5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S III I9300 Official Thread v19, Poland #1 get JB~

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 19 2012, 02:37 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(alexlimco @ Sep 19 2012, 02:34 PM)
Hi Raymond. I am back to stock unrooted kernel. Funny thing is the battery seems to perform better and better as the phone ages. I think it is hitting a sweet spot and until now my battery is 41% with active use since morning. I am really loving this phone and still think it pawns the hell out of the iPorn 5. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 19 2012, 02:38 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 19 2012, 02:49 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(mscw88 @ Sep 19 2012, 02:45 PM)
Official JB release liao ????
link ? hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 19 2012, 06:32 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 19 2012, 06:08 PM)
ask TS add
finally rclxm9.gif
and 3 days no leak version release already smile.gif
the thing is from what i read, the WanamLite Jelly bean XXDLI8 V3.6 Android 4.1.1 has some slight bugs.

WanamLite Jelly bean XXDLI7 V3.5 Android 4.1.1 i don't notice any bugs or problems whatsoever.

Not long now before Jelly Bean official launch so i'm sticking with WanamLite Jelly bean XXDLI7 V3.5 for now to play it safe nod.gif

@xeactorZ

You know what though ? I'm excited for when the S Cloud becomes available. I think a lot of people suspect it will be introduced the same time when Jelly Bean gets released for the S3 cool.gif

We're still recovering from the onslaught of goodies shown off at IFA 2012, but there's one thing we didn't notice while perusing Samsung's gadgetry.

The team at German site BestBoyZ discovered S Cloud in the settings menu of the Note II, which included the option to sync user data with Dropbox. Apparently, Samsung reps didn't have much to say on the matter, and BestBoyZ believe that's because it's not quite working yet (we're willing to agree, given the various delays).

It's looking like the feature might be ready in time for the Note II's launch, which ties in nicely with the 50GB of free Dropbox storage you'll snag if you pick one up.

Owners of other Samsung gear needn't be disappointed though, as it's suggested that S Cloud integration will be part of the Jelly Bean upgrades expected soon.

Source:
http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/03/s-cloud...galaxy-note-ii/

The biggest question the consumer is asking is, so will this solve the issue of what happens to your dropsync 50gb storage that expires after 2 years. Will it be relocated to S Cloud ? And will we permanently have that 50gb storage or what ? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 19 2012, 06:35 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 12:55 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 20 2012, 12:05 AM)
impossible use dual core cortex a15
normally using quad core cortex a15 

btw, just now open samsung apps and pop out said update for samsung account @@
hm ... i think the Cortex-A15 for the s4 will be a dual core cpu.

quad core would be nice, but i guess they will be using the dual core for the first iteration.

I think the new features that come with the cpu+gpu bundled together to form the Exynos chip would more than compensate for the lack of quad core nod.gif

Nevermind, there is actually a quad core variant for the Cortex-A15.
It's pretty much a year to the day that we reported the possibility of a quad-core Cortex-A15 from ARM, and look what just came across the wire!

It's the Cortex-A15 Hard Macro -- the first design from ARM we're aware of that packs four A15 cores. The Hard Macro edition is of particular interest as it aims to help manufacturers bring products to market more quickly and at a lower cost. The chip variant runs at 2GHz, with performance of over 20,000 DMIPS if you were wondering.

Notably, it operates with the same power usage of the A9 hard macro, which should mean it's got good efficiency credentials, and it's the first in the family to be based on 28nm process. There's no indication where we might see this turning up, but with the firm spilling the full details at the IEEE Symposium later this week, we're sure we'll find out soon enough.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/17/arm-ann...-macro-variant/

but i doubt the S4 will use quad core hmm.gif cauz if they skip the dual core, then later they got nothing new in plan. so my guess is they will save the quad core for the next model, S5 ?

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 01:00 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:15 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 20 2012, 01:05 AM)
yes is better, but take note that now already got quad core cortex a15 already
if samsung use dual core cortex a15 sure drop behind already
and now still early, then sure got time make the quad core a15
who knows, everything is possible
if really like this rather go get optimus G
since now qualcomm already got quad core cortex a15, that impossible for samsung won't make effort to invest for their exynos 5 quad (quad core cortex a15) and use on their flagship (tablet & phone)
yet, before s3 launch they already announce exynos 4 quad and exynos 5 dual and means got more than 1 year time to let them invest for the exynos 5 quad
as for which device using exynos 5 dual, I think those device selling at next year will using (mid range product)
those high end using exynos 5 quad
everything is possible, now still too early to say about it
just wait and see for it

*just my personal opinion, no offence tq
none taken smile.gif

i didn't know that about the qualcom .... so thats even more reason for samsung to do a quadcore cortex a-15 nod.gif competition is good because of this thumbup.gif

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:25 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 20 2012, 01:18 AM)
then you should take a look on qualcoom snapdragon s4 pro
and prime release soon, is more powerful

at last sure consumer benefit biggrin.gif
ok i'll google it up tommorrow thx notworthy.gif

*update
Qualcomm’s Snapdragon S4 Pro, or the APQ8064, is a monster of a chip - it easily beats the Nvidia Tegra 3 on phones like the international HTC One X and the Samsung Exynos 4412 on the Galaxy S III. Now, Qualcomm has unveiled that LG is working on the first S4 Pro smartphone that will be available globally.

Earlier, Chinese Xiaomi announced the Mi-Two with the same S4 Pro chip inside for a mind-boggling price of only $310, but that phone is expected to be sold only in China.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Monster-qua...rtphone_id33597

By the way i was readin engadget showing people who were lining up for iphone5 ... lulz... and one of them said samsung was rubbish ...

what caught my eye though was this
Number three and four in the line were Apple queue veteran Zohaib Ali and his carer, who were there representing an autism charity. Ali explained that iOS feature Guided Access helped autistic people use Apple gadgets. He added: "Samsung is rubbish."

Source:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/09/19/th...5_queue_london/

Does the samsung S3 have this feature to help autistic people like the iphone5 ? hmm.gif

Not that i need it, but i'm just curious to know whether this guy has a legitimate reason to dislike samsung or not.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 01:28 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:29 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 20 2012, 01:28 AM)
it's already closed, known fact by many, so swype is out
any1 else got suggestion for 3rd party kb with chinese support ?
swiftkey 3 lets you download different language pack. try that hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 01:31 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:38 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 20 2012, 01:31 AM)
yes. but no chinese

it's a shame for swiftkey because it's the best 3rd party kb for android but the language support is limited
hm... did you try swype ? i usually alternate between swype and swiftkey 3. their both good keyboards nod.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 02:04 AM

4,454 posts

by the way, i just understand why people think microsofts smartphones will be any good ... look at the front desktop ui ...

just compare that to jelly bean rom ui's

you tell me which looks better o.O;
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 02:24 AM

4,454 posts

haha love this new samsung advert

i just hope that it doesn't backfire in samsungs face. like when mitt romney recently said crap about 40+% of Americans who he says are dependent welfare cases who refuse to pay tax .....

but in samsung case, they are probably treading on dangerous ground, as they may accidentally make iphone fans look like ignorant noobs hmm.gif and that could piss them off from going android out of sheer spite sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 02:27 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 03:59 AM

4,454 posts

A new era in streaming between devices may be upon us. Miracast is similar to DLNA and Apple’s Airplay in that it allows a person to stream a video or other images straight from a phone or tablet to a TV or projector. Miracast differs itself by giving the option to stream without needing WiFi because it can utilize WiFi direct. It can also automatically negotiating the best audio and video resolution.

The first phones with Mircast certification will be the LG Optimus G and the Samsung Galaxy III with more to come shortly. So far the only TV with certification is the Samsung Echo-P Series TV. You can use the Miracast feature with any WiDi-enabled displays. Hit the break for a Mircast video.

» Read the rest
http://www.talkandroid.com/132771-apple-ai...g-galaxy-s-iii/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 03:59 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 10:45 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 20 2012, 09:30 AM)
everytime a new phone comes out, it will be compared side by side to the iPhone. so what's wrong with comparing it with the new iPhone with Android's flagship?

What Apple do will affect in our future devices.

Ever Wonder why Samsung released advert and videos on comparing with the new iPhone?
agreed. this is related to s3. especially since apple has decided to pursue a court case against the samsung galaxy s3. In more recent news they want to pursue a triple fine for that 1.05 USD billion which was recently rewarded to them by the jury.

so how are we S3 users suppose to ignore apple news ?

1. iphone 5 comparisons
2. patent wars ....
3. tit for tat between samsung/google/the entire world vs apple ...

it's all related rolleyes.gif

if all your interested in is mods, app updates, my suggestion is go to XDA S3 forum instead, or just ignore the posts that you consider is not relevant to you.

Just dictate to others what they can talk about here rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 10:45 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 11:15 AM

4,454 posts

@Dark_Angel85

LG phone has that cortex a15 ?
http://www.engadget.com/2011/04/26/lg-lice...-starts-schemi/

LG Optimus G E973
Coming soon. Exp. release 2012, September
http://www.gsmarena.com/lg_optimus_g_e973-4941.php
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 11:28 AM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(RedDevils88 @ Sep 20 2012, 11:18 AM)
i guess Apple wont touch LG. unless they are a threat to them. we know Apple are just being Apple.
Yeah the playground bully shakehead.gif

Anyways is anybody else getting this in their notifications ?

android couldn't sign in there was a problem communicating with googles services

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 12:11 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(FallenOut @ Sep 20 2012, 12:01 PM)
i also got that
no idea what caused it
oh so i'm not being paranoid, thats good hmm.gif

i'm just wondering what the hell is causing this. Could this be related to when accessing samsung or google account (forgot which) recently that then prompts to update it ?

Somebody in this thread mentioned an update when accessing the account, so i tried that. So i'm wondering if that update may have caused this issue hmm.gif

Because my device did not have this issue until today shocking.gif

After touched for sign in to resolve error, it appear;
"Couldn't sign in
There was a problem communicating with Google servers.
try again later"

Yeah same but on wanamlite jelly bean rom hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 12:14 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 01:11 PM

4,454 posts

[Update: It's Back] PSA: It's Not Just You - Google Now Servers Are Currently Down
Many users - myself, Artem, and several other AP team members included - got an error just a bit ago stating that "There is a problem communicating with Google servers," but this issue seems to only be affecting Jelly Bean devices. Makes perfect sense, too -  looks like Google Now is the only thing currently down, as Talk, Drive, GMail, Calendar, Movies, Music, Magazines, Books, Maps, the Play Store, and pretty much all other Google Services are currently fully functional.

Source:
http://www.androidpolice.com/2012/09/19/ps...y-bean-devices/

*update
It looks like Google Now is back.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 07:19 PM

4,454 posts

QUOTE(ayed08 @ Sep 20 2012, 06:57 PM)
just want to share with u all..my lovely s3.. biggrin.gif

nice pics nod.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 08:46 PM

4,454 posts

Did anyone see this ?

Netgear announces Push2TV WiDi adapter and three new NeoTV units
Today, Netgear is unveiling three more Roku-troubling NeoTV boxes and Push2TV, a wireless display adapter letting you harness WiDi or Miracast to push content from smartphones, laptops or tablets to your TV.

The trio of NeoTVs are so similar to the last generation that it's a little hard to tell the difference, except that the new flagship NeoTV MAX now comes with the long-desired addition of DLNA and a custom remote that has navigation buttons on one side and a QWERTY keyboard on the other.

All four devices are available from today, the Push2Tv costing $60, while the new NeoTVs are priced at $50, $60 and $70, respectively -- and if you'd like to know more, then we've got some more info down below.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/09/20/netgear-push2tv-neotv/

Today, Netgear is pushing out a number of products targeting the same market at various price points. These include the Push2TV 3000 WiDi receiver and three members of the NeoTV 300 series, the NTV300, NTV300S and the NTV300SL.

Push2TV 3000

Anand recently covered the launch of WiDi 3.5, and briefly mentioned that a new Push2TV receiver from Netgear would be made available at a $59.99 price point. The credit card-sized Push2TV 3000 supports both Intel WiDi 3.5 and Wi-Fi Alliance's Miracast (pre-standard compliance). These technologies allow the user to wirelessly mirror a laptop, smartphone or tablet screen onto another HDMI-equipped display.

Source:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6321/netgear...eotv-300-series
Galaxy S III and Optimus G adopt Miracast in hopes of taking on Apple's AirPlay
The first consumer devices with the new Miracast certification are the LG Optimus G, the Samsung Galaxy S III, and the Samsung Echo-P Series TV, but the standard is compatible with existing WiDi-enabled displays, as well.

And we’re expecting a lot more devices down the road. If iSuppli’s prediction is to be believed, we’ll be seeing as many as 1.5 billion enabled devices shipping in 2016.

Source:
http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/19/3356512/...video-streaming
so .... we don't need an expensive new HDTV to use Miracast, and supposedly the S3 supports it ..... or am i mistaken :/ ?

Oh and this is an example of what Miracast can be useful for

How does miracast work
Miracast uses the existing 2.4GHz Wi-Fi connection to negotiate a 5GHz Wi-Fi Direct connection specifically for the streaming of video. Chip makers have talked about background streaming, but the killer application is replicating the tablet/phone display on a big screen without all that mucking about with codecs and DRM which DLNA involves (though without the quality too).

DLNA also uses the existing IP network to negotiate use of a big screen, but it also offloads decoding of the video stream to that device, which can be an advantage - the big screen may be better at rendering video than the phone - however it also limits the technique to content both devices can decode, and content which isn't protected by rights management locked to a specific device.

Miracast, in contrast, is effectively a wireless HDMI cable, copying everything from one screen to another using the H.264 codec and its own DRM layer emulating the HDMI system. The Wi-Fi Alliance suggests Miracast could also be used by a set-top box wanting to stream content to a TV, or tablet, but the killer app is replication.

When DLNA works it is top: being able to throw a YouTube clip to the living-room TV and see the quality improve is like science fiction to most of us, but if TV and/or content refuse to play nicely then it all breaks down. Miracast is hoping to capitalise on that failure by reducing the intelligence required of the display, using standard Wi-Fi communications and separating devices into "Source" and "Display" categories.

Wi-Fi Direct, the peer-to-peer protocol used by Miracast, has been almost entirely ignored by the world despite backers (primarily Intel) pushing it as the next evolution of Wi-Fi. The standard allows a device to maintain multiple wi-fi connections, and has been touted as the ideal tech of mice, keyboards and all sorts of unlikely things, but so far adoption has been very slow. Miracast could be the killer app for Wi-Fi Direct, if the DLNA team doesn't get its act together first. ®

Source:
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/09/19/miracast/

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 20 2012, 08:59 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 20 2012, 10:45 PM

4,454 posts

Not sure where to ask this but.... does anyone notice that to access street view you need to
From the map, if you press and hold on a location and then press on the popup, there is an option to select street view. Then you can drag the little guy on the bottom to wherever you want to be on the street.

http://www.justin.my/2012/03/street-view-a...t-malaysia-yet/

Does anybody have a ETA yet when streetview will be complete in Malaysia seeing as Thailand already has it ....

There is already a Google Maps v6.12.0 Mod + World Navigation Activated which i can confirm works for Malaysia (unofficially), but street view still missing :{

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Sep 21 2012, 12:54 AM

4,454 posts

@~larlynnz~

QUOTE(~larlynnz~ @ Sep 20 2012, 11:01 PM)
Hi, I'm new here... ^^ I'm a proud owner of SIII. But planning to sell it coz I got another hp from lucky draw. Pls guide me if I'm in the wrong thread.

Details :
16GB
3 mths old
White in color
Asking price : 1.4K (negotiable)
Careful female owner
Accident & drop free :-)

Please PM for more info. Thank u
not insulting you or anything, but out of curiosity what hp phone was that hmm.gif

personally if it was me i'd probably do the same. i'd have a place holder android 2012 phone (free) until 2013 or 2014 for the next phone which would last a good 5 years better compared to 2012 as good as it is :}

Added on September 21, 2012, 1:04 am
QUOTE(rickk @ Sep 21 2012, 12:50 AM)
Bro, do u mind that I pm u to ask to something regarding the custom rom?
I'm really new on this matter. Not yet try, so my s3 still a "virgin" (come with the original ICS). icon_question.gif
i got mumble server if you need help cool.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Sep 21 2012, 01:04 AM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0574sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:44 AM