Guitars How to Buy (Acoustic Guitar), Helpful tips for newbies!

Username is for the weak
post Aug 5 2017, 06:15 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(kitiii @ Aug 5 2017, 08:40 AM)
Can you enlighten more about the quality of each tier? and which one is better such as rm1800 china/indonesia made and rm1800 korea/mexican made?
I own three guitars, two of them are for beginners, bought them 7 years ago, and both are 800 ringgit

For this price (800) you can't get a solid back and side (but only three layers wood) or a excellent quality top wood , which means the tonal quality sucks. You might not realize the differences unless you've played them for a long time and started to get to know how a high end quality guitar sounds like,

which leads me to buy my latest guitar, a 11500 ringgit lakewood (m32 custom, made in germany). I would say at this price you can clearly listen to every characteristics each individual wood species would show, like woody warm for mahagony or crispy clear and bassy for rosewood. Also, with a solid wood back and sides and excellent top you can expect the woods to open up eventually as time passes, which means they would eventually be more responsive and unique sounding.

Username is for the weak
post Aug 24 2017, 06:21 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(pikkidok @ Aug 23 2017, 09:59 PM)
I played guitar for over 25 years. I cannot find any sound superiority from a special edition Martin rm18k to a Seagull rm2k.

The first guitar I had, over 25 years old. Was a cheap laminate guitar. After 25 years, it sounds more fantastic than my full solid wood guitar.

Once a guitar is over rm800 or rm1k, there is hardly any difference to me. Of course many people claim their ears are more sensitive.

In youtube, there are many guitarists with over 1mil views playing cheap guitars

Skill triumph over equipment most of the time.
Yea i agree with you
Last year i tried a seagull , then a 8k martin, sounds quite the same to me, in fact i prefered the seagull. After i told the shopkeeper about that he got triggered and told me it's my ear being not sensitive enough
LOL

0.0152sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:59 AM