Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread v2

yuuki94
post Mar 3 2014, 11:51 PM

19 posts

hi every1, i just graduated my stpm this year with cgpa 3.2 ..i thought of doing a degree in pharmacy. i meet d requirement of private uni but not public uni..i thought of doing it in ucsi since it is cheaper compare to imu n monash. however, it still need 110k. i have financial difficulties. ptptn loan i check oni supply ard 80k so d 30K have to use our own $?. besides, im constantly hearing pharmacist in msia are saturated, is it true?im worry about that ..thank u in advance for replying me ^^
yuuki94
post Mar 4 2014, 08:31 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 4 2014, 04:00 PM)
why do u want to be a pharmacist in the first place?
this is because i like chemistry n want to help people..but im afraid i dun hv d money to pay for fees..if really cant help i will switch to become a chemist..
yuuki94
post Mar 4 2014, 10:09 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 4 2014, 08:46 PM)
well honestly pharmacy is not just about chemistry and helping people alone. do you even know what can a pharmacist do when you graduate from your course? cant help much about your financial condition though. all the best to you in that aspect  smile.gif
correct me if im wrong zstan, if i m nt mistaken pharmacist working in hospital have to :
1. round d ward n check doctor prescription see correct medicine bo the doc give
2. do blood test all that
3. advice patient wat to take
4. prescribe medicine for minor illness
but if working in d small shop like guardian just like a sales person n im aware of it...
im aware oso that mostly i will end up in guardian all since hospital position mostly full..meaning to say i have to become a salesperson standing bhind d counter checking stocks n if d patients come n cough just sell them medicine like that ..
i know this sounds impossible n stupid, but i do have a vision to become a pharmacist in australia..reason bcus income n working environment there. my a-level fren just finish her studies n she is in australia nw doing her 1st year degree, she told me she will help me ask d lecturer there for d pathway to become pharmacist in australia. of cos, fees to register there as a pharmacist will be so expensive that may take lot of years to collect but there is a saying that u imagine wat urself to be according to d law of attraction.
i saw 1 of ur post said that in july 2013, australia dun need pharmacist anymore but my fren said australia now need..i dunno hw far is true. but that is nt my concern nw. zstan, u r a pharmacist right? mind sharing ur experience why u bcum a pharmacist n hw ur life nw? thank u so much biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yuuki94: Mar 4 2014, 10:12 PM
yuuki94
post Mar 5 2014, 09:51 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 5 2014, 09:30 PM)
apart from those subjects, pharmacy has aspects of physics, physiology (not biology), law, communication, business, logical reasoning and a lot more than "biology, chemistry & helping people". the pharmacy world is so huge now that you need not like to 'help people' if you are only keen in working in the corporate sector or industry.

i am generally interested in the medical field and the various options that a pharmacy degree can offer.
1. only ward pharmacist do ward rounds. but most pharmacists would have to screen prescriptions if they are in outpatient/inpatient
2. blood test not done by pharmacist
3. if u mean advise how to take the meds, then yes
4. nope, only in retail pharmacy

there is more to guardian.. still have caring, watsons, cosway etc.. hospital positions are only quite full in urban areas.. there's still a lot of vacancies in other towns.. well you can sell more than just cough medicine.

yes it's impossible to work in australia now unless you are doing your degree all 4 years so don't need to think about it la.the pharmacy market is more saturated there compared to malaysia.

yeah rural area still need if that's what your friend is saying. nah still a student.
zstan, what r the various options that a pharmacy degree cn offer?so is it still have some hope working in msia as a pharmacist?

0.0426sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:14 AM