6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Why Malaysia's house expensive?, low RPGT (Real Property Gains Tax)

TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM, updated 14y ago

15 posts

Real Property Gains Tax (RPGT) is one of the capital gains tax imposed in Malaysia. RPGT is charged on gains arising from the disposal of real property. RPGT is a move to stop the real estate market speculators.

Our country had RPGT in the tax system many years ago until 31 March 2007, when the government abolished RPGT to attract foreigners to invest in Malaysia, but resulting in the disparity between the rich and the poor of the country more serious.

However, RPGT is re-imposed since 1 January 2010 at the rate of 5% on gains arising from disposals of chargeable assets. And the latest RPGT is revised to the following:

Properties held and disposed within 2 years, RPGT = 10%
Properties held and disposed after 2 years & up to 5 years , RPGT = 5%
Properties held and disposed after 5years, RPGT = 0%

The revised RPGT has hardly made the house price lower or stop the market speculators, because most of the construction takes time to complete, normally 2-3 years.

Low RPGT encourage rich people buy properties and sell it out to make fast money, resulting the price of the properties hike.

The government should revise the RPGT in Budget 2013, and charge a very high rate of profit tax if the owner of the property sell in a short time or is just using back the Real Property Gains Tax Act 1976 (Schedule 5)

sakthis7
post Sep 27 2012, 09:14 PM

117 posts

Why oh? I don't understand liao.
TSMisterLeaf
post Sep 27 2012, 09:24 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(sakthis7 @ Sep 27 2012, 09:14 PM)
Why oh? I don't understand liao.
Low RPGT encourage rich people buy properties and sell it out to make fast money, resulting the price of the properties hike.
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 10:11 PM

5,857 posts

Tons of affordable houses in the market, because of RPGT, Malaysia house price is one of the cheapest in the region.
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 10:51 PM

7,446 posts

Sometimes I just dont get it. There are abundance of affordable houses in semenyih, bukit beruntung, seri kembangan etc. why dont buy those? coz developer lousy la, township not nice la, no G&G la. but still cheap what? Those nice township by very good developers are surely not cheap. you cant pay perodua price for a lamborghini, right? People should just stop complaining. Wanna buy lamborghini but dont want to pay for it? Hmmmm
oxm8
post Sep 27 2012, 11:13 PM

1,458 posts

there is a lot of flats and apartment under 200k. in setapak we have genting court, teratai mewah, danau kota flat. idaman suria etc..... but well most of 'them' want landed houses. worst part they dont have enough cash to pay for 10%. end up they rent.... mmmm.just find affordable house for u
realcyma
post Sep 27 2012, 11:17 PM

641 posts

QUOTE(MisterLeaf @ Sep 27 2012, 09:00 PM)
Why Malaysia's house expensive?
I also don't get
Why people say Malaysia's house expensive?
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 11:18 PM

7,446 posts

QUOTE(oxm8 @ Sep 27 2012, 11:13 PM)
there is a lot of flats and apartment under 200k. in setapak we have genting court, teratai mewah, danau kota flat. idaman suria etc..... but well most of 'them' want landed houses. worst part they dont have enough cash to pay for 10%. end up they rent.... mmmm.just find affordable house for u
ya lor. want landed house but wanna pay reban ayam price. how can la.
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 27 2012, 10:51 PM)
Sometimes I just dont get it. There are abundance of affordable houses in semenyih, bukit beruntung, seri kembangan etc. why dont buy those? coz developer lousy la, township not nice la, no G&G la. but still cheap what? Those nice township by very good developers are surely not cheap. you cant pay perodua price for a lamborghini, right? People should just stop complaining. Wanna buy lamborghini but dont want to pay for it? Hmmmm
QUOTE(oxm8 @ Sep 27 2012, 11:13 PM)
Almost every township in KV all these type of affordable houses can also be spotted.

Perhaps they think those are not for human to live one, those who are living there are not humans LOL ..
Dream Lamborghini okay, want Lamborghini don't dream and sitting still if one hasn't been there yet, proton can't drive?

Is Malaysia "middle-income" group waiting for gomen bailout (not poverty group), ashame?

My 0.00002 cents.

This post has been edited by ecin: Sep 27 2012, 11:26 PM
Helius
post Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM

1,423 posts

If tomoro budget still not much increase RPTG, mean propert price will come
Another wave......

Most likely will break 900psf for new launched condo...
ecin
post Sep 27 2012, 11:28 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(Helius @ Sep 27 2012, 11:24 PM)
If tomoro budget still not much increase RPTG, mean propert price will come
Another wave......

Most likely will break 900psf for new launched condo...
Whatever, nobody should be worrying, affordable sub-sales houses are still everywhere.

This post has been edited by ecin: Sep 27 2012, 11:29 PM
AMINT
post Sep 27 2012, 11:41 PM

7,446 posts

The affordable non-lamborghini houses are everywhere. try checking them. Go buy them. smile.gif
koht04
post Sep 28 2012, 12:00 AM

290 posts

malaysia house is not that expensive compared to indonesia and thailand. ( dont compared to singapore )

Reason being, the bumiputera quota imposed by the government. Those house price hiked so much are all under non bumiputera title.

But, think about it, How high can it goes just relying on non-bumiputera population with less than 30% in the country.

37 Exposures
post Sep 28 2012, 03:22 AM

1,593 posts

No matter how much Real Property Gains Tax (RPGT) increase tomorrow, eventually will add up back to the selling price. Is not that easy to solve the problem.

Instead of increase the RPGT, I prefer increase in salary, increase in purchasing power. More money flow in the market, not only in property.

This post has been edited by 37 Exposures: Sep 28 2012, 03:26 AM
learn2earn8
post Sep 28 2012, 05:12 AM

546 posts

badawi era policies was only few moons ago. any of u remember how bleak things were? prop prices dun move much, all complain govt no good & etc. so badawi put in place policy to attract more funds, if rich rakyat dun invest, how r things going to improve? u think rick rakyat put money into FD or savings help the bolehland grow meh doh.gif

all policies take few years to materialize. even u fuk, u dun expect a kid the next day la doh.gif brows.gif so the policy work wonderfully as prices of props went up, I happy. but those who sell and expect bubble not happy. those sitting at sidelines and never buy also not happy? so how la? whose fault?
evilchong
post Sep 28 2012, 07:48 AM

90 posts

malaysia properties are expensive? compare to Bangladesh, Kenya or Sudan?
SUStikaram
post Sep 28 2012, 08:33 AM

10,722 posts

Malaysia property price, majority was not expensive if you ask someone who invested for the last 10 year before the 01.1. 2010

After 01.01.2010 until now. it start to become very expensive.

telling what i noticed.

This post has been edited by tikaram: Sep 28 2012, 08:34 AM
SUSmemekfalui
post Sep 28 2012, 08:41 AM

245 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Sep 28 2012, 08:33 AM)
Malaysia property price, majority was not expensive if you ask someone who invested for the last 10 year before the 01.1. 2010

After 01.01.2010 until now.  it start to become very expensive.

telling what i noticed.
announcement of greater KL public transport transformation
C31
post Sep 28 2012, 09:05 AM

225 posts

ppl want to stay in landed in Bangsar, ttdi, one u, desapark city for less than 400k. so complaint expensive lah
Helius
post Sep 28 2012, 09:26 AM

1,423 posts

I bought 1 unit bangsar south condo at 600psf for my 8 mths old baby, but I would say is cheap... I settle 30% as downpayment and monthly installment only 2.6K... Is still very cheap to me... Y everybody say expensive??

Everybody say expensive because no have no money to buy or just envy me?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:59 PM