[ Outline ] · Standard · Linear+

> What Is Your Maximum Bench Press Weight?

TSryder_78
post Sep 25 2012, 04:13 PM, updated 14y ago

2,074 posts

I was just wondering how much weight you guys usually bench press, say for 10 repetitions.

It has been quite a while since I worked out in the gym. My usual regime is to start with 5 kg as a warm-up, 20 repetitions. I will then move on to 10 kg, 10 repetitions. After that, 15 kg, 10 repetitions and 20 kg another 10 repetitions. The process will continue until I reach the weight plateau I am able to lift.

In my prime, I was able to lift up to 65kg, 10 repetitions. Clean reps with the bar lowered down to the chest, almost touching it, and then straight right up. How about you guys? Anyone here able to do beyond 70kg, 10 clean repetitions?

The last time I was at the gym, about 1.5 years ago, there were some Middle Eastern guys, one of them about 6'2" tall, who managed to bench press more than 70 kg. Pure brute strength.

I aspire to bench press up to 70 kg one day, but don't think I am able to lift beyond 55 kg if I were to return to the gym one day.

Posts in this topic
ryder_78   What Is Your Maximum Bench Press Weight?   Sep 25 2012, 04:13 PM
alien9   105lbs for 5 reps. Need video for that? Lol   Sep 25 2012, 04:24 PM
ryder_78   105 lbs is equivalent to 47.63 kg. Thanks for the ...   Sep 25 2012, 04:27 PM
alien9   No man. I don't have a video on that. Such a l...   Sep 25 2012, 04:42 PM
VaLeNrUdOn   i always confuse...the bar is 45 or 35lbs?   Sep 25 2012, 04:45 PM
potemkin   65kg for 5 reps , feels weak man. I do my gym si...   Sep 25 2012, 04:58 PM
alien9   depend on what bar you are using. the 7 feet Olym...   Sep 25 2012, 04:59 PM
VaLeNrUdOn   ooo coolies..135 for 3 and 115 for 10 :D what a we...   Sep 25 2012, 05:14 PM
bata   70-kg total? thats not pure brute.... :cry: :s...   Sep 25 2012, 05:26 PM
pedro   I concur. I warmup with 80kg.   Sep 25 2012, 05:45 PM
fabians94   R1_E2HYW8uo [color=green]TIME TO START BREAKING P...   Sep 25 2012, 06:38 PM
alien9   So what are you trying to say this time in this t...   Sep 25 2012, 07:48 PM
TechnoDude94   Haha, epic win reply bro! :flex:   Sep 25 2012, 08:03 PM
fabians94   you really lack humor.   Sep 25 2012, 08:10 PM
kurtkob78   85kg 6 reps   Sep 25 2012, 08:05 PM
ryder_78   Damn you're surely strong. :-)   Sep 25 2012, 08:47 PM
Cruzer   never did barbell benchpress for really damn long ...   Sep 25 2012, 08:18 PM
kubuk   Dude you clearly haven't seen those heavy lift...   Sep 25 2012, 08:56 PM
emino   60 kg. Which is how much I weight. :lol:   Sep 25 2012, 08:59 PM
kurtkob78   lol, thats not strong ... 85kg is including the ba...   Sep 25 2012, 09:04 PM
darklight79   Wanna see me talk and tell a joke while warming up...   Sep 25 2012, 09:13 PM
-Dan   Yes, actually. :P Make sure it's a good joke ...   Sep 25 2012, 09:16 PM
ryder_78   That smiley at the end of the sentence suggests ...   Sep 25 2012, 09:45 PM
darklight79   I can't free weight bench. All my chest work...   Sep 25 2012, 09:57 PM
arekey   How do you bench in smith? bar touching your pec ...   Sep 27 2012, 02:59 PM
darklight79   I do strict. Touch chest, pause, go up. No point...   Sep 27 2012, 07:16 PM
arekey   Thanks for the vid man. i should correct my angle...   Sep 29 2012, 11:25 AM
skloda   ^ steroid or natural builder? ^ September 25, 201...   Sep 25 2012, 09:16 PM
darklight79   Thanks. Your question is very flattering. Septe...   Sep 25 2012, 09:37 PM
Cloud2322   In my gym I saw one Khazastanis fella height about...   Sep 25 2012, 09:24 PM
Gravity   the guy who recently go to celebrity fitness MV?   Sep 27 2012, 12:30 AM
pedro   What exercise do Hairdressers do in the gym? -Cu...   Sep 25 2012, 09:29 PM
ryder_78   Kurtkob - so the weight of the bar is included wit...   Sep 25 2012, 09:33 PM
MelForC3   i did 6 reps for 50kg/110lbs db.. tried 3 plate fl...   Sep 25 2012, 10:04 PM
ash50210   mine is 20kg for 10 reps. times 3   Sep 25 2012, 10:04 PM
jAck66   the highest 60kgs plate only :(   Sep 25 2012, 10:28 PM
alien9   there is no humor posting a fail bench video in a...   Sep 25 2012, 11:37 PM
fabians94   Exactly why you have no sense of humor.   Sep 26 2012, 07:14 AM
mikehuan   Didn't find it funny as well. If nothing els...   Sep 26 2012, 08:58 AM
fabians94   I'm not making fun of him.. -.- It nearly m...   Sep 26 2012, 09:05 AM
kubuk   but seeing someone die is humor to you right?   Sep 26 2012, 09:09 AM
-Dan   Exactly. So how is that funny?   Sep 26 2012, 03:45 PM
fabians94   The fact it made me want to shit my pants man. ...   Sep 26 2012, 05:55 PM
janson_kaniaz   the video should nvr be intended as a humor nor ...   Sep 26 2012, 07:35 PM
darklight79   Word. September 26, 2012, 11:28 pm Wei... y...   Sep 26 2012, 11:21 PM
mikehuan   Yay finally an epeen thread! *runs*   Sep 26 2012, 12:39 AM
-Dan   +1   Sep 26 2012, 02:52 AM
ibanez   Kai Greene: "I'm not a weight lifter, I...   Sep 26 2012, 09:27 AM
mikehuan   You implying everyone here does heavy with bad fo...   Sep 26 2012, 10:00 AM
darklight79   Lol mike. The moment I saw the title of this thr...   Sep 26 2012, 10:02 AM
mikehuan   Forum needs drama to be alive. Lol.   Sep 26 2012, 10:05 AM
ibanez   No la bro, i am not meaning that. :sweat: :f...   Sep 26 2012, 10:41 AM
mikehuan   Yeah I saw the vid as well. He was correcting so...   Sep 26 2012, 12:17 PM
VaLeNrUdOn   @fabians - that was an awful video...tried to look...   Sep 26 2012, 09:39 AM
fabians94   the humor is supposed to scare you on your next he...   Sep 26 2012, 09:55 AM
bodybuilder   i am 71kgs, only able to bench about 60-65kgs max ...   Sep 26 2012, 10:14 AM
raynx   4yrs ago managed 80kg on hammerstrength 4 reps. 2-...   Sep 26 2012, 10:39 AM
alien9   I have a lot of sense of humor but laughing at a ...   Sep 26 2012, 10:58 AM
raynx   Inconsistent training & muscle imbalance pro...   Sep 26 2012, 11:18 AM
janson_kaniaz   some spotters dont have this worst case scenario i...   Sep 26 2012, 01:02 PM
Jason   What's your definition of humor? Since ...   Sep 26 2012, 01:25 PM
mikehuan   Big words. Got any vids yourself?   Sep 26 2012, 01:32 PM
lilredridinghood   I don't know why la, I need to comment here. ...   Sep 26 2012, 01:36 PM
Jason   Of me doing empty bar? On a smith machine? You s...   Sep 26 2012, 01:44 PM
VaLeNrUdOn   LOL!!come ogle at me benching 145-165lbs ...   Sep 26 2012, 02:18 PM
mikehuan   Soo, u refuse to post up a vid and yet expect ot...   Sep 26 2012, 02:23 PM
Jason   haha can. but i won't be your spotter cause ...   Sep 26 2012, 04:04 PM
mikehuan   You're very contradictory ya know that? Firs...   Sep 26 2012, 04:54 PM
jackwylde   135lbs for 6 reps. bodyweight 76. i am weak as fak...   Sep 26 2012, 05:48 PM
harris92   Not as impressive as some of you guys, but everyon...   Sep 26 2012, 11:02 PM
xCM   I see intense drama here *grabs popcorn* so how? ...   Sep 27 2012, 12:00 AM
reddevilchoo   I don't bench, I do push ups :x   Sep 27 2012, 12:07 AM
joeblows   North of 90kgs. Think I can do 100+ if there...   Sep 27 2012, 12:12 AM
Faith+1   Dang, you guys are strong as fuarrrkk..... I barel...   Sep 27 2012, 12:36 AM
RedShirt   60kg for 8 clean reps, not including how much the ...   Sep 27 2012, 10:41 AM
Jason   does actually. oly barbell is 20kg. so you'r...   Sep 27 2012, 12:52 PM
adix4   before elbow injury, btw 62kg reporting in 92.5kg...   Sep 29 2012, 08:54 PM
darklight79   Vid?   Sep 29 2012, 09:34 PM
adix4   alright bro, since i'm going to do bench thi...   Sep 29 2012, 09:38 PM
darklight79   I have never asked for your vid before you know....   Sep 29 2012, 10:10 PM
jackwylde   sembang lebih. mana video dulu kata mau upload? ...   Sep 29 2012, 11:53 PM
darklight79   Lol, i guess no one has ever forgotten eh?   Sep 30 2012, 12:31 AM
janson_kaniaz   he has talked more than ever b4. it's hard to ...   Sep 30 2012, 01:16 AM
mikehuan   LOL AGAIN? Chris bet shisha bill he won't do ...   Sep 30 2012, 12:53 PM
darklight79   Hey you leave my shishia alone!   Sep 30 2012, 02:38 PM
mikehuan   The bill la. =.="   Sep 30 2012, 02:55 PM
jackwylde   i can curl a car with my dixk for 100000 reps. th...   Sep 30 2012, 02:18 PM
darklight79   How much does a condom weigh?   Sep 30 2012, 10:44 PM
playerseeker   mine just 10kg on each side of oly barbell... bec...   Oct 1 2012, 02:22 PM
enix2000   My bench always suck. Warm up 20x20 Warm up 30x15...   Oct 1 2012, 02:30 PM
Seasick85   I've been playing gym since 2008 up to now..ar...   Oct 13 2012, 12:17 PM
Dwango   8 repetitions of 94kg? Damn you are one strong m...   Nov 1 2012, 09:26 AM
Seasick85   Now I've done 5 reps of 100kg bench :) at bo...   Nov 1 2012, 09:32 AM
Dwango   60kg - 10 repetitions, 62.5 - 6 to 7 repetitio...   Nov 1 2012, 10:15 AM
Seasick85   My one rep max is around 108-110kg i suppose..di...   Nov 1 2012, 10:26 AM
Dwango   Not sure if it's my incorrect form or someth...   Nov 1 2012, 10:50 AM
darklight79   Wah.... I asked a simple question in a single se...   Nov 1 2012, 10:56 AM
Seasick85   Ok. I like to bench. full stop. lol :D   Nov 1 2012, 11:16 AM
darklight79   The bench press is pretty overrated for bodybuildi...   Nov 1 2012, 10:20 AM
malfogs   mine is 40 kg of plates .. bar not sure ... smalle...   Nov 4 2012, 12:54 AM

0.0917sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:35 PM