Coffee lover please come in

Tikietic
post Apr 12 2015, 01:52 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 12 2015, 12:59 AM)
Ppl who drinks 2 cups a week just go outside to buy cheaper. Don't need any machine to begin with.

I think this darn good but watt just 2400 so not the norm?
https://londiniumespresso.com/store/londini...nes/londinium-i
This also just 1400 but price at £1.6k
http://www.coffeeitalia.co.uk/proddetail.p...kmill_vetrano2b
quick into conclusion eh? that's the problem with selective comprehension..
try to pair these 2 sentences.. "good machine 3,000 - 5,000 Watt" and "avoid those below 1,000 Watt"
showing a lever machine just defeat the purpose of having a high wattage to begin with.. i did mentioned the specific reason for having a high wattage.. and it's a bit shallow of you to compare that to a lever machine.. read the following carefully.. Londinium "The electric pump is not used to load water from the boiler into the group"

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 12 2015, 01:24 AM)
Taobao buy Italian brand is risky

I saw Singaporean buying from online Italian shop as it's cheaper even after tax and shipping fees. Look below if u want to go for E61.
https://www.espressocoffeeshop.com/index.ph...path=122_87_167

Buy China mushroom brand such as raccea risky.
http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=36296970502
i'd understand you're probably a person who doesn't have a good grasp of risk-mitigation.. it's risky to you, but not to us.. your stereotype of "china product" is exactly how taiwan went through their period being stigmatized nearly 20 years ago.. and japan; 3-4 decades ago.. and look at how perception of taiwainese/japanese stuff compared today?

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Apr 12 2015, 09:28 AM)
Actually, the choices of Italian machines on Taobao is not bad.. the main problem is the import tax, AND maintenance. These machines come in huge boxes.. yes, maybe you might not pay for shipping based on volumetric weight, but in general they're heavy.. and tax, is a whole different story.

Best to get a trusted distributor or reseller to help import it for you if you're certain you want a particular machine not available in Malaysia.

As for most pre-grounded coffee off the shelf, they're mostly medium/medium fine grind. You can use a brew pot with them.
if they ship via air.. it's going to cost a bomb.. sea freight is a more reasonable method though.. irony is that, if your espresso machine weights more than 60kg.. it's totally/automatically tax free!

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 12 2015, 09:46 AM)
Wow, so many replies in the last couple of days. Welcome to those who have just discovered this topic!

A friend of mine bought his simonelli from taobao at 2.5k, 1k cheaper than Malaysia. It's been good to him so far.
unfortunately this patryn33 guy sort of carpet-bombed the whole notion of sourcing it from china..
Tikietic
post Apr 12 2015, 10:49 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 12 2015, 06:12 PM)
Sourcing from China isn't bad if you know your supplier and what u buying. My friends living in China source branded things outside China not on taobao. Risk mitigation, it's your money not mine I not losing sleep on how u going to spend it.

Don't jump the gun too quick dude, insinuate carpet bombing just on this? Don't have to edu us on history, perception with these nation and their products change over time as a country progress is that anything new?

Thank you For the private message, you really go ways out to make your point cover all the bases. wow u have time
of course we know what we're buying and it's not some hearsay(aka "my friends").. we experienced it ourselves with our own money.. so instead of being a sort of proxy arm chair.. what do you have to add in that is based solely on your own experience?!

pm you is just being courteous.. you're just too proud on stuff that you may think you know alot..

i have time?!.. goodness, do you imply that you work on sundays?!? get a grip.. instead of making excuses, do realize that you can make a grade a fool sometimes..
Tikietic
post Apr 14 2015, 01:22 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 14 2015, 11:06 AM)
I'm using Poemia now, so I guess my comment should be valid  laugh.gif

I bought it because:
1. Its sold here officially by Philips, so no worries about spare parts.
2. Ease of de-repressurized, and you can consider going for bottomless upgrade also from seattle coffee gear. Or you can just cut the bottom off if you dare.
3. You can take off the pannarello to have manual frother but there's a downside to this.

Why I won't?
1. Downside to the pannarello is its too short. You'll need to use say 12oz milk pitcher and fill up near the 'V', roughly about 4-5oz. So if you're making a 6oz latte, you'll have to waste a bit. You can buy a pannarello from another Saeco model to extend the wand, which I can't recall what right now.
2. Steam wand is not pillow ball type, delonghi EC155 can be upgraded for this.

I didn't mention about power or temp control coz that's what this range of budget can get you. You can consider adding PID to help you do that, I've done it halfway and left it there since LOL. Any other doubts, feel free to ask
all those upgrades/imports are not cheap rite? especially the PID module.. another choice would be to get a more decent espresso machine than this DIY path ba?.. cos, not many people has the right tool to saw off the portafilter or the hands-on skill to open up the machine to replace the steam wand altogether oo.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 14 2015, 11:40 AM)
I am newbie in espresso making and am planning to consider a espresso machine for my everyday coffee. I usually take one cup of coffee everyday before work. Usually Latte.
I can see that many are recommending Delonghi EC155 for beginner but I also seem to realized many were discussing about the wand. What exactly is the issue with its wand?

Is EC155 a good unit for starter to make good coffee? Does it require a coffee grinder?
How much does a decent coffee grinder typically cost? Could anyone recommend me few model for me as starting point for research?

Will EC155+decent coffee grinder a better deal than a all in one machine like Beville BES870?
first question would be.. what is your expectation of a coffee latte drink?
if your expectation is high/decent.. your initial "cost" maybe relatively higher than a cincai coffee drinker ba..

most coffee machine of this "category" usually suffers from a very inflexible/short/underpowered steam wand.. the steam heater/boiler is small relatively to those bigger sized espresso machine..

the ECC155 is a step better than those 2-5watt toy machines..

are you planning to source all your gears strictly from m'sia? if yes, that's probably among the lowest price machine you can get(EC155) RM600 - RM900.. for your coffee grinder to pair with this EC155, am not sure if you're willing to part with crazy amount of money for a "decent" grinder? cos, a "decent" burr grinder can cost RM2,000 in m'sia..

else you can start off with a hand grinder.. something that looks like this:

else something in the middle like the Baratza Virtuso Coffee Grinder..

Tikietic
post Apr 14 2015, 06:52 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 14 2015, 02:15 PM)
Haha, in term of my personal expectation and that is really hard to come into a conclusion because as a newbie I don't quite know how does a really "good" latte should taste like.
Maybe I would say start with Latte from cafes like coffee smith or other similar chain as a reference. Let's just say making Latte taste similar to these cafe will be my baseline and the ability to exceed that is my ultimate expectation. Of course, I am not saying I will expect the coffee machine to churn out good coffee right off the bat, but rather I would be able to start making good coffee with these machines that is able to meet my end goal as my technique improved with training.

So the problem with the EC155 is the underpowered wand and shorter steam thus causing milk steaming process lengthy and difficult? That's irritating for sure since I usually start my day with a cup of coffee before work. Who would want late for work biggrin.gif Do you have recommendation for a espresso machine around the similar price point that does not suffer from this problem?

I searched Baratza Virtuoso and got the result "Baratza Virtuoso Burr Espresso Grinder V2" at SeattleCoffeeGear.com, not sure if this is the model you mean. I look at the price and it is within my acceptable range and have good reviews too. I would throw money at this model if this is what you recommend a good grinder for a beginner.

I kinda hit by dilemma here, with a espresso machine that cost RM900 and a grinder that cost another ~RM800, would it be better to wait for sale and purchase a all-in-1 machine like the Breville BES870? Or espresso + grinder combo is much more worth the money ?

Top up question, is the grinder found on the Breville BES870 on par with the performance of the Baratza Virtuoso?
yes, i'd be very helpful to try some professionally done drinks in-order to establish as sort of baseline for your taste/expectation.. in fact you may also drop by at matrade next month for there's a coffee expo.. lots of samples there, i gather..

yes, that's the baratza virtuoso.. btw, seasttlecoffeegear is a helpful site for references.. from very cheap/entry-level machine to unbelievably expensive ones.. they reviewed them.

your dilemma has a very weird logic there.. unless you have low grasp of maths.. a rm900+rm800 comparison to a breville, bes870 which can cost about rm3.2k?!? not unless you absolutely believe that proton is on par with bmw.. i'd say your logic is sound!!

all-in-one machine has it's pro and cons.. if your grinder is faulty and you send in your machine for warranty.. you loose the ability to make coffee/espresso/latte.. or if the internal circuitry are joint in a certain way and it's faulty.. your entire machine stays dead..

pro.. it's a small footprint for your whole setup..

of course there're way much cheaper alternatives..

Tikietic
post Apr 14 2015, 07:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 14 2015, 02:16 PM)
[attachmentid=4411060]

Citibank offer 0% interest installment for breville bes920 (BDB) for rm 4999 by BEST Denki. It is so tempting. Should i go for it? Is there any other better suggestion for getting other better machine?
sometimes, it's difficult to quantify what exactly is a "better machine" in your definition?.. it is measured by the saiz of it's purchase price?! the blink factor?.. of you just like the double-boiler setup?

well, a simonelli oscar goes for about rm3.5k.. a very robust heat exchanger(a big boiler too).. has a gooding commercial portafilter and tough/reliable enough to be used for small cafe..
unfortunately.. you'd most likely have to go lump-sum on it..
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 11:43 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 14 2015, 10:36 PM)
Freshly roasted beans usually 1 week old at the most here in the states. Most coffee places will start using their own beans as they get past a week old to eliminate stale beans on the shelves.
Getting 2 week old beans hard to finish using them in few days
be relevant, not everybody has ears on what's on state side..

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 15 2015, 09:08 AM)
Amazon if 110V model you maybe spending a lot on $$ on transformer. At 1100watts u are looking to get a transformer rated to 3300watts min, that's like another usd$100-200. Factor that the savings in amazon may not exit
be relevant, not everybody has ears on what's on state side..
the same machine can be had for lesser price and rightly spec'ed from china.. that's simonelli/rancillio/etc

This post has been edited by Tikietic: Apr 15 2015, 11:44 AM
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 11:51 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 14 2015, 11:16 PM)
Thanks for the suggestion. Agree with u simonelli oscar is a good option. Value for money. I saw previous post mentions Dankoff seri kembangan offer it at rm3500. Any other places selling it at same price?
I initially think of getting Rancilio silvia, too bad this machine is overpriced, price some discrepency with amazon & what sg offer.
it's pragmatic vs bling factor i guess.. the oscar is quite an ugly machine i'd say.. that matt-stainless on the breville is quite a looker on the other hand..

where're you at/location? if dankoff is quite out of reach for you.. wouldn't know what to suggest unless your location is known..

there're lots of issues with the rancilio silvia if you care to read them.. it's temperamental sweat.gif
don't quite understand what you mean by overpriced.. the silvia can be had for about rm2k++?
besides amazon and sg.. have you considered sourcing it from china?
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 11:59 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Cyclone1 @ Apr 15 2015, 11:28 AM)
Good point on issue with the all-in-1 machine.

Well, my initial thought process was that BES870 may have lesser known issue, such as shorter wand and underpowered steam from the EC155, that could justify that additional cost. From Youtube, the wand on the BES870 also seem more flexible that could probably help me learn the technique withou frustration. Not to say also smaller foot print and takes up only one power outlet, hahaha. Maybe I didn't lay out my concern quite clearly there. My bad tongue.gif

I watched some video at youtube, it looks like SCG gives the Saeco Poemia very good review. I quite like the Machine + Grinder combo since from googling, many expert seem to agree grinder plays more role in brewing better coffee. I wonder if Saeco Poemia + Baratza Virtuoso combo will serve me well? Is this combo as effective as EC155 + Baratza?
I don't see many people discuss about the Saeco, is there any issue with this machine?

One more question, where can I get Baratza product in Malaysia? It seems like the authorized seller is papapalheta.com and they are sold out ~_~
for people who'd consider EC155 wouldn't think about BES870.. vice versa. it's totally a very different price range..
if you're looking for a ball-joint/flexible wand machines, there're plenty of choices out there..

another pointer about getting a grinder is.. do find a viable means to get the grinder burr blade replacement.. a grinder is like a knive, it will get blunt someday and will affect the outcome.. if you get a product without any means of getting the parts replace.. do factor in the price/cost of replacing the entire grinder somewhere down the road.

there're cheaper/viable grinder.. go pay dankoff a visit smile.gif
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 12:03 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 15 2015, 11:58 AM)
Please ban me from the thread if I kept digressing. U have the freedom to do so and I have the freedom to digress.

Why that irritates the hack out of u and cannot get some good nite rest? 😅
your relevance is getting kooky.. if your info/sharing helps, it's appreciable..
2 points; am not irritates(as i'm genuinely want to help) and for goodness sake, stop being so myopic.. it's a bright morning here!! (as opposed to night time at where you're cooped up at)
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 02:59 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 15 2015, 02:23 PM)
Yup, brevilie outside build looks better. Good looking machine is not important for me. Im looking for good value machine that fit my budget below 4k, to replace my toy machine xD

As i mention about amazon is for pricing guide, when buying machine here in malaysia. For example, i am not willing to pay rm3800 for a machine that only value rm2500 selling outside malaysia. U know where can i get silvia for 2k+++? In staying in penang. Once awhile i'll go to kl my second house. I do taobao, where the place i bought my toy espresso machine. I dont like to buy expensive electronic stuff from taobao, im not risk taker xD, unless i can save twice for the price, then worth the try
yeah, it does look awesome on a countertop.. with all it's cool led lights fired up drool.gif

so you already have a "toy machine".. then i suggest you to avoid EC155 as it wouldn't be much different to go up just a tiny step from your current setup ba..
dunno any coffee-gear retailers in northern region.. well if you can wait till may-2015.. do drop by at matrade(kl).. then you can find coffee beans, coffee machine sellers converge at a place for you to discover..

as for us, we're getting our espresso machine from taobao.. should be arriving soon.. risk is relative, if you know how to mitigate it.
Tikietic
post Apr 15 2015, 03:03 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Apr 15 2015, 01:11 PM)
If anyone here wanna buy from Amazon, go to amazon.co.uk... their wattage is similar to Malaysia (220-240), so you don't need to worry about topping up for the transformer conversion. Just keep in mind that if any shit happens, you usually have to fork out the shipping fee to send it back yourself.
@ Baratza: Boleh dapat from PULP in Bangsar... they are from Papa Palheta too. Give them a call to see if they have stocks. If ada kawan coming back from OZ or smthg, can ask them smuggle back. Baratza grinder def better than BES870 grinder.

If you do a quick search in this thread, you'd find some people who had the poemia. Coffee-wise, it won't be macam cafe punya, but it's a way better alternative than instant coffee. Used to knock down anything around that range, but after using http://www.coffeeforless.com/delonghi-bar3...esso-maker.html and watching people learn about coffee (also, we all can make microfoam with it!) , I think it's a great beginner machine that doesn't bust your bank. Unless you're loaded, then by all means, buy atas sikit la ahaha.

If you want the minimum level for cafe quality espressos, people here has mentioned gaggia classic and rancilio silvia. The latter being 1k more pricey, so it is often deliberated with the Oscar.

Note about learning the technique to froth milk; it might be a slower learning curve if you're only making coffee for yourself because there is only so much milk you can drink XD. But don't be discouraged - just find all occasions to practice. Can bancuh Milo as the base for your milk pouring,and you can offer your family to make their drinks for them. It took me 2-3 months in a cafe to properly create a good microfoam, and then pouring a good latte art. First two months in a super low-volume cafe, and the next was in a high-volume one.

Hope you get your gears soon, and report back smile.gif
must say.. is a very good idea, bro !!! thumbup.gif
have you tried any other type of milk that can be used to practice ah?... fresh milk can be expensive oo.. have you tried UHT/SKIMMED or creamer ( shocking.gif ) before?
Tikietic
post Apr 16 2015, 09:15 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Apr 16 2015, 09:02 PM)
what's strange to u may not be true for others.
U woke up on the wrong side of the bed?
U are free to ignore me, I also free to ignore u even there is no option to do so.

as for myopic, pot calling the kettle black.

this will be my last time reply to your post. Have a good life.
you should've just ignored it there and then.. coming up with something like this goes to show just how sensitive you are internally.
anyway, just don't be snobbish.. i've no axe to grind against you..
exercise your option as you wish, as though it means alot to me.. topkek
Tikietic
post Apr 21 2015, 12:15 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Apr 17 2015, 11:01 PM)
Is Boncafe range of ground coffee good?

Price-wise, it is easy on the pocket,
selling at less than RM20 for 250grams.

Any thoughts on this?
boncafe is singaporean.. their coffee are featured on club med cherating in case you wonder..
they advertized as 100% arabica.. that should be better than mixing with robusta ba

if you're planning to drink espresso.. try not to buy "ground coffee".. the grind will never be fine enough for the espresso machine.
we have gotten a small bag of "all day" boncafe to play around.. nothing much to shout about, not there, not here.. just use it for practice..

if you're looking for this sort of price range coffee... you can also try ikea's KAFFE HELA BÖNOR MÖRKROST, there're sold in m'sia too.. they have a more heavier/stronger taste.. full city roast and price is ezi smile.gif

Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 02:20 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Apr 22 2015, 09:21 AM)
oh...thanks for your advise. Anyone can let me know where i can get the BES870 cheaper price or any recommend espresso machines for a new beginner. I want to learn latte art.
why particularly the bes870?

QUOTE(potachan @ Apr 22 2015, 12:36 PM)
hi
can anyone tell me between  Baratza viruoso and Nuova Simonelli Grinta grinder which one is better? both selling almost the same price here but in US simonelli grinder cost usd300 and the baratza usd 200.thanks
"here" is where oo? who is the distributer (dankoff?)
it's a flat burr vs conical burr..
Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 02:44 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(potachan @ Apr 22 2015, 02:30 PM)
malaysia lor  biggrin.gif
lazada and cuppa.com selling 1.2k  doh.gif
if price is your pain-point, would you consider zd-15?.. it's just a little jiggy less than 700(include gst)
Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 03:53 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(potachan @ Apr 22 2015, 02:51 PM)
my budget is 1.5k and these 2 fall into it, just because nuovo selling usd100 more,isn't it better to get it since it is the same price here?
weird logic, selling more elsewhere doesn't necessarily translate to a better product instantly.. apart from your budget, is there any reason as to why this plasticky grinder?!
what did you see/find this grinder to be of interest to you?

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Apr 22 2015, 03:44 PM)
Not particularly on BES870. This is just i survey in the internet. Any recommend  for me?
if you want to learn latte art, there're plenty of machines out there to begin with.. in this case, beside this bes870, what others machine(s) have you looked into?
it's hard/difficult to recommend things to people when i hardly know you, your expectation, background, etc.. what is right and justifiable to one person may/may not be to another..
Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 06:53 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(potachan @ Apr 22 2015, 04:08 PM)
thats why im asking sifu here  cool2.gif
im new to espresso and the price diffrence make me think the nuovo is better since it is more expensive  tongue.gif
lol... more expensive = better?!? ..... topkek !!
i'd be more rational if you'd read more into what you're interested in.. instead of such feeble conclusion.

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Apr 22 2015, 04:55 PM)
The nuova is indefinitely superior to the BES870 as it can be used for commercial purposes (bes870 can only make like 5-6cups before it needs to cool off). It has a commercial spec steam wand as opposed to the puny one on the BES870 as well. But the only reason why I went for the BES870 is because it had a built-in grinder, which is good enough for me.

Buy what you can afford, although if you say long-run; it'll be hands down the Oscar.
bro, don't simply cut line without taking the time to read 1st la.. aiyooo.. coffee grinder becomes a machine pulak.. this is what i call, replying/responding based on keywords instead of context..

QUOTE(cschuang @ Apr 22 2015, 05:56 PM)

Anyone experience buying coffee machines and accessories from europe? Does it worth it with the money saved but without warranty and after sale service.

This site looks tempting, with shipping and handling fee additional of 10 Euro:
http://www.coffeeitalia.de/brands/brand1/rancilio.html

Any online store/site to recommend if want to purchase coffee machine from europe?

Cheers.
do you know who will be your shipping agent in this case?
different shipping agent will add to your entire cost up to maybe say.. +30% margin
(my gross calculation is based on that rancilio silvia..)
Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 09:50 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(thepro91 @ Apr 22 2015, 08:28 PM)
I think what Kclee2002 said was spot on. He was just trying to say that between Oscar and the Breville, the breville is much more convenient for starters and home set up. The build in grinder do save you a lot of money for those who are on a budget. Obviously the built in grinder means sacrificing on the consistency of coffee grinds and of course sending in the whole unit to claim for warranty if at all the grinder breaks down. The point is breville and other company came up with built in grinders for the purpose of choice and preference selection. Some may just want to brew a cup of coffee and go on with life but some have higher expectation when comes to appreciating coffee. Perhaps all we can do is to list the pros and cons of getting a built in grinder and without.

As for Tikietic, perhaps you have a higher taste or benchmark but i think you should take into consideration on what people's expectation and budget. One can only argue so much when comes to which machine is better without talking about the price.
I do agree the Oscar is indeed a better option if you have the budget for it and prefer frothing milk and pulling a shot simultaneously (heat exchanger mechanism), otherwise the bes870 is great for those who are on budget and for starters. Getting a good grinder is a separate issue.

Just my 2 cents. I think Tikietic you should tone down when talking to others. We are all here to learn and not here to make a point. I have been reading some of your comments and i felt people may not be as knowledgeable as you are but please be humble and guide others.

P/s : dont belittle people by throwing in words like 'feeble conclusion' or 'shallow opinion'. It just doesn't sound and feel nice.
if you've read chronologically.. kclee was totally out of context.. he jumped into a reply on a post without noticing that the discussion was between 2 grinders and not between 2 espresso machines.. you repeated this same fault by your comment..

higher benchmark? unlikely.. perhaps you've jumped the gun once again?.. apart from asking probing questions, i've only recommended very pragmatic choices as far as real recommendations are concerned.. no where have i touched those rm5k above machines.. so where did you get this idea? have you been reading it out of context?

look.. a fair question/probe was asked before any recommendation is given.. and that dude just reply by saying in a sense.. more expensive is more better.. feeble conclusion is so much better than wtf.. and he's claiming that i'm not helping.. what a douchebag.. doh.gif (at least he could've spent some time reading about those equipments and form some equitable questions that can be better assisted, don't you think?)

everybody started as a newbie somewhere down the road once.. ya?

Tikietic
post Apr 22 2015, 09:59 PM

339 posts

[quote=potachan,Apr 22 2015, 07:31 PM]
[quote=Tikietic,Apr 22 2015, 06:53 PM]
lol... more expensive = better?!? ..... topkek !!
i'd be more rational if you'd read more into what you're interested in.. instead of such feeble conclusion.

lol! you're really funny.I read your previous post before,when people comparing ec155 and breville u said price range different.Im not saying more expensive means better but just doing value comparison.Just a simple question which 1 is more value and better but you keep bombarding me question pulak doh.gif .You're not being helpful at all,please do not reply me anymore thanks.

[/quote]
1. do you know the price of ec155?
2. do you know the price of a given breville available in m'sia (e.g bes870)?
3. can you tell the price difference between #1 and #2?

market segmentation may give you come crude clue as to the profile of people choosing either of the 2... and you can't comprehend?!

how do you judge something intrinsic as "value"?!?.. and if you can remember, i did point out to you about zd-15.. how about reading about them 1st before crossing them out immediately?
how do you think that a grinta will have a better value proposition than a say.. zd-15?! .. on what account? are you able to find the burr head/blade replacement for grinta here in m'sia?!
how long will your grinta will last before you need to change your burr head/blade.. what then?

do you think i've not considered all these before i say.. zd-15? ..... doh.gif

Tikietic
post Apr 23 2015, 02:18 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 23 2015, 01:29 PM)
Guys, this should be a friendly discussion room for coffee lovers. Please don't go scare away noobies like us lar LOL

Anyhow, budget is a pretty subjective topic.

My current setup consist of a Saeco Poemia which I bought during Philips roadshow for about Rm600 and Welhome/WPM's ZD-12 at Rm400 from Taobao. With these, I make a latte/espresso daily and more than 1 during weekend. Definitely can't compare with cafe but being able to make it at my own convenience and comfort of home, I can't ask for more with that price biggrin.gif.

Well, I'd love to buy a better grinder and espresso machine, which I will couple of years down the road. But until then, this low budget setup will serve me just well.
what setting do you use for your zd-12? ... i have the same grinder as you do.. for my current espresso machine.. the finest i can go is 7.. (5-6 will jammed up the extraction)..

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0430sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:42 PM