Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread v2

dienotherday
post Jun 26 2014, 05:39 PM

Hi everyone, i am a graduating UCSI pharmacy student, i did all my finals exam and now waiting for the results.

I had my interview in Putrajaya on April and everything went well.
However, just before i am moving back to my hometown, i received an email from my university stating that my SPM Bahasa Melayu did not have credit, which i got D, so they need to me take another Bahasa Kebangsaan Course, if not i won't be able to graduate.

Anyhow, i wont be able to graduate with all my friend in the coming August convocation and i need to take the course alone.

I am a chinese independent school student, i first enter this program using UEC results, which my BM is A, but then my spm results is not so optimistic as my secondary school do not provide tuition or anything to help us on SPM, so i went in blindly 5 years ago.

Now the problem is, even thou i graduate later than my coursemate, will i still eligible for posting as PRP?

I called every authorities, and they mentioned i will need confirmation of registration from Pharmacy Board and "LANTIKAN" from SPA to decide my posting.

My question is, whether am i eligible to register as a PRP in the Pharmacy Board? (with my current SPM results?)

I checked the SPA requirement for U41 position, it only stated require "LULUS" in BM SPM. So i assume the problem to be worried here is Pharmacy Board registration only.

The SPM BM retake registration is closed for this year, if the Pharmacy Board require my SPM BM to be credit, i will be wasting at least 1 year doing nothing waiting to sit for SPM again.

Can anyone enlighten me on this problem? I do not dare to tell my parents about this, they had pour every dime and penny on me, and i dont want to dissapoint them.

This post has been edited by dienotherday: Jun 26 2014, 05:41 PM
dienotherday
post Jun 26 2014, 06:11 PM

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 26 2014, 06:02 PM)
Hi. It is unfortunate that UCSI is again trying to screw student's life once again by informing them about all these 'bad news' at a much later time.

Well the requirements for you to graduate and what the Pharmacy board may be different. So unfortunately it's best that you retake the the BM course. However there should be no problems getting posting for PRP since it's already stated a lulus in BM is sufficient. Furthermore SPA only needs a pass. Personally my advice is just wait and see lor. Maybe by the time you finished your BM course you still haven't gotten any posting yet.

Good luck!
But the registrar office in UCSI informed me that the registration with the Pharmacy Board will require a minimum of credit in BM in SPM.

So eventhou i finished the BM course in the Uni itself and graduated, if the pharmacy board do not register me as a PRP, i wont be able to get posted right?

So that is what i am worried about... Do you remember what are the requirement for a fresh graduate to register with pharmacy board besides having a degree from a recognized instituition? sad.gif

This post has been edited by dienotherday: Jun 26 2014, 06:22 PM
dienotherday
post Jun 26 2014, 07:31 PM

I've been searching through the whole pharmacy board website and i couldn't find anything about it.

All it states is :
1) Fill in the form 1
2) Along with the certified true copy of the degree cerfiticate

That's all

This post has been edited by dienotherday: Jun 26 2014, 07:32 PM
dienotherday
post Jun 28 2014, 12:48 AM

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 27 2014, 12:11 PM)
It was previously in this link http://www.pharmacy.gov.my/v2/ms/entri/sya...ajar-tahun.html

but i can't find the info on the website anymore hmm.gif

please refer to the first post in the topic i already copied and pasted the information of the website long time back and SPM credit is indeed one of the requirements.
I do not have access to that page, can you print screen and put it up here please?

I am going to take all my documents and go to the jabatan farmasi and ask them about my case, see whether they could bring it to the board and consider my case as the only thing that obstructing me being posted is the SPM BM. Maybe i could retake SPM next year while being posted, as my request. i hope they could consider my offer thou sad.gif

I can just pray now.

dienotherday
post Jun 28 2014, 01:19 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 28 2014, 12:24 PM)
that list of requirements is based on the guideline for medicine introduced by mmc in 2011...and subsequently adopted by both dental council and pharmacy board....

you will need to clarify with the board what the requirements were BEFORE 2011....since you will have entered the course in 2010, this particular set of requirements do NOT apply to you....
Thanks alot for your clarification, i will go on Monday, finger crossed cry.gif
dienotherday
post Jul 15 2014, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 8 2014, 11:19 AM)
so how was it?
Sorry for the late reply, so my story continues here.

I went to the pharmacy board and asked. The officer told me that,

1) the BM requirement is entry requirement for degree programme, it should have serve as a filter to filter off those who are not qualified at the first place.

But my uni let me through, but under one condition, I need to take up another BM course in order to graduate. In which my case, they didnt let me know any detail about this until i was about to graduate, delaying my graduation.

2) The registration process only require personnel with DEGREE from accredited institution and IC for identity confirmation.

Besides that, i also called up the SPA department and confirmed the minimum BM requirement for U41 Pegawai Farmasi position. It is confirmed that the minimum is LULUS only as stated in the website.

In conclusion, i think my case is basically solved unless my university want to screw me with some absurd reason again. If not, i will register as soon as my BM result come out. sad.gif

0.0220sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:33 AM