26 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

RC Flying Models V4, radio controlled aircrafts

SupermotoXL
post Apr 11 2016, 09:32 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Apr 9 2016, 12:42 AM)
Hi guys,

I have done some survey and really interested to take this up as my free time hobby. I checked out some shops and online store e.g. lazada, 11street etc and learn some brands and model of RC flying model.
I need some advice from experts here on which brand and model is best for beginner.
What I am looking into are some good camera for photo and video (Live feeds preferable as I am new hence visual view of camera is helpful on navigation) and good battery life, and durable. At this moment I am looking at Quadcopter and price range below RM300.

Thanks for your feedback and suggestion in advance smile.gif
Cheers.
With such budget you mention the SYMA X8W seems to do the job but since its operated on WIFI will be slightly lag, just great enough for short distance:
Here the X8W: http://www.banggood.com/Syma-X8W-Explorers...F-p-977882.html

This one also good for smooth live video since its running 5.8ghz FPV: http://www.banggood.com/JXD-509G-JXD509G-5...-p-1001776.html

QUOTE(akecema @ Apr 9 2016, 12:17 PM)
anyone play rc truck (maybe wrong thread)
so i wanna buy some truck to play near my apartment
i cant always flying my plane because my family, time and place
so if truck i can play behind my apartment while my kiddo play at playground

i wanna brought nitro truck (ade bunyi baru stim),
but my friend said, nitro hard to maintain, easy to rosak
if i want, buy petrol terus but no rm2.5k, no petrol truck

so, betul ka nitro hard to maintain, setting?
I used to own lots of fuel/nitro engine trucks and buggy but based on your above details and requirement i strongly against going to your choice but advice getting electric version of truck instead. Nitro truck/buggy/car is for those who go for racing competition for track size and with huge bulky wallet every weekend or serious racer. Here why base on my experience, you can see my truck photo below:

1. Yes, super expensive to maintain and time consuming. You'll need to prepare atleast RM500 per-month if you bash every week. Parts are definately broken or worn out on your first run. Worn out clutch disk, tire worn out, burned glow plugs, leaked dampers, broken "A" arm and list goes on. Every month bro... $$$ (3 digit maintenance)

2. If you buy a nitro fuel (RM90~150) and never use it for long time it will loose "punch" and remain useless once open. Store it proper place.

3. You'll need to spend extra RM300~500 on startup kit. Buying a nitro/buggr/car with radio alone isn't end of story. Starter tray, glow plug/ignitor, charger, car charger and etc....from 3 to 4 digit again.

4. Tyre will worn out in just 5 round around the cemented/tarmac parking lot if you like to punch/full throttle alot (bashing). A pair of front tyre for truck (eg: Proline brand) will cost RM150~200.....haven't count the rear yet.

5. 70% of your time playing your truck will be wasted on starting your engine (tuning carburator, pulling starter on and off). If you have no patient this will be constant hair pulling situation.

6. Noise and fumes will 100% irritate your wife and neighbours. All your house smells like its going to explode soon.

7. And if you don't service your nitro/fuel truck/buggy/car just like real vehicle the oil in the engine will sludge and develop gunk that will jam your engine every 10 cycle of playtime. You need to dismantle the whole engine to clean up and buy tools again. Usually more imminent on nitro fuel that uses castor oil

8. Nitro truck/buggy/car not suitable for straight line drag racing unlike electric car, over revving will burn the glow plug, worn out piston engine and damage your engine because it doesn't have gear box. Try to rev your real car on gear 1 and 2 during drag racing...see what happen...same applies to nitro r/c car model unless if it equipped with shifting gear box +++add extra digit to your wallet

At the end of the day with all the money spent and use to maintain it even just playing normally back yard you wish you have own a real TOYOTA SUPRA or imported supercar because its cheaper to do maintenance on it than nitro r/c truck. That's is why now i'm going electric.....btw if you're into flying model = $0 maintenance for whole year hehhehehehe...except if you crash it. Base on my local community observation nitro model owner are 98% have angry wife than electric modeler. Seen and experience lots of stuff thought year of R/C career.

Photos:

SupermotoXL
post Apr 11 2016, 09:36 AM

213 posts

Btw here some more videos updates on my fixed wing UAV adventure both 19km to 24km roundtrip videos

Photos:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uZWrLQkQKVE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ORJgMfvUxc

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 11 2016, 09:37 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 11 2016, 01:45 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(akecema @ Apr 11 2016, 11:09 AM)
bro
just watch your eagle 3 desert
actually that truck/buggy i really like it
wana go to drc toys buy it
got money but still berbelah bagi wanna get or not

at drc rm390 + rm50 for extra battery
Desert eagle is a great truck if you interested in driving over obstacles drive it like "camel throphy style" over hills, rocks or scaling drive. But if you wanted to bash of flying of the ramp maybe you should look for others. Btw i did put blog review on Desert Eagle maybe you should read it first here at my webpage:
http://www.supermotoxl.com/News-Reviews/Ne.../menu-id-4.html

Since i work daily and don't have commitment for bigger models during work hours usually i bring my 1/24 subotech for bashing around the park. Though little guy:
http://www.supermotoxl.com/News-Reviews/Ne.../menu-id-4.html

However if you wanted to save money and race nitro R/C online, try this one. Here video of me racing with my friend before going to bed:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYXrBqL8Gp4

Only during the day we play nitro:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OklNGRKSxzA

SupermotoXL
post Apr 11 2016, 08:58 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(akecema @ Apr 11 2016, 02:05 PM)
[attachmentid=6352128]
Wanna play here
1st though wanna fly but too many tree
Many tree?, that sounds awesome for obstacle flying. Reminds me the days of flying my FPV plane around it before quad racing was a trendy thing:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39y_UEWY4yQ

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 11 2016, 08:59 PM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 12 2016, 07:46 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(akecema @ Apr 11 2016, 09:33 PM)
Last time i use my phantom 1 rempit. But berat lah
I got 2 rempit quad but fail to fly both
Test fly crash n motor problem
1 of the motor both got problem
Keep your build simple, that what i learn in the past. Less parts mean less breakdown. Had lots of success flying budget build with cheap parts model than expensive ones. So far i haven't encounter any problem with motor or etc, if theres a problem usually something wrong with wiring or setup if happens. Double check the setup and ESC timing on motors. Less budget, simple = more fun and less worry. I have phantom 1 but seldom fly. I fly lot of modified toy quadcopter converted to FPV...had more fun flying around trees and obstacles.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zLvWQi3OQnU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KbnFvaCnDM0

QUOTE(WallChecker @ Apr 12 2016, 02:00 AM)
Thanks for your suggestion, @SupermotoXL.. I actually bought one few days ago (Cause didn't see any response earlier), the one that I bought was Syma X5SW.. Tried it twice so far, just newbie hitting here and there falling to ground and etc. Bought at RM230, hopefully its a good and decent price.. The only comment I can share so far is battery life is limited, flying time is short.. Just about 10 mins..
10 minutes for any quadcopter/multirotor is consider a good runtime, some people struggle to get a 10 minutes on their expensive custom build platform.

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 12 2016, 07:47 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 12 2016, 12:09 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(QiW @ Apr 12 2016, 11:49 AM)
i only get 5-6 mins flight time on my little quads .. hahaha
and from what i gather ... yr single cell lipo is way way cheaper than my lipo too
Sounds like you're on 250 racer quad, if yes then 5-6min is good runtime if full throttle around the airgate.
SupermotoXL
post Apr 15 2016, 09:21 PM

213 posts

Here another cool and smooth video i took this morning on my 20km round trip autonomous mission flight to down town early in the morning. She flew super stable and steady, had great view all over places in HD and get to know more about my local home town close and personal:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NfrFTpJlsMA
SupermotoXL
post Apr 16 2016, 08:34 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 15 2016, 10:27 PM)
I came from Johor, where online can bought quadcopter ?

Going bring in from banggood, but extra battery cannot shipping because its 'danger' item...
I always order stuff from https://www.banggood.com because fast and better service, for battery they will separately ship it into two parcel or else use slow shipping for battery usually by (water shipping)/slow mail. Last time when i order a model with battery via DHL they will separate ship it or else by your request. 3~4 days the model arrive but the battery will arrive in 1~2 week by registered mail/slow mail.

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 16 2016, 08:35 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 17 2016, 01:40 PM

213 posts

Sharing this morning sunday long range UAV flight across many places, foggy morning and nice sun rise. Video coming up soon:

Photos:

SupermotoXL
post Apr 17 2016, 04:34 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 17 2016, 03:00 PM)
I am not even owned a medium size quad (25cm+)
Last time owned a 10~12cm mini quad, quite nice to fly.
but lost when pindah rumah.

Is building a quad easy?

Please give some idea, because I am going to join RC quadcopter, but no idea how to.
(I have posted reply to SupermotoXL, but so far not reply yet)
Oh very easy to build if you start something from a toy quad then from there you do simple mods like adding wireless camera and stuff. Cheap too. Seriously cheaper than cheapest R/C car you can find. For quad build if you wanted to know more how i setup stuff come visit my build blog page at this section, just select which quadcopter you're thinking you want to build. I recommended a V929 bettle its super cheap and lots of fun.

Here my collection of build, it comes with visual schematic plans: (LINK) http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-models-...enu-id-125.html

-------------------------------------------------

QUOTE(aromachong @ Apr 17 2016, 03:22 PM)
how much u spend all this?

i might buy one too.. too interesting !
I spent around Rm980 for this plane + electronics hardware plus the controller. Took me 2 weeks to build it. I consider this is most laziest layback plane yet sophisticated long range capable platform....and cheap too if you know which hardware electronics to pick. Some parts are DIY. Just launch it and you can go back home, shopping, walk around, drink some tea while waiting for the plane to return home. Not only it can fly long range, it also can do aerial mapping, 3d scanning and other rocket science stuff, just check my collection of videos about this plane. Tracking its flight using handphone. This type of plane setup is above the food chain (UAV) while FPV is secondary like you seen in the existing market.

You can check my build blog here: (LINK) http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-models-...enu-id-119.html

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 17 2016, 05:17 PM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 17 2016, 05:11 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 17 2016, 04:46 PM)
but I am 0 skill on electrical, maybe will destroy everything.
And had no tool to soldering or wiring, only simple computer skill that might not help at all.

Because from my budget under 150USD (about under RM600 with quad + some battery + spare)

And now I still haven had a target what quad to buy.
Not going to Gearbest, because it get a lot extra charge after you paid.
But banggood cant solve the battery shipping problem, free shipping or something cant help at all if battery cannot ship.
Just now at aliexpress seen this. 250 carbon kit RTF. good pricing. Maybe not suitable for a beginner.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/250-Quadcop...2553802969.html
Actually how you solve the banggood battery shipping?
With budget under USD150? wow thats more than enough to build awesome quad.
Its the same budget i build these:
1. http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-models-...enu-id-119.html

2. http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-models-...enu-id-119.html

3. http://www.supermotoxl.com/FPV/UAV-models-...enu-id-119.html

Unfortunately all these stuff even you buy the one you mention need basic electrical skill, like connecting the right wire. My friend this morning smoked RM$450 worth of FPV quad equipment connecting the wrong wire polarity in just a second. Soldering is path of ritual to success of building this models. People who doesn't know how to solder or basic electronics will go down to hard path....more likely to give up soon. I've seen people come and go because i used to lecture those people how to assemble electronics things. Those who knows how to will spent 70% less than those who don't know. flex.gif

Btw about the battery from banggood.com you just need to call the support online ask them to deliver separately. They can always send the battery separately FOC. Think about it they sell lots battery and this stuff need to get out of the shelf some how...how the heck the make business if they can sell out the battery via shipping. I bought tonnes of battery from the no problem. You need some communication with these people. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 17 2016, 05:16 PM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 19 2016, 08:38 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 18 2016, 11:34 PM)
Hmm, I didt catch that.

PC power supply got that plug?

can show me a picture what thing AC to DC adapter you mean.
PC shop have all the power supply kit similarly used to power up my clone Imax B6 charger for more than 5 years now. I use 12A adapter designed for old notebook...works well.

------------------------------

Sharing my HD video of my UAV autonomous flight of 17km round trip towards our R/C club old runway and away it goes to discover other green places early in the morning:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fl0ilCaeXY4

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 19 2016, 08:41 AM
SupermotoXL
post Apr 19 2016, 01:21 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 19 2016, 10:03 AM)
k...I got that....
You using the clone? blink.gif
Will not damage or overcharge your battery?

Your 12A adapter how many V?
Because I got a Asus laptop adapter, but i checked it 19v over 1v then imax b6...
I think that is 19v 90W or 120W adapter. Will it work?
Mine 250 input, 12V/5A output.
I have both both original and clone Imax B6 charger, make no difference at all in charging performance and quality. As long can charge enough already. Use if for many year and my battery still awesome today. Only the original Imax B6 gone its internal fused burned one time and then i repair it. Clone works more awesome.
SupermotoXL
post Apr 20 2016, 07:32 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(josh5671 @ Apr 19 2016, 02:22 PM)
my laptop adapter 100% 19v, 7.6a or 9.6a. which for i7 laptop.
I don think skyrc charger can maintain safe wit that amp. hmm.gif

Later after working hour, I go electrical / computer shop try ask.
IF it match the spec, and cheaper then 15USD (from banggood)
then I save the money.

And yesterday I watched your JJRC H16 / Yizhan Tarantula X6 video.
X6 also one my fave drone. Easy to ride (on 40%), and low cost.
Maybe I will get this.
Did Syma 2000mah battery can get into X6 battery bay?

Or I will get the Xk innovation x250 no cam ver, or MJX X600
2000mah is too big for Yizhan X6, use the recomended size below that it will bog the X6 performance. Did try that before.
MJX X600 is only suitable for carry light weight camera such as MOBIUS or RUNCAM. I still play alot with MJX X600 since it could fly faster and dodge trees, flying under the table and many obstacles like a racer. Tarantula X6 good for steady aerial photography since it like to level flight a lot. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ubuywerush @ Apr 20 2016, 12:26 AM)
Cant figure why my previously posted video not working
Made my first FPV vid

https://youtu.be/N8fhKOSjakA
That's your video on Dji phantom? Nice. biggrin.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Btw just uploaded another of my 21km autonomous flight into thick haze across he land then along the shipping river. The amount of haze are unbearable, it heading towards town. Minutes after landing i have to go home asap. The air pollution is so intense:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUouZaQf7Og

SupermotoXL
post Apr 20 2016, 09:03 AM

213 posts

I use 3DR Tower apps here: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...r.android&hl=en
SupermotoXL
post Apr 27 2016, 04:11 PM

213 posts

QUOTE(GabrielVii @ Apr 26 2016, 03:59 PM)
de first one only flown 6 times only, but crash alot, still troubleshooting what went wrong with th vtx lost signal less than 100meter, is a rtf F210 from walkera, quite tough

plan properly before solder, else u going to be pain in the a* trying to desolder
100m only? Then some must be something going wrong with your Video TX module, check your antenna make sure the grounding plug is properly connected. Usually for that model the video can go as far at 1km at least. My cheap low end Skyzone 200mw 5.8ghz video module can go almost 2km using home made 10sen antenna on diy cheapo home made foam quadcopter here:

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faqDBvr2RlY

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: Apr 27 2016, 04:12 PM
SupermotoXL
post May 4 2016, 07:43 AM

213 posts

QUOTE(lunchtime @ May 2 2016, 02:21 AM)
folks, where in Malaysia can I buy a slow indoor RTF RC flyer? Doesn't matter the channels, however if 2 ch then better for me, less headache because just want to fly with low downtime on maintenance and build work.
You mean like this one in this video? Its indoor EPP 3D plane. You can buy it at www.rcsmart.com.my . Thats me flying in the video a TECHONE PIAGET, low maintenance robust an do lots of cool indoor flying trick. I fly inside indoor stadium. A plane itself with servo and motor (4ch) cost me RM450 to build.

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9ltUnM97Es

This post has been edited by SupermotoXL: May 4 2016, 07:43 AM
SupermotoXL
post May 4 2016, 07:48 AM

213 posts

Btw guys, just finish my another new UAV platform build: VOLANTEX RANGER 757-4 with opensource autonomous flight controller. Maiden last week. Bigger than my other UAV with more carrying capacity. Endurance wise...hmmmm not bad at all. Did some mission flight recently. Details of setup is inside the video. Enjoy

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v87hP9r49-Y

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pJR1EePe9ls

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Es9_IukwAYE

Will do more longer flight soon.
SupermotoXL
post May 7 2016, 10:41 AM

213 posts

Saw raffle for free WALKERA F210 racing drone at this page: https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/649ce649182/
Taking a bite on this?
SupermotoXL
post May 7 2016, 11:04 AM

213 posts

Video: 36KM flight 51 minutes and i'm using Li-On battery(LG MJ1 18650) consume 50%

On this exciting 51 minutes of 36km long range autonomous flight of my Volantex Ranger 757-4 you're getting a chance to see actual performance of this plane as i flip around the menu of live feed telemetry data from speed, head speed, climbing m/s, power consumption per-speed, angles, GPS lock, distance, 3DR radio range (some part of the range conection delayed is it goes further) and most importantly may i remind you i'm using superlightweight "LG MJ1 18650" Li-On battery instead of Li-Po pack. It provides me 10,500mah 3s instead of 5200mah with both almost of same weight. At the end of the flight it consume 50% of total capacity which i assume i can push another extra mile on my next flight. On Li-on i can push up to 9.7V for 120min as tested during my previous ground test but on this video i completed the 36km mission with 10.5v on the ground. The weather becomes gradually windy on half part of the journey. I hope you enjoy this long flight and all the details and spec you wanted to know on this plane is in this video.

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9WxZQjNjoI

26 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0942sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:38 AM