Coffee lover please come in

luvox
post May 15 2015, 11:09 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 15 2015, 06:51 PM)
yes, arrived safely from taobao despite taking unusually long this time..  sweat.gif

the machine from close-up, with the new tamper.. very affordable and sturdy too.

twin thermoblock.. heat up time from cold boot.. less than 3-min  sweat.gif

there're tweaks to the extraction temperature, steam power and steam humidity by pushing some buttons.. have yet to test it.
cups were from taobao too.. quite a steal, have to say..  sweat.gif

the whole setup.. since it's next to the sink, wonder can do a direct plumb-in in the future?  sweat.gif

the grinder, zd-12.. really kicks after some add-ins to the bottom burr (couldn't grind fine enough earlier, but now.. it's 5 notches from the coarsest level.. still experimenting, so no conclusion yet).. minimum static/clumps.

we have this plastic funnel/contraption that you place above the portafilter to minimize the coffee grind going all places, it's really a good investment for a small counter-top setup from those messy session..
Good looking setup. I like your white color theme. Not bad, whole setup cost less than 2.5k. I tasted the latte produced by lower grade WPM at cafe malaysia, it is good. I can't tell the different because im not pro & experience. Haha.
luvox
post May 21 2015, 08:29 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ May 21 2015, 03:52 PM)
Anyone here uses Hario Skerton hand grinder? Was wondering if it's ok if I wash it every use. Wash as in dismantle the burr grinder and brush it every time I use it biggrin.gif
Save more money n buy an electric grinder. I had used other brand hand grinder for about 1 month then gave up. Hand sore to make more than 1 cup per day. Mine hand grinder the step is quite big for fineness.
luvox
post Jun 10 2015, 09:33 PM

626 posts

Where can i get cheap fresh roasted 100% arabica in klang valley? Less than RM 40 per 250g
luvox
post Jun 11 2015, 01:59 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(wshazi @ Jun 10 2015, 11:46 PM)
Maybe can try coffee subscription too. Currently, i'm subscribing to auresso.com.my

Renew every 3 months at RM120. Every month they will deliver 250gram beans of your choice.

This month i've choose Jazz by Rubra. Value for money. Cheaper than local roaster.
[attachmentid=4481545]
QUOTE(Keng @ Jun 11 2015, 10:08 AM)
Yeah, I subscribe to them too. How's the taste of Jazz? I've tried Grand Central and Rubra Amada. IMO Grand Central is very balance and Amada very strong.
Thanks for this helpful info. Shipping fees are included for this 6 months subscription? I usually use 250g per week. They only import fresh bean monthly right? The rest of weeks need to get from other source =)

luvox
post Jun 11 2015, 02:08 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Jun 10 2015, 10:39 PM)
Rm40 can get a lot. Antipodean (rm26) like wshazi mentioned, it's among the cheapest fresh roasted beans out there.

Others are like plan b (rm70/500gm) or espressolab (rm40)
Will get this antipodean this weekend & try. Prefer strong nutty dark cocoa profile. Should i get its espresso blend dark roast? By refer to its website
luvox
post Jun 13 2015, 11:36 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Jun 13 2015, 03:01 PM)
just got my Farmhouse Fresh milk 1.5L x2 pack from Tesco online promotion for only RM 13.60. Can't believe the price of Farmhouse is so affordable LOLOL
good to know this. I have tried few brand. I still think goodday taste better. I recently bought rm6.4/1L under promotion.
luvox
post Jun 14 2015, 11:30 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Jun 14 2015, 10:38 PM)
Any Nice coffee beans from China(taobao or whatever platform) introduce? Last time used to purchase from Kiss Coffee but noticed that they coffee can't meet my expectation anymore.
I dont think taobao is suitable to source freshly roasted bean. Unless u dont mind freshness. If shipment via air, local will be cheaper. If shipment via sea, another few weeks old from roasted date. Then nowadays, ringgit is at the down side. Only able get around 1.65 exchange rate.

Extra 10% rebate if u use hong leong wise card to make payment. Coz only hong leong categorize taobao as groceries. Currently hongleong is running 30% weekend cash rebate, with term n condition. I take the advantage bought bottomless portafilter & open double spout

This post has been edited by luvox: Jun 14 2015, 11:39 PM
luvox
post Jun 14 2015, 11:35 PM

626 posts

I bought this one today from plan b roaster. This is the only option for 500g. Other single origin is price at rm45/250g.

* This bean is not recommended. No aroma at all. Taste is so blunt that is almost non exist. Not as discribed on label. The worst & terrible bean so far. Brewed with simonelli oscar.

This post has been edited by luvox: Jun 22 2015, 01:54 PM
luvox
post Jun 15 2015, 08:32 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(hanny562 @ Jun 15 2015, 12:20 AM)
I'm actually using shipment via air, they got roast when order is placed, and it's fresh after shipped to Malaysia, and the coffee bean need to settle down for 1 weeks after roast, so..for me I feel getting from Taobao is suitable for me as from order to delivery only takes 1 weeks.

For local bean, Penang don't have any beans that are cheap,like Coffea, and others's bean is quite expensive (around RM 70 per 250g (forgotten the bean name)) or do you have any suggestion to get the bean from beside Blaqcoffee?

Can u share the link from taobao that ship cheap & fresh bean? U go through 代运?or the seller give courrier service to malaysia? How much total cost plus shipment for 250g? I cant finish 1kg fast to keep it fresh. What i know it is not cheaper than rm40/250g after all those shipment fees & rmb rate exchange.

U can refer lighthouse roastery near sg pinang, penang. But it is around rm45 if not mistske. i never try it coz there is cheaper option. Was inform espressolab does sell bean, but never go to queensbay ask. After finish newly bought bean, may try to ask at espressolab.
I love coffea coffee modesto. I do ask b4 at sg pinang, they told me around rm59 per 250g if i not mistake.

Auresso.com.my is cheaper option for Blaqcoffee
luvox
post Jun 15 2015, 06:56 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jun 15 2015, 05:05 PM)
ehh.. antipodean's merdeka beans are also sourced from indon.. does the premium you paid for plan b, worth it ah?  sweat.gif
I know that. I dont know the rm70/500g at plan B is indon bean in the beginning. Im in hurry & went to less traffic jam place, dont want to spend time to go to other places & pay for another parking ticket.

Will get antipodean at my next visit to KL.
luvox
post Jun 20 2015, 08:16 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jun 20 2015, 02:45 PM)
here's the fresh coffee beans we got from taobao that we're referring to earlier..
user posted image user posted image

we ordered on 15-may and they roasted it on demand(noticed that the roasting date = order date?).. and we received it on 16-jun via sea freight (yeah, air freight would've much much faster though).. they're a reputable roaster in tianjin.. we've tried their basic blend before and was amazed by it.

the basic blend was priced at about rm17 for a 227g(8oz) bag.. the champion blend which we are trying now cost a little more, rm23(227g bag).. they also offered some 90+ stuff(Nekisse L12N2) for those who likes serious siizzt..

there you go.. pure espresso from taobao, china.. the basic blend alone is really worth it (the champion blend has more body compared to the basic blend)
hanny562luvoxwshaziKeng
Prefer less than two weeks roast & value beans. End up I subscripted auresso.com.my 250mg every 2 weeks.
luvox
post Jun 20 2015, 10:33 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(shagalot @ Jun 20 2015, 10:22 PM)

Hows ur honda jazz? Haha
luvox
post Jun 20 2015, 10:44 PM

626 posts

China didn't produce coffee but can sell bean as low as rm17 per 227g. That means local roaster profit margin is high or taobao bean is suspicious? Haha. 100% arabica?

This post has been edited by luvox: Jun 20 2015, 10:52 PM
luvox
post Jun 24 2015, 06:45 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jun 24 2015, 04:41 PM)
In the midst of sarcasm and elitism, I've done some modifications to my beloved Oscar.

-Added Vacumm breaker. (Shit werks!)
-Added OPV!
-Changed the steam tip.

My goodness, the OPV is a definitely must have. Immediately after the upgrade, it makes life so much easier. Consistency is so much better and the entire machine is less finicky now.

Definitely a must have upgrade. The installation isn't even that difficult to begin with.

Does take some balls however.
Mind to share how much u pay for each modification above? Where u get the items?
luvox
post Jul 8 2015, 05:45 PM

626 posts

Need to confirm, any cafe charge GST on roasted coffee beans? If not mistake, starbucks dint charge GsT on bean. Plan B & Coffex coffee dint charge GST on beans. What i know coffee beans under zero rate raw material.

Reason i ask is espressolab charge gst on bean
luvox
post Jul 16 2015, 06:51 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(jobneed @ Jul 15 2015, 11:09 PM)
Hey guys, anyone have any sellers that carry welhome product such as KD-210s2? Can share the contact list? I am dying to search around welhome products.
To get this china machine u need to learn to buy online from taobao. Warranty claim may b problem. Buy at own risk. But normally wont have problem, from my experience buying high HP blender, beans grinder, cheap expresso machine, robot vacuum cleaner, waffle maker, electric motorized home theater projector screen, car cam recorder, xiaomi products, so far so good. If u wana get from local, will be marked up price & warranty is also not confirmed, unless the shop give u their own warranty.

Im not sure Dankoff offer this model not. I saw them do have WPM product.

luvox
post Jul 17 2015, 10:13 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(jobneed @ Jul 17 2015, 09:14 PM)
Thanks for your help, i will try to survey local price and taobao, if not much different then might as well get from local dealer to avoid any hassle.
I am searching around RM3k+-, any quality machine that do almost same job as welhome kd-210?
3.5k Oscar, before GST. Can look for it at Dankoff, sri kembangan.
luvox
post Jul 19 2015, 10:19 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(jobneed @ Jul 19 2015, 03:44 PM)
@luvox
thanks for your taobao suggestion, indeed it is WAY cheaper than any dealer in malaysia.  biggrin.gif

But my friend told me to take into consideration of TAX and customs. 20% import duty + 6% GST.

http://www.dutycalculator.com/new-import-d...ails/193707376/

"Coffee Machine has an import duty rate of 20% and a GST rate of 6% . Duty rate for Coffee machine may be reduced as China-ASEAN free trade agreement applies. A certificate of origin may be required."

Anyone expert in importing stuff, especially the bolded part?

Thanks guys for helping  notworthy.gif
I dont think there is 20% duty.

U need to consult shipping agent. There is way to escape 6% GST. U can try asiadaigou.com. Rm38 small box, or rm50/0.1 m3. For electronic items, shipment via sea is better, safer, cheaper, but it takes longer time, few weeks.
luvox
post Jul 19 2015, 10:47 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jul 19 2015, 10:27 PM)
If item declared as gift no need to pay duty.
Some seller refuse to declare as gift worried about postal damage and claim issues with insurance.
Yup, it does affect insurance. After u ship items few more times via sea, u will realize it is unnecessary to worry. Sea is much safer than air freight. U can add the agent wechat or watsapp, 代运,or 代购。they are happy to assist u. Asiadaigou is one of those agent offer sea freight, allow small box minimal shipment.
luvox
post Jul 21 2015, 07:11 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Jul 21 2015, 01:32 PM)
these are example of how local sellers gave a bad impression of china products..
it's predatory selling and really pity and empathize those noob buyers who hardly do any reading/research/homework..
if it's not for it's predatory pricing, it does have it's fair value if one were to buy it directly from taobao themselves..

RM699 for a non-akira, loud as fuark, inconsistent and static crazy grinder..?

here a real bummer.. RM2,599 for a ~2-bar steam espresso machine?!?!

dude must be proud of a once-owned eupa madness for RM2,499.. imagine he can trade-in for an oscar and hardly need to do a contra?

so please be careful at purchasing stuff on something as niche as specialty coffee gears.. these pics were taken from a online selling portal in m'sia.. they're not the exception ba
Haha. Rm2499. Powerful price. My first toy espresso machine.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0456sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:16 AM