The Official iPhone 5 Discussion Thread v2, 18% Thinner, 20% Lighter, 4" Retina

Heero Yuy
post Sep 27 2012, 01:33 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(Boykidz93 @ Sep 27 2012, 01:11 AM)
Wow how many days to reach 101 pages? THAT AMAZING !!!
Its mean that when i5 came into Malaysia, gonna out face shortage too? XD hahahaha
I really hope that won't happen, lol.
Heero Yuy
post Sep 27 2012, 05:17 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(underGr0und_8 @ Sep 27 2012, 04:53 PM)
testing the LTE with torrent download

Which country u in? definitely not in Malaysia tongue.gif
Heero Yuy
post Sep 29 2012, 02:58 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(blackout2 @ Sep 28 2012, 10:52 PM)

Those who are worrying about scuffs or scratches, check out this video.

PS: Embedded video is not working. Here is the direct link.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GxFx3xktAbQ
As expected, I knew it is not such a widespread problem. Some stupid netizens and the media go and emplify the issue, like how they did with the antenna problem last time. They are like "oh my god, my iPhone has scratches, all the iPhones in the world have such scratches too"
Heero Yuy
post Oct 3 2012, 12:22 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(NanaLiew @ Oct 3 2012, 11:41 AM)
my music collection will prolly be only 4 gb max. my apps will only be 2gb max. but my problem is photos! i've been using my itouch for only 5 months i already have 1.1k photos.. does anyone know the size in megabytes of a picture taken with i5?
16GB is actually enough for you. Photos won't consume much, quite impossible for photos to reach 10gb, lol.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 3 2012, 06:26 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Oct 3 2012, 03:03 PM)
I just couldn't resist that you said Note 2 is "crap" which from my dictionary in my iMac define it as :
- something of extremely poor quality.
• nonsense.
• rubbish; junk.

I wonder how you arrived at this conclusion . Have you tested it yourself ???
CRAP is a very strong word. I know all this while you do not hold Samsung products highly but to describe it as crap is juts being too plain fanboyish on your part
Perhaps this video ( by a iphone, imac, ipad user could throw some light on the Note 2). He desribed himself as an apple fanboy but he is open to the goodness of Androids too
Every product has its pros and cons . Even though i have used all the iphone from first model to latest iphone 4s , my favorite phone still remains Android ( it meets my needs best )  but i do not call iphones crap just because i do not like it as well as Android

Agreed. It's people like that that gives Apple fanboys a bad name.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 4 2012, 12:43 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ Oct 4 2012, 12:26 AM)
+1. SBSetting is indeed very important. Going in and out of setting each and everytime to on/off wifi & mobile data is just too inconvenient.
NCSettings is bettr, IMO. smile.gif
Heero Yuy
post Oct 4 2012, 02:02 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(sk8emerican @ Oct 4 2012, 09:55 AM)
can we buy outright the unit form Maxis without any plan? Also, any idea if the iphone 5 are unlock? Digi user here..
All iPhones in Malaysia are unlocked.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 5 2012, 05:44 PM

505 posts

Yeah, can buy iPod touch now only.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 6 2012, 12:32 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ Oct 5 2012, 07:34 PM)
Actually the scratches + purple glare issues had already been classified as "Normal" by Apple executive.
So, no matter which batch you are going to be, the 2 problems will always exists. rclxm9.gif
So, either take it or leave it icon_idea.gif
Scratches doesn't affect all units la. Just funny how everyone makes it out like ALL the iPhone 5s have scratches out of the box. And Purple flare is already present on the 4S (and quite a number of cameras out there), Just dunno why suddenly the iPhone 5 they go "over-hype" it.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 6 2012, 03:29 PM

505 posts

Why all the blame on Apple for the Foxconn issue?
Apple actually did try to provide a solution for this problem. Few months back, Tim Cook actually gave a visit to the Foxconn factory told Foxconn to give them shorter working hours with the same pay, and guess what, the Foxconn workers complained because they say if they don't work, they have nothing else to do and rather work, so what they expect Apple to do oso I dunno.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 6 2012, 10:18 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Oct 6 2012, 09:15 PM)
iphone 5 or samsung galaxy note 2?
Here's my very own opinion (I have tried both of them):
Galaxy Note 2
Pros:
1. Awesome big screen
2. Games and movies looks AWESOME on it
3. The S-Pen is really damn useful when taking notes, honestly, no other phone can beat that in my opinion
4. You can customize more with Android, and you can do many interesting things like using custom ROMS etc.

Cons:
1. The bigger-than-average size is very hard to hold, and very hard to find a pocket that fits (it looks hideous when the head is protruding out from my jeans pocket) and let's not talk about one handed usage.
2. Games may look nice, but it is very hard to control because of the monstrous size, especially on games like Modern Combat 3 where some buttons are right at the middle of the screen.
3. Android is not as sleek and stable as iOS, and updates are very slow you probably need to wait months to get an official update. And also the lack of standardization makes some apps not optimized for it.
4. Comes with quite a number of software which aren't really useful, or I should call it "bloatware"

iPhone 5
Pros:
1. The Retina Display is a bomb, very sharp and the colour is nice and it also consumes quite little power
2. Straight forward, simple and user-friendly interface, very suitable for people like my parents tongue.gif
3. The size is perfect. Fits into the smallest of pockets and on handed usage is no problem
4. Due to its size, gaming is very enjoyable.
5. Timely updates, no waiting. And you can be sure that all apps are supported for it. But it will take some time to for all apps to fit the longer screen though.
6. iOS is very stable and stock apps like the browser are very good and definitely miles away from the stock browser of other phones.
7. The cameras quality is superb, especially in low-light conditions.

Cons:
1. Without jailbreaking, it provides very limited customizability.
2. Not shortcut/toggles like wifi shortcut etc if you don't jailbreak.
3. There is not much you can do with it besides using apps and surfing the net if you are a techie.
4. The 4inch screen may look "puny" for you if you prefer humongous screens.
5. No expandable memory. For people like me who can easily fill up a 32GB iPod Touch, should be no problem filling up a 64gb one, lol.
6. Basically not really practical without a jailbreak. It is strictly meant as a "smartphone" and not some things which you play around and try different stuffs like Android phones.

So basically you need to decide yourself. It's all up to personal needs and preference.

This post has been edited by Heero Yuy: Oct 6 2012, 10:21 PM
Heero Yuy
post Oct 6 2012, 10:34 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Oct 6 2012, 10:24 PM)
To add on a cons for iPhone smile.gif
The battery was designed built in =)
Not really a con, or neither a pro for me though, just haven't thought of it. The entire time I had an iPhone I never had the desire to take out the battery and the entire time I had a galaxy s2, I only took out the battery once because I froze and bricked it when installing a ROM, lol.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 6 2012, 10:45 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(sakurazz @ Oct 6 2012, 10:39 PM)
What the cons I mean here is the battery life whereby we can't exchange the battery like Samsung does.. Of coz an external battery charger will solve the problem but lets imagine if the battery can be replaced?

It comes with an issue for heavy user whereby they need to charge their phone twice a day
I understand, I'm a very heavy user and I charge my battery average twice a day, sometimes even charging 3 times. I use to swap batteries on my S2 until I got myself an backup battery, which is much more practical than swapping batteries tbh. Very mafan to turn off than take battery out then in and on again.
And each time u boot your phone, it consumes a huge amount of power which really hurts the battery.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 12:27 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ Oct 6 2012, 11:20 PM)
The biggest problem is when the battery is spoilt after repeated heavy usage after the warranty period..
Replacing the battery of iPhone really cost a lot more than those battery replaceable-ready phone.
If you take care of the battery properly, that's quite unlikely to happen. But actually, it's quite unlikely to happen too if you dun take care of it properly tongue.gif I find that Apple actually makes good quality batteries.
My iPod touch 3g is already 3 years old, and I don't see any significant drop in battery life. And I don't care about my battery either, i charge it whenever I like full or not full and sometimes it leave it charging overnight tongue.gif
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 12:47 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(weichi @ Oct 7 2012, 12:46 AM)
Haha i wish i can have the iphone 5 for normal price now
Haha, patience man, i here anticipating like hell oso xD
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 02:59 AM

505 posts

QUOTE(simonlai61 @ Oct 7 2012, 02:32 AM)
4s also the same???
4S is different from 4. The size is the same I think but the power is different, dunno about price though.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 03:35 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(ExHolyAngel @ Oct 7 2012, 01:36 AM)
Need to take into account that a skilled person is required to perform the battery replacement, so that add on the the cost on battery replacement as well.

Where as normal phone don't need any skill to replace the battery, juz open back cover and replace.

Overall, besides the non-user-replaceable battery on iPhone, I can say everything is perfect drool.gif
Replacing the battery is not hard actually. I have helped 3 of my friends replace their 4S battery and it took me 20 minutes on my first try and than it only took me 10 minutes on subsequent tries. And I leave all of it only from YouTube videos.
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 03:54 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Oct 7 2012, 03:42 PM)
i'm talking about normal scenario tat happens in our daily lives.
i have put my 3gs will alot of things, keys etc
still no scratch. unless someone is stupid enough to scratch it with a knife or something.

the back is totally different story though.
Haha. I did a scratch myself, purposely use car keys to scratch my iPod touch oso no problem. tongue.gif
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 05:32 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(alfie87 @ Oct 7 2012, 04:29 PM)
just a question..
does iphone 5 lte compatible with malaysia lte service?
have any1 check it yet?
The truth sucks, but malaysia no LTE yet sad.gif
Heero Yuy
post Oct 7 2012, 05:35 PM

505 posts

QUOTE(RunForAGoodCause @ Oct 7 2012, 05:16 PM)
I'm feeling bliss and ecstatic for iPhone 5 launch in KL. It will be a big thing everybody looking forward to!
Yes, first thing i do every morning I wake up is go Google and search "iPhone 5 Malaysia" tongue.gif

0.0602sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:35 AM