Coffee lover please come in
Keng
Feb 9 2015, 11:18 AM

QUOTE(ijan @ Feb 9 2015, 10:14 AM) Erm, arent you better off with a new machine? Gaggia classic SB is RM2k new at Lazada. You can browse around, sometimes a Sylvia is available for sub RM2k. Spending time and almost the same amount of money on a no-go machine, makes no sense. I took apart my first Krups (similar la, thermoblock and all) and bila buka, baru see how indigenous the design is, makes no sense to do anything at all, because its not worth it, and the engineering of a PID to the block is nonsensical. But PID cost me only Rm50  , and I can always move the PID over to other machines later on. I do realise that 'no boiler' setup is not the way to go but the current setup will have to do for now coz I'm still learning. When I first started less than 3 months ago, I didn't want to commit so much into it coz I didn't know how much I'm into it
Keng
Feb 9 2015, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Feb 9 2015, 10:24 AM) i ever doubt that ec155 steam wand is kinda hard to break the milk texture. Anyone here have delongi ec155 with modded steam wand? or is it hard to look for sparepart in malaysia? The harder way would be to remove the panarello and just froth it naked (the wand, not you). I do this all the time but you'll need enough milk in the pitcher as the wand can be very short without the panarello. There's a guy from Hong Kong, I think someone shared here before, uses EC155 as well. Try to look it up in youtube.
wadthehellz
Feb 9 2015, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(Keng @ Feb 9 2015, 11:26 AM) The harder way would be to remove the panarello and just froth it naked (the wand, not you). I do this all the time but you'll need enough milk in the pitcher as the wand can be very short without the panarello. There's a guy from Hong Kong, I think someone shared here before, uses EC155 as well. Try to look it up in youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FkCyzowPNt8 is this the one? haha. he modded the wand
KoYuKii
Feb 9 2015, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Feb 9 2015, 11:15 AM) I saw on youtube they replace it with silvia steam wand and it goes like prosumer steam  . you can search around I am sure there are a lot of mod for EC155. Damn regret for not getting EC155. How much you bought your EC155? bought at RM499 at senQ. + RM18 for 3years 1to1 warranty. claimed new 1 last year..due to the water pump too slow. actually wanted to get a new machine. but b4 that see how can i fully utilize this ec155 1st. saw a ebay seller selling this silvia steam wand. i've msged the seller whether it fits for ec155 for not.
wadthehellz
Feb 9 2015, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(KoYuKii @ Feb 9 2015, 01:06 PM) bought at RM499 at senQ. + RM18 for 3years 1to1 warranty. claimed new 1 last year..due to the water pump too slow. actually wanted to get a new machine. but b4 that see how can i fully utilize this ec155 1st. saw a ebay seller selling this silvia steam wand. i've msged the seller whether it fits for ec155 for not. ahhh thats very low price, i bought a unknown brand from tabao, plus shipping also cost me 400+ and hard to find parts lol damn regret. if im not wrong the silvia v1/v2 wand can fit ec155 but v3 cant cause v3 is got a rounded ball joint.
Tjolynn82
Feb 10 2015, 08:02 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 8 2015, 11:19 PM) I have a way to get the JURA coffee machine from Europe. Pm me if you are interested.
zwanvedder
Feb 10 2015, 08:56 AM
flat white with ec155 bean - guatemala so far no problem getting my milk froth by this machine Attached thumbnail(s)
vaksin
Feb 10 2015, 08:59 AM
local coffee talk got not?
Keng
Feb 10 2015, 11:11 AM

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Feb 9 2015, 11:31 AM) IMO, the wand won't make that much difference other than extending the length only. Unless you're changing the steam hole design. Base on my not so-long experience, you will struggle more from the lost of steam power. There is a period of time when there's minimal steam to maintain the whirlpool and when the boiler will kick in again. You can't really do much other than 'wait'.
mel5582
Feb 10 2015, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(nebulaguava @ Feb 8 2015, 02:54 PM) I favor the Cremina due to the engineering and better temp stability. Over heating is not going to be an issue for me as I'm not using this for a business. But why do you want a spring lever over a manual lever? No specific preference in particular.. I just prefer consistency as I've stopped fiddling around lol.. If it's gonna be a machine that'll cost me.. I'd just get one that can perform back to back extractions while my hands are free to do other things. Btw, just got a bag of beans from a friend in Bangkok, roasted himself.. Double shot and full of nutty flavors.. Pretty oily though.. Attached thumbnail(s)
patryn33
Feb 10 2015, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(Tjolynn82 @ Feb 10 2015, 08:02 AM) I have a way to get the JURA coffee machine from Europe. Pm me if you are interested. Thank you, I have way to get in states and ship free plus no transformer needed. Fyi U should be asking ppl interested not me
Virgil
Feb 11 2015, 10:35 AM

Dear all sifus, my wife bought me this  i just need to buy the coffee powder and put in only right?
Xander-G
Feb 11 2015, 10:39 AM
I love coffee but i cant take it since it will bloats my tummy and making my stool hard. Is there any chance i can take without any hassle on my tummy? Im okay with caffeine though so im not sure why my tummy just not accepting coffee.
Tjolynn82
Feb 11 2015, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 10 2015, 08:01 PM) Thank you, I have way to get in states and ship free plus no transformer needed. Fyi U should be asking ppl interested not me Welcome... Just sharing 😁
patryn33
Feb 11 2015, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(Virgil @ Feb 11 2015, 10:35 AM) Dear all sifus, my wife bought me this  i just need to buy the coffee powder and put in only right? yes
Irishcoffee
Feb 11 2015, 06:48 PM
i replaced mine ec155 steam wand with rancilio steam wand , easier to get microfoam with that the process is quite tough , if not handle carefully might damage your machine here the guide http://cforum.cari.com.my/forum.php?mod=vi...ead&tid=3233723
Keng
Feb 12 2015, 03:11 PM

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Feb 10 2015, 07:59 PM) No specific preference in particular.. I just prefer consistency as I've stopped fiddling around lol.. If it's gonna be a machine that'll cost me.. I'd just get one that can perform back to back extractions while my hands are free to do other things. Btw, just got a bag of beans from a friend in Bangkok, roasted himself.. Double shot and full of nutty flavors.. Pretty oily though.. Ripple tamp? Looks cool
geney
Feb 12 2015, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(Xander-G @ Feb 11 2015, 10:39 AM) I love coffee but i cant take it since it will bloats my tummy and making my stool hard. Is there any chance i can take without any hassle on my tummy? Im okay with caffeine though so im not sure why my tummy just not accepting coffee. Same like me last time. Now OK liao. Drink little by little. Slowly increase. It'll be OK after a while.
patryn33
Feb 12 2015, 08:16 PM
QUOTE(Xander-G @ Feb 11 2015, 10:39 AM) I love coffee but i cant take it since it will bloats my tummy and making my stool hard. Is there any chance i can take without any hassle on my tummy? Im okay with caffeine though so im not sure why my tummy just not accepting coffee. what brew method of coffee have u been drinking? This post has been edited by patryn33: Feb 12 2015, 08:19 PM
mel5582
Feb 13 2015, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(Keng @ Feb 12 2015, 03:11 PM) Ripple tamp? Looks cool  Yup! Using a 58.4 flat ripple tamper with the IMS 18/22 ridgeless basket..