This post has been edited by Gadgeter: Mar 17 2006, 08:32 PM
soulfly
post Feb 18 2006, 04:44 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

i would say it depends on your own taste

but it's advisable to keep the level below the max that you can hear your subs producing 'flat' sound.
driftmeister
post Feb 18 2006, 07:46 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

set it as low as possible if u have a high voltage HU
else set it accordingly.....use ur own ears to judge
iZuDeeN
post Feb 23 2006, 06:43 PM

3,466 posts

If you have pre-amp, just set the Bass and Trebel to 0 i.e flat sound..

Control the tone through pre-amp or HU...

As for gain, set AS LOW AS POSSIBLE, but not 0 as it will give -ve gain, which is SOFTER than original sound...

Other reason to set it as low is to avoid your amp overheating....

InfinityGT
post Feb 23 2006, 09:22 PM

59 posts

I'm setting my monoblock gain to 1 o'clock and it still running cool. It is hitting the sub like nobody business. Free massage to your body tongue.gif

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 23 2006, 06:43 PM)

As for gain, set AS LOW AS POSSIBLE, but not 0 as it will give -ve gain, which is SOFTER than original sound...

InfinityGT
post Feb 23 2006, 09:25 PM

59 posts

why set so low? I'm setting my monoblock 1200W monoblock at 1 o'clock and it is running cool. It is hitting the sub like nobody business. Free body massage

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 23 2006, 06:43 PM)

driftmeister
post Feb 23 2006, 09:48 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

lol
if it's cool then maybe its ur amp not working liao
an amp will create heat no matter wat branded amp u're using
especially u're setting high gain
iZuDeeN
post Feb 23 2006, 11:39 PM

3,466 posts

try setting it (near) max and see how long (hours) you can blast... whistling.gif
InfinityGT
post Feb 24 2006, 08:24 AM

59 posts

I said "cool" by means that it is running at okay tempreture. You can feel slight warm only even hitting high spl. huh.gif

If set as low as possible then better don't have an amp at all. What the use of it if set it so low? doh.gif
driftmeister
post Feb 24 2006, 10:20 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

FYI, my amp set at zero gain

gain setting very much depend on the HU and sometimes the amp itself
my 9835 got 4V output
once i put zero gain..the sound is so much cleaner
but a bit soft..so i left it at 7o'clock

as for my D2..it has 4v output also
but my amp setting sets at zero gain
because the amp is quite high power

This post has been edited by driftmeister: Feb 24 2006, 10:26 AM
iZuDeeN
post Feb 24 2006, 02:18 PM

3,466 posts

yupe... setting the amp to high gain might get you louder volume (good for SPL competition) but at the cost of loosing SQ and over heat very fast...

InfinityGT
post Feb 24 2006, 08:55 PM

59 posts

but this doesn't happen to monoblock amp where it doesn't oveheat as all. Thats why some amp comes with remote gain where you could play with it. smile.gif

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Feb 24 2006, 02:18 PM)
yupe... setting the amp to high gain might get you louder volume (good for SPL competition) but at the cost of loosing SQ and over heat very fast...
driftmeister
post Feb 25 2006, 10:15 AM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

what kinda amp will also face overheat problem ler
monoblock is not god
InfinityGT
post Feb 25 2006, 12:28 PM

59 posts

If one plays within the limit of the amp (not pushing to the limit). IT WILL NOT OVERHEAT. There is no such thing as all amp will overheat. doh.gif

I have been travelling long distance playing not stop and also blasting on some song. All I can felt is 4 channel amp heat is warmer wheres monoblock just slight warm. If every amp goes overheat who would want to use it.?
driftmeister
post Feb 25 2006, 12:43 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

as i told u
ALL AMP WILL OVERHEAT
this is a known fact
but dun get misunderstand it will overheat by itself even u set it to zero gain
playing with gain settings is very important

and gain settings is very much depends amp output and input
an amp accepts 4v input will not need much gain if the HU is 4v out or above

if u're using like normal HU pioneer 2/3/4/5 series, 2004 modls of kenwood
which has oni 2.x v
then u will need to set the gain

if a gain is set correctly
no matter how long u play it ...there wont be heating problem
(but dun la play until 24 hours continuously)
InfinityGT
post Feb 25 2006, 01:06 PM

59 posts

thats my point is. Not pushing to its limit. But agreed on your explaination. wink.gif

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Feb 25 2006, 12:43 PM)
as i told u
ALL AMP WILL OVERHEAT
this is a known fact
but dun get misunderstand it will overheat by itself even u set it to zero gain
playing with gain settings is very important

and gain settings is very much depends amp output and input
an amp accepts 4v input will not need much gain if the HU is 4v out or above

if u're using like normal HU pioneer 2/3/4/5 series, 2004 modls of kenwood
which has oni 2.x v
then u will need to set the gain

if a gain is set correctly
no matter how long u play it ...there wont be heating problem
(but dun la play until 24 hours continuously)
pokju
post Feb 25 2006, 08:53 PM

~ love is in the air ~
568 posts

i think both right...

amp WILL produce heat, but not overheat all the time...

*if overheat all the time, then? sweat.gif

he use monoblock = produce less heat, and draw less current than traditional Class AB designs. ... notworthy.gif

play @ low volume for a very long time = no problem, but will overheat if high volume even if @ 1/2 an hours rite? thumbup.gif

iZuDeeN
post Mar 1 2006, 07:29 PM

3,466 posts

I just like to confirm this ...

If set gain correctly (usually less than 50% max volume) IT WILL NOT OVERHEAT when played at long hours..

If the gain is set high >70%, it take less than 1 hr for the amp to overheat...

Usually when overheat, the amp will cut power to the block, if a bit severe, it will burn the fuse, and in extreme cases it will destroy the amp completely...

This apply to all classes of amp....
InfinityGT
post Mar 1 2006, 09:33 PM

59 posts

AGREED! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Mar 1 2006, 07:29 PM)
I just like to confirm this ...

If set gain correctly (usually less than 50% max volume) IT WILL NOT OVERHEAT when played at long hours..

If the gain is set high >70%, it take less than 1 hr for the amp to overheat...

Usually when overheat, the amp will cut power to the block, if a bit severe, it will burn the fuse, and in extreme cases it will destroy the amp completely...

This apply to all classes of amp....
scotty
post Mar 2 2006, 01:10 AM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

okie here is how i use the gain control.and here is how the story goes.pada zaman dahulu, i got 2 component sets. 1 set front 1 set rear. 1 day when i was driving my car i notice that my stereo doesn't sound rite. the vocal coming out from the front comps are all over the front winscreen. it doesn't stay focus. okie what struck my mind at that time was the gain control. there was a slight diff in loudness from L and R. what i did was, i took a spl meter. feed my comps with pink noise. measure the DB and voila. diff in few DB. so i went back to the rear of my boot(where my amps is) and tweak around the gain control. guess what, the vocal stay put on a spot.

0.0140sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:03 AM