4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

If u see someone run over a dog/cat....., What will you do?

panasonic88
post Feb 20 2006, 04:58 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(Myth @ Feb 20 2006, 04:43 PM)
My gf and I had a Jack Russel dog. If you don't know how it looks like, it's the dog that starred in the TV sitcom Frasier. It was a damn smart dog.

It was only a few weeks old. We came back from Tesco and the poor dog was in its cage the whole day. So we decided to let it run free with the supervision of my gf whilst she went to throw the garbage. I was in the kitchen unpacking the stuff we bought. Seconds before the carnage happened, i had chill-spine and quickly went out and true enough, both my gf and I saw a White Honda Civic rammed through our beloved dog. My gf was so distraught and she went panicky.

I had to wrap the poor dog and bury it later at night. The whole head was crushed and i almost vomitted while cleaning it before wrapping it nicely for burial. I still have visions of that accident and it was really gruesome.
so sorry to hear that, Myth sad.gif
stalkie
post Feb 20 2006, 05:19 PM

Best thing of my life...
1,795 posts

sometimes when I drove at night and I saw a toad trying to cross the street, I would stop and let it pass... sweat.gif how to see? well, I just wait a while and hope he don't lepak in the middle of the road...

I do that the same to cats and dogs... it's dangerous because of the car behind might not expect you to stop abruptly, so best is to be alert with the surrounding when driving and keep the distance between cars... smile.gif
Goblinsk8er
post Feb 20 2006, 05:37 PM

306 posts

Something offtopic, but still related to the unfortunate fate of a poor animal.

It happened 4 years ago. My mom fetched me to the tuition centre coz' there was a heavy downpour. On the way, i saw a puppy in a monsoon drain and the water level haven't reach him. The puppy is still sitting on the elevated part of the drain.
Eh hard to describe how was it.

Don't ask me why and how the dog end up in the drain...I just saw it.

I asked my mom to stop the car but she said the traffic is heavy and its raining. She just drove pass and i feel guilt stricken.
Right after the class, we drove pass the road again and saw that the drain is already flooded.

That feeling is even worse than running over a dog/cat. Knowing that you could do something to save that animal but you didn't take any actions.
Running over an animal ends its live instantly without much suffering but i can't imagine a puppy being smothered and drown...

Everytime i drove pass that road again reminds me of that incident.

This post has been edited by Goblinsk8er: Feb 20 2006, 05:40 PM
InfiniteVoid
post Feb 20 2006, 10:34 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(kennfreeloader @ Feb 18 2006, 10:47 PM)
hey hey, so ur not vegetarian hehehe.
think about it, if u really feel that bad about harming animals, u should stop living in the city cz watever u do to survive here will encourage pollution and erode animal habitats. I suppose u drive, use paper, electricity, eat lots of animals and kill bloodsucking bugs. Might as well just stop living or go live in the forest and survive solely on plants to avoid harming INNOCENT ANIMALS because U CAN'T STAND THE GUILT, but then again, that's alot easier said than done.

I dont know u and i don't wana 'judge a book by its cover', that's why im asking u, to see if ur a big hypocrite that only knows how to talk alot but can't really take action mer.. cz i know there is a possibility that u may not be 1..=)

sorry for bursting ur bubble and pissing u off, shudv just ended at "so ur not vegetarian eh?"^_^
*yeah ok im too free and it's just too tempting*
Congratz~ with your theory, a new monk has been born... to ease your satisfaction, ya, you bursted my bubble but so? What are your trying to proof here? Let me ask you something simple, do you think that monk won't be stepping an ant accidentally in his life? If the monk really is/was, perhaps the monk know how to fly. What you are talking is totally impossible to do! What do you expect me to be? A monk? Well, I think you are thinking too much. Like what cantonese said "twisting around the bull's horn". Let me rewind back to the original question. This time, I'm going to draw a clearer picture for you to see.

Question : While you are driving and suddenly, there is an animal (dog, cat or whatever...) jump out of no where. What are you going to do? Avoid it? If you avoid, you are going to knock on a motorcyclist. So what is your decision? To knock down the animal or the motorcyclist?

My answer : The animal has 10% of surviving. 90% is death. Whereas the motorcyclist has 50% of surviving and 50% is death. I choosed to knock the motorcyclist because he has higher chance of surviving. Simple!

Now, what will you choose? Perhaps you are choosing to end the animal's life since you are caring and loving ppl. Why don't twist around and think that the animal belongs to any family. It is as important as human life because it is already part of the family. Don't you think the family will be sad? It is also easy for you to say rather than do it. Since there is no rules stated that knocking down an animal will need to go to jail. You will just pass without worrying any trouble comes to you. Perhaps, no matter how much I emphasize, you will still not understand. Perhaps you haven't had an animal as a family member. Perhaps you are a sadist that animal's life is consider worthless. Perhaps you can continue to protect human since you already mentioned how "good" human is.

Maybe I shouldn't ask you so much questions. Maybe you will start twisting again sweat.gif . But whatever answer you choose, save it to yourself. I would just pass. I will shut up and watch. Perhaps to ease your satisfaction, you will hope to see I kill a person because of avoiding animal and end up in jail.

P/S : Don't you think whenever a person is ready to drive/ride a vehicle, he/she should be prepare for accident (either he/she knock ppl or ppl knoch he/she)? Don't you think it is better not to drive/ride? Because it is safer and reduce accident. It is even better if all the ppl don't drive! Nobody will get hurts and you no need to worry about losing your precious ppl. Oh ya, I already started to be like you twisting around with illogically definition biggrin.gif Btw, did you notice that I had been reiterating my point over and over again? But this time is much more clearer thanks to you laugh.gif

QUOTE(Myth @ Feb 20 2006, 04:43 PM)
My gf and I had a Jack Russel dog. If you don't know how it looks like, it's the dog that starred in the TV sitcom Frasier. It was a damn smart dog.

It was only a few weeks old. We came back from Tesco and the poor dog was in its cage the whole day. So we decided to let it run free with the supervision of my gf whilst she went to throw the garbage. I was in the kitchen unpacking the stuff we bought. Seconds before the carnage happened, i had chill-spine and quickly went out and true enough, both my gf and I saw a White Honda Civic rammed through our beloved dog. My gf was so distraught and she went panicky.

I had to wrap the poor dog and bury it later at night. The whole head was crushed and i almost vomitted while cleaning it before wrapping it nicely for burial. I still have visions of that accident and it was really gruesome.
Sorry to hear that. I can understand your feeling since I saw almost the same scene before.

QUOTE(Goblinsk8er @ Feb 20 2006, 05:37 PM)
Something offtopic, but still related to the unfortunate fate of a poor animal.

It happened 4 years ago. My mom fetched me to the tuition centre coz' there was a heavy downpour. On the way, i saw a puppy in a monsoon drain and the water level haven't reach him. The puppy is still sitting on the elevated part of the drain.
Eh hard to describe how was it.
Don't ask me why and how the dog end up in the drain...I just saw it.

I asked my mom to stop the car but she said the traffic is heavy and its raining. She just drove pass and i feel guilt stricken.
Right after the class, we drove pass the road again and saw that the drain is already flooded.

That feeling is even worse than running over a dog/cat. Knowing that you could do something to save that animal but you didn't take any actions.
Running over an animal ends its live instantly without much suffering but i can't imagine a puppy being smothered and drown...

Everytime i drove pass that road again reminds me of that incident.
It is the sadest thing when you can only see with your helpless hands. I feel the same too cry.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 20 2006, 10:44 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

Seriously....yesterday nite i ran over a cat...maybe even 2 cat..
I was driving home and suddenly 2 cats running across the road..playing chasing..
I could have emergency stop but it would hurt my car..and i guess the cats will run back to the roadside (as usual)...
But they didnt..so i ran over them and got "glok glok" sound after i pass..
I look at the mirror and the cat was like flying or jumping very high nearly over my car roof..
So i U-turn back to see if i killed it or not..but didnt found any bodies lying there.
So i guess the cats are fine...

end of story
radiounit
post Feb 20 2006, 11:13 PM

700 posts

gack... i think u ran over their tail.
uzairi
post Feb 21 2006, 12:26 AM

Team almostthere
6,744 posts

I dunno what to say if this kind of thing happens to me. Im scared of blood and somehow dont even dare to take the bleeding cat with my hands. Somehow i feel pity for them but i just cant help it. I hope that we can just drive slowly when we see dogs or cat on the roadside.
kennfreeloader
post Feb 21 2006, 02:36 PM

491 posts

InfiniteVoid: i thought u said its a waste of time answering me?=)

its ok all i wanted to know is if ur a vegetarian or not, since u don't seem to be one, there's ntg else needed to say. u dunit to explain so much^_^
jaswwp
post Feb 21 2006, 03:06 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Feb 20 2006, 10:34 PM)

Question : While you are driving and suddenly, there is an animal (dog, cat or whatever...) jump out of no where. What are you going to do? Avoid it? If you avoid, you are going to knock on a motorcyclist. So what is your decision? To knock down the animal or the motorcyclist?

My answer : The animal has 10% of surviving. 90% is death. Whereas the motorcyclist has 50% of surviving and 50% is death. I choosed to knock the motorcyclist because he has higher chance of surviving. Simple!

I think in this cannot turn left or right kind of incident, I'll just emergency brake n see if can stop in time. Sometimes its hard to think it such a split second, so we dont even have time to consider who we want to knock down or avoid.
InfiniteVoid
post Feb 21 2006, 03:13 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Feb 21 2006, 03:06 PM)
I think in this cannot turn left or right kind of incident, I'll just emergency brake n see if can stop in time. Sometimes its hard to think it such a split second, so we dont even have time to consider who we want to knock down or avoid.
Well, if you know your car and your skill well. You will have your natural reaction. Also, if your car does not have any ABS, most likely you will swerve to random direction with emergency break.
Omage007
post Feb 21 2006, 03:33 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

Some months ago I driving, noon time. . . then saw 2 monitor lizards, the size is quite big also, around 4 feets long or more with the tail, 1 chasing the another 1, like fighting, suddenly run across the road, I cannot stop my car in time, also scare the car behind me will bang me. . . then try my best to avoid this 2 creatures, then after I run across it, from the rear view mirror, I only saw one tail, more then 1 feet long, leave on the road. . . . . .

This post has been edited by Omage007: Feb 21 2006, 03:34 PM
gambate
post Feb 23 2006, 09:11 AM

126 posts

u squished the the tail off? then the lizard now no tail la...
InfiniteVoid
post Feb 23 2006, 09:16 AM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(gambate @ Feb 23 2006, 09:11 AM)
Lizards are known to drop off their tail to confuse the predator. Their tail will still grow back but I'm not sure about monitor lizards.
jasp3r
post Feb 23 2006, 02:57 PM

97 posts

i think that applys to lizard only....could be wrong
InfiniteVoid
post Feb 23 2006, 03:43 PM

シュガ- グライダ-
1,143 posts

QUOTE(InfiniteVoid @ Feb 23 2006, 09:16 AM)
Lizards are known to drop off their tail to confuse the predator. Their tail will still grow back but I'm not sure about monitor lizards.
QUOTE(jasp3r @ Feb 23 2006, 02:57 PM)
i think that applys to lizard only....could be wrong
I found it...
When attacked, Water Monitors try to intimidate predators by lashing out with their tails, inflating their throats, hissing loudly, turning sideways and compressing their bodies. When cornered, they will bite and claw. Unlike other lizards, they do not drop their tails in self defence.

Monitor lizard do not drop off their tail to defence against predator. It is taken from this source.

Omage007
post Feb 23 2006, 08:15 PM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(gambate @ Feb 23 2006, 09:11 AM)
Yup, I squished it's tail off. . . coz can hear some sound from my tyre also when run across it . . sweat.gif sweat.gif

How I now the lizard now still got tail or not. . . blink.gif blink.gif

At first I tot I will squish both of that 2 lizard like shit also. . . luckily no. . .

This post has been edited by Omage007: Feb 23 2006, 08:16 PM
Mastend
post Feb 24 2006, 09:51 PM

87 posts

now the lizard will be famous in paper. 1st discovery lizard without tail. biggrin.gif
ryant3
post Feb 25 2006, 01:07 AM

1,268 posts

if only people will learn not to speed, there wont be so many posts in this thread..

This post has been edited by ryant3: Feb 25 2006, 01:09 AM
Jenn77
post Feb 25 2006, 01:12 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,118 posts

QUOTE(ryant3 @ Feb 25 2006, 01:07 AM)
if only people will learn not to speed, there wont be so many posts in this thread..
Honestly it couldnt be help sometimes also.. some dogs really dashed out of the house when their owner open the main gate, a few incidents I encountered, lucky to have 0% casualty. Know why the dogs dashed out of the house? Coz the owner seldom walk the dog and usually its very normal for the dog to feel excited to be out of the house. I will be extremely devastated if I ran over a dog / cat.. coz Im a dog lover. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Jenn77: Feb 25 2006, 01:13 AM
gambate
post Feb 25 2006, 01:24 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Feb 25 2006, 01:12 AM)
Honestly it couldnt be help sometimes also.. some dogs really dashed out of the house when their owner open the main gate, a few incidents I encountered, lucky to have 0% casualty. Know why the dogs dashed out of the house? Coz the owner seldom walk the dog and usually its very normal for the dog to feel excited to be out of the house. I will be extremely devastated if I ran over a dog / cat.. coz Im a dog lover.  biggrin.gif
I agree! though i am a cat lover..I admit sometimes the guilt of running over these innocent cats are not on the driver itself...the cats sumtimes feel excited...sumtimes chasing each other....that cases we couldnt help...but if the driver who are reckless..no doubt if they even ran over cats would are not even sprinting...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0182sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:04 AM