Bajet 2013, What is your take on it?

TSalg7_munif
post Sep 24 2012, 11:20 PM, updated 14y ago

17 posts

The upcoming Bajet 2013 is just around the corner, will there be any new policy implemented with regard to automotive in Malaysia? Let's share what you want (wishful thinking) and what you think will happen in the Bajet announcement.

What I want: Duties on all cars reduced to bare minimum.
What I think will happen: Gradual car price reduction but only applies to EEV (energy efficient vehicles).

This post has been edited by alg7_munif: Sep 24 2012, 11:21 PM
jepakazoid_82
post Sep 25 2012, 11:47 AM

830 posts

I hope excise duty is reduced further. Pronto. On the spot just like that. And life will be beautiful again.
ericpires
post Sep 25 2012, 12:17 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

No more car tax on overseas car plz
bearbearhong
post Sep 25 2012, 12:19 PM

1,441 posts

income tax reduce pls thumbup.gif

Added on September 25, 2012, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Sep 25 2012, 11:47 AM)
I hope excise duty is reduced further. Pronto. On the spot just like that. And life will be beautiful again.
there may be some reduction on excise duty, however, they may tax us back with GST soon doh.gif

This post has been edited by bearbearhong: Sep 25 2012, 12:20 PM
ruffstuff
post Sep 25 2012, 01:23 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Sep 25 2012, 12:17 PM)
No more car tax on overseas car plz
import tax is 30 percent only. And most popular non-local cars have no import tax.
adri4n
post Sep 25 2012, 01:32 PM

Running in Circles... Going No Where
1,850 posts

just a question... since bujet coming and many speculations revolve around it.. lets just say one of the items in the bujet says "waive/reduction of eksais duty"

would it impact the price of car (if im in the midst of buying one)
Icehart
post Sep 25 2012, 03:16 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(adri4n @ Sep 25 2012, 01:32 PM)
just a question... since bujet coming and many speculations revolve around it.. lets just say one of the items in the bujet says "waive/reduction of eksais duty"

would it impact the price of car (if im in the midst of buying one)
Yes, unless you are planning to buy hybrid vehicles or commercial vehicles.

Varia
post Sep 25 2012, 04:22 PM

109 posts

what i want : reduction or "excise" duty for car (step by step tax reduction so it will be little bit fair for current car owner)

what i think : reduction on p1 or p2 only. ><

This post has been edited by Varia: Sep 25 2012, 05:05 PM
ruffstuff
post Sep 25 2012, 04:52 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(Varia @ Sep 25 2012, 04:22 PM)
what i want : reduction or import duty for car (step by step tax reduction so it will be little bit fair for current car owner)

what i think : reduction on p1 or p2 only. ><
why people still stressing on import duty? import duty is not the main contributor of the car price. It is excise duty.
Daniel John
post Sep 25 2012, 04:58 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 25 2012, 04:52 PM)
why people still stressing on import duty? import duty is not the main contributor of the car price. It is excise duty.
+ dealer margin
irmo
post Sep 25 2012, 05:04 PM

17 posts

increase import duty and excise duty,and soon i can sell my car with higher price..hahahaha.
in serious note...erm..nothing to hope.
linkin182
post Sep 25 2012, 05:06 PM

283 posts

Lower Import & Excise duty. 75% - 105% is too much.
We dont know what is the actual margin of profit at this moment.
Make the public transportation better!!!

This post has been edited by linkin182: Sep 25 2012, 05:06 PM
amad108
post Sep 25 2012, 10:12 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

not urgency getting car, so i can wait until next mid year.. after that if there's no hope then just buy ler..
dtna7
post Sep 26 2012, 10:30 PM

456 posts

those dreaming of getting foreign cars at a cheaper price can just forget it.

Proton/Perodua will die with their current car prices at their incompetency level.
Jobs will be lost, and majority are BN's loyal servants who holds the precious votes.

it just won't make sense. An extension of green car exemptions will all there is to it.
rcracer
post Sep 27 2012, 07:55 AM

?????
3,772 posts

I want duties to go up in preparation to get people to get on to public transport. Otherwise there will be more cars, billions spent on public transport with no ridership leading to bailout again with our money.

rogrog
post Sep 27 2012, 08:28 AM

635 posts

QUOTE(dtna7 @ Sep 26 2012, 10:30 PM)
those dreaming of getting foreign cars at a cheaper price can just forget it.

Proton/Perodua will die with their current car prices at their incompetency level.
Jobs will be lost, and majority are BN's loyal servants who holds the precious votes.

it just won't make sense. An extension of green car exemptions will all there is to it.
Thats why we want some drop in excise duty, not the import duty. As almost all car(exclude commercial and hybrid vehicle<2000cc) in Malaysia have almost 70% of excise duty, including local car. sweat.gif

Ps. correct if im wrong icon_rolleyes.gif
TSalg7_munif
post Sep 28 2012, 06:21 PM

17 posts

So nothing?
gahpadu
post Sep 28 2012, 06:31 PM

1,438 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Sep 28 2012, 06:21 PM)
So nothing?
so ..what next? PR want to reduce 20% tax whistling.gif
maverickng
post Sep 28 2012, 06:35 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(gahpadu @ Sep 28 2012, 06:31 PM)
so ..what next? PR want to reduce 20% tax whistling.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
jepakazoid_82
post Sep 28 2012, 06:48 PM

830 posts

So disappointing.. all the menteris and their cronies manage to drive those fancy cars while average joes like us are stuck with Proton. Buy proton, pay back to them or buy imported cars, pay excessive excise duty to government. Either way rakyat is screwed.
TSalg7_munif
post Sep 28 2012, 06:58 PM

17 posts

We rakyat can't even afford to pay the duties with our own money so we need to take a loan to pay the government duties. I mean if the majority of the cost are duties, we are actually taking a loan not to buy a car but to pay the tax instead.
jepakazoid_82
post Sep 28 2012, 07:14 PM

830 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by jepakazoid_82: Sep 28 2012, 11:51 PM
fishmango
post Sep 28 2012, 07:41 PM

796 posts

no mention of car tax is announced in budget. So let continue to use our old cars.....
WhitE LighteR
post Sep 28 2012, 07:44 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Automotive industry gets telur... sad.gif
stix
post Sep 28 2012, 08:20 PM

276 posts

well look at the bright side. your car value stays intact and second hand dealers remain their rice bowl.
ruffstuff
post Sep 28 2012, 08:37 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(jepakazoid_82 @ Sep 28 2012, 06:48 PM)
So disappointing.. all the menteris and their cronies manage to drive those fancy cars while average joes like us are stuck with Proton. Buy proton, pay back to them or buy imported cars, pay excessive excise duty to government. Either way rakyat is screwed.
Buy proton also pay excise duty.
chuakz
post Sep 28 2012, 08:45 PM

1,192 posts

damn disappointing...at least PR budget promises 20% reduction in taxes...I hope more wise people are voting this time round...people are saying that PR would be as bad...well...never try never know...I'd rather try something new than to hold on to something old that we know does not work....but if PR wins and screws up...out I go...
cybermaster98
post Sep 28 2012, 10:13 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Sep 28 2012, 08:45 PM)
damn disappointing...at least PR budget promises 20% reduction in taxes...I hope more wise people are voting this time round...people are saying that PR would be as bad...well...never try never know...I'd rather try something new than to hold on to something old that we know does not work....but if PR wins and screws up...out I go...

Yes true. This Budget was crap. BN is more concerned in handing out short term goodies for the 'feel good factor' just before polls. And i think this is the first time a Budget speech in Malaysia is used to attack the Opposition and beg for another term. And they have the cheek to actually say they have done a good job in Malaysia all these years. Pathetic.
dares
post Sep 28 2012, 10:27 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Sep 28 2012, 08:20 PM)
well look at the bright side. your car value stays intact and second hand dealers remain their rice bowl.
rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
gunsnroses
post Sep 28 2012, 10:52 PM

77 posts

Will the tax exemption for hybrid cars remain?
Area51SE
post Sep 29 2012, 01:31 AM

1,001 posts

QUOTE(gunsnroses @ Sep 28 2012, 10:52 PM)
Will the tax exemption for hybrid cars remain?
Since nothing has been mentioned . It will end at 31st Dec 2013. However, who knows they might extend it during the 2014 Budget
stix
post Sep 29 2012, 02:38 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Sep 29 2012, 01:31 AM)
Since nothing has been mentioned . It will end at 31st Dec 2013. However, who knows they might extend it during the 2014 Budget
unlikely to continue the exemption due to proton rolling out their new 'hybrid' models (lol > 9999) unless they cater to the lower income by producing cheap hybrids at 60-70k
malowar
post Sep 29 2012, 03:59 AM

18 posts

Huhu no new announcement on reduced car price

Was hoping to by myvi @ 10% cheaper huhuhu
kingchin
post Sep 29 2012, 08:06 AM

21 posts

Better bajet for middle class my arse! Bajet for their election more like it.. Us middle class are ones paying taxes. Mentris are f*** wits useless corrupted bastards.

cybermaster98
post Sep 29 2012, 09:04 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kingchin @ Sep 29 2012, 08:06 AM)
Better bajet for middle class my arse! Bajet for their election more like it.. Us middle class are ones paying taxes. Mentris are f*** wits useless corrupted bastards.
Only 1.7 mil of the 12 mil workforce pays taxes. So u can imagine who's the main contributers. The middle income group.
TSalg7_munif
post Sep 29 2012, 09:24 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 29 2012, 09:04 AM)
Only 1.7 mil of the 12 mil workforce pays taxes. So u can imagine who's the main contributers. The middle income group.
When you buy a car, you also pay a lot of tax as well. Some even need to take a loan due to the tax burden. Not paying the income tax doesn't mean that they are not paying tax, go to McD also they pay tax, some a cigarette also they pay tax. Giving away tax payers' money like there is no tomorrow in the budget.
cybermaster98
post Sep 29 2012, 09:31 AM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(alg7_munif @ Sep 29 2012, 09:24 AM)
When you buy a car, you also pay a lot of tax as well. Some even need to take a loan due to the tax burden. Not paying the income tax doesn't mean that they are not paying tax, go to McD also they pay tax, some a cigarette also they pay tax. Giving away tax payers' money like there is no tomorrow in the budget.
Yea but he was refering to those paying tax from their taxable income. So its basically 1.7 mil ppl supporting the remaining 10.3 mil. The question here would be how many of that 10.3 mil ppl are really below the taxable income bracket? I would really like to know how much taxes ppl like the Sarawak CM and his family members who sit on board of various companies pay.
tunasandwich
post Sep 29 2012, 10:09 AM

974 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Sep 29 2012, 09:31 AM)
Yea but he was refering to those paying tax from their taxable income. So its basically 1.7 mil ppl supporting the remaining 10.3 mil. The question here would be how many of that 10.3 mil ppl are really below the taxable income bracket? I would really like to know how much taxes ppl like the Sarawak CM and his family members who sit on board of various companies pay.
Pointless to dwell over the announced budget and the current state of malaysias politics/economy in this section la....

just do the right thing in the next election, and lets get back to the fast n furious topics! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tunasandwich: Sep 29 2012, 10:10 AM
zoldane
post Sep 29 2012, 10:13 AM

231 posts

dengki la tuh
lcy851031
post Sep 29 2012, 10:34 AM

741 posts

After the Budget 2013

Now is the time to see Annual Parliament Audit report to see how "smart" are the Government manage our people's money. whistling.gif
shiyau
post Sep 29 2012, 11:01 AM

**KilleRom-no more**
693 posts

RM251.6 billion is allocated in budget 2013. Out of 251.6 billion, 201.9 is used for 'administration' fee and the remaining is for 'development' fee. <--pardon my poor translation. laugh.gif

If this was a business, such allocation would definitely makes you bankcrupt.

sos from Hew Kuan Yau if you know who is him blush.gif
malowar
post Sep 29 2012, 12:20 PM

18 posts

fingers crossed, hoping for a good news on the revised NAP

can only hoping...

looking at the new budget... middle class in urban areas will become the new 'miskin bandar'... not eligible for any incentive, programs, even tax reduction, etc... one thing for sure had to pay more taxes and ready for less subsidized sugar and cooking oil, lol

Chisinlouz
post Sep 29 2012, 01:50 PM

848 posts

there goes my superbike dream........
lung85
post Sep 29 2012, 02:31 PM

426 posts

i wan to get a car soon, stil no news for car tax
chuakz
post Sep 29 2012, 02:45 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(lung85 @ Sep 29 2012, 02:31 PM)
i wan to get a car soon, stil no news for car tax
maybe more news will come with NAP announcement...if still no reduction...then really...they will lose ALOT of votes
cybermaster98
post Sep 29 2012, 03:54 PM

4,440 posts

BN vs Pakatan:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...-bn-vs-pakatan/

lung85
post Sep 29 2012, 04:00 PM

426 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Sep 29 2012, 02:45 PM)
maybe more news will come with NAP announcement...if still no reduction...then really...they will lose ALOT of votes
when will that happen?

my car stolen last month, nw use mom car, but nw susah, no enough car use
chuakz
post Sep 29 2012, 05:39 PM

1,192 posts

nobody knows....maybe end of year? PR promised 20% reduction...let's see what current gov comes up with...but then...they are already losing plenty of votes for other reasons
Area51SE
post Sep 29 2012, 09:54 PM

1,001 posts

Any exact date for the NAP Announcement?
fishmango
post Oct 2 2012, 04:39 PM

796 posts

RM30.2bn car excise duty collected from 2007 to 2011
PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has told the Dewan Rakyat that a total of RM30.2 billion was collected in car excise duty between 2007 and 2011, Bernama reports.

RM4.7 billion was collected in 2007; in subsequent years RM6.2 billion, RM5.7 billion, RM7.1 billion and finally RM6.5 billion in 2011, said Najib in a written reply to Hee Loy Sian (DAP-Petaling Jaya Selatan) during question time.

Hee wanted to know the total car excise duty collected between 2007 and last year and whether the Finance Ministry intends to lower car excise duty with a view to reduce car prices for the people’s benefit.

Najib said car prices are determined by several factors such as production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs, as well as carmakers’ and distributors’ profits, and not merely based on the tax rate.

“These elements are beyond government control. Hence, any proposal to lower car prices has to be studied thoroughly so that the outcome can really benefit the people besides helping to bolster competition in the local automotive sector in the long-term,” he added.

http://paultan.org/2012/10/02/najib-car-ex...rm30-2-billion/

This post has been edited by fishmango: Oct 2 2012, 04:40 PM
radi0head
post Oct 2 2012, 10:34 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

najib wont use other makes to kill off own makes car... I'm sure no big diff even if there is any adjustment...

wink.gif

fishmango
post Oct 2 2012, 11:41 PM

796 posts

Our neighbour do encourage diesel

http://paultan.org/2012/02/20/singapore-to...-cars/#comments

0.0230sec    0.40    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:44 AM