RC Flying Models V4, radio controlled aircrafts

seefutt
post Sep 16 2020, 05:09 PM

QUOTE(adeel2cool @ Aug 24 2020, 12:58 PM)
Hi any one help to to find nice place in Petaling Jaya where I can fly my RC Planes and drones Thanks a lot in advance
I would like to know this too biggrin.gif
So far I only dare to fly my whoops and 2-3in quads in parks around PJ as they are not so intimidating to the public, even that also during times with none to very little people around.
My 5inch is having very little flying time nowadays, would like to let it rip once a while.
seefutt
post Oct 15 2020, 02:01 PM

Similarly, I started on simulators DRL and Velocidrone and find it very hard to control at first.

I used to think practice hovering first is the way to go. But what I found out that gave me the instinct to control is to just move forward. Look forward at where you want to go. Eventually you'll get the hang of of it. Set challenges for yourself as you progress.

This hobby is very challenging, yet very satisfying and rewarding. To me, I can relate it to playing guitar.
seefutt
post Oct 15 2020, 02:27 PM

QUOTE(chinti @ Oct 15 2020, 02:10 PM)
havent gotten a quad yet but already got a list of parts i wan to build my first toothpick (i like smaller size rather than standard 5inch)

planning to get the mobula6 micro whoops to practice for now. not sure should i straight get a goggle too as well or just practice with line of sight
moving forward is a lot easier than hovering tho.

i can move forward and turn at higher speed in velocidrone, but i cant hover at a same location for long.

one tiny movement on the gimbals n my drone is pretty much everywhere  rclxub.gif its so tough to have tht precise micro movement
Yes, exactly, moving forward is a lot easier, thats the point. When you move forward, try to keep a constant distance from the ground,not just flying up high, that will train your throttle control, set a simple course like figure 8 or similar.

As you get used to it, you will suddenly find yourself able to hover much easier and better as your throttle control now improved.

Mobula6 is a good starting quad. I started with mobula 7 and bang/crashed it inside my house laugh.gif
IMHO, get a goggle and straight FPV, forget LOS
seefutt
post Oct 15 2020, 03:35 PM

Or can just get something like BetaFPV VR01 about rm250 just to match up with any tiny whoops and enable you to fly.
Flying inside house is a very good learning experience,you can fly anytime regardless of opportunity or weather. And it trains you looking thru goggles and having a sense of the space around you. Once you fly outdoors, it felt so much easier.

The thing is, I was in this dillema too when starting out.
I decided I wont invest in analog FPV and just go straight to digital, as good analog stuffs can cost as much as digital. If i can spend 1k+ for a midrange analog goggles. I might as well go all the way and get a huge jump in image quality, plus I dun have a collection of analog quads sweat.gif
After seeing digital, I just can't justify analog anymore.

It is expensive, but have to ask yourself if you really want this hobby.To make that decision, get a cheap but reasonable analog box goggle and a bangable quad to play around first laugh.gif
seefutt
post Oct 16 2020, 06:49 AM

QUOTE(zeroglyph @ Oct 15 2020, 08:03 PM)
i do both guitars and rc flying, and i would say hovering is your basic strumming. if you start with a quad, even more so if with dji stuff, yup this could work. hovering is not that important to practice too much. since stabilizations helps greatly. but not knowing to hover with a heli means bye-bye within the 1st few seconds nod.gif akin to you just want to play heavy rock on your guitar. strumming can be skipped since you'll be mostly "chugging it".  cool2.gif  laugh.gif . so, from my own experience, hover 1st is basic.

Yup, we learn how we wanted to play it biggrin.gif In the end, that feeling of being able to pull off a difficult lick finally is so rewarding and satisfying, like able to do a clean run of a scale or sweep a clean arppegio, or do a split s or go thru gaps/gates at speed for the first time biggrin.gif
And also the world of guitars like setting up/modding the guitars/amps/pedals = tuning/modding quads,radios/fpv gears and all their related accesories.

not really, at least not yet. digital google are still a lot more expensive than a decent analog. then there's the VTX and camera. you can get by with cheap camera and vtx with analog, but with digital, those parts alone can be more expensive than your entire machine. imagine if you crash somewhere where you can't retrieve it?  shocking.gif

analog is better IMO in terms of choices and price range. digital is mainly DJI. and DJI is notorious for their closed eco system and milking money scheme. yes, i hate DJI, if it's not apparent enough  laugh.gif

also there's compatibility issue. analogs are pretty much compatible amongst different manufacturer. digital is still in its infancy. maybe when there are more competitions, it will be more awesome.

Haha, I totally agree. I disliked dji, I hated closed ecosystems in many things. Imagine your guitar can only use specific strings(early Steinbergers with their double ball ends sweat.gif )
Too bad at this moment in time, we have no other choice(not counting Shark Byte) if we want that image quality.
Analog opens a whole world of fpv stuffs to play with, was so tempted, recently I almost hit the button for a EV300o thats like 2K ohmy.gif just so I can fly a lighter and more reasonable quad and get more aggresive without the fear of losing it too much, unlike those HD quads.
Miss that feeling of going gung ho with my dear departed mobula7. Got stuck in trees many times coz cant see those ghost branches until its too late biggrin.gif

0.0833sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:45 AM