Medical Conditions Dyslexia, all about adult dyslexia

Flawless1
post Oct 9 2014, 11:45 PM

115 posts

Dyslexia is a spectrum. Some will hav the full blown symptoms, some will never know they are dyslexic because it is too mild.

Most people who are dyslexic hav either equal or more intelligence than the normal people Because their brain works in a unique way.
They may not be fortunate in certain fields but very gifted in others.

Albert Einstein, Benjamin Franklin were dyslexic

For those who wan to see through a dyslexic person's view. I suggest a movie. It's a Hindi movie with English subtitles of course. Won many film awards!
Taare Zamen Par. It is on Youtube.
TSMr_47
post Dec 19 2014, 04:48 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

QUOTE(dilbert @ Sep 4 2014, 11:50 AM)
Just to update. My daughter now is capable to read and even spell correctly in English. But being in Chinese school - I am beginning to give up. Chinese school is not the right environment for dyslexia. My wife is right. As math, science is taught in Chinese, and she refuse to learn/communicate in Chinese, she has missed out a lot. We are thinking of sending her to international school now. Why not private? Her BM is also a struggle.

As for memory - she could memorize Chinese characters very well for her Chinese dictation. She used to get zero for dictation, but now, she succeeded in getting a few 100%. The technique I used was with a mini whiteboard, tablet and Hanping Pro (Google play store). Hanping Pro is a good Chinese learning tool, where she can write the words with her finger, learn how it is spoken and read its translation. Its quite strange that she sometimes cannot understand the Chinese dictation, and asked for the English translation of it - she could just translate the English word back to Chinese.
great sharing notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(jialat @ Sep 14 2014, 02:08 AM)
There are lenses to help improve dyslexia, if anyone is interested to try, i can help arrange with my hospital friends. Consultation is free but need to make appointment to check and test with the lens.
just know about this.

QUOTE(Flawless1 @ Oct 9 2014, 11:45 PM)
Dyslexia is a spectrum. Some will hav the full blown symptoms, some will never know they are dyslexic because it is too mild.

Most people who are dyslexic hav either equal or more intelligence than the normal people Because their brain works in a unique way.
They may not be fortunate in certain fields but very gifted in others.

Albert Einstein, Benjamin Franklin were dyslexic

For those who wan to see through a dyslexic person's view. I suggest a movie. It's a Hindi movie with English subtitles of course. Won many film awards!
Taare Zamen Par. It is on Youtube.
very nice , will seek for the movie thumbup.gif
cyra
post Dec 26 2014, 03:32 PM

hi.. good to see the thread is still alive after being opened for so long.. smile.gif

my daughter is dyslexic and have been with the dyslexia programme in shah alam for over 2 months already.. probably need to continue for another 2 months since her writing skills still not there yet...

other than that.. she sure had shown a great improvement!! previously she cannot spell, reads and even hates to do so... but now, every now and then, i found her suddenly spell out things... it seems like she really enjoys doing it..

as for adults... i think am also dyslexic... lol

recently bought these 2 books: Dyslexic Advantage (http://www.bookdepository.com/Dyslexic-Advantage-Brock-Eide/9780452297920) and Gift of Dyslexia (http://www.bookdepository.com/Gift-Dyslexia-Ronald-Davis/9780399535666)

those are really good reads!! they mainly discussed on the geniuses of Dyslexia

apparently the difficulties of reading and writing are just minor shortcomings of being dyslexic

the MAJOR part of DYSLEXIA is the unique way of the brain processing that leads to geniuses.... which means those famous people like Einstein and Leonardo Da Vinci are not geniuses in spite of being dyslexic.. but they are geniuses BECAUSE of their dyslexic brain.... but to dig that geniuses out of dyslexia IS the trickiest part... smile.gif

i would highly recommend those with dyslexic or close to anyone who is dyslexic to read up those 2 books... i got mine at Kinokuniya (apparently the only bookstore in malaysia that have stocks) ... but just found out you can get them cheaper at book depository (free worldwide shipping!!!)

PKPK03
post Apr 2 2016, 08:59 AM

353 posts

Hi all,

Need your advice.

My child was diagnose with severe dyslexia.

Currently studying in chinese primary school, std 2. Looking at his recent exam results, all F except for English as he's attending dyslexia tuition centre. The principal of this centre advice to either change to sekolah kebangsaan or international school as medium of teaching is in bahasa or English.

Dylexic person will have hard time to understand mandarin. Is this statement correct?

Wouldn't want to change my school and regret later on. Except for his studies, he's quite happy with the school environment & frens.

Please advice for the dilemma I'm in....

This post has been edited by PKPK03: Apr 2 2016, 09:00 AM
Kato888
post Apr 18 2016, 07:33 PM

193 posts

Hi, and thanks to TS for putting up this thread.

I suspect that I'm somewhat Dyslexic to a certain degree. Someone mentioned Gift of Dyslexia, a book that I've come across in the bookstore that has caught my attention but never really got around to buy it. I think that was the time when I started reading up on dyslexia from time to time.

Thanks also to the person who mentioned about Dyslexia Shah Alam. I sent them a PM and they mentioned on educational assessments by a pyschologist: "The cost for adults is RM250. The session takes about 45 minutes after which I'll discuss our findings."

Has any dyslexic adults here taken the test? I'm just curious on what leads on after the initial assessments eg. are there any follow ups or is this just purely an assessment?
khairao5
post Oct 11 2016, 02:37 PM

i guess my husband are dyslexic. he cant read, spell, count, cannot easily remember anything. and many more... i just find out that once we're getting married. in a first time i believe he just "not clever" because he didn't going to school at all..even kinder garden. as i was told by his mother, he refuse to go to school. but day by day,, i found out many weird things about him. when i teach him a new English word, he pronounce it in backward.. i even dont know how to explain or get him to understand about getting help about his problem.. well...thats it..i dont know what to do..
TSMr_47
post Apr 24 2017, 11:34 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(cyra @ Dec 26 2014, 03:32 PM)
hi.. good to see the thread is still alive after being opened for so long.. smile.gif

my daughter is dyslexic and have been with the dyslexia programme in shah alam for over 2 months already.. probably need to continue for another 2 months since her writing skills still not there yet...

other than that.. she sure had shown a great improvement!! previously she cannot spell, reads and even hates to do so... but now, every now and then, i found her suddenly spell out things... it seems like she really enjoys doing it..

as for adults... i think am also dyslexic... lol

recently bought these 2 books: Dyslexic Advantage (http://www.bookdepository.com/Dyslexic-Advantage-Brock-Eide/9780452297920) and Gift of Dyslexia (http://www.bookdepository.com/Gift-Dyslexia-Ronald-Davis/9780399535666)

those are really good reads!! they mainly discussed on the geniuses of Dyslexia

apparently the difficulties of reading and writing are just minor shortcomings of being dyslexic

the MAJOR part of DYSLEXIA is the unique way of the brain processing that leads to geniuses.... which means those famous people like Einstein and Leonardo Da Vinci are not geniuses in spite of being dyslexic.. but they are geniuses BECAUSE of their dyslexic brain.... but to dig that geniuses out of dyslexia IS the trickiest part... smile.gif

i would highly recommend those with dyslexic or close to anyone who is dyslexic to read up those 2 books... i got mine at Kinokuniya (apparently the only bookstore in malaysia that have stocks) ... but just found out you can get them cheaper at book depository (free worldwide shipping!!!)
nice books tq!

QUOTE(PKPK03 @ Apr 2 2016, 08:59 AM)
Hi all,

Need your advice.

My child was diagnose with severe dyslexia.

Currently studying in chinese primary school, std 2. Looking at his recent exam results, all F except for English as he's attending dyslexia tuition centre. The principal of this centre advice to either change to sekolah kebangsaan or international school as medium of teaching is in bahasa or English.

Dylexic person will have hard time to understand mandarin. Is this statement correct?

Wouldn't want to change my school and regret later on. Except for his studies, he's quite happy with the school environment & frens.

Please advice for the dilemma I'm in....
better go for professional or if you having limited budget, this issue have no absolute and fast cure, you will need to learn how to minimize the damage, with some workout with the person itself im sure day by day it can get better.

QUOTE(Kato888 @ Apr 18 2016, 07:33 PM)
Hi, and thanks to TS for putting up this thread.

I suspect that I'm somewhat Dyslexic to a certain degree. Someone mentioned Gift of Dyslexia, a book that I've come across in the bookstore that has caught my attention but never really got around to buy it. I think that was the time when I started reading up on dyslexia from time to time.

Thanks also to the person who mentioned about Dyslexia Shah Alam. I sent them a PM and they mentioned on educational assessments by a pyschologist: "The cost for adults is RM250. The session takes about 45 minutes after which I'll discuss our findings."

Has any dyslexic adults here taken the test? I'm just curious on what leads on after the initial assessments eg. are there any follow ups or is this just purely an assessment?
thats some professional over there

yup my friend taken the basic online 50 question test and got 10 right out of 50 so im purely sure something wrong there, i went on too but im normal 50/50. im sure there should be more intensive testing method / therapy to proceed further at the professional center apart form just a basic questions/online test.

QUOTE(khairao5 @ Oct 11 2016, 02:37 PM)
i guess my husband are dyslexic. he cant read, spell, count, cannot easily remember anything. and many more... i just find out that once we're getting married. in a first time i believe he just "not clever" because he didn't going to school at all..even kinder garden. as i was told by his mother, he refuse to go to school. but day by day,, i found out many weird things about him. when i teach him a new English word, he pronounce it in backward.. i even dont know how to explain or get him to understand about getting help about his problem.. well...thats it..i dont know what to do..
same as my very close friend , its too late already but hey, you did notice him and you know you can always help him and spread around the awareness.

there should be some indication for the level of problems they encounter, critical / mild / low. so help them to get better each day by training simple things. at least that what i do to my friend with this issue.

nivlanauk
post Mar 17 2018, 10:55 PM

307 posts

Tumpang thread.

Just wondering if people who are dyslexic can help with a little questionnaire for my university project. smile.gif

Would greatly appreciate it!
Thank you!

https://goo.gl/forms/r7ZwfCVTLTYxgWvG3
TSMr_47
post Mar 18 2018, 08:17 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Mar 17 2018, 10:55 PM)
Tumpang thread.

Just wondering if people who are dyslexic can help with a little questionnaire for my university project. smile.gif

Thank you!

cool
TSMr_47
post Apr 9 2018, 10:39 AM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Mar 17 2018, 10:55 PM)
Tumpang thread.

Thank you!

Hi may i know which university is this? thank you

This post has been edited by Mr_47: Apr 9 2018, 10:40 AM
nivlanauk
post Apr 11 2018, 09:53 AM

307 posts

QUOTE(Mr_47 @ Apr 9 2018, 10:39 AM)
Hi may i know which university is this? thank you
Hello, we are students from INTI international university.

Just a lil update:
This was actually a project for our design thinking subject where students plan a project to pitch to a panel of judges from various industry background. Usually students do it for the marks but there is potential to realise it if somebody decides to back it.

1 of them is actually interested with our plan and it could very well be turned into an actual thing if we do decide to proceed. smile.gif

TSMr_47
post Jan 2 2019, 12:11 AM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Apr 11 2018, 09:53 AM)
Hello, we are students from INTI international university.
Just a lil update:
This was actually a project for our design thinking subject where students plan a project to pitch to a panel of judges from various industry background. Usually students do it for the marks but there is potential to realise it if somebody decides to back it.

1 of them is actually interested with our plan and it could very well be turned into an actual thing if we do decide to proceed.  smile.gif
so did they proceed? usually this relate to slow learning student and also bad with math, its a taboo for us in asia to blame disability for small children due to this type of illness/ blame god / genetics
onesuekhay P
post Oct 22 2020, 04:57 PM

Probation

Hello! I'm in need of some kind help biggrin.gif

My name is SueKhay and I'm a student of BA(HONS) Visual Communication Design in SEGi University, Kota Damansara. I am currently working on my dissertation thesis on a research topic about the use of pop-up books as a learning media for dyslexic students.
The main objective of this research is to review and investigate if dyslexic students are interested and to discover the responses of using pop-up books as a learning media in the teaching and learning process.

Please feel free to fill in the Google form for me!
Thank you in advance! thumbsup.gif

https://forms.gle/Zntgvg83gqZC8d4X8
TSMr_47
post Oct 22 2020, 11:21 PM

4,337 posts

QUOTE(onesuekhay @ Oct 22 2020, 04:57 PM)
Hello! I'm in need of some kind help  biggrin.gif

My name is SueKhay and I'm a student of BA(HONS) Visual Communication Design in SEGi University, Kota Damansara. I am currently working on my dissertation thesis on a research topic about the use of pop-up books as a learning media for dyslexic students.
The main objective of this research is to review and investigate if dyslexic students are interested and to discover the responses of using pop-up books as a learning media in the teaching and learning process.

Please feel free to fill in the Google form for me!
Thank you in advance! thumbsup.gif

https://forms.gle/Zntgvg83gqZC8d4X8
cool, nice update tq man really2 appreciate it

0.0464sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:46 AM