126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V27, Excitement Embodied

General_Nic
post Oct 1 2012, 04:15 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Oct 1 2012, 04:00 PM)
Haha from what I see, price of gunpla mostly is proportionate to the amount of plastic needed to manufacture it tongue.gif
the amount of plastic I already expected it, but the parts for colour separation
never expect the knee vents, the cannon ports and the pipings are separate thumbup.gif
Khai62
post Oct 1 2012, 04:26 PM

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 1 2012, 04:15 PM)
the amount of plastic I already expected it, but the parts for colour separation
never expect the knee vents, the cannon ports and the pipings are separate  thumbup.gif
Also don't forget the number of funnels you get. tongue.gif
hahaha0128
post Oct 1 2012, 04:36 PM

13 posts

A great MG Raiser with LED... damn shining @_@
Exiled_Gundam
post Oct 1 2012, 04:47 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 1 2012, 04:12 PM)
Normally yes, as of late no. older MG usually high price == lots of plastic (Ex-S for example)
Lately high price is related to xtras like effect parts or blink-blink or Bandai suka-suka raise the price. The-O for instance which is about the size of Ex-S, nothing fancy, no blink-blink, no special parts, infact not enuf beam saber effect parts n still its much much more expensive then Ex-S.
Hmm actually The-O use more plastic; even if the height is the same, every part of The-O is bulky, while Ex-S has thinner legs and arms. One more thing, from my observation, JP company seems to have rule of not selling older release at higher price than what it was when they first release. If Ex-S is first released this year instead of several years back, the price might be same or almost the same with The-O now.
HxiiiK
post Oct 1 2012, 04:49 PM

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Oct 1 2012, 04:47 PM)
Hmm actually The-O use more plastic; even if the height is the same, every part of The-O is bulky, while Ex-S has thinner legs and arms. One more thing, from my observation, JP company seems to have rule of not selling older release at higher price than what it was when they first release. If Ex-S is first released this year instead of several years back, the price might be same or almost the same with The-O now.
well one thing about JP company is when they put a price, it stays that price.. which is a really great practice
even on the side of the box, the price of the kit is marked.. so the only change comes from the exchange rate and our local hobby stores raising the prices sweat.gif
normally even when they re-release kits, it stays the same price as before, no mark up or down thumbup.gif
Agito666
post Oct 1 2012, 05:02 PM

11,861 posts

do remember plastic is made from petroleum XDDD
General_Nic
post Oct 1 2012, 05:09 PM

3,508 posts

still the most worth cheap old MG for me, Zeta Plus thumbup.gif
TheAdmiral
post Oct 1 2012, 05:12 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Oct 1 2012, 04:47 PM)
Ex-S actually has more parts. The leg may be skinny but unlike The-O its not several big panels stick together, the leg is actually more complex then it looked. From Dalong, u can c that Ex-S has 639 parts to The-O 485.

Ex-S also hav more runners, 33 of em compare to The-O 21.

The-O bulkyness is balance out with Ex-S external fuel tank + BFG + 2 enormous backpack + pg style display base. Plastic volume wise, Ex-S has more if not equal The-O.

Yes Bandai would not sell older releases with adjusted pricing, ppl would rage n tey would lose alot of cust. For kit like Ex-S if release now it would reach FAU level pricing not The-O cuz FAU actually has more parts n runners then The-O (and Ex-S for that matter, Ex-S now ranked 2nd most runner MG kits).

I still could not brain why The-O cost so much when both Ex-S n FAU has more parts, more runners, more accessories and yet cost much less.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 1 2012, 05:26 PM
General_Nic
post Oct 1 2012, 05:25 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 1 2012, 05:12 PM)
Ex-S actually has more parts. The leg may be skinny but unlike The-O its not several big panels stick together, the leg is actually more complex then it looked. From Dalong, u can c that Ex-S has 639 parts to The-O 485.

Ex-S also hav more runners, 33 of em compare to The-O 21.

Yes Bandai would not sell older releases with adjusted pricing, ppl would rage n tey would lose alot of cust. For kit like Ex-S if tey release now it would reach FAU level pricing not The-O cuz FAU actually has more parts n runners then The-O (and Ex-S for that matter, Ex-S now ranked 2nd most runner MG kits).

I still could not brain why The-O cost so much when both Ex-S n FAU has more parts, more runners, more accessories and yet cost much less.
the volume of plastic matters

and we normal consumers do not know how does things affect the cost of creating the moulds
but as i seen from Discovery Channel, the creation of the mould is the most costly thing in the whole process
n usually it's not up to quality after certain amount of usage, then they have to replace it
TheAdmiral
post Oct 1 2012, 05:36 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 1 2012, 05:25 PM)
the volume of plastic matters

and we normal consumers do not know how does things affect the cost of creating the moulds
but as i seen from Discovery Channel, the creation of the mould is the most costly thing in the whole process
n usually it's not up to quality after certain amount of usage, then they have to replace it
yes the volume of plastic matter that goes without saying but Ex-S hav roughly equal The-O. Take into account of its backpack, the external fuel tank, the BFG and the display stand would those not enuf as equalizer? Even if its slightly less then The-O plastic pricing is not the biggest factor. Certainly not enuf to offset the thousand of yen differences.

Plastic volume hav no relationship with the number of mould, the number of runners do. More runners means more moulds which means more nid to be replace for every cycle and more chances of bad moulds and yes moulds is the most expensive part in creating a kit. For Ex-S it has more then The-O so from that view point, Ex-S cost more to produce.

Lets take Ex-S out of the equation due to its age n cost of inflation we do not know how much it actually cost right now, n compare it to FAU a more recent kit. FAU like Ex-S has more parts n more runners then The-O, yes The-O is more bulky but due to the amount of weapons, the base jabber + the 2 huge fuel tank, surely the amount of parts given would equalize if not surpass The-O in terms of plastic volume, yet its much cheaper. Why? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 1 2012, 05:53 PM
mooncake81
post Oct 1 2012, 05:38 PM

iphone case and charger head

General_Nic
post Oct 1 2012, 06:00 PM

3,508 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 1 2012, 05:36 PM)
yes the volume of plastic matter that goes without saying but Ex-S hav roughly equal The-O. Take into account of its backpack, the external fuel tank, the BFG and the display stand would those not enuf as equalizer? Even if its slightly less then The-O plastic pricing is not the biggest factor. Certainly not enuf to offset the thousand of yen differences.

Plastic volume hav no relationship with the number of mould, the number of runners do. More runners means more moulds which means more nid to be replace for every cycle and more chances of bad moulds and yes moulds is the most expensive part in creating a kit. For Ex-S it has more then The-O so from that view point, Ex-S cost more to produce.

Lets take Ex-S out of the equation due to its age n cost of inflation we do not know how much it actually cost right now, n compare it to FAU a more recent kit. FAU like Ex-S has more parts n more runners then The-O, yes The-O is more bulky but due to the amount of weapons, the base jabber + the 2 huge fuel tank, surely the amount of parts given would equalize if not surpass The-O in terms of plastic volume, yet its much cheaper. Why?  rclxub.gif
like i said, we dunno what actually affects cost of mould, not necessarily number of moulds sweat.gif

I'm not sure with The-O, but Ex-S fuel tanks are hollow inside, maybe The-O's plastic thicker
what I'm trying to say is there's many possibilties which affect the price of the kit, and we may never know

but 1 thing I'm sure, milking old moulds(FAU case) does reduce costs significantly, as you skip the designing, prototype and testing phase
that's why Lego company whenever they design new sets they try to use old bricks as much as possible

This post has been edited by General_Nic: Oct 1 2012, 06:03 PM
HxiiiK
post Oct 1 2012, 06:40 PM

let's not forget Ex-S mold can be used to make S as well
carpathia
post Oct 1 2012, 07:04 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 1 2012, 06:40 PM)
let's not forget Ex-S mold can be used to make S as well
anyone knows where i can buy the ex-s with the 3rd campaign sticker and barcode? i wanna try my luck one last time...see can win or not

HxiiiK
post Oct 1 2012, 07:07 PM

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 1 2012, 07:04 PM)
anyone knows where i can buy the ex-s with the 3rd campaign sticker and barcode? i wanna try my luck one last time...see can win or not
i don't think old releases have that..
only the newer ones.. in this case.. most of the AGE kits doh.gif
way to sell the less sellable, bandai.. well played
carpathia
post Oct 1 2012, 08:00 PM

2,619 posts

oh....is that how it is? damn. i dun like any of the AGE kits. so like this how la to enter the 3rd campaign.

i have been aiming for the ex-s for quite some time now..... anyone have one to showoff ? spam pls!
HxiiiK
post Oct 1 2012, 08:10 PM

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 1 2012, 08:00 PM)
oh....is that how it is? damn. i dun like any of the AGE kits. so like this how la to enter the 3rd campaign.

i have been aiming for the ex-s for quite some time now..... anyone have one to showoff ? spam pls!
not mine, but just tease brows.gif

and some of the new SEED MGs may have too, such as buster (hopefully.. fingers crossed!)
carpathia
post Oct 1 2012, 08:17 PM

2,619 posts

since we are on the topic of GUNPLA and EX-S . please check out this 1/35 custom kit from the koreans!
i simply cannot believe how big this thing is!!

http://www.gunjap.net/site/?p=97146

HxiiiK
post Oct 1 2012, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 1 2012, 08:17 PM)
since we are on the topic of GUNPLA and EX-S . please check out this 1/35 custom kit from the koreans!
i simply cannot believe how big this thing is!!

http://www.gunjap.net/site/?p=97146
seen it on several occasions.. that one is just a dream! haha... would be great to try that challenge one day..
leejok2003
post Oct 1 2012, 08:37 PM

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 1 2012, 07:04 PM)
there is no ex-s with 3rd campaign sticker but u can get the 3rd campaign lottery ticket from some hobby shop with this old kit.

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:25 AM