using maxis fibre but use unifi service?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lionfish77
post Oct 1 2012, 08:49 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 175

Joined: Jun 2012
QUOTE(sabahboyz @ Oct 1 2012, 06:26 PM)
PM to you, he is my maxis fibre supplier...
*
could you please pm me the contact number also?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goonerboy
post Oct 2 2012, 05:38 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 75

Joined: Jun 2012
the wiring depends on the length of the cable.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
enriquelee
post Oct 3 2012, 02:21 PM


Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,077

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Atlanta

Unifi do not have their in house/appointed contractor?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
crow190569
post Oct 6 2012, 06:20 PM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 384

Joined: Jul 2012
From: White Heart Lane


QUOTE(sabahboyz @ Oct 1 2012, 06:26 PM)
PM to you, he is my maxis fibre supplier...
*

Please PM me also
Thanks
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrian_lmk
post Oct 6 2012, 08:46 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
Need to lay the Fibre and conceal it before the Unifi can be installed.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
idealhometech
post Oct 10 2012, 09:55 AM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 378

Joined: Oct 2010
From: Seri Kembangan, Pandan Indah
QUOTE(adrian_lmk @ Oct 6 2012, 08:46 PM)
Need to lay the Fibre and conceal it before the Unifi can be installed.
*
We got do fiber laying..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weikee
post Oct 10 2012, 10:41 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,358

Joined: Jan 2003
I wonder what will happen if unifi contractor don't recognized the installed cable?

I know some are very pain in the azz, insist to only use their own cable because customer can blame unifi contractor not installing properly.

Why not just lay an empty conduit with cabel puller inside? Is cheaper, and let the unifi contractor pull it themself when there are installing.


User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adrian_lmk
post Oct 11 2012, 11:22 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Jan 2006
I got the maxis contractor to lay the fibre. Plan to install maxis fibre.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ufoong81
post Oct 12 2012, 09:51 AM


New Member
*
Group: New Member
Posts: 3

Joined: Nov 2011
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(sabahboyz @ Oct 1 2012, 06:26 PM)
PM to you, he is my maxis fibre supplier...
*
Hi, can PM me the contact as well..thanks
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alvintcn
post Oct 20 2012, 04:44 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 69

Joined: Dec 2005


please PM me the contractor also... planning to install maxis fiber
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xtreme82
post Jan 11 2013, 01:43 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 81

Joined: Jan 2003


Kindly pm me as well. I need it urgently to lay out the fiber connection

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
simon82
post Jan 22 2013, 04:12 PM


Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 475

Joined: Nov 2004

conceal fiber line cost RM 150 cheap?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bully1706
post Jan 22 2013, 04:28 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 50

Joined: Dec 2012
QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 10 2012, 10:41 AM)
I wonder what will happen if unifi contractor don't recognized the installed cable?

I know some are very pain in the azz, insist to only use their own cable because customer can blame unifi contractor not installing properly.

Why not just lay an empty conduit with cabel puller inside? Is cheaper, and let the unifi contractor pull it themself when there are installing.
*
chief, does this mean I not need to call TM Contractors to the house during renovation for laying their cables? did you did the same for your house.

actually I'm in delima when to call them to fix the UNIFI, during renovation or before renovation. if called TM during renovation to fix the UNIFI stuffs do they already start to bill me for the services even the house is not ready for me to move in. rolleyes.gif
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weikee
post Jan 22 2013, 05:52 PM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,358

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(bully1706 @ Jan 22 2013, 04:28 PM)
chief, does this mean I not need to call TM Contractors to the house during renovation for laying their cables? did you did the same for your house.

actually I'm in delima when to call them to fix the UNIFI, during renovation or before renovation. if called TM during renovation to fix the UNIFI stuffs do they already start to bill me for the services even the house is not ready for me to move in.  rolleyes.gif
*
When you apply unifi, they ask when can come over to install. I told them is renovating, they say need to wait till complete only can install. I ask, can I have the contact, the service desk don't want to give.

Maybe the rules have change, you check with agent.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
justheone_2
post Apr 22 2013, 10:45 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 149

Joined: Oct 2007
PM Me contact for Unifi Cable installer
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
enson1985
post Apr 23 2013, 01:39 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 294

Joined: Jul 2005
From: Selangor


Pls PM me the contact also. Tq!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mamasos
post Apr 23 2013, 09:19 AM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 62

Joined: Oct 2007
mine was charged RM200 for laying 15 meters telekom fibre optic (Opcom black color cable), but not included conceal have to ask my contractor to do the plastering job.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Oink
post Jul 25 2013, 11:52 PM


Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 55

Joined: Oct 2005
From: Klang Valley


Please pm me the contact. i am from cheras.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
~Curious~
post Jul 26 2013, 01:25 AM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,364

Joined: Nov 2007
so if wanna do concealed wiring for internet is whose job?
weikee can u elaborate more on the empty conduit?i dont require to do LAN cabling as per your reno thread wor...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ozak
post Jul 26 2013, 08:26 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 6,727

Joined: Jan 2005


QUOTE(mamasos @ Apr 23 2013, 09:19 AM)
mine was charged RM200 for laying 15 meters telekom fibre optic (Opcom black color cable), but not included conceal have to ask my contractor to do the plastering job.
*
The Telekom ppl said first 15m laying is free. Extra meter have to pay. Which 1 is true?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lotiman2003
post Jul 28 2013, 07:20 PM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 887

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Penang


I'm current reno my house and want to pull/conceal unifi cable too. Any recommended constructor in PG?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
canibbean_blue
post Jul 28 2013, 08:27 PM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 35

Joined: Apr 2007
QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jul 28 2013, 07:20 PM)
I'm current reno my house and want to pull/conceal unifi cable too. Any recommended constructor in PG?
*
Same as me, anyone can share the contact? Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lotiman2003
post Jul 30 2013, 11:37 AM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 887

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Penang


Any contact for pulling unifi cable in PG?

Actually, I know they unifi cable will be pull from the back of my house so I was wondering how I am going to conceal the cable right now bcoz going to place the modem at the living room distant around 40ft.

Or it is possible if I do this:

1) Pull a RJ45 point near the kitchen at the back as close as the backdoor. The fibre optic cable come in to a conduit (or what ever they called it) and the modem put at the back then plug into the RJ45 cable so that it can link to me other rooms.

However, I prefer the modem at living room, though.

This post has been edited by lotiman2003: Jul 30 2013, 11:44 AM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weikee
post Jul 30 2013, 11:52 AM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,358

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(lotiman2003 @ Jul 30 2013, 11:37 AM)
Any contact for pulling unifi cable in PG?

Actually, I know they unifi cable will be pull from the back of my house so I was wondering how I am going to conceal the cable right now bcoz going to place the modem at the living room distant around 40ft.

Or it is possible if I do this:

1) Pull a RJ45 point near the kitchen at the back as close as the backdoor. The fibre optic cable come in to a conduit (or what ever they called it) and the modem put at the back then plug into the RJ45 cable so that it can link to me other rooms.

However, I prefer the modem at living room, though.
*
If you can find the autorized unifi contractor, ask them pull the fiber first. Alternative conceal the conduit with cabler puller (if your back yard to living room not far). Buy the cable puller from electric shop. Make sure your contractor don't put too many bending, too much bending cable puller won't help.

During my renovation time, i use the alternative method because unifi contractor don't want to pre-lay the cable. And another one wanted to charge super high price, F him and i conceal with cable puller. And my unifi installation is FOC smile.gif.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lotiman2003
post Jul 30 2013, 12:08 PM


Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 887

Joined: Sep 2005
From: Penang


QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 30 2013, 11:52 AM)
If you can find the autorized unifi contractor, ask them pull the fiber first. Alternative conceal the conduit with cabler puller (if your back yard to living room not far). Buy the cable puller from electric shop. Make sure your contractor don't put too many bending, too much bending cable puller won't help.

During my renovation time, i use the alternative method because unifi contractor don't want to pre-lay the cable. And another one wanted to charge super high price, F him and i conceal with cable puller. And my unifi installation is FOC smile.gif.
*
Thanks for the reply, I've search the forum and looks like it's a pretty complicated if wanna pre-lay the cable.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
skng03
post Jul 30 2013, 05:39 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,449

Joined: Oct 2008


Pcom can pre-lay fiber cable, and coordinate with TM contractor....but the price laugh.gif

This post has been edited by skng03: Jul 30 2013, 05:42 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weikee
post Jul 30 2013, 06:10 PM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,358

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(skng03 @ Jul 30 2013, 05:39 PM)
Pcom can pre-lay fiber cable, and coordinate with TM contractor....but the price  laugh.gif
*
Services come with a price. Good things need to pay, don't want to pay DIY smile.gif
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sue@
post Jul 31 2013, 11:36 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 8

Joined: Jun 2013
Hi weikee, icon_question.gif

I am reno-ing a subsale double story house which already has plaster ceiling installed and i plan to get unifi later on after my maxis contract expire.

My contractor wiring man said laying empty conduit with cable puller is not feasible because cant pull through those 90deg bend. I am not sure if they try to dissuade me because it's troublesome to do so or it's really not feasible because the plaster ceiling is already up plus there are some hidden beams in between kitchen and living room. Would like to hear your advice on this.

Another wiring guy say can lay the fiber cable for me for a fee($350), but I am afraid would the cable be TM compliant?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
weikee
post Jul 31 2013, 01:15 PM


Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 7,358

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(Sue@ @ Jul 31 2013, 11:36 AM)
Hi weikee,  icon_question.gif

I am reno-ing a subsale double story house which already has plaster ceiling installed and i plan to get unifi later on after my maxis contract expire.

My contractor wiring man said laying empty conduit with cable puller is not feasible because cant pull through those 90deg bend. I am not sure if they try to dissuade me because it's troublesome to do so or it's really not feasible because the plaster ceiling is already up plus there are some hidden beams in between kitchen and living room. Would like to hear your advice on this.

Another wiring guy say can lay the fiber cable for me for a fee($350), but I am afraid would the cable be TM compliant?
*
He is right on 90deg cable puller will have hard time to pull. Not sure how your cable route maybe consider slow circle curve than a sharp 90deg bend.

You ask the wireman loh, is it compliance with TM/maxis? If not how?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sue@
post Aug 1 2013, 10:31 AM


New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 8

Joined: Jun 2013
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 31 2013, 01:15 PM)
He is right on 90deg cable puller will have hard time to pull. Not sure how your cable route maybe consider slow circle curve than a sharp 90deg bend.

You ask the wireman loh, is it compliance with TM/maxis? If not how?
*
Thanks weikee. Would ask if he can do slow circle curve instead of 90deg. Worse case, just install unifi with expose cable, no eye see...sigh
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
~Curious~
post Aug 1 2013, 12:02 PM


Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,364

Joined: Nov 2007
is it too late to to concealed fibre optic cables since my hse already tiled n the walls have been painted (last coat still not on)?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0717sec    2.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th April 2014 - 11:53 AM