RC Flying Models V4, radio controlled aircrafts

IvanWong1989
post Sep 7 2015, 10:52 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hi all... new here.... might i ask...

can point me some tips on where to start if i want to build my first low budget quadcopter?

And in penang where do you guys normally go fly on weekends?
IvanWong1989
post Sep 7 2015, 11:26 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(davidwyl @ Sep 7 2015, 11:22 PM)
X5c is great brush motor quad. motor is cheap, can buy 10/20 motors as spare ( just to learn how to fly).
Once you know how to fly than can get brushless quad.
I tried those ready to fly low cost imitation quadcopters before. using tiny brushed motors...

Flying basic should be ok. Just i can't stand brushed motors wearing out...@@... haha. Does brushless motors wear out too?
IvanWong1989
post Sep 9 2015, 11:26 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 9 2015, 10:47 PM)
What model quad is it? I know how it feels bro, I lost my V262 quad on it's first flight after I got it 2nd hand from my friend. Took off from my house and I flew it too far and too high and the wind up there was stronger than expected, couldng't counter the wind and lost orientation, killed the throttle then saw it dropping to one of the houses, spent more than an hour looking for it but no luck eventhough I know roughly where it fell. Most probably stuck at someone's roof already by now. Oh well, at least I managed to scavenge the transmitter for the NRF24L01 module I used to mod to my Devo 10 laugh.gif
Damn man, sounds like some really nice kit indeed. Define ground station though? Kinda confused with that terminology. Not too familiar with FPV terms as of yet. You fly in the more remote areas bro? 5-7km is AWESOME range man! What transmitter, vtx and etc do you use? I know you listed in your video but couldn't play it back again as I'm staying outstation now and currently low on quota laugh.gif
You must be Azy Unixxxxx on FB. Same FB group bro tongue.gif laugh.gif

Where you bought your Devo 10 though? I don't see much or any shops bringing in the Devo 10, or any other Walkera transmitter other than the Devo 7.
You can join FB groups like Dunia RC Group and Quadcopter Malaysia etc there are sellers there offering packages and they are really cheap! With a FlySky T6 bundle, you could get one in around RM700. Kit comes with basic frame, 4 motors, 4 ESC, rx and a basic QQ flight controller. Personally really tempted in getting one though, but not sure want to get a plane first or a quad. Also you can find a local hobby store there, I'm sure they have one.
Brushless motors almost never wear out, at least not in the methodology brushed motors wear out. Also they run much cooler. Only thing that wears out on a brushless motors are the bearings but even those are very rare.
Budget berapa bro  drool.gif
Seriously cool! You have GPS telemetry data on your OSD though or you fly purely by sight?
Hmm.... rm700 bucks.... where to find? dunia rc or quadcopter malaysia?

hmmm interested..... i m currently in penang though... they do COD?
IvanWong1989
post Sep 10 2015, 07:02 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

hmmm.... any recommendation on beginner quad flight controllers?

I might be getting a

Flysky i6
450mm quad ---> usual... 4 esc, 4 motor, 4 props
4500mah lipo for quad
Lipo charger

How about qq super thunder?
IvanWong1989
post Sep 15 2015, 11:53 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(debonairs91 @ Sep 15 2015, 01:04 PM)
first thing that you (and everyone else who wants to get into this hobby) do is set what's your goal? You want to take aerial pics? open business? fpv racing? Too many cases of ppl spending a fortune just because their friends do too. These kinds of ppl are the ones who quits the hobby within a couple of months. If you're not serious just quit now because this is a big money sink. So what's your goal?
I'm a bit of a tinkerer.

I build robots. Mini. . Study ai. Open stuffs to know how they work.

I also like to fly
But so far my experience limited to flight simulators. N private pilot license. Is way out of my league. Just an average jor not rich not very poor.

interested in quads for a long time but $$$ prevented me from engaging when I'm still a student. Now after 1 2 years working.
Considering put aside some money for it. *financial people will say it's stupid. Better save money buy house. But life isn't just about saving saving to me.. there's more. *

as for the goal.
I'm going for a smaller quad n hopefully branch out to fpv.
Later on only think about aerial photography.
I want to view fpv flying High n fast.

IvanWong1989
post Sep 16 2015, 11:01 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 16 2015, 10:50 PM)
I guess you can join those facebook groups I mentioned and I'm sure you will find what you want. FPV racer or Drone Rempit as they call it(laugh.gif) are flooding those groups and there are plenty of stuff to choose from multiple sellers. Once you get hit by the flying bug you won't stop bro, unless you become like what debonairs91 mentioned. Set a goal, find out what really interests you, do your research, make sure you know how everything works, what component does what etc then make a list of components you need to get. Also not forgetting to get the necessary tools. For heli you'd need at the most basic a hex key set and a decent small sized screwdriver set.

I'm planning to branch out to fixed wing and quads when I get the chance financially  smile.gif
yeah no doubt FrSky is a famous brand in RC but I don't think their receivers are that cheap. FlySky I know is cheap though. Does the Deviation protocol for FrSky do telemetry and also I heard the FrSky protocol can alert you when the signal is weak, does Deviation have that? Maybe I'll swap out my A7105 module for the CC2500 if I find a need for it in the future. Don't fly my V911 anymore so the A7105 module is kinda wasted space.

For me my next aircraft I'll still run a Devo RX. The RX601 is only RM60 or so after convert from Banggood and the 10ch receiver is around RM100 from Banggood as well.

Awesome job on the 2nd 7E bro! Looks awesome with the tri-antenna man. My V450D03 model file is attached, you can have a look at it. I set mine in flight mode 3 to be for autorotation though as my heli's receiver/gyro is kinda unique in that the gyro only works above certain throttle value so if I hit throttle hold for autorotation practise, the gyro doesn't work and it'll be a beaaaatch to control.

Also recently installed the Walkera telemetry unit onto my heli, now I can remove the annoying low voltage beeper and fly with much more confidence having the battery voltage in my hands and also monitoring tail servo, ESC and battery temperature in case any of them goes beyond limits. Main page looks messy as hell now with the telemetry data on the main page on top of each other covering the heli icon laugh.gif

Bro. What do you fly currently ?

Also.. Normally where do you order your stuffs ? Wondering which site is reliable. I normally order from cytron for non rc stuff. Just electronics. Local seller.

But for rc stuff hmm......

IvanWong1989
post Sep 17 2015, 12:39 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Sep 16 2015, 11:30 PM)
Well I fly a Micro heli WLToys V977, and a 450-sized heli, a Walkera V450D03.

For my V977 I get most of my spares from Banggood.com and also certain items for my 450. If I can purchase locally and the price does not differ much I will purchase locally. My Devo 10 I got it from a dude from the DRC Facebook group.

Don't know of any one-stop website for multirotors yet but I think there are some local sites selling it yet to be discovered. I think it's easier to find sellers on the fb group and contacting the sellers directly. Can check out the Melaka dudde I mentioned, seen him posting alot of stuff recently and his price seems to be pretty cheap. My personal opinion though, spend more initially for your transmitter and choose a good one. A good transmitter can last you for ages without needing to upgrade etc.

Anyway, just rearranged my screen, now it looks better laugh.gif

New file in the attachment. Also attached is the splashscreen I'm using, found it in the Deviation forum and hell lot cooler than the stock splashscreen brows.gif
Haha
I've ordered from a local penang guy here. Quite a nice guy.

Getting a basic flysky i6 first. Lol. 6 channels only though.

Zmr250
1806 2300kv
12a simonk esc
flip32+ Fc
flysky i6 Tx
ia6 rx
5030 prop.
2 2000mah lipo
power distribution board.
Lipo charger.
lipo charger multiple breakout board.

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Sep 17 2015, 12:44 AM
IvanWong1989
post Oct 15 2015, 12:14 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

... and. .. my first venture into RC flying lol.

assembled diy.

Frame zmr250
fc flip32+
12A ESC
1806 2300kv brushless outrunner
5030 props
TX fs-i6

=)

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Oct 15 2015, 12:15 PM
IvanWong1989
post Oct 16 2015, 08:52 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(GabrielVii @ Oct 16 2015, 12:38 AM)
Hi, juz curious, you buy your frame from local hobby shop?
Nope. I go through a friend seller of mine. Based in Penang. But can postage also.

IvanWong1989
post Oct 16 2015, 11:33 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Lol... Baro altitude hold test. smile.gif

This post has been edited by IvanWong1989: Oct 16 2015, 11:44 AM
IvanWong1989
post Oct 22 2015, 01:01 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

tadaaa.

Fully kitted fpv zmr250 quad. XD
IvanWong1989
post Oct 30 2015, 08:45 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Oct 30 2015, 01:44 AM)
Is Hubsan a brand any good? How is it compared to Syma?

Purpose is to get a "cheap" and usable to learn about Drones (hardware) and if really interested, learn how to DIY/Upgrade/Build a better drone...
well... alot of people recommends hubsan x4

haha

i started with wltoys v929.
IvanWong1989
post Oct 30 2015, 02:43 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Oct 30 2015, 02:01 PM)
Which brand can get spare parts easily?
Because, after playing with it, feel like DIY build my own drone....

And are all the controllers compatible (from different brands)?
Or its fixed to the Board/Controller pair?
haha.... what u bought to try and fly?

drool.gif

IvanWong1989
post Nov 1 2015, 04:57 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Oct 31 2015, 12:04 AM)
Still deciding on Syma or Hubsan....
get a hubsan..... quite alot of good hearsay and comments...

after u fly it, crash it, taste it.

u can decide whether is it something u like or not.

*trust me.... once hooked.... ><..... can never get enough of flying*
IvanWong1989
post Nov 2 2015, 06:33 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(eric_tan @ Nov 1 2015, 08:17 PM)
You asking me to get it, cause its "supposedly" ok ok for noob to try la..

at least crash the cheap one first... then once poisoned, start investing in some DJI la tongue.gif
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 1 2015, 08:49 PM)
Whoa didn't notice bayangtoys x9. ..

Hmm... seems nice xD

IvanWong1989
post Nov 3 2015, 11:39 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Oct 2 2015, 03:45 PM)
can tell me more about drone vs heli?

btw, its real affordable but battery last 5/6/7 min only? unsure.gif
haha.. small quads on average last that long only. lol

my DIY one also last around 6 minutes. if push very hard, 5 minutes 30seconds

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 2 2015, 04:41 PM)
The X9 is a good beginner's quad...

Read more here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2446608

The battery only 150mAh, get a few batteries...

Anyway I'm not sure about the difference about wuad vs heli as I also just started playing with quads only. My first quad was the Hubsan X4 H107L and FQ777-124 Pocket Drone...

Now flying my Nihui U807. Got the XK X250 and MJX X600 on the way from banggood or gearbest...
haha.. ever think of DIY? smile.gif it's fun.
IvanWong1989
post Nov 3 2015, 11:41 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Nov 3 2015, 10:53 AM)
Doing some 3D mapping by scanning some shop lots nearby our flying field using my open source MultiWii multirotor:

Snaphots:

BRO!!!!

fixed wing..T.T.....

can't point to any beginner planes?
cheap and crashable?

Reallly fun watching u fly
IvanWong1989
post Nov 6 2015, 10:43 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(SupermotoXL @ Nov 3 2015, 11:58 AM)
Then you need to get Drifter Ultralight, best plane ever:  http://www.banggood.com/EasySky-ES-9908-Dr...6363706201312DW

You can join our forum here to find out more:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1793359

My buddy crash it a lot and easy to repair and replace parts. smile.gif  Also this plane grows along with your skill and can be use for professional purposes too.
xD

Damn...... really. drool.gif drool.gif

hmm..... u ordered from banggood?

IvanWong1989
post Apr 4 2019, 09:30 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Planning to revive my zmr250 quad.... Any online shops to recommend?
Hobbyking? Banggood?
IvanWong1989
post Apr 5 2019, 08:06 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

Hmmmmm. So banggood it is.
Okie.

But can't ship lipo? Gg. I need it. All my lipos are dead after 4 years of storage lol

0.0892sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:43 PM