NUS & NTU Entry

TSJustCrazy
post Sep 24 2012, 04:49 PM, updated 14y ago

22 posts

Hey guys, I just finished my A levels and got my results about a month ago. My results are A (Accounting), A* (Math), B (Econs), B (Chemistry).
So sifus, what are the chances of me getting an offer from either of these unis? I'll be applying next year when the admissions are open.
Thanks guys! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by JustCrazy: Sep 24 2012, 04:55 PM
Krevaki
post Sep 24 2012, 10:30 PM

1,282 posts

Depends on what you are applying for I suppose. Regardless, I would still say low, unless you have some extra plus points.
NotYetReady
post Sep 25 2012, 12:25 AM

109 posts

Just out of curiosity... why did u choose that combination of subjects ? smile.gif
TSJustCrazy
post Sep 25 2012, 12:35 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Krevaki @ Sep 24 2012, 10:30 PM)
Depends on what you are applying for I suppose. Regardless, I would still say low, unless you have some extra plus points.
Gonna apply for accounting smile.gif
Damn, I'll just have to apply and see how that works out lol

Added on September 25, 2012, 12:38 am
QUOTE(NotYetReady @ Sep 25 2012, 12:25 AM)
Just out of curiosity... why did u choose that combination of subjects ? smile.gif
Haha it's a weird combination, everyone tells me that smile.gif but I was taking Physics initially along with the others but I dropped it and picked up Accounting instead biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by JustCrazy: Sep 25 2012, 12:38 AM
ringdingdong
post Oct 4 2012, 10:42 AM

For engineering anyone? sad.gif
SRLee
post Oct 4 2012, 12:52 PM

437 posts

Interested in NUS and NTU as well.

What are chances of entry into a business course for AAAB (Bio, Phys, Maths and Chem)?

Would it be better to study business-related subjects in NUS/NTU or Australia, if studying in Australia is cheaper?
fakeshadow
post Oct 4 2012, 03:03 PM

151 posts

ringdingong, i am like you but my case is different, i used to have interets to pursue mechanical engineering at NTU, did decent for A levels, but i got rejected =(. what i can say is, NTU and NUS requirements are really hard to meet. there are people with 4A* and got rejected by them. i might be applying to NTU again this year, just maybe.
LightningFist
post Oct 4 2012, 03:09 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Oct 4 2012, 02:52 PM)
Interested in NUS and NTU as well.

What are chances of entry into a business course for AAAB (Bio, Phys, Maths and Chem)?

Would it be better to study business-related subjects in NUS/NTU or Australia, if studying in Australia is cheaper?
Faculty-wise it's probably not very different between NUS and Australia (I'll assume NUS is superior to NTU). Just like London. You'll get a lot of Asian (Chinese) lecturers and tutors just because they are studying/have studied at the same university you are at, then some of the local/regional variety (i.e. Australians and New Zealanders in Australia, Britons and Europeans in London, Singaporeans and other non-Chinese Asians in Singapore).

NUS and ANU already have a joint honours (Actuarial and Economics) 4 year degree (partly done at NUS and partly at ANU) which belongs to the Business (Commerce) and Economics faculty. So you can assume the two are comparable. Notable business faculties in Australia are probably Melbourne University, UNSW, and Sydney University.

Ranking wise, I don't think they hold a lot of credibility for undergraduates and/or for Business or Economics-type subjects, but NUS and Melbourne come pretty high and pretty close.

If you see Australia as a Western option, wanting to distance yourself from the same old Asian teachers (people from China, Hong Kong, India, Singapore etc), don't expect too much. First, you will likely get a large number of Asian teachers (they seem to fancy Accounting, Finance, Actuarial Studies, Statistics, Economics, and similar disciplines). Second, even if Australians have great English, some can be incredibly boring.

Added on October 4, 2012, 3:10 pm
QUOTE(fakeshadow @ Oct 4 2012, 05:03 PM)
ringdingong, i am like you but my case is different, i used to have interets to pursue mechanical engineering at NTU, did decent for A levels, but i got rejected =(. what i can say is, NTU and NUS requirements are really hard to meet. there are people with 4A* and got rejected by them. i might be applying to NTU again this year, just maybe.
You should be set with 4A* in the right subjects. No interview for Engineering if I'm not mistaken. Of course if there's some factor like another kid with the same grades but you don't have Further Maths, then too bad.

This post has been edited by LightningFist: Oct 4 2012, 03:10 PM
SRLee
post Oct 4 2012, 04:10 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 4 2012, 03:09 PM)
So basically the difference between NUS/NTU and Aus Unis is the lifestyle?

I didn't know NUS and ANU have a joint honours degree, I'll look into that, thank you.

EDIT: Will a business-related degree from NUS/NTU will be equally competitive as a similar degree from Australian universities when looking for jobs in Australia?

EDIT2: A quick search lead me here: Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours in Actuarial Studies and Economics). Why is it not Bachelor of Commerce or Bachelor of Actuarial Science? The more important thing is, does the title of the degree matter?

This post has been edited by SRLee: Oct 4 2012, 04:16 PM
LightningFist
post Oct 4 2012, 07:08 PM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Oct 4 2012, 06:10 PM)
So basically the difference between NUS/NTU and Aus Unis is the lifestyle?

I didn't know NUS and ANU have a joint honours degree, I'll look into that, thank you.

EDIT: Will a business-related degree from NUS/NTU will be equally competitive as a similar degree from Australian universities when looking for jobs in Australia?

EDIT2: A quick search lead me here: Bachelor of Social Sciences (Honours in Actuarial Studies and Economics). Why is it not Bachelor of Commerce or Bachelor of Actuarial Science? The more important thing is, does the title of the degree matter?
Choose Singapore, Melbourne, or maybe Sydney, and you have "lifestyle" I guess.

In Australia they'll probably prefer Australian.

Economics does not belong to Commerce, so BComm doesn't make sense. Economics also does not belong to Actuarial, so BAct also won't fit.

The title of the degree probably doesn't matter very much, except that some people in industry (depends what, where, who) are ignorant. Some people have no idea what Actuarial Science is and you have to explain it to them. The B Social Sciences degree with joint Honours is probably more confusing, as you can imagine.

This degree is not like a lot of other programmes where 2 degrees are awarded. This is a single degree. But it's unique in that you attend 2 schools. It's probably also hard. A single degree that takes 4 years awards Honours in either Actuarial Science or Economics. A double degree that takes 4 years does not award Honours in either.
fakeshadow
post Oct 4 2012, 09:45 PM

151 posts

i did further maths, but my results weren't competitive enough. i find it good that CIE is looking forward to terminating the A* system.
SRLee
post Oct 4 2012, 09:53 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(fakeshadow @ Oct 4 2012, 09:45 PM)
i did further maths, but my results weren't competitive enough. i find it good that CIE is looking forward to terminating the A* system.
It is? shocking.gif

They're going back to A being the highest grade?
fakeshadow
post Oct 4 2012, 10:23 PM

151 posts

yes they proposed it few months ago. not confirmed yet, just a proposal.
TSJustCrazy
post Oct 5 2012, 11:11 AM

22 posts

Okay seems like my chances are gonna be really low sad.gif but what the heck, imma just gonna try!
SRLee
post Oct 5 2012, 11:22 AM

437 posts

QUOTE(LightningFist @ Oct 4 2012, 07:08 PM)
I would think Singapore's lifestyle is distinctly different from Melbourne or Sydney's lifestyle, in that Singapore's lifestyle is more similar to Malaysia's lifestyle (KL). However, I will not jump to any conclusions since I have no experience living in Singapore.
ringdingdong
post Oct 5 2012, 06:09 PM

QUOTE(SRLee @ Oct 4 2012, 09:53 PM)
It is?  shocking.gif

They're going back to A being the highest grade?
AFTER THIS CRAP THEY PUT US THROUGH?! AND NOW THE ARE ABOLISHING IT?! /rage mad.gif

0.0220sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:11 PM