Coffee lover please come in

patryn33
post Apr 16 2015, 09:02 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Apr 15 2015, 12:03 PM)
your relevance is getting kooky.. if your info/sharing helps, it's appreciable..
2 points; am not irritates(as i'm genuinely want to help) and for goodness sake, stop being so myopic.. it's a bright morning here!! (as opposed to night time at where you're cooped up at)
what's strange to u may not be true for others.
U woke up on the wrong side of the bed?
U are free to ignore me, I also free to ignore u even there is no option to do so.

as for myopic, great when u cannot see my pt I am being myopic.

this will be my last time reply to your post. Have a good life.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 16 2015, 09:17 PM
patryn33
post Apr 16 2015, 09:04 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(DEVILtonight @ Apr 15 2015, 01:11 PM)
If anyone here wanna buy from Amazon, go to amazon.co.uk... their wattage is similar to Malaysia (220-240), so you don't need to worry about topping up for the transformer conversion. Just keep in mind that if any shit happens, you usually have to fork out the shipping fee to send it back yourself.

U made a great point here. Uk amazon pricing may not be as good but it certainly avoid the use of transformer.
again, always check the seller.

had been buying stuff on aliexpress, seller state its 110-220V but upon cross checking I found its 220V or 110V. just need to do homework buying online
patryn33
post Apr 19 2015, 10:45 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Apr 19 2015, 06:19 PM)
hmm.. maybe i go ask the mister coffee staff if they have a roast date.
Look on the coffee bags to see if do.
If not it's not uncommon for staff to tell you it's freshly roasted as of a few days ago. Then it's really base on trust.

Was in Hawaii a few weeks back, not come across a coffee place that state roast date. Maui grown coffee I have friend working there so I can trust they are roasted 2-3 days ago. Hawaiian queen coffee just stare it's done few days ago, a risk for coffee that cost usd$40 a pound. But to see it bloom on Chemex it's accurate
patryn33
post Apr 26 2015, 08:12 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Apr 25 2015, 11:24 AM)
Lately I've been dosing 14.5g and with most beans, it tastes really balanced. Used to be 18-20g
Yes I feel the same way too.
My Maui grown coffee - 25 yr anniversary taste great.

patryn33
post Apr 26 2015, 08:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 25 2015, 12:58 AM)
Taobao Lavazza bean, u bought what type? Product date? Never seen pienaroma or tiarra production date 2015 .. The one i bought crema aroma (dec 2014), i not yet use.
I believe someone here wrote on Starbucks and other beans without dated roast date. They are all vacuum packed.

A lot of info on such beans if u using for espresso. Some ppl have connection in Italy to get 3 day old beans
http://coffeegeek.com/forums/espresso/questions/616647
patryn33
post Apr 27 2015, 10:15 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 27 2015, 10:03 AM)
I bought beans from Auresso before. They can send beans from Aussie and reach our doorstep within 5 days from roast date. One of the beans they can bring in is Grand Central.
Buy from Aussie or Europe all arrive within 5 days. But not cheap. Try to support local roaster if budget don't allow one to buy overseas
patryn33
post Apr 28 2015, 07:17 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Keng @ Apr 27 2015, 03:22 PM)
I did do that before I considered sourcing from overseas sweat.gif . In fact I have tried a few like Antipodean, Artisan/3 little bird roasters, Plan B Roasters, Espresso Lab and Coffee Ritual (though this is more like Singaporean roaster). I like Artisan the most among the lot but then again, they're actually more expensive than Aussie's  rclxub.gif .
If I have friend going to Bangkok, then I'd get them to buy Pacamara's which is half the price of most beans here  whistling.gif
Chang Mai is the coffee capital in Thailand!
Pacamara Asian blends are 150TBH and panama for 500Tbh for 250gm I read. I gather buying Asian blends cheaper back in 2012, prices still same?

Looks like you can buy online, url recommended by their Facebook page
http://www.espressofriend.com/เมล็ดกาแฟ

Nice page with links where to shop Thailand roasters online
http://bestcoffeein.asia/advice/best-singl...k/#.VT7GvVL3anM
http://redcliffcoffee.com/buy-thai-coffee-online/

This post has been edited by patryn33: Apr 28 2015, 08:18 AM
patryn33
post Apr 29 2015, 09:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Apr 29 2015, 07:57 PM)
Triple Mellow is selling Pacamara beans at 20% off right now if purchased in store.
You in Thailand how? How much do they cost? 250gm pack
patryn33
post May 1 2015, 10:37 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ May 1 2015, 09:59 PM)
Yes, HX or most espresso machines needs to warm up. 30-45 mins from cold start. This is to ensure heat is evenly distributed throughout the machine and also to maintain a consistent brewing temperature. Else why they call it a cooling flush? wink.gif
U are right and not hard to confirm info. Of course different machine perform a little differently.
Maybe those high wattage babes no need to wait that long?
http://coffeegeek.com/files/214/Fine+Tunin...ger+Machine.pdf
http://www.1st-line.com/store/pc/Heat-Exch...-Boiler-d52.htm
patryn33
post May 3 2015, 11:47 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ May 3 2015, 11:08 AM)
I tried using coffee pucks as fertilizer for my chili plants, but it's causing the soil to hardened..

Lol i guess it's for some plants, not for all!
You have to add and lossen the soil. Coffee ground close to ph 6.8 and rich in nitrogen. Nitrogen is good for plant too much you don't much fruits. Egg shells helps
patryn33
post May 3 2015, 08:00 PM

3,940 posts

For those with $$ and wanted to invest in a roaster
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/andrew...-coffee-roaster
patryn33
post May 3 2015, 11:30 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(thepro91 @ May 3 2015, 09:05 PM)
Not a problem. Just got it yesterday. Still in the box. Tested it at the shop though. busy nowadays plus I have yet have the time to clean up my 'newly' used grinder and stock up some blends. I'll review it in a week time!
Don't stock up coffee just try to buy what u need for the next 2-3 weeks is best
patryn33
post May 3 2015, 11:39 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ May 2 2015, 10:53 AM)
Shaking it is a good way to break clumps.. Or you can tap the PF. If you tend to updose, then you can also do WDT or any distribution of your choice and tamp.. But always break the clumps first to reduce channeling.

Some use toothpicks, but if I dose base on time, I'd rather updose. I normally weigh my beans, and grind into a tumbler and transfer to PF. Usually clumping doesn't happen for my case.. So I just tap and tamp.
Clumping occurs with 'cheap' grinder, hg one or those highend k30 grinder mahlkonig or mazzer robur not so much of this issue from what I read. Usually super jolly face such issue.

I still dreaming of a hg one lol
patryn33
post May 4 2015, 12:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Apr 25 2015, 12:58 AM)
Taobao Lavazza bean, u bought what type? Product date? Never seen pienaroma or tiarra production date 2015 .. The one i bought crema aroma (dec 2014), i not yet use.
How much you got on taobao?
Like below price or cheaper?
http://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.html?id=149161021

My old office use to use a lot of crema aroma buy like 10kg each myth. later switch to this place for my office usd$28 for 4.4lbs or 2kg, the gold blend is very comparable to crema aroma. Silver is usd$32 for 5lb. The ship date and roast date is like 2-3 days apart. No complaints from my German boss
http://colonialcoffee.ca/ecom.asp?

This post has been edited by patryn33: May 4 2015, 12:58 AM
patryn33
post May 8 2015, 06:24 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ May 8 2015, 01:41 PM)
any1 tried cold brew b4? looked up some info, it looks kinda ez, just put all the grounds and let it steep for a long time. cold drip is another thingy though, involved alot of thingy..
There are many kind of cold brew methods, cold drip and soaking coffee grounds are 2 of them.

Here is another
https://bluebottlecoffee.com/preparation-guides/cold-brew
https://toddycafe.com/cold-brew/why-toddy-cold-brew

This post has been edited by patryn33: May 8 2015, 06:27 PM
patryn33
post May 9 2015, 12:41 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ May 8 2015, 06:51 PM)
Which kinna coffee bean makes latte with chocolate aroma?
The last blend I had with chocolate taste is http://www.mauigrowncoffee.com/mgc/index.p...ef=25AB8-16-2-C
patryn33
post May 9 2015, 10:23 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ May 7 2015, 04:52 PM)
Does places like Harvey Norman or those typical electric stores sell them?
French press or drip coffee, u can source locally

This price for a eureka not bad but you don't have such demand
http://baristahk.com/product/eureka-mignon-istantaneo/

Something like this will do
https://www.seattlecoffeegear.com/capresso-...stainless-steel

This post has been edited by patryn33: May 9 2015, 10:26 PM
patryn33
post May 10 2015, 09:34 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ May 10 2015, 07:53 PM)
Item can be found at taobao. They sell it rmb 1400. Conical burr. Handsome looking.
USA site selling usd$99, 1400 rmb is like usd$225!
patryn33
post May 10 2015, 11:46 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ May 10 2015, 10:58 PM)
Ya, u r right. Can this item be found locally? I x know other cheaper way than taobao to bring this thing in. Shipment from UK US worth cheaper?
I bought Liberica bean dark roast. I like its cocoa taste. It has less caffeine. I know it is lower grade bean compare with arabica & robusta.
Newbie question. The cocoa taste is it due to the processing or its original liberica bean characteristic? Any other brands & bean roastery produce cocoa taste?

[attachmentid=4443092]
What got there is a blend not 100% liberica beans. Iir Cocoa flavor profile it due to bean type and grown where plus the roast. Over roasting can change flavor profile down south. I wouldn't claim liberica beans give u Cocoa profile since it's blend.

Taobao is usd$225. Amazon UK is gbp$59 or usd$92, add shipping and tax I believe cheaper than taobao
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00525X...ASIN=B00525XKPA

Read about shipping charge http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/help/customer/d...odeId=201075150

Imho taobao usually not the place to buy name brand product, if u getting a Chinese product or Asian brand generally cheaper

This post has been edited by patryn33: May 10 2015, 11:57 PM
patryn33
post May 11 2015, 08:57 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ May 11 2015, 07:44 PM)
What make and what's the price?
A url to the page will do wonders for u too!
Now u have a pic and need to do some serious search as the name "ae5o95p2ba" zero search results on Google

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0454sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:48 PM