Life Sciences The PHARMACY Thread v2

Chris3813
post Apr 17 2014, 10:55 AM

Hi everyone! I'm a STPM leaver 2013, which are one of the 1st batch of this new modullar system. Our overall results is out, but I have to wait for my real real overall results as I've resit two papers for the 3rd term,which will b out in 24th April.
But now, my main concern is that can I enter IMU for pharmacy? Because before my actual result is out, I've roughly got a CGPA2.67. And I hope that I may do better for the resits in 3rd term which then I could get a minimum CGPA3.00.

STPM, I find it very tough for me...but, I could say I'm an average student, I just can't express it out to anybody, that I know my ability, even though I dun score very well in STPM, but I'm very sure that I can manage to get my degree, even though I did not meet the entry requirement(if that uni accept me).
Why am I so sure about this? it's because I'm scoring quite well in my biology and a bit with my maths, it's the cumulative of these three terms of STPM results fails me...for, I don't score well in my 1st term, ended up with unsatisfactory results. For my background, SPM and PMR, I scored 8As and 7As consecutively. (Just FYI, that I'm overall an average scoring student that I'm capable, which I'm stating it for the consideration for pharmacy)

So, I would just really like to know if anybody encounter this case quite similar to mine, which could at least gimme some input? My dad supported me that if I'm offered a place in IMU, then I can go for it, but if I'm not, I have to keep my options open. But, surely, I'm hoping that I could get into one of the better private university rite? And even hoping for the credit transfer options which is available in IMU. Or even Nottingham MPharm?

I'm so afraid that my hope will shattered into pieces...therefore,I hav came across this forum to talk to somebody about my problem. I could just tell no one here, people would just thought that I'm overconfident or I don't accept the fact that I'm stupid enuf to take up pharmacy.

Ur valuable reply is kindly appreciated. thank you~ smile.gif
Chris3813
post May 7 2014, 12:59 PM

Hello, Zstan. I've made this discussion in another forum.but, I found out that ure an experienced pharmacist. So, I want to seek some advice.

The below are what I shared:

can I hav some feedback from anyone having the experience going through this pathway? I'm a STPM leaver, but did not meet the entry requirement for pharmacy (although I nearly got the points which I get CGPA3.0 in STPM)

1. I wanted to re-embark a pre-u programme, which I'm having MUFY in mind. The intake is in July. I need a direct pathway which I could smoothly get my entry into Monash Pharmacy. Therefore, I would need some tips and advice which I need to take "precaution" without failing again. I've check the entry requirements for MUFY score 310 including chemistry & maths both 80% to enter BPharm. But, I've no idea how MUFY difficulty levels are like. I do need some encouragement to enlightened me.

2. How is the BPharm in Monash? I've compared the programme structure with IMU BPharm, from my observation, I thought the programme structure of Monash BPharm is mostly base on chemistry while IMU pays more attention to human biology. Is my observation positive?

3. Anyone are welcome to share their BPharm experience in Monash. Eg: learning process, how to keep our scores right on track without failing any semester....etc.

I do need any advice as soon as possible, because I will need to submit my application form.

Thank You.
Chris3813
post May 8 2014, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(zstan @ May 7 2014, 10:20 PM)
Hi i'm not sure where you found out that im an experienced pharmacist but i'm just a final year pharmacy student  sweat.gif

Yes there are people who went through MUFY all over again to enter Monash Pharmacy. Well MUFY is pretty easy compared to the rest and if you don't spend your days partying you would be fine. You would suffer eventually during the pharmacy degree because MUFY doesn't cover much details in the subjects, but since you have STPM you would probably be a bit more prepared compared to raw MUFY students.

Not sure how is the IMU program like but Monash Pharmacy is more integrated. Not sure how to explain integrated in layman terms but we don't study individual subjects on its own. Every semester there will be 4 units covering a wide range of topics which will somehow be interlinked with that unit or other 3 units. There's also less lab reports in monash compared to IMU. and as you progress through the years, Monash focuses more on pharmaceutics and drug delivery as this is where its research strengths are. Not sure what IMU had researched but probably they will just teach u main stream clinical pharmacy stuff.

It's not easy to fail if you complete your assignments and study properly during the study break. getting high distinction is another story altogether though.
Thank you for replying, sorry I thought I assumed u as a graduate. Btw, thank you for ur information. What about the student intake per year? I heard Monash has a quota which only accept about 50 students per year,isit true?

And I know passing MUFY is a lot easier, but what about getting MUFY score above 310 ? (In order to enter pharmacy monash)

0.0380sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:11 PM